DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is in response to application 18/331,766 filed on 6/8/2023. Claims 1-20 are pending in this office action.
Claim Objections
3. Claims 4, 11 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims are not complete as they do not end with a period. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2022/0084085 (hereinafter Rigetti).
As for claim 1 Rigetti discloses: A method for calibrating a quantum processing unit (QPU) for gate-based operations (See paragraphs 0060 ), comprising: identifying, for a QPU configured for full connectivity between qubits, pairs of qubits to be calibrated together by using a single call to a calibration script See paragraphs 0088 and 0214 note the calibration agents are code scripts)., wherein a calibration of each pair of qubits is associated with calibration of a different gate See paragraph 0088 note calibration agents periodically perform recalibration based on information received from gates; and calibrating the identified pairs of qubits in the QPU by making independent, single calls for the calibration script for each of those pairs of qubits identified to be calibrated together See paragraph 0088 note calibration agents periodically perform recalibration based on information received from gates).
As for claim 2 the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Regetti discloses: wherein the pairs of qubits identified to be calibrated together are those pairs of qubits with non-overlapping qubits (See paragraph 0105 note in order to be placed within the same system jobs must be non-overlapping so they can be calibrated together).
As for claim 3 the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Regetti discloses: wherein the identifying of the pairs of qubits to be calibrated together by using the single call to the calibration script is based on an edge coloring problem solution corresponding to a number of qubits in the QPU (See paragraph 0209 note the system show properties of qubits using edge coloring).
As for claim 4 the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Rigetti discloses: wherein the calibration script includes classical computations and state preparation operations (See paragraphs 0088 and 0214 note the calibration agents are code scripts).
As for claim 5 the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Rigetti discloses:, wherein calibrating the identified pairs of qubits in the QPU includes calibrating the different gates associated with the QPU (See paragraph 0088 note calibration agents periodically perform recalibration based on information received from gates).
As for claim 6 the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Rigetti discloses: wherein the QPU includes an ion trap configured to hold ions for use as the qubits of the QPU (See paragraphs 0068 and 0083 note the QPU has an ion trap system).
As for claim 7 the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Rigetti discloses: wherein the pairs of qubits to be calibrated together include two or more pairs of qubits to be calibrated together (See paragraph 0065 note pairs of qubits are controlled by two-qubit quantum logic).
Claims 8-15 are system claims substantially corresponding to the method of claims 1-7 and are thus rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claims 1-7.
Claims 16-20 are non-transitory computer readable medium claims substantially corresponding to the method of claims 1-7 and are thus rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claims 1-7.
Information
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Sanjiv Shah can be reached on (571) 272-4098. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Eliyah S. Harper/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2166 February 1, 2026