DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 3, 4, and 11-28 in the reply filed on August 3, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that, “… the Office Action has not sufficiently established that the elected apparatus claims and the withdrawn process claims are “independent or distinct” within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. §121 and MPEP 806.05(e).”. This is not found persuasive.
Per MPEP §806.05(e), process and apparatus for its practice can be shown to be distinct inventions, if either or both of the following can be shown: (A) that the process as claimed can be practiced by another materially different apparatus or by hand; or (B) that the apparatus as claimed can be used to practice another materially different process.
In this case, (B) the apparatus as claimed can be used to practice another and materially different process from the recited process of “extracting valuable minerals from mineral containing particles suspended in a slurry via hydrometallurgical processes”. As a reasonable example given, the Office stated that the apparatus as claimed can be used for mixing other solid, liquid, and gas phase materials.
Ji et al. (US 2007/0217285 A1) evidences that high-pressure, elevated temperature autoclaves can be used to practice other, materially different processes, including “other reactions commonly carried out in autoclaves, such as catalytic chemistry reactions (e.g., the conversion of ferrous to ferric ions, reoxidation of NO by molecular oxygen, and cuprous amine conversion to cupric amine),” (see paragraph [0039]). As another example, Tulleners (US 3,457,161 A) discloses an apparatus comprising a horizontally elongated reaction chamber, a plurality of agitators distributed along the length of the reaction chamber, and a sparge proximate and below each agitator; wherein the apparatus is used for hydrotreating and hydrogenating mineral oils in the presence of a suspended hydrogenation catalyst and sparged hydrogen. Missalla et al. (WO 2008/154995 A1) and Sanborn et al. (US 2016/0257626 A1) also evidence that the claimed sparge structure can be used for introducing fluids into other types of reaction chambers for the practice of other materially different processes.
Therefore, the requirement is still deemed proper and made FINAL.
Claims 5-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/ apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims will be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/ apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/ apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/ apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/ apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 4, and 11-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the recitation of “valuable minerals” (at line 2) is considered indefinite because it is unclear as to what minerals would be considered “valuable”.
Also, the recitation of “high energy” agitators (at line 8) is considered indefinite because it is unclear as to what agitator structures generate “high energy”. As best understood from the disclosure, such agitators are equipped with impellers (see FIG. 8).
Also, the limitation “distributing reagent fluids” (at line 10) is unclear because the claim has not yet set forth that reagent fluids are introduced into the reaction chamber.
Also, the limitation “small enough to avoid backflow of slurry material” (at line 18) is considered indefinite because it is unclear as to what cross-sectional flow area would be “small enough”. The specification also does not define what cross-sectional flow areas would be considered “small enough”.
Regarding claim 4, the recitation of “valuable minerals” (at line 2) is considered indefinite because it is unclear as to what minerals would be considered “valuable”.
Also, the recitation of “high energy” agitators (at line 8) is considered indefinite because it is unclear as to what agitator structures generate “high energy”.
Also, the limitation “distributing reagent fluids” (at line 10) is unclear because the claim has not yet set forth that reagent fluids are introduced into the reaction chamber.
Also, the limitation “small enough to avoid backflow of slurry material” (at line 19) is considered indefinite because it is unclear as to what cross-sectional flow area would be “small enough”. The specification also does not define what cross-sectional flow areas would be considered “small enough”.
Also, the limitation “wherein each of the sparges are in accordance with claim 25” (at line 25) renders the claim indefinite. Claim 4 already sets forth structural limitations for each sparge (at lines 11-25), and it is unclear as to what additional structural limitations should be included from the sparge “in accordance with claim 25”. Also, the relationships between the structural elements of the sparge as set forth in claim 4 and the same structural elements of the sparge which are subsequently recited in claim 25 are unclear.
Regarding claim 11, the recitation of “valuable minerals” (at line 2) is considered indefinite because it is unclear as to what minerals would be considered “valuable”.
Also, it is unclear as to what is meant by the limitation “the sparges being sealed into the reaction chamber” (at line 7).
Also, the recitation of “high energy” agitators (at line 10) is considered indefinite because it is unclear as to what agitator structures generate “high energy”.
