Status of Claims
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 10, 2026, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, see pages 9 -10, filed January 22, 2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection based on Matthew et al (WO-2016108104-A1), Huang et al (US-20200077863-A1), Arbogast et al (US-8856657-B2), Meyer et al (US-20150177952-A1), and Sandin et al (US-20150006015-A1) have been considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection of claims 1-20 has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of newly submitted references submitted in the IDS filed on 6/10/2026.
Claim Rejections -- 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 10-12, 14, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matthew et al (WO-2016108104-A1)(“Matthew”), provided by Applicant in the IDS filed on 10/16/2023, Huang et al (US-20200077863-A1)(“Huang”), provided by Applicant in the IDS filed on 10/16/2023, and Arbogast et al (US-8856657-B2)(“Arbogast”), and Tech Pub, "How to Change the Calendar Reading Pane in Outlook 2016,"<https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tVv6xwhkc0w> video published to YouTube on December 18, 2016 (2 pages).
As per claim 1, Matthew discloses an external device (Figure 1 & 3, mobile device (smart phone) 14.) comprising:
a display (Figure 3, user interface 20.);
a device network interface configured to allow the external device to wirelessly communicate with one or more robotic garden tools (Figure 2, network, Figure 3, communication device 19, and Para. [0023] disclosing at least a wireless device for exchanging data through the network:” communications device 19 includes one or more interface mechanisms for enabling communication with external devices. For example, a known type of network interface chip or card including a wireless transceiver may use known wireless protocols to receive and/or transmit data.”); and
an electronic processor coupled to the display and to the device network interface and configured to communicate with the one or more robotic garden tools via the device network interface (Figure 3, device 14 having processor 16 with communication device 19, and Figure 2, mower 17 and device 14 communicate using network, and Para. [0025] discloses using the processor 16 to interact with the device for the purpose of receiving information on a display:” the user interface 20 comprises a computer display and user input devices such as a conventional keyboard and pointing device (e.g. a mouse). In the smart phone 14' shown in Figure 1, the user interface 20' comprises a touch-screen display 15 which serves both input and output functions.”), the electronic processor configured to display a scheduling screen on the display (Para. [0029] discloses the use of scheduling display to create calendar events for operation of mower 17:” where the processing device 14 is a smart phone running an app, the smart phone can automatically provide an alert on the screen of the phone, access the user's calendar and schedule a power machine usage event, and/or email a calendar event to a user's software calendar application (e.g. MICROSOFT OUTLOOK or GOOGLE Calendar).”).
While Matthew discloses the ability of a user to schedule events, it does not explicitly disclose the presenting and managing of scheduled calendar events.
Huang discloses a scheduling system for a robot that incorporates a “[s]cheduling interfaces of the mobile application allow the user to add, delete, change, etc., times, cleaning parameters, areas (e.g., rooms, floors, etc.), and other types of information used in the cleaning mission”. See Abstract and Figures 3-11.
In particular, Huang discloses wherein the scheduling screen includes information related to a first robotic garden tool of the one or more robotic garden tools (Huang at Figures 2 & 11 and Para. [0055] discloses selecting one or more robots and their respective functions:” multiple autonomous cleaning robots may be configured to navigate a space and communicate with the mobile device 204. As shown in an interface 1100 in FIG. 11, a second autonomous cleaning robot may be configured to follow a first autonomous cleaning robot and perform a different cleaning task.”),
Further, Huang discloses wherein the scheduling screen includes a first display area including a calendar that includes a plurality of time blocks, a size of each time block representing a time period during which the first robotic garden tool is scheduled to operate (Huang at Figure 3, interface 300, and Para. [0046] discloses displaying time blocks in terms of days and hours:” interface 300 also presents a suggested schedule 306, including a time 308 and a list of days 310 that may be added to the scheduling list 302 and would be presented in the area 302.”), wherein a size of each time block on the calendar represents the time period corresponding to each time block,
Huang discloses wherein the scheduling screen includes a second display area that is displayed simultaneously with the first display area, the second display area including first scheduling information about a selected time block (Huang at Para. [0047] discloses a second display area that includes the first scheduling information like time of day:” an interface 400 is presented on the display of the mobile device 204. The interface 400 is configured to allow the user 202 to set a cleaning schedule for the autonomous cleaning robot 214 by selecting a time and frequency (section 402), rooms (section 404), and settings (section 406) for the cleaning schedule. The time section 402 includes a time selector 408, a button 410 (to set a cleaning mission for a single day), referred to as a “once button”, and a button 412 (to set recurring cleaning missions) referred to as a “weekly button”.” Further, interface 400, Fig. 4A, includes various areas for displaying information to the user which can be labeled first, second, and the like that are all displayed simultaneously within the area defined as the interface.), ,
Huang discloses wherein the first scheduling information is editable via a first user input in the second display area, and wherein the electronic processor is configured to change the selected time block included in the first display area in accordance with a first edit made to the first scheduling information via the first user input (Huang at Para. [0047] discloses that the time block is adjustable/editable by the user:” time selector 408 is configured to be adjusted to a desired time for the cleaning mission.”), and
Further, Huang discloses wherein the size of the selected time block is editable via a second user input in the first display area, and wherein the electronic processor is configured to change the first scheduling information included in the second display area in accordance with a second edit made to the selected time block (Huang at Figures 3-7 and Para. [0051] discloses a change in the interface when a recurring event is selected for a particular room:” an interface 700 shows scheduling options for scheduling a recurring cleaning mission for the autonomous cleaning robot 214 in individual rooms. The interface 700, similar to interfaces 400, 500, and 600 discussed previously, includes a time section 702, a rooms section 704, and a settings section 706. In the time section 702, a once button 710 and a weekly button 712 are presented along with a time selector 608.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the presenting and managing of scheduled calendar events method taught in Huang in the outdoor power machine system in Matthew with a reasonable expectation of success because this results in the robots being utilized as uniformly as possible over time since the user can add and customize a task by altering cleaning parameters, scheduling, and the like, of the autonomous robot (see Huang at Para. [0041].).
