Claims 1, 3-4, and 7-11 are currently pending and have been examined.
This Action is made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the previous rejection of claims 1, 3-4, and 7-11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are not persuasive.
With regards to interview with the applicant on 1/5/2026, examiner contacted applicant on 4/17/2026 to discuss with applicant's representative that upon review of applicant's amendments filed on 1/21/2026 it was determined that they would not actually overcome the previously cited art as originally indicated in the interview on 1/5/2026. Due to this miscommunication, examiner told applicant's representative that the examiner would hold off on examining the application in case the applicant wished to file alternate amendments.
On 4/30/2026, applicant's representative contacted the examiner and stated that the applicant has decided to not file alternate amendments and to go ahead and proceed with issuing an office action.
With regards to applicant’s argument: “The Office Action asserts that the UE 105 of Primack corresponds to the claimed multimedia device. However, as discussed in the interview, Primack fails to disclose that such a device operates with a first power supply (i.e., constant power supply).”
Applicant’s has not claimed that the multimedia device operates with the first power supply rather they have claimed “the acceleration sensor operating with the first power supply” It is not unreasonable to interpret the acceleration sensor operating with a different power supply than the multimedia device. Sou teaches that the acceleration sensor operates with the first power supply:
Para [0069] “The second sensor 142 and the third sensor 143 may be sensors for sensing an impact applied to the vehicle 1 to determine whether to deploy an airbag. The second sensor 142 may be a pressure sensor for sensing pressure applied to a side of the vehicle 1, and the third sensor 143 may be an acceleration sensor for sensing an impact applied to a side of the vehicle 1. The side of the vehicle 1 may be one of the doors 115 of the vehicle 1.”
Para [0212] “When it is determined that the vehicle 1 is in a parked or stopped state, the second controller 164 may supply power of the second battery 172 to the second sensor 142, the third sensor 143, and the second communicator 163.”
Para [0238] “When it is determined that the vehicle 1 is in a parked state by ignition off in operation 191, the vehicle 1 may supply power charged in the second battery 172 to the detector 140 and the image recording device 180, in operation 192. At this time, the vehicle 1 may supply power of the second battery 172 to the second and third sensors 142 and 143. In this case, the second and third sensors 142 and 143 may be electrically, mechanically, and communicatively connected to the image recording device 180.”
In this case the second battery can be considered as a first power supply
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) are “a multimedia device including a multimedia processing unit that ….” as recited in claims 1 and 10, and a “a setting unit configured to….” as recited in claim 3.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Regarding the multimedia device including a multimedia processing unit the specification states in para [0012] “The multimedia device 110 is, for example, a navigation Electronic Control Unit (ECU having a car navigation function, or an electronic control device (first electronic control device) such as a multimedia ECU. The multimedia device 110 according to the present embodiment includes an acceleration sensor 111 and a multimedia processing unit 112.” Thus the structure of the multimedia device will be considered at least one ECU.
Regarding the setting unit the specification states in para [0015] “Further, the multimedia processing unit 112 includes a setting unit 113 that changes the setting of the acceleration sensor 111 to a setting for parking when the vehicle 10 is parked. For example, the setting unit 113 sets the acceleration sensor 111 necessary for detecting an impact of the vehicle 10. When the acceleration sensor 111 is included in the inertial measurement device or the like, the setting unit 113 may stop the operation of the angular velocity sensor among the acceleration sensor 111 and the angular velocity sensor included in the inertial measurement device.” Thus the setting unit will be considered as part of the multimedia processing unit which is discussed para [0012] “The multimedia device 110 is, for example, a navigation Electronic Control Unit (ECU having a car navigation function, or an electronic control device (first electronic control device) such as a multimedia ECU. The multimedia device 110 according to the present embodiment includes an acceleration sensor 111 and a multimedia processing unit 112.” Thus the structure of the setting unit will be considered at least one ECU.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo (US 20220321838 A1) in view of Primack et al. (US 20230099553 A1; hereinafter known as Primack), Takata et al. (US 20210337160 A1; hereinafter known as Takata), and Hosey (US 20140343831 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Seo teaches A vehicle monitoring system comprising: an acceleration sensor mounted on a vehicle and operated with a first power supply constantly supplied from a battery of the vehicle;
{Para [0069] “The second sensor 142 and the third sensor 143 may be sensors for sensing an impact applied to the vehicle 1 to determine whether to deploy an airbag. The second sensor 142 may be a pressure sensor for sensing pressure applied to a side of the vehicle 1, and the third sensor 143 may be an acceleration sensor for sensing an impact applied to a side of the vehicle 1. The side of the vehicle 1 may be one of the doors 115 of the vehicle 1.”
