DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 8/19/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mayer et al, DE 19521687 (already of record) in view of Taccolini, US Patent Publication 2014/0300026.
Regarding claim 1, Mayer teaches a method for manufacturing an edible [0015] multi-ring can holder consisting of biodegradable materials [0014-0018], comprising: forming a pulp slurry (pulpy mass [0022]) comprising: dried and ground beer by-product [0002], plant fibers [0015-0018], an environment-friendly, water-repellent chemical (waxes [0020]); and water; and processed directly into a packaging material or packaging [0024] by injecting the pulp slurry into a mold [0021] having an interior cavity.
Mayer teaches the act of injection molding a pulp into a biodegradable container, but is silent on its shape only that a mold can be utilized [0021-0024].
In order to show that the act of injection molding a pulp material into the desired end product is conventional, Taccolini is presented.
In the same field of endeavor of injection molding packaging materials, Taccolini teaches a method for manufacturing a multi-ring, can holder [0064 and 0070-0073], comprising: molding pulp into a shape is formed into a molded liquid container carrier shape, [0012-0013 and 0021] defining six-open rings each sized to securable contain therein a standard soda can in a releasable manner (Figure 1B and [0037, 0060, 0071, and 0106-0109]; pressurizing and heating the molded pulp into a form (a cure-in mold process [0066-0069] and drying to forma 6 pack ring (see figure 1B).
It would have been obvious to utilize the combination of injection molding set up of Taccolini in the Mayer method for the benefit of utilizing a known shape and methodology to achieve the desired results when the primary reference is merely silent to the specifics but still teaches the same stated concept. The selection of the conventional injection molding process is an obvious choice in view of the pair of teachings.
Regarding claim 3, Mayer remains as applied above and further teaches that the plant fibers comprise one or more of wheat straw, bamboo, sugar cane, and miscanthus [0018].
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mayer et al, DE 19521687 (already of record) in view of Taccolini, US Patent Publication 2014/0300026 in further view of Milos et al, US Patent Publication 2013/0330791.
Regarding claim 2, Mayer remains as applied above and is silent on the beer by-product comprises one or more of barley, wheat, corn, rice, rye, and oat.
Mayer teaches that the beer malt is utilized and consists of the known material [0002] and that the goal is to reuse these “spent grains” [0012-0013]. There are also examples of rice husks and cereal straw, but no specific mention of the type of cereal.
While the average artisan would understand that the teachings of the malt and the use of different cereal byproducts would read on the claimed examples, a teaching reference is provided.
Milos is presented to show that it is understood that the fermentation by-products of beer mash components includes corn, wheat, rye, barley, and others [0247-0263].
It would have been obvious to select one of the known starting materials for making a beer malt or mash as taught by Milos in the Mayer method that teaches the same grain starting materials but is silent on naming the specific grains to be utilized.
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mayer et al, DE 19521687 (already of record) in view of Taccolini, US Patent Publication 2014/0300026 in further view of Happiness Moon, Molded Paper Pulp (http:www.paperpulptableware.com/molded-paper-pulp.html).
Regarding claim 4, Mayer does not expressly disclose an environment-friendly oil-repellent chemical.
In the same field of endeavor of making a biodegradable package product, Happiness Moon teaches that biodegradable, molded pulp containers, made from pulp and vegetable fiber comprise FDA tested food-grade oil and water repellent and decompose fully (paragraphs 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the biodegradable multiple can holder of Mayer by adding an FDA tested food-grade oil and water repellent, as taught by Happiness Moon to protect the integrity and rigidity of the holder while in use and which would allow the biodegradable holder to fully decompose when disposed.
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mayer et al, DE 19521687 (already of record) in view of Taccolini, US Patent Publication 2014/0300026 in further view of Hoshino, USP 4,296,068.
Regarding claim 5, Mayer is silent to the step of disinfecting the multi-ring can holder.
While the act of disinfecting a product prior to delivery or after production is obvious to an average artisan, Hoshino is presented to show that the act of sterilizing food or beverage containers prior to utilizing them is common practice in the industry.
Hoshino teaches the act of sterilized food container after their manufacture and before there filling of first use and final sealing (see abstract and summary sections).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilizes the teachings of sterilizing a food container or package holder after manufacturing as taught by Hoshino int eh Mayer method for the benefit of having a disinfected and cleaned product that intended to be environmentally safe and biodegradable after use.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,788,235. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the Parent claim includes all of the details of the instant application and provides additional limitations, which would still read on the current claim set.
Conclusion
JACOB T. MINSKEY
Examiner
Art Unit 1741
/JACOB T MINSKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748