Mathew and Huang do not explicitly disclose wherein a size of each time block on the calendar represents the time period corresponding to each time block.
Arbogast in the field of scheduling operations using a computer system discloses a calendar interface on which the assignment interfaces are provided, the calendar interface providing at least date and time information, and at least one graphical linking indicator that provides visual relational information of related operations. See Abstract and Figures 6A-7.
In particular, Arbogast discloses a scheduling interface with a process wherein a size of each time block on the calendar represents the time period corresponding to each time block (Arbogast at Figure 6A and Column 10, Line 62+ and Column 11, Lines 1-3, disclosing a calendar interface showing duration of a task in block representation:” display area 612 that includes a calendar interface 614 and a plurality of assignment interfaces 616 displayed thereon. Ideally the calendar interface 614 includes at least one timeline header 618 that presents at least one of a date or a time or both date and time. In the illustrated embodiment the timeline 618 is presented horizontally across the top of the calendar interface 614 with vertical lines 619 presented across the interface 614 in alignment with the hours depicted in the timeline 618.”).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Arbogast would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. It would have been recognized that applying the technique of Arbogast to the teachings of Mathews as modified by Huang would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such data processing features into similar systems. Further, applying a block representation for a time range to perform a task, would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved system that would produce a time range that would be recognized by the viewer since a pictorial representation is a more recognizable format.
Matthew, Huang, and Arbogast do not explicitly disclose that a selected time block that is displayed simultaneously with the selected time block and the calendar.
Tech Pub teaches that it is old and well known in the art of scheduling to provide a time block at the display terminal that includes the selected time block and the calendar (see the attached video which shows calendar and selected time block).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the outdoor power machine system in Matthew, as modified by Huang and Arbogast so as to display a time block simultaneously with a calendar, in view of the teaching in Tech Pub, so as to provide a user interface that includes a time block (hours) as scheduled on a calendar (day, year) for a machine to operate so as to minimize errors that may arise by showing key information in different sections of a scheduling system.
As per claim 2, Matthew, Huang, Arbogast, and Tech Pub disclose an external device, wherein the first display area is located above the second display area (Huang at Figure 4A, first display area 402 & 408 and second display area 412, and Para. [0047] discloses displaying information at different area of the operator interface:” interface 400 is configured to allow the user 202 to set a cleaning schedule for the autonomous cleaning robot 214 by selecting a time and frequency (section 402), rooms (section 404), and settings (section 406) for the cleaning schedule. The time section 402 includes a time selector 408, a button 410 (to set a cleaning mission for a single day), referred to as a “once button”, and a button 412 (to set recurring cleaning missions) referred to as a “weekly button”.”); and
wherein the second display area is displayed in response to the selected time block being selected via a third user input (Huang at Para. [0051] discloses adding selectable choices based on prior selections by a user:” interface 700, similar to interfaces 400, 500, and 600 discussed previously, includes a time section 702, a rooms section 704, and a settings section 706. In the time section 702, a once button 710 and a weekly button 712 are presented along with a time selector 608. Cleaning parameters may be set by selecting cleaning preferences option 718 in the setting section 706. Array 714 including day of the week buttons is presented as the weekly button 712 is selected. In the rooms section 704, a choose rooms button 722 and a clean all button 724 are presented.”).
As per claim 3, Matthew, Huang, Arbogast, and Tech Pub disclose an external device,
wherein the plurality of time blocks includes a first type of time block that indicates a first type of operation is scheduled during a first respective time period associated with each time block of the first type of time block (Huang at Figure 4A, a once virtual button 410, and Para. [0047]:” a button 410 (to set a cleaning mission for a single day), referred to as a “once button”.); and
wherein the plurality of time blocks includes a second type of time block that indicates a second type of operation is scheduled during a second respective time period associated with each time block of the second type of time block (Huang at Figure 4A, a weekly virtual button 412, and Para. [0047]:” a button 412 (to set recurring cleaning missions) referred to as a “weekly button”. The time selector 408 is configured to be adjusted to a desired time for the cleaning mission.”),
wherein the second type of operation includes at least one difference compared to the first type of operation (Huang at Para. [0047] discloses that “once” time block is for a single task and does not repeat like the weekly task:” once button 410 may be selected to configure the cleaning mission as a one-time cleaning mission.”), and wherein the second type of time block is different than the first type of time block (Huang at Para. [0049] discloses that weekly time block is repeated for the duration of the week for the selected dates:” schedule set in interface 500 will cause the mobile device 204 to transmit data to the autonomous cleaning robot 214 to initiate a cleaning mission at 9:00 AM on every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. In some implementations, data may be sent in a single transmission, a series of transmissions, etc., to provide data to the autonomous cleaning robot 214.”).
As per claim 5, Matthew, Huang, Arbogast, and Tech Pub disclose an external device, wherein the first type of time block and the second type of time block are different than each other in terms of at least one of color, shape, outline, and labeling (Huang at Para. [0054] discloses the use of color differentiate time differences:” the first schedule may be shown on the interface 1000 as greyed out, in a different color, etc.”).