Regarding claim 12, the limitation “a pair of sparges for each agitator, wherein one of the pair of sparges delivers a liquid into the reaction chamber and the other of the pair of sparges delivers a gas into the reaction chamber” is unclear. The recitation of “the other of the pair of sparges” implies that the autoclave comprises two agitators, with a pair of sparges for each of the two agitators. However, the claims have not set forth that the autoclave is equipped with only two agitators.
Regarding claim 13, the limitation “one of the pair of sparges delivers oxygen and the other of the pair of sparges delivers steam” is unclear. The recitation of “the other of the pair of sparges” implies that the autoclave comprises two agitators, with a pair of sparges for each of the two agitators. However, the claims have not set forth that the autoclave is equipped with only two agitators.
Regarding claim 14, the recitation of “the fluid flow paths” (at line 2) lacks positive antecedent basis.
Also, the limitation “the fluid flow paths are dimensioned to maintain the rate of flow of the reagent fluids flowing through the sparge below a velocity above which materials of the pipe and the vapor lock means experience rapid wear” is considered indefinite. Firstly, the intended dimensions for the fluid flow paths are unclear. Secondly, it is unclear as to what rate of wear would be “rapid wear”. Thirdly, the velocity above which the materials of the pipe and the vapor lock means experience “rapid wear” varies depending on the materials used to form the pipe and the vapor lock means, the type of fluid that flows through the pipe and the vapor lock means, and the flow rate at which the fluids are introduced into the pipe.
Regarding claim 17, the recitation of “the annular outlet” (at line 3) lacks positive antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 19, the limitation “the vapor lock means is: disposed about the free end of the pipe” (at lines 2-3) is redundant because claim 11 already sets forth “a vapor lock means located about the free end of the pipe” (at line 17).
Regarding claim 20, the relationship between “an annular outlet” (at line 8) and “the annular outlet” previously set forth in claim 17 (at line 3) is unclear.
Regarding claim 24, the recitation of “valuable minerals” (at line 2) is considered indefinite because it is unclear as to what minerals would be considered “valuable”.
Also, it is unclear as to what is meant by the limitation “the sparges being sealed into the reaction chamber” (at line 7).
Also, the recitation of “high energy” agitators (at line 10) is considered indefinite because it is unclear as to what agitator structures generate “high energy”.
Also, the recitation of “the fluid flow paths” (at line 24) lacks positive antecedent basis.
Also, the limitation “the fluid flow paths are dimensioned to maintain the rate of flow of the reagent fluids flowing through the sparge below a velocity above which materials of the pipe and the vapor lock means experience rapid wear” (at lines 25-27) is considered indefinite. Firstly, the intended dimensions for the fluid flow paths are unclear. Secondly, it is unclear as to what rate of wear would be “rapid wear”. Thirdly, the velocity above which the materials of the pipe and the vapor lock means experience “rapid wear” varies depending on the materials used to construct the pipe and vapor lock means, the type of fluid that flows through the pipe and the vapor lock means, and the flow rate at which the fluids are introduced into the pipe.
Also, the recitation of “the annular outlet” (at line 29) lacks positive antecedent basis.
Also, the limitation “wherein each of the sparges is in accordance with claim 25” (at line 31) renders the claim indefinite. Claim 24 (at lines 14-30) already sets forth structural limitations for each sparge, and it is unclear as to what additional structural limitations should be included from the sparge “in accordance with claim 25”. Also, the relationships between the structural elements of the sparge as set forth in claim 24 and the same structural elements of the sparge that are subsequently recited in claim 25 are unclear.
Regarding claim 25, the claim is directed to “A sparge”, as indicated by reference numerals 20 or 40 in Applicant’s disclosure (see FIG. 7-13). The components which make up the sparge include: a pipe 22; a vapor lock means constituted by a free end 24,44 of the pipe 22; at least one aperture 29,46; an inverted cap 30,42; an annular outlet 32; and an annular passage extending from the free end 24,44 of the pipe to the annular outlet 32. The claim is considered indefinite because it is unclear as to the further structural limitations Applicant is attempting to recite for the claimed “sparge” structure when referencing the other elements of the overall device (e.g., the operations of the high-pressure, elevated temperature autoclave, the high energy agitators, etc.), which are not components of “A sparge”. It is also unclear as to the further structural limitations Applicant is attempting to recite for claimed “sparge” structure when referring to the intended use of the sparge (as recited in lines 1-3 and 27-43).
