DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it uses the prohibited term “discloses”, and is additionally over the 150 word limit as set out in the MPEP. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the plate fixing system" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the splice plate group" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the plate fixing system" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the large groove plate" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the plate fixing system" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the plate fixing system" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the plate fixing system" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the plate fixing system" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the other two ends" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the plate fixing system" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the plate fixing system" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 10-20 all recite, “A splice plate cover according to” in line 1. As a splice plate cover has been set out in the independent claim to which each claim depends from, it should read, “The splice plate cover according to”.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the two opposite ends" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the other two ends" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the waterproof rubber strip" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 is written in improper claim format. Claims are to be one consistent sentence with proper punctuation and capitalization throughout. Claim 14 includes capitalization at the beginning of each clause in lines 5 and 7, appearing to be a multi-sentence claim. Correction is required.
Claim 15 is written in improper claim format. Claims are to be one consistent sentence with proper punctuation and capitalization throughout. Claim 15 includes capitalization at the beginning of the clause in line 5, appearing to be a multi-sentence claim. Correction is required.
Claim 16 is written in improper claim format. Claims are to be one consistent sentence with proper punctuation and capitalization throughout. Claim 16 includes capitalization at the beginning of the clause in line 6, appearing to be a multi-sentence claim. Correction is required.
Claim 18 is written in improper claim format. Claims are to be one consistent sentence with proper punctuation and capitalization throughout. Claim 18 includes capitalization at the beginning of the clause in line 7, appearing to be a multi-sentence claim. Correction is required.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "a small groove plate" in line 9. As the limitation has been previously set out, it should read, “the small groove plate”.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "a blind plate" in line 9. As the limitation has been previously set out, it should read, “the blind plate”.
Claim 19 is written in improper claim format. Claims are to be one consistent sentence with proper punctuation and capitalization throughout. Claim 19 includes capitalization at the beginning of each clause in lines 4 and 8, appearing to be a multi-sentence claim. Correction is required.
Claim 20 is written in improper claim format. Claims are to be one consistent sentence with proper punctuation and capitalization throughout. Claim 20 includes capitalization at the beginning of each clause in lines 4 and 7, appearing to be a multi-sentence claim. Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gu (US 2021/0053427).
Regarding Claims 1, 3, 4 and 7, Gu discloses a splice plate group (2, 3, 4, 5), the splice plate group includes any combination of a blind plate (2), a large groove plate (14) and a small groove plate (16), the large groove plate and the small groove plate are used to connect a plate fixing system (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 2, Gu discloses a splice plate group (2, 3, 4, 5), the splice plate group includes any combination of a blind plate (2) and a large groove plate (14), the large groove plate (14) is used to connect a plate fixing system. (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 5, Gu discloses a splice plate group (2, 3, 4, 5), the splice plate group includes at least one large groove plate (19), the large groove plate is used to connect a plate fixing system (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 6, Gu discloses a splice plate group (2, 3, 4, 5), the splice plate group includes at least one small groove plate (21), the small groove plate is used to connect a plate fixing system (Fig. 4; via connection to the large groove plate).
Regarding Claims 8 and 11, Gu discloses a front fixing bracket (1), a left fixing bracket (8), a rear fixing bracket (6), a right fixing bracket (8) and a splice plate group (2, 3, 4, 5), the front fixing bracket and the rear fixing bracket are respectively connected to two ends of the splice plate group (Fig. 1), the left fixing bracket and the right fixing bracket are respectively connected to two sides of the splice plate group, the splice plate group includes at least one splicing blind (2), a plate fixing system (Fig. 3) is connected to the front fixing bracket and rear fixing bracket.
Regarding Claim 9, Gu discloses a plurality of splice plate groups, with two splice plate groups connected by a rotating shaft system (Fig. 4 at numeral 20)), the splice plate groups include any one or a combination of a blind plate (3), a large groove plate (19) and a small groove plate (21), the large groove plate and the small groove plate are used for connecting a plate fixing system (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 10, Gu discloses the use of a wrench system (see Figs. 4 and 7 for tightening wrench handles).
Regarding Claim 12, Gu discloses the use of a waterproof rubber seal 20 between plates.
Regarding Claim 13, the blind plate (2), the large groove plate (14) and the small groove plate (16) are connected with a splice structure (20), the splice structure includes a first splice section and/or a second splice section (Fig. 5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 14-20, the applicant’s use of a first splice section including a sealing section and a deformation section, the sealing section provided with a first flange and a second concave edge, the deformation section is provided with a thin wall section and a press pivot point; the second splice section includes a fitting section, the fitting section provided with a first concave edge and a second flange; the first flange is adapted to the first concave edge, the second flange is adapted to the second concave edge, and the press pivot is used to deform the deformation section into contact with the clamping section, is novel.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited art relates to multi-fold tonneau covers for truck beds.
/JASON S DANIELS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612