As per claim 10, Matthew, Huang, Arbogast, and Tech Pub disclose an external device, wherein the first scheduling information displayed in the second display area includes the time period associated with the selected time block and one or more days of a week associated with the selected time block (Huang at Figure 7, time with display of days of the week 714, and Para. [0051] disclosing that time and days of the weeks are presented at the electronic device 14:” a once button 710 and a weekly button 712 are presented along with a time selector 608. Cleaning parameters may be set by selecting cleaning preferences option 718 in the setting section 706. Array 714 including day of the week buttons is presented as the weekly button 712 is selected. In the rooms section 704, a choose rooms button 722 and a clean all button 724 are presented..
As per claim 11, Matthew discloses a method of displaying information related to a robotic garden tool (Figure 2, display 15 on mobile device 14.), the method comprising:
displaying, on a display of an external device (Figure 1 & 3, mobile device (smart phone) 14.), a scheduling screen including information related to a first robotic garden tool of one or more robotic garden tools with which the external device is configured to wirelessly communicate via a device network interface of the external device (Matthew at Para. [0029] discloses the use of scheduling display to create calendar events for operation of mower 17:” where the processing device 14 is a smart phone running an app, the smart phone can automatically provide an alert on the screen of the phone, access the user's calendar and schedule a power machine usage event, and/or email a calendar event to a user's software calendar application (e.g. MICROSOFT OUTLOOK or GOOGLE Calendar).”),
While Matthew discloses the ability of a user to schedule events, it does not explicitly disclose the presenting and managing of scheduled calendar events.
Huang discloses a scheduling system for a robot that incorporates a “[s]cheduling interfaces of the mobile application allow the user to add, delete, change, etc., times, cleaning parameters, areas (e.g., rooms, floors, etc.), and other types of information used in the cleaning mission”. See Abstract and Figures 3-11.
In particular, Huang discloses wherein the scheduling screen includes a first display area including a calendar that includes a plurality of time blocks, each time block representing a time period during which the first robotic garden tool is scheduled to operate (Huang at Para. [0047] discloses that the time block is adjustable/editable by the user:” time selector 408 is configured to be adjusted to a desired time for the cleaning mission.”), , and wherein the scheduling screen includes a second display area that is displayed simultaneously with the first display area, the second display area including first scheduling information about a selected time block (Huang at Figures 3-7 and Para. [0051] discloses a change in the interface when a recurring event is selected for a particular room:” an interface 700 shows scheduling options for scheduling a recurring cleaning mission for the autonomous cleaning robot 214 in individual rooms. The interface 700, similar to interfaces 400, 500, and 600 discussed previously, includes a time section 702, a rooms section 704, and a settings section 706. In the time section 702, a once button 710 and a weekly button 712 are presented along with a time selector 608.” Further, interface 400, Fig. 4A, includes various areas for displaying information to the user which can be labeled first, second, and the like that are all displayed simultaneously within the area defined as the interface.);
Huang discloses receiving a first user input in the second display area (Huang at Para. [0047] discloses a second display area that includes the first scheduling information like time of day:” an interface 400 is presented on the display of the mobile device 204. The interface 400 is configured to allow the user 202 to set a cleaning schedule for the autonomous cleaning robot 214 by selecting a time and frequency (section 402), rooms (section 404), and settings (section 406) for the cleaning schedule. The time section 402 includes a time selector 408, a button 410 (to set a cleaning mission for a single day), referred to as a “once button”, and a button 412 (to set recurring cleaning missions) referred to as a “weekly button”.”);
Huang further discloses a process that in response to receiving the first user input in the second display area, editing the first scheduling information based on the first user input, and changing, with an electronic processor of the external device, the selected time block included in the first display area in accordance with a first edit made to the first scheduling information via the first user input (Huang at Para. [0047] discloses that the time block is adjustable/editable by the user:” time selector 408 is configured to be adjusted to a desired time for the cleaning mission.”);
Huang discloses receiving a second user input in the first display area (Huang at Figures 3-7 and Para. [0051] discloses a change in the interface when a recurring event is selected for a particular room:” an interface 700 shows scheduling options for scheduling a recurring cleaning mission for the autonomous cleaning robot 214 in individual rooms. The interface 700, similar to interfaces 400, 500, and 600 discussed previously, includes a time section 702, a rooms section 704, and a settings section 706. In the time section 702, a once button 710 and a weekly button 712 are presented along with a time selector 608.”); and
Further, Huang discloses that in response to receiving the second user input in the first display area, editing the selected time block based on the second user input, and changing, with the electronic processor, the first scheduling information included in the second display area in accordance with a second edit made to the selected time block (Huang at Para. [0051] discloses adding selectable choices based on prior selections by a user:” interface 700, similar to interfaces 400, 500, and 600 discussed previously, includes a time section 702, a rooms section 704, and a settings section 706. In the time section 702, a once button 710 and a weekly button 712 are presented along with a time selector 608. Cleaning parameters may be set by selecting cleaning preferences option 718 in the setting section 706. Array 714 including day of the week buttons is presented as the weekly button 712 is selected. In the rooms section 704, a choose rooms button 722 and a clean all button 724 are presented.”).
Mathew and Huang do not explicitly disclose wherein a size of each time block on the calendar represents the time period corresponding to each time block.
Arbogast in the field of scheduling operations using a computer system discloses a calendar interface on which the assignment interfaces are provided, the calendar interface providing at least date and time information, and at least one graphical linking indicator that provides visual relational information of related operations. See Abstract and Figures 6A-7.