Also, the recitation of “high energy” agitators (at line 3) is considered indefinite because it is unclear as to what agitator structures generate “high energy”.
Also, it is unclear as to what is meant by the limitation “wherein joins within the pipe and within the vapor lock means are of such a length and pitch that any flow paths produced thereby which extend through a wall of the pipe or a wall of the vapor lock means cannot be transversed by the high-pressure fluids” (at lines 24-26). The “joins” lack proper positive antecedent basis, and it is unclear as to what is meant by “a length and pitch” of the joins. Also, it is unclear as to what is meant by the “any flow paths” that “extend through a wall of the pipe or a wall of the vapor lock means”, and where such flow paths are located on the sparge.
Also, it is unclear as to what is meant by the “energy” of the reagent fluids (at lines 7-10)
Also, the limitation “aggressively leaching” (at line 40) is considered indefinite because it is unclear as to what leaching would be “aggressive”.
Regarding claim 26, the limitation “in which the vapor lock means depends from one of the agitators” (at lines 1-2) is unclear because the claim is directed to “The sparge”, and the “agitators” are not part of the sparge.
Also, the limitation “the vapor lock means being devoid of attachment to the free end of the pipe” (at lines 3-4) is unclear because claim 25 sets forth “joins within the pipe and within the vapor lock means” (at lines 24-26).
The remaining claims are also rejected because they depend from a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 11, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji et al. (US 2007/0217285 A1) in view of Missalla et al. (WO 2008/154995 A1) and Wallace et al. (US 2,077,445 A).
Regarding claim 3, Ji et al. discloses a high-pressure, elevated temperature autoclave (i.e., an autoclave reactor 300; see FIG. 3-5), comprising:
a substantially cylindrical horizontally disposed reaction chamber for processing a slurry of solid particles at high-pressure and elevated temperature (i.e., the autoclave reactor 300 comprises a horizontally disposed, multi-compartment, cylindrical vessel for processing a feed stream 320 in the form of a slurry of solid particles; see paragraph [0039]), the reaction chamber having an inlet at one end for receiving the solid particles (i.e., an inlet for receiving the feed stream 320, on one side of the autoclave reactor 300) and an outlet at its opposite end for delivering processed particles (i.e., an outlet for removing an output slurry or product 324, on the opposite side of the autoclave reactor 300);
a plurality of high energy agitators disposed within the reaction chamber (i.e., agitators 312a-g in the form of impellers that efficiently promote gas/liquid transfer and adequate mixing of the slurry; see paragraphs [0038], [0040]), the agitators being distributed along the length of the reaction chamber (see FIG. 3) for stirring the slurry and distributing reagent fluids; and
at least one sparge disposed proximate and below each of the agitators 312a-g, wherein each sparge comprises a pipe with its free end disposed within the slurry for injecting the reagent fluids into the slurry (i.e., a gas 120 is introduced into each compartment 304a-f of the reaction chamber via a “sparge tube (not shown)” positioned below and in spatial proximity to each of the agitators; see FIG. 3; paragraphs [0006], [0038]).
Ji et al. fails to disclose or teach that each sparge further comprises the claimed “vapor lock means” disposed about the free end of the pipe.
