DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama, et. al. (US2014333239A1), in view of Harazuka, et. al. (US2021288371A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Yokoyama teaches a power storage device (laminated power storage cell 31 ) comprising: a stacked body (power storage laminated body 56) configured to have a power storage module (power storage container 50) in which electrodes including a plurality of bipolar electrodes are stacked in a first direction (see Fig. 1B, 1C; including polarizable electrodes 57, 58); a pair of current collector plates configured to be respectively stacked at both ends of the stacked body in the first direction (see Fig. 1B, 1C; including polarizable electrodes 57, 58, are connected to a positive electrode current collector 41 and negative electrode current collector 42; a pair of restraint plates configured to sandwich and restrain the stacked body, the pair of current collector plates, and the pair of insulating plates in the first direction ([0068] pressurizing plates 43); and a terminal base (“[0072] the vicinity of one edge . . . of the pressurizing plate 34 is bent in an L shape”) configured to have a terminal bolt (this bolt comprises the tie rod 44, which passes through each of the cell units 40, the insulator 46, and the relay busbar 45, which “[0070-71] serves as a terminal performing charging and discharging”) electrically connected to a terminal of at least one of the current collector plates and protruding in a second direction intersecting the first direction fixed thereto (Fig. 9A-9B; “each of the cell units 40 at both ends [are] electrically connected to the relay bus bar 45” by tabs 33, wherein relative to the first direction shown in Fig. 2, the first direction is the z direction and the second is the x direction), and be provided on a first side surface extending in a third direction intersecting both the first direction and the second direction (Fig. 2 shows the frame surface 20, wherein the frame extends in the y direction beyond that of the cell stack), and the first direction in at least one of the restraint plates (see Fig. 2, 9A), wherein the at least one of the restraint plates is configured to have a pair of projecting portions projecting in the second direction (Fig. 2, [0044], frame body 20; wherein “[t]he frame body 20 includes a portion (x-direction portions) 20 x along sides parallel to an x direction of the oblong shape, and portions (y-direction portions) 20 y along sides parallel to a y direction”) beyond the first side surface having the terminal base fixed thereto when viewed in the first direction (i.e., the terminal base, “one edge” of a peripheral portion of the pressurizing plate 43), wherein the terminal base is configured to be disposed between the pair of projecting portions when viewed in the first direction, and wherein the pair of projecting portions are configured to project beyond the terminal base protection portion in the second direction. Yokoyama at Fig. 1A-1C, 2, 8A-B, 9A-9B, [0040 – 44, 0070-75].
Fig. 1A-C of Yokoyama.
Fig. 2 of Yokoyama, showing the relative directions cited above.
Fig. 8A – 8B of Yokoyama.
Fig. 9A – 9B of Yokoyama. To elaborate on the construction, each of the plates of Yokoyama are surrounded by frame 20, such that the tie rod 44 and affixes to a terminal base, a “peripheral” portion of the pressurizing plate 43 defined by the u-shaped notch and having an insulator 46 which the tie rod and relay bus bar 45 connect to. In 9A, the “first direction” is the z direction where the tie rod extends, and the second and third direction are the planar xy directions which the pressurizing plate 43 extends in. The Office notes that the frames 20 are beneath the terminal base and restraint member (extending portion of 43, and the midsection of 43 respectively).
Yokoyama is silent as to a pair of insulating plates configured to sandwich the stacked body and the pair of current collector plates in the first direction, a configuration wherein these insulating plates are within the sandwich of the stacked body, and pair of current electrode plates, and a configuration wherein at least one of the insulating plates is configured to include a terminal base protection portion covering at least a part of the terminal base.
Harazuka teaches a power supply device having battery cell stack 6, a pair of end plates 8, and restraint member 10. Harazuka at [0016], Fig. 1. Further, “[0025] End plates 8 are made of, for example, metal plates. First insulating member 14 a is also disposed between end plates 8 and cells 12 to insulate them.” Id. at [0025], Fig. 1. This permits the end plates to be electrically insulated while still “[0006] provid[ing] a technique for fixing a cell module more stably [via the restraint member].” Id. at [0006, 23, 25].
Fig. 1 of Harazuka.
Fig. 2 of Harazuka.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to modify the power storage device of Yokoyama, such that it comprises the insulating plates 14 a of Harazuka, such that they comprise a pair of insulating plates 14 a configured to sandwich the stacked body and the pair of current collector plates in the first direction (i.e. disposed between the pressurizing plate 43 of Yokoyama and the cells 40 of Yokoyama), a configuration wherein these insulating plates are within the sandwich of the stacked body, and pair of current electrode plates, and a configuration wherein at least one of the insulating plates is configured to include a terminal base protection portion covering at least a part of the terminal base, because Harazuka teaches a configuration wherein an end plate which fixes the cell stack has an insulating plate, and because Harazuka teaches a benefit to electrical insulation while maintaining stability of the restrained stack.
For these foregoing reasons, Claim 1 is obvious over Yokoyama, in view of Harazuka.
Regarding Claim 2, Claim 2 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Yokoyama.