In particular, Arbogast discloses a scheduling interface with a process wherein a size of each time block on the calendar represents the time period corresponding to each time block (Arbogast at Figure 6A and Column 10, Line 62+ and Column 11, Lines 1-3, disclosing a calendar interface showing duration of a task in block representation:” display area 612 that includes a calendar interface 614 and a plurality of assignment interfaces 616 displayed thereon. Ideally the calendar interface 614 includes at least one timeline header 618 that presents at least one of a date or a time or both date and time. In the illustrated embodiment the timeline 618 is presented horizontally across the top of the calendar interface 614 with vertical lines 619 presented across the interface 614 in alignment with the hours depicted in the timeline 618.”).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Arbogast would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. It would have been recognized that applying the technique of Arbogast to the teachings of Mathews as modified by Huang would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such data processing features into similar systems. Further, applying a block representation for a time range to perform a task, would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved system that would produce a time range that would be recognized by the viewer since a pictorial representation is a more recognizable format.
Matthew, Huang, and Arbogast do not explicitly disclose that a selected time block that is displayed simultaneously with the selected time block and the calendar.
Tech Pub teaches that it is old and well known in the art of scheduling to provide a time block at the display terminal that includes the selected time block and the calendar (see the attached video which shows calendar and selected time block).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the outdoor power machine system in Matthew, as modified by Huang and Arbogast so as to display a time block simultaneously with a calendar, in view of the teaching in Tech Pub, so as to provide a user interface that includes a time block (hours) as scheduled on a calendar (day, year) for a machine to operate so as to minimize errors that may arise by showing key information in different sections of a scheduling system.
As per claim 12, Matthew, Huang, Arbogast, and Tech Pub disclose a method,
wherein the plurality of time blocks includes a first type of time block that indicates a first type of operation is scheduled during a first respective time period associated with each time block of the first type of time block (Huang at Figure 4A, a once virtual button 410, and Para. [0047]:” a button 410 (to set a cleaning mission for a single day), referred to as a “once button”.); and
wherein the plurality of time blocks includes a second type of time block that indicates a second type of operation is scheduled during a second respective time period associated with each time block of the second type of time block (Huang at Para. [0047] discloses that “once” time block is for a single task and does not repeat like the weekly task:” once button 410 may be selected to configure the cleaning mission as a one-time cleaning mission.”),
wherein the second type of operation includes at least one difference compared to the first type of operation, and wherein the second type of time block is different than the first type of time block (Huang at Para. [0049] discloses that weekly time block is repeated for the duration of the week for the selected dates:” schedule set in interface 500 will cause the mobile device 204 to transmit data to the autonomous cleaning robot 214 to initiate a cleaning mission at 9:00 AM on every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. In some implementations, data may be sent in a single transmission, a series of transmissions, etc., to provide data to the autonomous cleaning robot 214.”).
As per claim 14, Matthew, Huang, Arbogast, and Tech Pub disclose a method, wherein the first type of time block and the second type of time block are different than each other in terms of at least one of color, shape, outline, and labeling (Huang at Para. [0054] discloses the use of color differentiate time differences:” the first schedule may be shown on the interface 1000 as greyed out, in a different color, etc.”).
As per claim 17, Matthew discloses a communication system (Figure 2, network and device 14.) comprising:
a first robotic garden tool including a first network interface configured to allow the first robotic garden tool to wirelessly communicate with an external device (Mathew at Figure 1, outdoor machine 17 with wireless link to network, and Para. [0028] discloses the exchange of data through the network:” outdoor power machine sensors 13 are operably connected to the outdoor power machine 17 and provide power machine data such as when the power machine 17 was last operated and/or in the case of a lawn mower - the mower deck cut height setting, as well as, any other suitable power machine data to the processing device 14.”), a first electronic processor coupled to the first network interface and configured to receive first scheduling information (Mathew at Figure 1, processing device 14 at outdoor machine 17, and Para. [0030] discloses the receiving a scheduling information:” the system 10 allows a user to customize a schedule for using a selected power machine at preferred times.”), via the first network interface, from the external device, and control the first robotic garden tool based on the first scheduling information (Matthew at Para. [0032] discloses the exchange of data and schedule with a remote device such as a smartphone:” Once data for some or all of the listed factors is collected by the system 10, the data is processed by the processing device 14 to determine a preferred time to mow the lawn again. This can be done with a minimal set of data or a combination of data points. For example, a grass height sensor could be used to measure the height or length of the grass to determine if the grass exceeds a pre-determined height, for example, 7.62 cm (3 in.). If the height exceeds the pre-determined height, then the grass height sensor sends a signal to the processing device 14 notifying the processing device 14 that the grass needs mowed. The processing device 14 then instructs the communications device 19 to send an alert to the user.”); and
the external device including a display (Matthew at Figure 3, user interface 20.);
a second network interface configured to allow the external device to wirelessly communicate with the first robotic garden tool (Figure 2, network, Figure 3, communication device 19, and Para. [0023] disclosing at least a wireless device for exchanging data through the network:” communications device 19 includes one or more interface mechanisms for enabling communication with external devices. For example, a known type of network interface chip or card including a wireless transceiver may use known wireless protocols to receive and/or transmit data.”); and
a second electronic processor coupled to the display and to the second network interface and configured to communicate with the first robotic garden tool via the second network interface (Matthew at Figure 3, device 14 having processor 16 with communication device 19, and Figure 2, mower 17 and device 14 communicate using network, and Para. [0025] discloses using the processor 16 to interact with the device for the purpose of receiving information on a display:” the user interface 20 comprises a computer display and user input devices such as a conventional keyboard and pointing device (e.g. a mouse). In the smart phone 14' shown in Figure 1, the user interface 20' comprises a touch-screen display 15 which serves both input and output functions.”), the second electronic processor configured to display a scheduling screen on the display (Para. [0029] discloses the use of scheduling display to create calendar events for operation of mower 17:” where the processing device 14 is a smart phone running an app, the smart phone can automatically provide an alert on the screen of the phone, access the user's calendar and schedule a power machine usage event, and/or email a calendar event to a user's software calendar application (e.g. MICROSOFT OUTLOOK or GOOGLE Calendar).”),
While Matthew discloses the ability of a user to schedule events, it does not explicitly disclose the presenting and managing of scheduled calendar events.