Missalla et al. discloses a sparge (i.e., a gas nozzle 1, 1’, 1’’; see FIG. 1-4) for supplying a gas or gas mixture into a reactor used for the thermal and/or chemical and/or physical treatment of solid particles (see page 6, lines 25-28), the sparge comprising:
a pipe (i.e., a nozzle tube 2) with its free end disposed within a region of solid particles contained in a reaction chamber of the reactor; and
specifically, a vapor lock means disposed about the free end of the pipe (i.e., a means comprising a transition portion 3, nozzle openings 11, an inverted hood 4 formed by a hood cover 7 and a hood apron 9, and an annular gap 10; wherein, together, the elements act as a “vapor lock means” by forming a seal of the nozzle tube 2 and preventing a back-flow of materials into the nozzle tube 2; see page 1, lines 7-12; page 2, line 15, to page 3, line 5; and page 3, line 28, to page 4, line 3); wherein the vapor lock means comprises a downwardly disposed annular outlet (i.e., the annular gap 10); and wherein the cross-sectional flow area of the downwardly disposed annular outlet is configured to: reduce a flow rate and velocity of the gas in the flow direction of the annular outlet 10; and avoid a backflow of solid particles into the free end of the pipe 2 during conditions of low or no gas flow through the pipe and due to the turbulence of the solid particles in the reaction chamber during processing (see page 2, line 28, to page 3, line 8; page 3, line 29, to page 4, line 3).
In addition, Wallace et al. (see FIG. 1) discloses an apparatus for the treatment of materials requiring agitation, comprising: a tank 5 for processing a slurry of solid particles; an agitator (i.e., an impeller 25) disposed within the reaction chamber for stirring the slurry and distributing fluids; and a sparge disposed below and proximate to the agitator 25, wherein the sparge comprises a pipe 26 with its free end within the slurry for injecting a fluid into the slurry and, specifically, an element for protecting the free end of the pipe 26 against the entrance of material, wherein the element comprises a hood 27 structure (see column 2, lines 29-36).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the vapor lock means of Missalla et al. about the free end of each pipe in the autoclave of Ji et al. because the vapor lock means would have sealed the free end of the pipe against the intrusion of materials from the reaction chamber during the operation of the autoclave and also during instances in which the flow of fluid through the sparges was stopped, and the vapor lock means would have also improved the reliability of the sparge in regards to its mechanical durability by decreasing the flow velocity of the fluids through the sparge in the direction of flow, as taught by Missalla et al. (see page 2, line 15, to page 3, line 5; page 3, line 28, to page 4, line 3); and, furthermore, it was conventional to dispose a “hood” structure about the free end of a sparge pipe to protect against the entrance of materials into the sparge pipe, as taught by Wallace et al. (see column 2, lines 29-36).
Missalla et al. (at page 4, line 10, to page 5, line 6) further discloses that the cross-sectional flow area of the downwardly disposed annular outlet (i.e., the size of the annular gap 10) is optimized with respect to the other elements of the sparge in order to achieve the desired effects— namely, the prevention of a back-flow of materials into the free end of the pipe and a simultaneous reduction in the flow velocity of the gas to a desired value. It is also well-known in the art that the flow velocity of a fluid through a pipe is inversely proportional to the diameter of the pipe—in other words, an increase in the pipe diameter leads to a decrease in the flow velocity of the fluid through the pipe.
Therefore, it would have also been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the downwardly disposed annular outlet to have a cross-sectional flow area that was larger than the cross-sectional flow area of the free end of the pipe in the modified autoclave of Ji et al., while still maintaining the cross-sectional flow area sufficiently small to prevent the back-flow of materials into the free end of the pipe, in order to obtain the desired reduction in the fluid flow velocity in the direction of flow through the sparge, as suitable for the intended use thereof. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Lastly, the recitations with respect to the intended use of the autoclave “for extracting valuable minerals from mineral bearing particles” do not structurally differentiate the claimed apparatus from the prior art apparatus. See MPEP §§ 2114, 2115. The modified autoclave of Ji et al. would have been capable of performing the intended use as claimed.
Regarding claim 11, the same comments with respect to Ji et al., Missalla et al., and Wallace et al. apply (see rejection of claim 3, above). In addition, Missalla et al. discloses that the vapor lock means is devoid of components that can move to resist the flow of fluids out of the reaction chamber through the sparge (no movable components are disclosed; see FIG. 1-4).
Ji et al. also discloses that the autoclave 300, which operates under high-pressure, must be a “sealed autoclave” (see paragraph [0006]). Ji et al., however, fails to disclose that each sparge is further “insertable into and removable from” the reaction chamber and “sealed into the reaction chamber for preventing high-pressure fluids escaping the reaction chamber”.