Yokoyama teaches an insulator 46 which the tie rod and relay bus bar 45 connect to. Yokoyama at 9A – 9B.
Harazuka teaches an insulating plate 14a; Harazuka also teaches
one of the insulating plates 14 a is connected to second insulating members 14 b are fitted to side surfaces of cell stack 6, and partitions 14 c are inserted between the respective cells. Harazuka at [0023], Fig .2. Harazuka teaches “as a result, cells 12 and restraint member are electrically isolated.” Id. In other words, the insulating members 14b cover not just the side panel surface in the x direction but cover portions in the y and z direction upon another face of the cell stack 6, providing a benefit to electrical isolation of the top side of the stack. Applied to Yokoyama, this would comprise insulating portion of the frame body 22; this is desirable in part because a goal of the spacers and apparatus is to “prevent a situation in which the tip of the protrusion of the frame body 20 . . . comes into contact with the pressurizing plate 43.”
One of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the insulating plates 14a of modified Yokoyama, such that they feature extending portions which cover the side panels in the same manner as the insulating members 14 b, such that the insulating plates are configured to have a peripheral wall standing in the first direction (the z direction, as shown in Fig. 2 of Harazuka), and wherein the peripheral wall is configured to have a first wall portion standing in a direction lying in the first direction away from the at least one of the restraint plates adjacent thereto in a range (i.e., extending along the outer frame portions) having the projecting portions formed therein in the third direction, and a second wall portion standing in a direction opposite to the first wall portion in the first direction in a range between the pair of projecting portions in the third direction (i.e., such that the two wall portions cover the side portions of the frame 20, roughly forming a “U” shape in cross section, as with the insulating members 14 b).
For the foregoing reasons, Claim 2 is obvious over Yokoyama, and in view of Harazuka.
Regarding Claim 3, Claim 3 relies upon Claim 2. Claim 2 is obvious over modified Yokoyama.
As previously modified above, the second insulating members 14b are applied to the insulating plates to cover the side portions of the frame body 20 in a roughly U shaped cross-section, providing a benefit to electrically insulating restraining member and preventing a situation wherein the protrusion of the frame body contacts the pressurizing plate 43.
For this reason, modified Yokoyama teaches the first wall portion is configured to have a first side wall in the third direction (as previously modified, the y direction) when viewed in the first direction (the z direction; because Fig. 2 of Harazuka presents the stack extending in the x direction, but is viewed from the z direction), and wherein the pair of projecting portions are configured to project beyond the first side wall in the second direction (i.e., forming a U shape preventing the sides of the frame body 20 from contacting the restraint plate, i.e. the pressurizing plate 43 of Yokoyama).
For these foregoing reasons, Claim 3 is obvious over Yokoyama, in view of Harazuka.
Regarding Claim 4, Claim 4 relies upon Claim 3. Claim 3 is obvious over modified Yokoyama.
As previously modified above, the second insulating members 14b are applied to the insulating plates to cover the side portions of the frame body 20 in a roughly U shaped cross-section, providing a benefit to electrically insulating restraining member and preventing a situation wherein the protrusion of the frame body contacts the pressurizing plate 43.
For this reason, modified Yokoyama teaches the second wall portion is configured to have a second side wall covering the first side surface in the third direction (as previously defined, the y direction) when viewed in the first direction (the z direction), and wherein the first side wall is configured to project beyond the second side wall in the second direction (i.e., such that the insulating plate, disposed between the pressurizing plate 43 and the cell stack, extends to cover the side portions of the frame body 20 such that it does not contact the pressurizing plate 43).
For these foregoing reasons, Claim 4 is obvious over Yokoyama, in view of Harazuka.
Regarding Claim 5, Claim 5 relies upon Claim 4. Claim 4 is obvious over modified Yokoyama.
As previously modified above, the second insulating members 14b are applied to the insulating plates to cover the side portions of the frame body 20 in a roughly U shaped cross-section, providing a benefit to electrically insulating restraining member and preventing a situation wherein the protrusion of the frame body contacts the pressurizing plate 43. However, this configuration is silent as to a third wall portion.
Harazuka teaches partition portions 14c, which separate the cells of the stack from one another; these partitions extend in a z direction as shown in Fig. 2. These position the cells in the stacking direction X, while facilitating the placement of the second insulating members 14b. Harazuka at [0024 – 26], Fig. 2. As previously noted, this provides a benefit to further electrical isolation of the battery components. Finally, the outer restraint members 10 of Harazuka comprise recesses to receive the bolts; in effect this forms a box / lid like shape in the y direction. Id.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the power storage device of modified Yokoyama, such that the second wall portion is configured to have a third side wall in the second direction (the x direction) when viewed in the first direction such that a second side surface in the second direction of the projecting portions is covered (covering another face of the stack to prevent electrical contact between the pressurizing plate 43 and the frame 20), and wherein the second side wall and the third side wall are configured to be connected to each other and cover the first side surface and the second side surface of the at least one of the restraint plates (Fig. 2, having the lid-like shape of the restraint members 10).
For these foregoing reasons, Claim 5 is obvious over Yokoyama, in view of Harazuka.
Conclusion
/K.R.H./Examiner , Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725