Huang discloses a scheduling system for a robot that incorporates a “[s]cheduling interfaces of the mobile application allow the user to add, delete, change, etc., times, cleaning parameters, areas (e.g., rooms, floors, etc.), and other types of information used in the cleaning mission”. See Abstract and Figures 3-11.
In particular, Huang discloses wherein the scheduling screen includes information related to a first robotic garden tool of the one or more robotic garden tools (Huang at Figures 2 & 11 and Para. [0055] discloses selecting one or more robots and their respective functions:” multiple autonomous cleaning robots may be configured to navigate a space and communicate with the mobile device 204. As shown in an interface 1100 in FIG. 11, a second autonomous cleaning robot may be configured to follow a first autonomous cleaning robot and perform a different cleaning task.”),
Further, Huang discloses wherein the scheduling screen includes a first display area including a calendar that includes a plurality of time blocks, each time block representing a time period during which the first robotic garden tool is scheduled to operate (Huang at Figure 3, interface 300, and Para. [0046] discloses displaying time blocks in terms of days and hours:” interface 300 also presents a suggested schedule 306, including a time 308 and a list of days 310 that may be added to the scheduling list 302 and would be presented in the area 302.”),,
Huang discloses wherein the scheduling screen includes a second display area that is displayed simultaneously with the first display area, the second display area including first scheduling information about a selected time block (Huang at Para. [0047] discloses a second display area that includes the first scheduling information like time of day:” an interface 400 is presented on the display of the mobile device 204. The interface 400 is configured to allow the user 202 to set a cleaning schedule for the autonomous cleaning robot 214 by selecting a time and frequency (section 402), rooms (section 404), and settings (section 406) for the cleaning schedule. The time section 402 includes a time selector 408, a button 410 (to set a cleaning mission for a single day), referred to as a “once button”, and a button 412 (to set recurring cleaning missions) referred to as a “weekly button”.” Further, interface 400, Fig. 4A, includes various areas for displaying information to the user which can be labeled first, second, and the like that are all displayed simultaneously within the area defined as the interface.),
Huang discloses wherein the first scheduling information is editable via a first user input in the second display area, and wherein the electronic processor is configured to change the selected time block included in the first display area in accordance with a first edit made to the first scheduling information via the first user input (Huang at Para. [0047] discloses that the time block is adjustable/editable by the user:” time selector 408 is configured to be adjusted to a desired time for the cleaning mission.”), and
Huang discloses wherein the selected time block is editable via a second user input in the first display area, and wherein the electronic processor is configured to change the first scheduling information included in the second display area in accordance with a second edit made to the selected time block (Huang at Figures 3-7 and Para. [0051] discloses a change in the interface when a recurring event is selected for a particular room:” an interface 700 shows scheduling options for scheduling a recurring cleaning mission for the autonomous cleaning robot 214 in individual rooms. The interface 700, similar to interfaces 400, 500, and 600 discussed previously, includes a time section 702, a rooms section 704, and a settings section 706. In the time section 702, a once button 710 and a weekly button 712 are presented along with a time selector 608.”); and
Lastly, Huang discloses transmit, via the second network interface, the first scheduling information to the first robotic garden tool (Huang at Para. [0006] discloses transmitting a developed schedule to the robot like outdoor machine 17 for further processing:” method also includes initiating a transmission to the autonomous cleaning robot, based on the first cleaning schedule or the second cleaning schedule, the transmission including data for causing the autonomous cleaning robot to initiate a cleaning mission.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the presenting and managing of scheduled calendar events method taught in Huang in the outdoor power machine system in Matthew with a reasonable expectation of success because this results in the robots being utilized as uniformly as possible over time since the user can add and customize a task by altering cleaning parameters, scheduling, and the like, of the autonomous robot (see Huang at Para. [0041].).
Mathew and Huang do not explicitly disclose wherein a size of each time block on the calendar represents the time period corresponding to each time block.
Arbogast in the field of scheduling operations using a computer system discloses a calendar interface on which the assignment interfaces are provided, the calendar interface providing at least date and time information, and at least one graphical linking indicator that provides visual relational information of related operations. See Abstract and Figures 6A-7.
In particular, Arbogast discloses a scheduling interface with a process wherein a size of each time block on the calendar represents the time period corresponding to each time block (Arbogast at Figure 6A and Column 10, Line 62+ and Column 11, Lines 1-3, disclosing a calendar interface showing duration of a task in block representation:” display area 612 that includes a calendar interface 614 and a plurality of assignment interfaces 616 displayed thereon. Ideally the calendar interface 614 includes at least one timeline header 618 that presents at least one of a date or a time or both date and time. In the illustrated embodiment the timeline 618 is presented horizontally across the top of the calendar interface 614 with vertical lines 619 presented across the interface 614 in alignment with the hours depicted in the timeline 618.”).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Arbogast would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. It would have been recognized that applying the technique of Arbogast to the teachings of Mathews as modified by Huang would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such data processing features into similar systems. Further, applying a block representation for a time range to perform a task, would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved system that would produce a time range that would be recognized by the viewer since a pictorial representation is a more recognizable format.