However, it is well-known in the art that sparges will experience wear over time, due to abrasion from the particles being processed in the reaction chamber and/or the flow of reagent fluids through the sparge (as evidenced by Missalla et al.; see page 1, lines 24-27; page 5, lines 7-19). It is also well-known in the art that any pipe penetrations through the wall of a pressure vessel should be sealed (as evidenced by Missalla et al., FIG. 2, which shows a cylindrical sealing element between the wall of the tube 2 and the wall 5 of the autoclave reactor).
Therefore, the examiner takes Official notice that it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further configure the sparges to each be “insertable into and removable from” the reaction chamber and “sealed into the reaction chamber” in the modified autoclave of Ji et al. because it would have been well-known in the art to configure a sparge to be insertable and removable from the reaction chamber in order to enable the sparge to be removed and replaced once it has been worn, and it would have also been well-known in the art to seal the sparge pipe at the location at which the pipe penetrates through the wall of the reaction chamber in order to seal the autoclave and prevent the leakage of fluids into the surrounding environment.
The further recitations with respect to the intended use of the autoclave “for extracting valuable minerals from mineral containing particles via hydrometallurgical processes involving a mixture of solid, liquid and gas phases” do not structurally differentiate the claimed apparatus from the prior art apparatus. See MPEP §§ 2114, 2115. The modified autoclave of Ji et al. would have been capable of performing the intended use as claims.
Regarding claim 14, Missalla et al. discloses that the fluid flow paths are dimensioned so that the flow velocity of the gas is reduced in the direction of flow, wherein the flow velocity of the gas at the exit from the sparge can be from about 6 to 18 m/s (see page 4, lines 26-30). The low gas velocity improves the reliability of the sparge with regard to its mechanical durability (see page 2, lines 17-20). The low gas velocity is also in contrast to the prior art, where high gas velocities contributed to increased wear (see page 1, lines 24-27). Therefore, as best understood, the fluid flow paths in the modified autoclave of Jin et al. are “dimensioned to maintain the rate of flow of the reagent fluids flowing through the sparge below a velocity above which materials of the pipe and the vapor lock means experience rapid wear”.
Regarding claim 15, the same comments with respect to Ji et al., Missalla et al., and Wallace et al. apply (see rejection of claim 3, above). Missalla et al. also discloses that the vapor lock means comprises a downwardly disposed annular outlet (i.e., at the annular gap 10).
Regarding claim 16, the same comments with respect to Ji et al., Missalla et al., and Wallace et al. apply (see rejection of claim 3, above). In addition, the further recitation of the cross-sectional flow area of the downwardly disposed annular outlet being “at least 200% of the cross-sectional flow area of the pipe” is not considered to confer patentability to the claim since the precise percentage would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art. Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to routinely optimize the cross-sectional flow area of the downwardly disposed annular outlet as a percentage of the cross-sectional flow area of the pipe in the modified autoclave of Ji et al. in order to obtain the desired effects— namely, the prevention of a back-flow of materials into the free end of the pipe and the simultaneous reduction in the flow velocity of the fluid to a desired value, and where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji et al. (US 2007/0217285 A1) in view of Missalla et al. (WO 2008/154995 A1) and Wallace et al. (US 2,077,445 A), as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Takeuchi et al. (JP S58-186425 A).
Ji et al. fails to disclose “a pair of sparges” for each agitator 312a-g.
Takeuchi et al. discloses an apparatus (see FIG. 12, translation) comprising: a vessel 1 defining a processing chamber; an agitator 6,7; and a pair of sparges 3,3 below and proximate the agitator, wherein each sparge 3,3 comprises a pipe with its free end disposed within the processing chamber for injecting a fluid into the contents of the chamber.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a pair of sparges below and proximate to each agitator in the modified autoclave of Ji et al. because the provision of multiple sparges would have improved the distribution of the fluids in the reaction chamber, as taught by Takeuchi et al., and furthermore, the duplication of parts to produce a predictable, multiplied effect was held to be obvious. See MPEP § 2144.04 VI, B.
