DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action for serial number 18/331,755, Adjustable Mounting Assemblies, filed on June 8, 2023.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 5 including claim 15 in the reply filed on July 31, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11, 13, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 110115180A.
Regarding claim 1, CN ‘180 discloses an apparatus (Fig. 3) comprising an arm (17) to extend along a longitudinal axis between a first end and a second end (left and right ends of 17), the arm including an elongate slot (sliding slot, 20) to enable attachment of a fan (22) to the arm at selectively different positions along the longitudinal axis; a first joint plate (connecting plate, 16) coupled to the first end of the arm (left side) and a second joint plate (connecting plate, 16) coupled to the second end of the arm (right side), the first and second joint plates structured to enable attachment to an external support structure (5, 6).
Regarding claim 11, CN ‘180 discloses an apparatus (Fig. 3) comprising; an elongate body (17) including a first slot (16) proximate a first end of the elongate body, a second slot (16) proximate a second end of the elongate body, and a third slot (17, 21) extending along a longitudinal axis of the elongate body (17) between the first and second slots; and a mounting plate (19) couplable to the elongate body (17) via the third slot (17, 21), the mounting plate (19) to support a fan (22) at different positions along the elongate body (17) based on a point of attachment of the mounting plate (19) along a length of the third slot (17, 21).
Regarding claim 13, CN ‘180 discloses wherein the elongate body (17) is a first elongate body (17-one end), including a second elongate body (17-second end) coupled to an edge of the first elongate body.
Regarding claim 20, CN ‘180 discloses an apparatus (Fig. 3) comprising: an arm (17) detachably couplable to a fan assembly (22), the fan assembly (22) movable along a longitudinal axis of the arm (17); and joint plates (16) connected to the arm, the joint plates (16) detachably couplable to an external frame (6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 7, 8, 10, 14-16, 21, 23, 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, the prior art fails to disclose wherein the arm is pivotably coupled to the first and second joint plates about an axis of rotation.
Regarding claim 4, the prior art fails to disclose third and fourth joint plates pivotably coupled to the first and second joint plates.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art fails to disclose wherein the second arm pivotably coupled to the first arm.
Regarding claim 10, the prior art fails to disclose wherein the mounting plate rotatably couplable to the arm.
Regarding claim 14, the prior art fails to disclose a hinge joint to pivotably couple the two bodies.
Regarding claim 15, the prior art fails to discloses wherein the third mounting plate including the first slot and the second slot.
Regarding claim 21, the prior art fails to disclose a second arm pivotably coupled to the first arm via a hinge.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
USP 11,796,214
/TODD M EPPS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632 September 30, 2026