Matthew, Huang, and Arbogast do not explicitly disclose that a selected time block that is displayed simultaneously with the selected time block and the calendar.
Tech Pub teaches that it is old and well known in the art of scheduling to provide a time block at the display terminal that includes the selected time block and the calendar (see the attached video which shows calendar and selected time block).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the outdoor power machine system in Matthew, as modified by Huang and Arbogast so as to display a time block simultaneously with a calendar, in view of the teaching in Tech Pub, so as to provide a user interface that includes a time block (hours) as scheduled on a calendar (day, year) for a machine to operate so as to minimize errors that may arise by showing key information in different sections of a scheduling system.
As per claim 18, Matthew, Huang, Arbogast, and Tech Pub disclose a communication system,
wherein the first electronic processor of the first robotic garden tool is configured to transmit at least a portion of the information related to the first robotic garden tool, via the first network interface, to the external device (Matthew at Para. [0028] discloses transmitting sensor information from the outdoor machine to the mobile device 14 through the network:” outdoor power machine sensors 13 are operably connected to the outdoor power machine 17 and provide power machine data such as when the power machine 17 was last operated and/or in the case of a lawn mower - the mower deck cut height setting, as well as, any other suitable power machine data to the processing device 14.”); and
wherein the at least a portion of the information related to the first robotic garden tool includes previously stored scheduling information of the first robotic garden tool (Huang at Figure 3 and Para. [0046] discloses the use of stored schedules:” interface 300 includes a display area 302 configured to present a list of stored cleaning schedules.”).
As per claim 19, Matthew, Huang, Arbogast, and Tech Pub disclose a communication system,
wherein the plurality of time blocks includes a first type of time block that indicates a first type of operation is scheduled during a first respective time period associated with each time block of the first type of time block (Huang at Figure 4A, a once virtual button 410, and Para. [0047]:” a button 410 (to set a cleaning mission for a single day), referred to as a “once button”.); and
wherein the plurality of time blocks includes a second type of time block that indicates a second type of operation is scheduled during a second respective time period associated with each time block of the second type of time block (Huang at Figure 4A, a weekly virtual button 412, and Para. [0047]:” a button 412 (to set recurring cleaning missions) referred to as a “weekly button”. The time selector 408 is configured to be adjusted to a desired time for the cleaning mission.”),
wherein the second type of operation includes at least one difference compared to the first type of operation (Huang at Para. [0047] discloses that “once” time block is for a single task and does not repeat like the weekly task:” once button 410 may be selected to configure the cleaning mission as a one-time cleaning mission.”), and wherein the second type of time block is different than the first type of time block (Huang at Para. [0049] discloses that weekly time block is repeated for the duration of the week for the selected dates:” schedule set in interface 500 will cause the mobile device 204 to transmit data to the autonomous cleaning robot 214 to initiate a cleaning mission at 9:00 AM on every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. In some implementations, data may be sent in a single transmission, a series of transmissions, etc., to provide data to the autonomous cleaning robot 214.”).
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matthew, Huang, Arbogast, and Tech Pub as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sandin et al (US-20150006015-A1)(“Sandin”).
As per claim 4, Matthew, Huang, Arbogast, and Tech Pub disclose an external device, wherein the first type of operation includes a general operational state of the first robotic garden tool (Matthew at Para. [0020] discloses the general cutting of grass or other garden tool operations:” system 10 is designed to collect data and provide an output indicative of the preferred time to use a particular outdoor power machine such as a lawn machine (e.g., a riding lawn mower, walk behind lawn mower, autonomous (i.e. robotic) mower, or other suitable grass cutting machine) or snow removal machine (e.g., a walk behind snow blower and/or autonomous snow removal machine).”), and Matthew and Huang do not explicit discloses an operation wherein the second type of operation includes a perimeter cutting state of the first robotic garden tool.
Sandin in the same field of endeavor discloses an autonomous garden tool like a lawn mower including a drive system carried by a body and configured to maneuver the robot across the property interior. See Abstract and Figure 3I showing the components of a robotic lawn mower.
In particular Sandin discloses wherein the second type of operation includes a perimeter cutting state of the first robotic garden tool (Sandin at Para. [0196] discloses a cutting strategy that includes a perimeter cutting state where the grass in the perimeter of a property is cut first:” highest priority behavior is a perimeter following behavior. While creating the perimeter following behavior, the robot 10 follows a perimeter through bump sensing or the use of confinement devices (e.g. boundary responders 600). This tends to create cut grass edges 26 around obstacles and property perimeters that can later be followed using a cut edge following behavior.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the perimeter cutting method taught in Sandin in the outdoor power machine system in Matthew as modified by Huang and Arbogast with a reasonable expectation of success because this results in the robots being utilized as uniformly as possible over time since the user can add and customize a task by following a cutting strategy that prioritizes cutting of the perimeter before cutting the inner part of an area so it can determine whether it is inside or outside of a boundary perimeter (see Sandin at Para. [0229].).
As per claim 6, Matthew, Huang, Arbogast, and Tech Pub disclose an external device.
