DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Meier (DE 24 36 541).
Regarding independent claim 1, Meier discloses a positioning assembly (see machine translation, ¶ 0001, FIG.) for positioning a brake piston (6), the positioning assembly comprising: a support member (8) extending along an axis (see FIG.), a first compression-loaded member (17), and a second compression-loaded member (12), wherein the first compression-loaded member and the second compression-loaded member are axially supported on or configured to be axially supported on the support member (see FIG.), wherein said second compression-loaded member includes a conical portion that tapers along an axial length of the second compression-loaded member (see FIG., second compression-loaded member (12) comprises conical ends that taper along an axial length).
Regarding claim 2, Meier discloses that the first compression-loaded member (17) is compression-loaded or compressible along the axis (see FIG., spring (17) is compressible along the axis) and the second compression-loaded member is compression-loaded or compressible perpendicular to the axis (see e.g. clamping sleeve (12) creates friction with support (6), thereby implying compression to create friction).
Regarding claim 3, Meier discloses that the first compression- loaded member comprises a compression spring (see FIG.).
Regarding claim 7, Meier discloses that the support member (8), the first compression-loaded member (17) and the second compression-loaded member (12) are arranged concentrically with respect to the axis (see FIG.).
Claims 1-4 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dotto (US 3,064,768).
Regarding independent claim 1, Dotto discloses a positioning assembly (see col. 1, lines 9-23; FIG. 1) for positioning a brake piston (32), the positioning assembly comprising: a support member (40) extending along an axis (see FIG. 1), a first compression-loaded member (62), and a second compression-loaded member (67), wherein the first compression-loaded member and the second compression-loaded member are axially supported on or configured to be axially supported on the support member (see FIG. 1), wherein said second compression-loaded member includes a conical portion (66) that tapers along an axial length of the second compression-loaded member (see FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Dotto discloses that the first compression-loaded member (62) is compression-loaded or compressible along the axis (see FIG. 1) and the second compression-loaded member is compression-loaded or compressible perpendicular to the axis (see FIG. 1; col. 2, lines 65-67).
Regarding claim 3, Dotto discloses that the first compression- loaded member comprises a compression spring (see FIG. 1; col. 2, lines 49-53).
Regarding claim 4, Dotto discloses that the second compression-loaded member includes one or more notches that at least partially extend along the conical portion (see col. 2, lines 61-65).
Regarding claim 6, Dotto discloses that the second compression- loaded member is configured to slide on the support member along the axis (see col. 2, lines 59-69).
Regarding claim 7, Dotto discloses that the support member, the first compression-loaded member and the second compression-loaded member are arranged concentrically with respect to the axis (see FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Dotto discloses that the support member comprises a first support portion (53) for axially supporting the first compression-loaded member (see FIG. 1) and a second support portion (66) for axially supporting the second compression-loaded member (see FIG. 1), wherein a maximum diameter of the first support portion perpendicular to the axis differs from a maximum diameter of the second support portion perpendicular to the axis (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Dotto discloses that the first support portion and the second support portion are axially distanced from one another (see FIG. 1).
Claims 1, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Frayer et al. (US 2,900,052).
Regarding independent claim 1, Frayer discloses a positioning assembly for positioning a brake piston (see col. 1, lines 15-17), the positioning assembly comprising: a support member (20, 21) extending along an axis (see FIG. 1), a first compression-loaded member (22), and a second compression-loaded member (28), wherein the first compression-loaded member and the second compression-loaded member are axially supported on or configured to be axially supported on the support member (see FIG. 1), wherein the second compression-loaded member includes a conical portion that tapers along an axial length of the second compression-loaded member (see col. 2, line 43, “Belleville ring”).
Regarding claim 8, Frayer discloses that the support member comprises a first support portion (see FIG. 1, outer diameter of (21)) for axially supporting the first compression-loaded member (see FIG. 1) and a second support portion (see FIG. 1, inner diameter of (21)) for axially supporting the second compression- loaded member (see FIG. 1), wherein a maximum diameter of the first support portion perpendicular to the axis differs from a maximum diameter of the second support portion perpendicular to the axis (see FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 10, Frayer discloses that the maximum diameter of the first support portion is greater than the maximum diameter of the second support portion (see FIG. 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02-Dec-2025 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection noted above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 12-20 are allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS J LANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
February 19, 2026