The further recitations with respect to the specific fluids introduced by the sparges (i.e., gas, liquid, oxygen, steam, etc.) fail to structurally distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art apparatus. The fluids are merely materials to be worked upon by the apparatus during an intended operation. The modified autoclave of Ji et al. would have been capable of performing the intended use as claimed.
Claims 17, 18, and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji et al. (US 2007/0217285 A1) in view of Missalla et al. (WO 2008/154995 A1) and Wallace et al. (US 2,077,445 A), as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Sanborn et al. (US 2016/0257626 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Missalla et al. (see FIG. 1-4) fails to disclose a diffusion ring disposed about the free end of the pipe 2 and proximate and below the annular outlet 10, wherein the diffusion ring directs the flow of the fluids substantially radially outward from the pipe.
Sanborn et al. discloses a sparge (see Figure 1) for feeding a fluid into a reaction chamber, wherein the sparge comprises a pipe (i.e., a nozzle 18 which may pass through the bottom of the reactor, see paragraph [0079]) with its free end disposed within a bed of solid particles within the reaction chamber; and a vapor lock means (i.e., a means comprising the free end of the nozzle 18, an outlet aperture 12, an inverted cap 10, and an annular outlet 14, which together act as a “vapor lock means” for preventing the intrusion of solid particles into the nozzle 18 and for reducing the flow velocity of the fluids in the direction of flow; see paragraphs [0014], [0080]-[0082]); wherein the vapor lock means is disposed about the free end of the pipe 19, and wherein the vapor lock means comprises a downwardly disposed annular outlet (i.e., a nozzle/cap outlet 14) whose cross-sectional area is “relatively high” to reduce the flow velocity of the fluid, since the cross-sectional area determines the velocity of a given flow of fluid (see paragraph [0014]), and sufficiently small to avoid a backflow of materials into the free end of the pipe 18 (i.e., the downward turn in the nozzle as created by the cap 10 also helps prevent material intrusion; see paragraph [0080]). Specifically, the sparge comprises a diffusion ring (i.e., at 16; see FIG. 1, 3) disposed about the free end of the pipe 18 and proximate and below the annular outlet 14 of the vapor lock means, wherein the diffusion ring is disposed to direct the flow of fluids substantially radially outward from the pipe 18.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a diffusion ring about the free end of the pipe and proximate and below the annular outlet of the vapor lock means in the modified autoclave of Ji et al. because the diffusion ring would have produced a more even dispersion of the fluids in the reaction chamber and provided for better mixing of the fluids with the materials in the reaction chamber, as taught by Sanborn et al. (see paragraph [0013]).
Regarding claim 18, Missalla et al. (see FIG. 1-4) discloses that the vapor lock means is attached to the pipe 2.
Regarding claim 20, the same comments with respect to Ji et al., Missalla et al., Wallace et al., and Sanborn et al. apply. In addition, Missalla et al. (see FIG. 1-4) discloses that the vapor lock means comprises: an inverted cap (i.e., the inverted pot-like hood 4) having a downwardly extending wall (i.e., the hood apron 9) disposed about the free end of the pipe 2 and extending substantially below the free end of the pipe 2; at least one aperture (i.e., at least one opening 11) defined between the free end of the pipe 2 and the inverted cap 4; an annular outlet (i.e., an outlet portion of the annular gap 10) between the free end of the pipe 2 and the inverted cap 4; and an annular passage (i.e., a passage portion of the annular gap 10) extending about the pipe 2 from the free end of the pipe and downwardly thereabout to the annular outlet.
Regarding claims 21 and 22, Missalla et al. fails to disclose or teach that the pipe 2 and the vapor lock means 3, 4, 11 (see FIG. 1-4) each have a protective coating to reduce the effect of corrosion and erosion thereon.