Para [0212] “When it is determined that the vehicle 1 is in a parked or stopped state, the second controller 164 may supply power of the second battery 172 to the second sensor 142, the third sensor 143, and the second communicator 163.”
Para [0238] “When it is determined that the vehicle 1 is in a parked state by ignition off in operation 191, the vehicle 1 may supply power charged in the second battery 172 to the detector 140 and the image recording device 180, in operation 192. At this time, the vehicle 1 may supply power of the second battery 172 to the second and third sensors 142 and 143. In this case, the second and third sensors 142 and 143 may be electrically, mechanically, and communicatively connected to the image recording device 180.”
In this case the second battery can be considered as a first power supply
}
a for operating the vehicle using the acceleration sensor when a second power supply different from the first power supply is supplied, the
{Para [0131] “The first battery 171 may supply power to the airbag system 16o, various detectors including the detector 140, the vehicle terminal iso, and the image recording device 180 during driving.”
Para [0066] “The detector 140 of the vehicle 1 may further include a first sensor 141 provided in the inside of the front panel 111 or a dashboard, a second sensor 142 provided in the left and right doors 115 of the vehicle 1, and a third sensor 143 provided in each of the left and right B pillars ii8b of the vehicle 1, and the detector 140 may further include a fourth sensor 144 provided in the tail gate 116 and a fifth sensor 145 provided in each of the rear doors 115 of the vehicle 1.”
Para [0212] “When it is determined that the vehicle 1 is in a parked or stopped state, the second controller 164 may supply power of the second battery 172 to the second sensor 142, the third sensor 143, and the second communicator 163.”
The detector can be considered to include the first electronic device.
Where when the vehicle is driving e.g. navigating the first battery is used (this corresponds with the applicant’s second power supply) and when the vehicle is parked the second battery is used (this corresponds with the applicant’s first power supply)
}
, and the acceleration sensor operating with the first power supply;
{Para [0069] “The second sensor 142 and the third sensor 143 may be sensors for sensing an impact applied to the vehicle 1 to determine whether to deploy an airbag. The second sensor 142 may be a pressure sensor for sensing pressure applied to a side of the vehicle 1, and the third sensor 143 may be an acceleration sensor for sensing an impact applied to a side of the vehicle 1. The side of the vehicle 1 may be one of the doors 115 of the vehicle 1.”
Para [0212] “When it is determined that the vehicle 1 is in a parked or stopped state, the second controller 164 may supply power of the second battery 172 to the second sensor 142, the third sensor 143, and the second communicator 163.”
}
one or more recording devices including circuitry that operate with the first power supply and record a image of surroundings of the vehicle;
{Para [0262 - 0264] “When it is determined that the impact applied to the vehicle 1 is not an impact caused by opening or closing of a door based on the detection information of the opening/closing detector (not shown), the vehicle 1 may determine the detection information detected by the detector 140 to be impact information generated by an obstacle. That is, the vehicle 1 may determine that an impact has been applied to the vehicle 1.
When the vehicle 1 determines that an impact has been applied to the left side of the vehicle 1, the vehicle 1 may control an operation of the third camera 133 provided in the left side mirror 117 to obtain a left image, and store the obtained left image, in operation 196.
As illustrated in FIG. 8, when the vehicle 1 determines that an impact has been applied to the right side of the vehicle 1, the vehicle 1 may control an operation of the fourth camera 134 provided in the right side mirror 117 to obtain a right image, and store the obtained right image, in operation 196.”
}
a battery monitoring unit including circuitry configured to monitor a remaining level of the battery of the vehicle:
{Para [0131] “In the image recording mode for parking, the first controller 182 may monitor a charged state of the second battery 172, and compare an amount of charging of the second battery 172, corresponding to a result of the monitoring, with a reference amount of charging.”
