DETAILED ACTION
This communication responds to the application and amended claim set filed June 08/2023. Claims 1-17 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-7 and 16 in the reply filed on 06/25/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1-3 and 5-7, the term “about” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the claims are rendered indefinite. Claim 4 depend from claim 1 and do not correct claim 1's deficiencies. Therefore, they are indefinite for the reason claim 1 is indefinite. Examiner is interpreting “about” is meant to encompass variations of 10% of the specified amount.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brocklehurst et al. (US 4,643,840).
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Brocklehurst et al. teach an aqueous paint stripper composition comprising an alkaline material including sodium hydroxide (col.3:61-66), a gelling agent including starch, xanthan gum, clay, among others (col.4: 14-16, claim 12), and water, wherein the content of the gelling agent is about 0.1% to about 10% (col.4:36-39)(claims 1, 19), which overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the range taught by Brocklehurst et al.
It is noted that the transitional phrase “consisting essentially of” limits the scope of a claim to the specified materials or steps “and those that do not materially affect the basic and novel characteristic(s)” of the claimed invention. MPEP 2111.03 [R-3], In re Herz, 537 F.2d 549, 551-52, 190 USPQ 461, 463 (CCPA 1976) (emphasis in original). Case law holds that “[i]f an applicant contends that additional steps or material in the prior art are excluded by the recitation of ‘consisting essentially of,' applicant has the burden of showing that the introduction of additional steps or components would materially change the characteristics of applicant' s invention.” In re De Lajarte, 337 F.2d 870, 143 USPQ 256 (CCPA 1964).
Regarding claims 2-3, the present claims are product by process claims. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." (MPEP § 2113 (quoting In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)).) If the prior art teaches the same product as the product formed by the process recited in the claims at issue, the claims are unpatentable. However, if the process of the claims at issue results in a product that is different from the product taught by the prior art, then the prior art does not teach the invention recited in the claims at issue.
Regarding claim 7, Brocklehurst et al. exemplify compositions having a pH of for example, of 11.8 o 12.7 (example 12-13), as required by the instant claim.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Brocklehurst et al. (US 4,643,840) in view of Germino et al. (U.S. Patent 3,607,394 A).
Regarding claim 4, Brocklehurst et al. teach the paint remover composition of claim 1 as set forth above and it is incorporated herein by reference. Brocklehurst et al. tech the use of starch as a gelling agent for thickening the composition (col. 3:21-24; col.4:28-31)
Brocklehurst et al. are silent on the pre-gelatinized starch.
However, Germino et al. teach pregelatinized starches are prepared by pasting an aqueous slurry of a starch which contains at least 50 percent amylopectin at a temperature of at least 300.° F, and then rapidly, preferably instantaneously, removing the water therefrom as by roll or spray drying (abstract). Germino et al. further teach the pregelatinized starch rapidly disperse in water to form smooth pastes (abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the pre-gelatinized starch of Germino et al. with the predictable result of providing immediate thickening upon contact with water (abstract), thereby facilitating the manufacturing process of the paint stripping composition.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brocklehurst et al. (US 4,643,840) in view of Rink (US 4,135,947).
Regarding claim 6, Brocklehurst et al. teach the paint remover composition of claim 1 as set forth above and it is incorporated herein by reference. Brocklehurst et al. tech the use of a generic starch as a gelling agent for thickening the composition (col. 3:21-24; col.4:28-31), wherein the gelling agent can be selected from the group of starch, hydroxyethyl cellulose, xanthan gums (claim 12).
Brocklehurst et al. are silent on the type of starch as recited on the instant claim.
However, Rink teaches aqueous compositions for removing coatings, organic paint and varnish from surfaces, wherein the composition comprises thickening agents to render the composition more viscous and help them to stick to the surface being cleaned (abstract, col1: 6-16), wherein the thickening agent includes hydroxyethyl cellulose, amylopectin starch, xanthan gums (col.6: 2-10). Therefore the use of amylopectin starch being equivalent to and interchangeable with hydroxyethyl cellulose, xanthan gums. Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the generic starch, xanthan gum or the hydroxyethyl cellulose of Brocklehurst et al. with the amylopectin starch of Rink.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brocklehurst et al. (US 4,643,840) in view of Fluegel (US 1,676,642 A) as evidenced by Kesselmans et al. (EP1148067 A1)
Regarding claim 16, Brocklehurst et al. teach the paint remover composition of claim 1 as set forth above and it is incorporated herein by reference. Brocklehurst et al. teach the composition comprises an alkaline material, water and starch as a gelling agent for thickening the composition (col. 3:21-24; col.4:28-31) and the composition being used to remove paint from vertical surfaces or uneven surfaces (col.1:59-61).
Brocklehurst et al. are silent on the cooking step of the aqueous solution as recited in the instant claim.
Fluegel teaches an aqueous paint remover composition that replaces conventional wax binders with starch, wherein the starch is gelatinized (col.1:32-49) by the following process: dispersing starch in water to form a thick cream, followed by the addition of a boiling aqueous solution of caustic alkali while stirring the whole mixture (claims 1-2). Fluegel further teaches that the intense heat generated by the caustic alkali attacks and changes the properties of the starch (gelatinized starch), resulting in a composition that will adhere to a painted vertical surfaces (col.2, 85-95). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have prepared the paint remover composition of Brocklehurst et al. according to the gelatinization method of Fluegel because both references teach aqueous alkaline paint removers that require a viscous composition for vertical surfaces. In addition one of ordinary skill in the art would expect to improve adhesion of the composition to the surface while performing the thickening function as taught by Brocklehurst et al. Although Fluegel is silent on the temperature, the gelatinization temperature of starch is usually about 55-70°C, as evidenced by Kesselmans et al (EP 1148067 A1), therefore the gelatinization method of Fluegel is considered to be performed at these temperature range, as required by the instant claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 and 14-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,572,530 B2
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of US Patent ‘530 anticipates pending claims.
Claims 1-12 and 14-16 of US Patent ‘520 recite all the limitations of the instant claims including the paint remover composition consisting essentially of water, 3-13 wt.% of starch, optionally a pH modifier; and a paint remover composition wherein the starch is pre-gelatinized or the starch is at least about 50% amylopectin or at least about 50% amylose, which anticipates all the elements from the instant claims.
Conclusion
/OLGA LUCIA DONAHUE/Examiner, Art Unit 1763
/JOSEPH S DEL SOLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1763