The same comments with respect to Sanborn et al. apply. In addition, Sanborn et al. discloses that the pipe and the vapor lock means are each provided with a protective coating (shown) to reduce the effect of corrosion or erosion thereon (i.e., an erosion resistant coating on the surfaces of the nozzle 18 and the cap 10; see paragraphs [0079], [0082]). The protective coating can be chosen from one of a ceramic coating, a sheath outer layer, and a cladding with a material dissimilar to that of the pipe and the vapor lock means (i.e., a ceramic material coated on a carbon steel or metal or metal alloy; see paragraphs [0079], [0082]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a protective coating as taught by Sanborn et al. on each of the pipe and the vapor lock means in the modified autoclave of Ji et al. because the protective coating would have further protected the pipe and the vapor lock means against erosion and corrosion, as taught by Sanborn et al.
Regarding claim 23, Ji et al. discloses that the pipe (i.e., sparge tube) extends into the reaction chamber from the bottom of the autoclave 300, with its free end being located at a distance from the bottom of the autoclave 300 and “in spatial proximity to each agitator” (see paragraph [0038]). Ji et al. does not specifically state that the length of a portion of the pipe residing within the reaction chamber is “greater than about 300% of the pipe’s external diameter”. However, it would have been an obvious design consideration for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select any suitable length for the portion of the pipe residing within the reaction chamber, relative to its external diameter, in the modified autoclave of Ji et al. in order to ensure that the fluids being supplied by the sparge were delivered into the slurry “in spatial proximity to each agitator”.
Claims 25 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Missalla et al. (WO 2008/154995 A1).
Regarding claim 25, Missalla et al. discloses a sparge (i.e., a gas nozzle 1, 1’, 1’’; see FIG. 1-4) for supplying a gas or gas mixture into a reaction chamber used for the thermal and/or chemical and/or physical treatment of solid particles (see page 6, lines 25-28), comprising:
a pipe (i.e., a nozzle tube 2) with one end locatable outside of the reaction chamber and a free end locatable inside of the reaction chamber, wherein a length of the pipe 2 allows for the free end to be locatable above a bottom of the reaction chamber (see FIG. 2); and
a vapor lock means disposed about the free end of the pipe (i.e., a means comprising a transition portion 3, nozzle openings 11, an inverted pot-shaped hood 4 formed by a hood cover 7 and a hood apron 9, and an annular gap 10; wherein, together, the elements act as a “vapor lock means” by forming a seal of the nozzle tube 2 and preventing a back-flow of materials into the nozzle tube 2; see page 1, lines 7-12; page 2, line 15, to page 3, line 5; and page 3, line 28, to page 4, line 3), the vapor lock means comprising:
an inverted cap (i.e., the inverted pot-like hood 4) having a downwardly extending wall (i.e., the hood apron 9) disposed about the free end of the pipe 2 and extending substantially below the free end of the pipe 2;
at least one aperture (i.e., at least one nozzle opening 11) defined between the free end of the pipe 2 and the inverted cap 4;
an annular outlet (i.e., an outlet portion of the annular gap 10) between the free end of the pipe 2 and the inverted cap 4; and
an annular passage (i.e., a passage portion of the annular gap 10) extending about the pipe 2 from the free end of the pipe and downwardly thereabout to the annular outlet.
Missalla et al. further discloses joins within the pipe and within the vapor lock means (i.e., at 6 and 8,8a,8b), wherein the joins are not traversed by fluids. While the joins have been described as welds, the examiner takes Official notice that the substitution of other known join types, for performing the same function of connecting elements to one another in a fluid tight fashion, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the engineering art.
Missalla et al. (at page 4, line 10, to page 5, line 6) further discloses that the cross-sectional flow area of the at least one aperture and the cross-sectional flow area of the annular passage are optimized with respect to the other elements of the sparge in order to achieve the desired effects— namely, the prevention of a back-flow of materials into the free end of the pipe and a reduction in the flow velocity of the gas to a desired value. It is also well-known in the engineering art that the flow velocity of a fluid through an aperture or pipe is inversely proportional to the diameter of the aperture or pipe.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the at least one aperture or a combined cross-sectional flow area of all apertures to be larger than the cross-sectional flow area of the pipe and to further configure the cross-sectional flow area of the annular passage to be larger than the cross-sectional flow area of the pipe in the sparge of Missalla et al., while still maintaining a sufficiently small cross-sectional flow area to prevent the back-flow of materials into the free end of the pipe, in order to achieve a desired reduction in the fluid flow velocity in the direction of flow through the sparge, as would suitable for the intended use of the sparge. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
The further recitations with respect to the intended use of the sparge do not patentably distinguish the claimed sparge from the prior art sparge. The modified sparge of Missalla et al. would have been structurally capable of performing the intended use as claimed.