Matthew, Huang, and Arbogast do not disclose but Sandin wherein the second display area includes a perimeter cutting option configured to be selected via a third user input to select between the first type of operation and the second type of operation (Sandin at Para. [0196] discloses a cutting strategy that includes a perimeter cutting state where the grass in the perimeter of a property is cut first:” highest priority behavior is a perimeter following behavior. While creating the perimeter following behavior, the robot 10 follows a perimeter through bump sensing or the use of confinement devices (e.g. boundary responders 600). This tends to create cut grass edges 26 around obstacles and property perimeters that can later be followed using a cut edge following behavior.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the perimeter cutting method taught in Sandin in the outdoor power machine system in Matthew as modified by Huang and Arbogast with a reasonable expectation of success because this results in the robots being utilized as uniformly as possible over time since the user can add and customize a task by following a cutting strategy that prioritizes cutting of the perimeter before cutting the inner part of an area so it can determine whether it is inside or outside of a boundary perimeter (see Sandin at Para. [0229].).
Claims 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matthew, Huang, Arbogast, and Tech Pub as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Sandin et al (US-20150006015-A1)(“Sandin”).
As per claim 13, Matthew, Huang, Arbogast, and Tech Pub disclose a method, wherein the first type of operation includes a general operational state of the first robotic garden tool (Matthew at Para. [0020] discloses the general cutting of grass or other garden tool operations:” system 10 is designed to collect data and provide an output indicative of the preferred time to use a particular outdoor power machine such as a lawn machine (e.g., a riding lawn mower, walk behind lawn mower, autonomous (i.e. robotic) mower, or other suitable grass cutting machine) or snow removal machine (e.g., a walk behind snow blower and/or autonomous snow removal machine).”), and Matthew and Huang do not explicit discloses an operation wherein the second type of operation includes a perimeter cutting state of the first robotic garden tool.
Sandin in the same field of endeavor discloses an autonomous garden tool like a lawn mower including a drive system carried by a body and configured to maneuver the robot across the property interior. See Abstract and Figure 3I showing the components of a robotic lawn mower.
In particular Sandin discloses wherein the second type of operation includes a perimeter cutting state of the first robotic garden tool (Sandin at Para. [0196] discloses a cutting strategy that includes a perimeter cutting state where the grass in the perimeter of a property is cut first:” highest priority behavior is a perimeter following behavior. While creating the perimeter following behavior, the robot 10 follows a perimeter through bump sensing or the use of confinement devices (e.g. boundary responders 600). This tends to create cut grass edges 26 around obstacles and property perimeters that can later be followed using a cut edge following behavior.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the perimeter cutting method taught in Sandin in the outdoor power machine system in Matthew as modified by Huang and Arbogast with a reasonable expectation of success because this results in the robots being utilized as uniformly as possible over time since the user can add and customize a task by following a cutting strategy that prioritizes cutting of the perimeter before cutting the inner part of an area so it can determine whether it is inside or outside of a boundary perimeter (see Sandin at Para. [0229].).
As per claim 15, Matthew, Huang, Arbogast, and Tech Pub disclose a method, wherein the second display area includes a perimeter cutting option configured to be selected via a third user input to select between the first type of operation and the second type of operation (Sandin at Para. [0196] discloses a cutting strategy that includes a perimeter cutting state where the grass in the perimeter of a property is cut first:” highest priority behavior is a perimeter following behavior. While creating the perimeter following behavior, the robot 10 follows a perimeter through bump sensing or the use of confinement devices (e.g. boundary responders 600). This tends to create cut grass edges 26 around obstacles and property perimeters that can later be followed using a cut edge following behavior.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the perimeter cutting method taught in Sandin in the outdoor power machine system in Matthew as modified by Huang and Arbogast with a reasonable expectation of success because this results in the robots being utilized as uniformly as possible over time since the user can add and customize a task by following a cutting strategy that prioritizes cutting of the perimeter before cutting the inner part of an area so it can determine whether it is inside or outside of a boundary perimeter (see Sandin at Para. [0229].).
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matthew, Huang, Arbogast, and Tech Pub as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Meyer et al (US-20150177952-A1)(“Meyer”).
As per claim 7, Matthew, Huang, Arbogast, and Tech Pub disclose an external device.
Matthew, Huang, and Arbogast do not disclose but Meyer wherein the second user input to edit the selected time block includes at least one of dragging and dropping an entirety of the selected time block to reschedule at least one of a day and the time period associated with the selected time block (Meyer at Para. [0036] discloses a drag drop interaction with a scheduling system:” tool 100 employs a drag and drop graphical user interface 210 and a scheduling engine 130. The work center calendar 110 is responsive to user requests and creates and maintains a centralized master schedule (may be one or more schedule) of multiple work tasks.”);
Matthew, Huang, and Arbogast do not disclose but Meyer a process for dragging and dropping at least one of a top end and a bottom end of the selected time block to reschedule at least one of a start time of the selected time block and an end time of the selected time block (Meyer at Para. [0054] discloses a process for drag and dropping start and end time of an event:” user drags a particular task (referred to below as `currentTask`), the scheduling engine 130 executes the following algorithm. When referring to start and end times herein, a time/date combination is intended--both the date and time of day are taken into consideration.”); and
Matthew, Huang, and Arbogast do not disclose but Meyer a process for dragging and dropping at least one of a left side and a right side of the selected time block to generate a second time block during at least one other day (Meyer at Para. [0047] discloses process where the user can adjust the beginning and duration of a task:” tool 100 displays the user-selected work task representation 118 in the calendar schedule beginning at the user selected date/time and having a duration as defined by the work task 118. FIG. 2D is illustrative. Tool 100 also displays the now downstream work tasks 112 (representations thereof) at adjusted or rescheduled start times (date/times) in the work center calendar 110 accordingly.”),
wherein the second time block includes at least one similar characteristic as the selected time block (Meyer at Para. [0049] disclosing that the task characteristic remains the same is the time devoted to the task that is changes:” scheduling engine 130 reschedules the impacted scheduled work tasks 112 in calendar 110 based on working times set in calendar 110 definitions in database 115 and respective time durations of work tasks defined and stored in database 115. Preferably scheduling engine 130 includes a rescheduler that applies a linear rescheduling algorithm detailed below.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the drag and drop method for scheduling a task taught in Meyer in the outdoor power machine system in Matthew as modified by Huang and Arbogast with a reasonable expectation of success because this results in a robot having an operator interface that is easier to schedule and to minimize the errors that follow from manual entry of schedules (see Meyer at Para. [0004].).