}
and a monitoring control device including a processor that operates with the first power supply, and when the acceleration sensor detects an acceleration equal to or greater than a predetermined value while the vehicle is parked
receives the remaining level of the battery from the battery monitoring unit,
determines based on remaining level of the battery from the battery monitoring unit, whether there is sufficient charge after recording the image,
when it is determined that there is sufficient charge, transmits an activation signal to the one or more recording devices to activate the one or more recording devices, and start recording the image of the surroundings of the vehicle for a predetermined period of time, and
Fig. 7 and label 191, label 192, label 194, Label 196
Para [0238] “When it is determined that the vehicle 1 is in a parked state by ignition off in operation 191, the vehicle 1 may supply power charged in the second battery 172 to the detector 140 and the image recording device 180, in operation 192. At this time, the vehicle 1 may supply power of the second battery 172 to the second and third sensors 142 and 143. In this case, the second and third sensors 142 and 143 may be electrically, mechanically, and communicatively connected to the image recording device 180.”
Para [0252] “When it is determined that the acceleration detected by the third sensor 143 is greater than or equal to the second reference acceleration based on the checked acceleration information and the reference acceleration information, the vehicle 1 may determine that an impact has been applied to the left side of the vehicle 1.”
Para [0262 - 0264] “When it is determined that the impact applied to the vehicle 1 is not an impact caused by opening or closing of a door based on the detection information of the opening/closing detector (not shown), the vehicle 1 may determine the detection information detected by the detector 140 to be impact information generated by an obstacle. That is, the vehicle 1 may determine that an impact has been applied to the vehicle 1.
When the vehicle 1 determines that an impact has been applied to the left side of the vehicle 1, the vehicle 1 may control an operation of the third camera 133 provided in the left side mirror 117 to obtain a left image, and store the obtained left image, in operation 196.
As illustrated in FIG. 8, when the vehicle 1 determines that an impact has been applied to the right side of the vehicle 1, the vehicle 1 may control an operation of the fourth camera 134 provided in the right side mirror 117 to obtain a right image, and store the obtained right image, in operation 196.”
Para [0131] “In the image recording mode for parking, the first controller 182 may monitor a charged state of the second battery 172, and compare an amount of charging of the second battery 172, corresponding to a result of the monitoring, with a reference amount of charging.”
}
when it is determined that there is insufficient charge, only records detection of an impact and stops the one or more recording devices from recording the image of the surroundings of the vehicle, wherein the one or more recording devices are stopped when the vehicle is parked.
{Para [0131] “In the image recording mode for parking, the first controller 182 may monitor a charged state of the second battery 172, and compare an amount of charging of the second battery 172, corresponding to a result of the monitoring, with a reference amount of charging. When the amount of charging of the second battery 172 is less than or equal to the reference amount of charging, the first controller 182 may terminate the image recording mode for parking.”
The detector can be considered to include the first electronic device.
Where when the vehicle is driving e.g. navigating the first battery is used (this corresponds with the applicant’s second power supply) and when the vehicle is parked the second battery is used (this corresponds with the applicant’s first power supply)
}
Seo does not teach
a multimedia device including a multimedia processing unit that provides navigation functions using the acceleration sensor
the multimedia device including the acceleration sensor
one or more recording devices that operate with the first power supply and record a video of surroundings of the vehicle;
determines based on remaining level of the battery from the battery monitoring unit, whether a next start-up of the engine is possible
Primack teaches a multimedia device including a multimedia processing unit that provides navigation functions using the acceleration sensor
{Para [0099] “By way of example, the UEs 105 may be a personal navigation device (“PND”), a cellular telephone, a mobile phone, a personal digital assistant (“PDA”), a watch, a camera, a computer, an in-vehicle or embedded navigation system, and/or other device that is configured with multiple sensor types (e.g., accelerometers 109, magnetometers 113, etc.) that can be used for determined vehicle speed according to the embodiments described herein. It is contemplated, that the UE 105 (e.g., cellular telephone or other wireless communication device) may be interfaced with an on-board navigation system of an autonomous vehicle or physically connected to the vehicle 101 for serving as a navigation system. Also, the UEs 105 and/or vehicles 101 may be configured to access the communications network 123 by way of any known or still developing communication protocols. Via this communications network 123, the UEs 105 and/or vehicles 101 may transmit sensor data collected from IMU or equivalent sensors for facilitating vehicle speed calculations.”