Regarding claim 27, Missalla et al. discloses that the vapor lock means (see FIG. 1-4) is fixedly attached to the free end of the pipe 2 (i.e., at the joins 6, 8a) and incapable of movement with respect to the pipe 2.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Missalla et al. (WO 2008/154995 A1) in view of Sanborn et al. (US 2016/0257626 A1).
Missalla et al. (see FIG. 1-4) fails to disclose a diffusion ring disposed about the free end of the pipe 2 and proximate and below the annular outlet 10, wherein the diffusion ring is disposed to direct the flow of the fluids substantially radially outward from the pipe.
Sanborn et al. discloses a sparge (see Figure 1) for feeding a fluid into a reaction chamber, wherein the sparge comprises a pipe (i.e., a nozzle 18 which may pass through the bottom of the reactor, see paragraph [0079]) with its free end disposed within a bed of solid particles within the reaction chamber; and a vapor lock means (i.e., a means comprising the free end of the nozzle 18, an outlet aperture 12, an inverted cap 10, and an annular outlet 14, which together act as a “vapor lock means” for preventing the intrusion of solid particles into the nozzle 18 and for reducing the flow velocity of the fluids in the direction of flow; see paragraphs [0014], [0080]-[0082]); wherein the vapor lock means is disposed about the free end of the pipe 19, and wherein the vapor lock means comprises a downwardly disposed annular outlet (i.e., a nozzle/cap outlet 14) whose cross-sectional area is “relatively high” to reduce the flow velocity of the fluid, since the cross-sectional area determines the velocity of a given flow of fluid (see paragraph [0014]), and sufficiently small to avoid a backflow of materials into the free end of the pipe 18 (i.e., the downward turn in the nozzle as created by the cap 10 also helps prevent material intrusion; see paragraph [0080]). Specifically, the sparge further comprises a diffusion ring (i.e., at 16; see FIG. 1, 3) disposed about the free end of the pipe 18 and proximate and below the annular outlet 14 of the vapor lock means, wherein the diffusion ring is disposed to direct the flow of fluids substantially radially outward from the pipe 18.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dispose a diffusion ring about the free end of the pipe and proximate and below the annular outlet of the vapor lock means in the modified sparge of Missalla et al. because the diffusion ring would have produced a more even dispersion of the fluids in the reaction chamber and provided for better mixing of the fluids with the materials in the reaction chamber, as taught by Sanborn et al. (see paragraph [0013]).
Claims 4 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji et al. (US 2007/0217285 A1) in view of Missalla et al. (WO 2008/154995 A1) and Wallace et al. (US 2,077,445 A).
The same comments with respect to Ji et al., Missalla et al., and Wallace et al. apply (see rejections of claims 3 and 25, above).
Claims 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji et al. (US 2007/0217285 A1) in view of Missalla et al. (WO 2008/154995 A1), Wallace et al. (US 2,077,445 A), and Sanborn et al. (US 2016/0257626).
The same comments with respect to Ji et al., Missalla et al., Wallace et al., and Sanborn et al. apply (see rejections of claims 11, 14, 17, and 25, above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19 and 26 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art fails to disclose or adequately suggest the claimed high-pressure, elevated temperature autoclave or the claimed sparge adapted for use in a high-pressure, elevated temperature autoclave, wherein, specifically, the vapor lock means is further dependent from and attached to a lower end of one of the high energy agitators, and devoid of attachment to the free end of the pipe (directed to the sparge embodiment shown in Applicant’s FIG. 11-13).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Mischke (US 4,526,111 A), Magotteaux International (DE 20213861 U1), and Thomas et al. (US 5,489,326 A) are cited to further illustrate the state of the art.
* * *
/JENNIFER A LEUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774