As per claim 8, Matthew, Huang, Arbogast, and Meyer disclose an external device,
wherein the at least one similar characteristic includes a type of operation that is configured to be performed by the first robotic garden tool and the time period associated with the selected time block (Matthew at Par. [0002] discloses tasks such as mowing:” outdoor power machines include lawn mowers, snow blowers, chain saws, blowers, and hand-held trimmers.”).
As per claim 9, Matthew, Huang, Arbogast, and Meyer disclose an external device, wherein the electronic processor is configured to determine that the second time block conflicts with a previously scheduled time block (Huang at Para. [0043] discloses checking for a conflicting schedule:” cloud computing system 210, checks (226), by a processor 212, whether parameters of the selected cleaning schedule conflict with previously stored cleaning schedules.”); and
in response to determining that the second time block conflicts with the previously scheduled time block, remove the second time block from a conflicted time period that at least partially overlaps with the previously scheduled time block (Huang at Para. [0043] discloses changing the time block by prompting the user to select another time block:” If the selected cleaning schedule conflicts with another cleaning schedule, an error message is presented (228) on the mobile device 204 and the user 202 is prompted (222) to create a new cleaning schedule. If the selected cleaning schedule does not conflict with another cleaning schedule, the selected cleaning schedule is presented (230) on a list of cleaning schedules.”).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matthew, Huang, Arbogast, and Tech Pub as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Meyer et al (US-20150177952-A1)(“Meyer”).
As per claim 16, Matthew, Huang, Arbogast, and Tech Pub disclose a method.
Matthew, Huang, and Arbogast do not disclose but Meyer wherein the second user input to edit the selected time block includes at least one of dragging and dropping an entirety of the selected time block to reschedule at least one of a day and the time period associated with the selected time block (Meyer at Para. [0036] discloses a drag drop interaction with a scheduling system:” tool 100 employs a drag and drop graphical user interface 210 and a scheduling engine 130. The work center calendar 110 is responsive to user requests and creates and maintains a centralized master schedule (may be one or more schedule) of multiple work tasks.”);
Matthew, Huang, and Arbogast do not disclose but Meyer a process for dragging and dropping at least one of a top end and a bottom end of the selected time block to reschedule at least one of a start time of the selected time block and an end time of the selected time block (Meyer at Para. [0054] discloses a process for drag and dropping start and end time of an event:” user drags a particular task (referred to below as `currentTask`), the scheduling engine 130 executes the following algorithm. When referring to start and end times herein, a time/date combination is intended--both the date and time of day are taken into consideration.”); and
Matthew, Huang, and Arbogast do not disclose but Meyer a process for dragging and dropping at least one of a left side and a right side of the selected time block to generate a second time block during at least one other day (Meyer at Para. [0047] discloses process where the user can adjust the beginning and duration of a task:” tool 100 displays the user-selected work task representation 118 in the calendar schedule beginning at the user selected date/time and having a duration as defined by the work task 118. FIG. 2D is illustrative. Tool 100 also displays the now downstream work tasks 112 (representations thereof) at adjusted or rescheduled start times (date/times) in the work center calendar 110 accordingly.”),
wherein the second time block includes at least one similar characteristic as the selected time block (Meyer at Para. [0049] disclosing that the task characteristic remains the same is the time devoted to the task that is changes:” scheduling engine 130 reschedules the impacted scheduled work tasks 112 in calendar 110 based on working times set in calendar 110 definitions in database 115 and respective time durations of work tasks defined and stored in database 115. Preferably scheduling engine 130 includes a rescheduler that applies a linear rescheduling algorithm detailed below.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the drag and drop method for scheduling a task taught in Meyer in the outdoor power machine system in Matthew as modified by Huang with a reasonable expectation of success because this results in a robot having an operator interface that is easier to schedule and to minimize the errors that follow from manual entry of schedules (see Meyer at Para. [0004].).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matthew, Huang, Arbogast, and Tech Pub as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Meyer et al (US-20150177952-A1)(“Meyer”).
As per claim 20, Matthew, Huang, Arbogast, and Tech Pub disclose a communication system.
Matthew, Huang, and Arbogast do not disclose but Meyer wherein the second user input to edit the size of the selected time block includes dragging and dropping an entirety of the selected time block to change the size of the selected time block and to reschedule at least one of a day and the time period associated with the selected time block (Meyer at Para. [0036] discloses a drag drop interaction with a scheduling system:” tool 100 employs a drag and drop graphical user interface 210 and a scheduling engine 130. The work center calendar 110 is responsive to user requests and creates and maintains a centralized master schedule (may be one or more schedule) of multiple work tasks.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the drag and drop method for scheduling a task taught in Meyer in the outdoor power machine system in Matthew as modified by Huang and Arbogast with a reasonable expectation of success because this results in a robot having an operator interface that is easier to schedule and to minimize the errors that follow from manual entry of schedules (see Meyer at Para. [0004].).
CONCLUSION
/ELLIS B. RAMIREZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3658