}
the multimedia device including the acceleration sensor
{Para [0099] “By way of example, the UEs 105 may be a personal navigation device (“PND”), a cellular telephone, a mobile phone, a personal digital assistant (“PDA”), a watch, a camera, a computer, an in-vehicle or embedded navigation system, and/or other device that is configured with multiple sensor types (e.g., accelerometers 109, magnetometers 113, etc.) that can be used for determined vehicle speed according to the embodiments described herein. It is contemplated, that the UE 105 (e.g., cellular telephone or other wireless communication device) may be interfaced with an on-board navigation system of an autonomous vehicle or physically connected to the vehicle 101 for serving as a navigation system. Also, the UEs 105 and/or vehicles 101 may be configured to access the communications network 123 by way of any known or still developing communication protocols. Via this communications network 123, the UEs 105 and/or vehicles 101 may transmit sensor data collected from IMU or equivalent sensors for facilitating vehicle speed calculations.”
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Seo to incorporate the teachings of Primack to have the accelerometer used be part of a navigation system because it reduces cost as using an accelerometer already part of the vehicle navigation system means less accelerometers have be purchased.
Seo in view of Primack does not teach one or more recording devices including circuitry that operate with the first power supply and record a video of surroundings of the vehicle;
determines based on remaining level of the battery from the battery monitoring unit, whether a next start-up of the engine is possible
However Takata teaches one or more recording devices including circuitry that operate with the first power supply and record a video of surroundings of the vehicle;
{Para [0036] “The photographic data acquisition unit 120 acquires various pieces of photographic data from the outside. The photographic data acquisition unit 120 acquires the photographic data photographed by the camera 10 from the camera 10, for example. The photographic data acquisition unit 120 outputs the photographic data acquired from the camera 10 to the buffer memory 121 and the display control unit 126, for example. The photographic data acquisition unit 120 may acquire the video data photographed by the camera 10 as the photographic data, and may acquire the photographic data including the audio data acquired by a microphone, which is not illustrated, disposed at the camera 10 or at another position in addition to the video data.”
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Seo in view of Primack to incorporate the teachings of Takata to record video instead of just an image because video serves as more concrete evidence when an incident occurs while the vehicle is parked.
Seo in view of Primack and Takata does not teach determines based on remaining level of the battery from the battery monitoring unit, whether a next start-up of the engine is possible
However, Hosey teaches determines based on remaining level of the battery from the battery monitoring unit, whether a next start-up of the engine is possible and suspending power consumption when the next start-up of the engine is not possible.
{Para [0012] “Before discussing the details of the invention and the environment wherein the invention may be used, a brief overview is given to guide the reader. In general terms, not intended to limit the claims, systems and methods are described herein for detecting low charge on a vehicle battery while the vehicle engine is off and for preventing further battery drain. When low charge is detected, a user is notified of the low charge, some or all loads connected to the battery are disabled or disconnected, the engine is automatically turned on, or some combination of the foregoing is performed so as to avoid a situation in which the vehicle battery is completely drained and the vehicle is incapable of being started.”
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Seo in view of Primack and Takata to incorporate the teachings of Hosey to disable recording when the vehicle may not be able to start because it helps prevent the user from being stranded by not being able to start their vehicle which improves safety and convenience of the user.
Regarding Claim 3, Seo in view of Primack, Takata, Hosey teaches The vehicle monitoring system according to claim 1.
Seo further teaches
{Para [0131] “The first battery 171 may supply power to the airbag system 16o, various detectors including the detector 140, the vehicle terminal iso, and the image recording device 180 during driving.”
Para [0066] “The detector 140 of the vehicle 1 may further include a first sensor 141 provided in the inside of the front panel 111 or a dashboard, a second sensor 142 provided in the left and right doors 115 of the vehicle 1, and a third sensor 143 provided in each of the left and right B pillars ii8b of the vehicle 1, and the detector 140 may further include a fourth sensor 144 provided in the tail gate 116 and a fifth sensor 145 provided in each of the rear doors 115 of the vehicle 1.”
Para [0212] “When it is determined that the vehicle 1 is in a parked or stopped state, the second controller 164 may supply power of the second battery 172 to the second sensor 142, the third sensor 143, and the second communicator 163.”
Under broadest reasonable interpretation changing what powers the acceleration sensor can be considered as a changing a setting of the acceleration sensor. Applicant has not specified what type of setting is be changed in the claims.
}
Primack teaches wherein the multimedia device includes a setting unit
{Para [0089] “By way of example, the vehicle event module 303 can determine a duration of a drop in accelerometer data variances over the timeline (e.g., FIG. 2B) as the idle state. The vehicle event module 303 can determine a spike in the accelerometer data variances within the detection window exceeding a first threshold (e.g., a small acceleration peak near the open door event in FIG. 2B) as a vehicle door open event. The vehicle event module 303 can determine a spike in the accelerometer data variances within the detection window exceeding a second threshold (e.g., a large acceleration peak near the close door event in FIG. 2B) as a vehicle door close event, while the second threshold is larger than the first threshold.”
Para [0058] “The accelerometer can measure an acceleration of the UE 105 as a voltage. The accelerometer graph shows a drop in the acceleration variance (e.g., standard deviation) during the idle/stop state 104. The system 100 can then detect OCD events within the idle/stop state 104, where a door open event 106a as a drop in the pressure file and a door close event 106b as a spike thereof. In FIG. 2B, a vertical broken line marks a door open event 106a, which a vertical solid line marks a door close event 106b. The door open event 106a created a minute variation/change in the accelerometer graph, while the door close event 106b caused a significant spike. A small spike inbetween the OCD events 106a, 106b corresponds to a passenger entering the vehicle (e.g., a false OCD event 108).”
}
Regarding claim 7, Seo in view of Primack, Takata, Hosey teaches The vehicle monitoring system according to claim 1.
Seo further teaches wherein the one or more recording devices include a second electronic control device that generates an image of the surroundings of the vehicle using an image of the surroundings of the vehicle captured by one or more cameras or images of the surroundings of the vehicle captured by a plurality of cameras.
{Para [0069] “The image obtainer 130, which is a camera, may include a charge coupled device (CCD) imaging sensor or a complementary metal-oxide semiconductor (CMOS) imaging sensor. Also, the image obtainer 130 may include a three-dimensional (3D) space sensor, such as KINECT (RGB-D sensor), TOF (time of flight) sensor, and a stereo camera. The image obtainer 130 may include at least one rotatable camera. The image obtainer 130 may include a camera of a surround view monitor (SVM) or automatic vehicle monitoring (AVM) system, or may include a camera of a blind spot detection (BSD) device or a camera of a rear detection device. Each camera of the image obtainer 130 may be a wide angle camera.”
Para [0118] “The display 152 may display an image stored in the first storage device 183 of the image recording device 180, in the form of an around-view image or a top-view image.”
Para [0166] “The first controller 182 may synthesize images obtained from the plurality of cameras to generate a top view image which a user can easily view, and control the display 152 to display the top view image. The images to be synthesized may be images obtained at the same time by a plurality of different cameras having different fields of view.”
}
Regarding claim 8, Seo in view of Primack, Takata, Hosey teaches The vehicle monitoring system according to claim 1.
Seo further teaches wherein the one or more recording devices include a third electronic control device that records an image output from an image output device including circuitry that outputs the image of the surroundings of the vehicle.
{Para [0114-0118] “The event may be to record images in response to an impact applied to the vehicle 1, the manual may be to record, when a recording command is received according to a user command, images for a first period from a time at which the recording command is received, and the time-lapse may be to record images for a second period at preset time intervals.
The input device 151 may transmit recording time information input by the user to the image recording device 180.
The display 152 may display an image obtained by the image obtainer 130 in response to a user input and recorded.
The display 152 may display information about various functions that can be performed in the vehicle 1, information about various functions being performed in the vehicle 1, and information corresponding to a user input.
The display 152 may display an image stored in the first storage device 183 of the image recording device 180, in the form of an around-view image or a top-view image.”
}
Regarding claim 9, Seo in view of Primack, Takata, Hosey teaches A vehicle comprising the vehicle monitoring system according to claim 1.
{Seo Fig. 4 and para [0094-0095] “FIG. 4 is a control block diagram of a vehicle according to an embodiment.
The vehicle 1 may include the image obtainer 130, the detector 140, the vehicle terminal 150, and the airbag system 160, and further include a power supply 170 and an image recording device 180.”
}
Regarding claim 10, it recites A method having limitations similar to those of claim 1 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo (US 20220321838 A1) in view of Takata et al. (US 20210337160 A1; hereinafter known as Takata), Hosey (US 20140343831 A1), and Naitou (US 20030174051 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Seo in view of Primack, Takata, Hosey teaches The vehicle monitoring system according to claim 1.
Seo does not teach, further comprising a first electronic control device that provides an intrusion detection function that detects an intruder into the vehicle using the acceleration sensor while the vehicle is parked.
However, Naitou teaches further comprising a first electronic control device that provides an intrusion detection function that detects an intruder into the vehicle using the acceleration sensor while the vehicle is parked.
{Fig. 1 and Para [0131] “FIG. 1 is a block diagram showing the structure of a moving object burglar alarm apparatus according to embodiment 1 of the present invention. In the figure, reference numeral 10 denotes a theft detection unit that consists of an area sensor that is an infrared sensor that detects a person's approach, an impact sensor that is an acceleration sensor that detects an impact on the moving object when a window glass is broken, for example, or the like. The theft detection unit 10 can be constructed of a single sensor that is any one of those sensors or a combination of two or more of those sensors and can detect that someone is trying to invade the vehicle. Reference numeral 20 denotes the moving object burglar alarm apparatus that is installed in the vehicle and manages an entire notification system that makes a notification about a theft of the vehicle, and reference numeral 40 denotes a GPS (Global Positioning System) receiver that acquires position information about the current position of the vehicle.”
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Seo in view of Primack, Takata, Hosey to incorporate the teachings of Naitou to use an acceleration sensor in combination with another electronic device to detect intrusion because as discussed in Naitou para [0002] “The present invention relates to a moving object burglar alarm apparatus that, in the event of theft of a moving object equipped with the moving object burglar alarm apparatus, enables users to take theft-prevention measures by automatically notifying a notification center of the theft of the moving object.”
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo (US 20220321838 A1) in view of Primack et al. (US 20230099553 A1; hereinafter known as Primack), Takata et al. (US 20210337160 A1; hereinafter known as Takata), Hosey (US 20140343831 A1), and Breed (US 20080147280 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, Seo in view of Takata, Hosey, and Breed teaches The vehicle monitoring system according to claim 3.
Seo further teaches when the vehicle is parked the setting unit applies the first setting, and when the vehicle is in motion, the setting unit applies the second setting.
{Para [0131] “The first battery 171 may supply power to the airbag system 16o, various detectors including the detector 140, the vehicle terminal iso, and the image recording device 180 during driving.”
Para [0066] “The detector 140 of the vehicle 1 may further include a first sensor 141 provided in the inside of the front panel 111 or a dashboard, a second sensor 142 provided in the left and right doors 115 of the vehicle 1, and a third sensor 143 provided in each of the left and right B pillars ii8b of the vehicle 1, and the detector 140 may further include a fourth sensor 144 provided in the tail gate 116 and a fifth sensor 145 provided in each of the rear doors 115 of the vehicle 1.”
Para [0212] “When it is determined that the vehicle 1 is in a parked or stopped state, the second controller 164 may supply power of the second battery 172 to the second sensor 142, the third sensor 143, and the second communicator 163.”
Under broadest reasonable interpretation changing what powers the acceleration sensor can be considered as a changing a setting of the acceleration sensor. Applicant has not specified what type of setting is be changed in the claims.
}
Breed teaches wherein the acceleration sensor has a first setting, which is a setting for detecting impacts received by the vehicle, and a second setting, which is a setting for using the acceleration sensor for navigation functions,
{ Para [0365] “If a distributed group of acceleration sensors or accelerometers are used to permit a determination of the location of a vibration source, the same group can, in some cases, also be used to measure the pitch, yaw and/or roll of the vehicle eliminating the need for dedicated angular rate sensors. In addition, as mentioned above, such a suite of sensors can also be used to determine the location and severity of a vehicle crash and additionally to determine that the vehicle is on the verge of rolling over. Thus, the same suite of accelerometers optimally performs a variety of functions including inertial navigation, crash sensing, vehicle diagnostics, roll over sensing etc.”
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Seo in view of Takata and Hosey to incorporate the teachings of Breed to have the acceleration sensor be used for navigation in addition to collision sensing because it reduces cost as using an accelerometer for multiple functions means less accelerometers have be purchased.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Han et al. (US 20180022299 A1) teaches in the “A vehicle may include a battery configured to store electric energy, a plurality of electronic components configured to consume the electric energy, and a power control apparatus configured to block sequentially power supplied from the battery to the plurality of electronic components, during a vehicle is parked, wherein the power control apparatus may adjust a plurality of power off times configured to block the power supplied to the plurality of electronic components, based on state information of the battery.”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.G.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/JAMES J LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668