DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant claims the benefit of US Provisional Application No. 63/366,044, filed June 8, 2022. Claims 1-33 have been afforded the benefit of this filing date.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 06/26/2026 has been entered. Applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 12, 14-16, 20, 24, and 27 have overcome the claim objections previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed 03/26/2026. Claims 9, 23, and 26 remain objected to. Claims 1-2, 4, 6-33 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the Remarks filed 06/26/2026, directed to the amendments in claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 16-17 of the Remarks filed 06/26/2026, have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Regarding claim 27, Applicant argues the following:
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim language “adjacent to or near” is relative terminology. When determining whether this type of language renders the claim indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), Examiners may look to MPEP 2173.05(b), which states: “Acceptability of the claim language depends on whether one of ordinary skill in the art would understand what is claimed, in light of the specification.” Paragraph 75 of the Specification filed 06/08/2023 states the following: “The heat exchanger is positioned near the nozzle to heat the canola oil just prior to its deposition.” One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that when positioning any heat exchangers in the claimed robot, they must be near enough to the nozzle/sprayer to adequately heat the oil prior to its deposition. Both Zhang and Donaldson teach heat exchangers that are positioned near the nozzle/sprayer to heat fluid(s) shortly prior to its deposition. Donaldson is relied on to teach the use of a second heat exchanger.
Accordingly, the Examiner’s conclusion is based on an understanding of the Applicant’s use of the term “near,” in light of the specification. There is no reliance on “functional reasoning,” as argued, but rather a reliance on the Applicant’s own provided disclosure of the invention. The rejection of claim 27 is maintained.
Claim Objections
Claims 9, 23, and 26 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 9, “heated by the integrated heat exchanger” should read “heated by the integrated manifold heat exchanger”
Regarding claim 23, “position on the pathway of the robot” should read “position of the robot on the pathway ”
Regarding claims 23 and 26, “the one of the captured images” should read “ one of the captured images”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 1, the claims are interpreted to require at least one of element (i) and at least one of element (ii), in accordance with the plain English meaning of “at least one of” listed elements conjoined by “and.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-9, 13, 15-17, 21, 26 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (Zhang, Y., Staab, E. S., Slaughter, D. C., Giles, D. K., & Downey, D. (2012). Automated weed control in organic row crops using hyperspectral species identification and thermal micro-dosing. Crop Protection, 41, 96-105), hereinafter Zhang, in view of Bechard (U.S. Patent No. 7,850,445 B2), in further view of Wu et al. (Wu, X., Aravecchia, S., Lottes, P., Stachniss, C., & Pradalier, C. (2020). Robotic weed control using automated weed and crop classification. Journal of Field Robotics, 37(2), 322-340.), hereinafter Wu.
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches a robot configured to move along a pathway (Zhang, pg. 3, last sentence before section 2: “automated weed control system”; see Figure 2 from pg. 98 attached below; robot is configured to move along a pathway in a field, see FIG. 4 on pg. 100), comprising:
an imaging module (Zhang, pg. 99, section 2.2: “hyperspectral imaging system) having an image sensor (Zhang, pg. 99, section 2.2: “monochrome area camera (Photometrics CoolSNAPcf, Roper Scientific Photometrics, Tucson, AZ) equipped with a hyperspectral spectrograph”) configured to capture images of a crop row with target vegetation (Zhang, pg. 99, section 2.2: “A line imaging configuration was used where the camera lineby-line sequentially scanned the surface of the seedline perpendicular to the travel direction as the system moved along the row”; target vegetation, “developed to identify processing tomatoes versus weed species”);
a manifold (Zhang, pg. 99, 2nd paragraph in right column: “micro-dosing manifold”) having: an integrated manifold heat exchanger (Zhang, last paragraph on pg. 98: “interior food-grade oil chamber that was submersed within an outer heated reservoir”; 1st paragraph on pg. 99: “Fins were added to the interior oil chamber to increase heat transfer rates to the food-grade oil volume (Fig. 3a). There was no fluid contact, or mixing, between the food-grade oil in the interior chamber and the heating oil located in the outer reservoir”; see also Figure 3; see Figure 2 wherein the reservoirs are integrated with the manifold) configured to continuously recirculate a heated thermal fluid (Zhang, see last citation – heating oil in the outer reservoir; interior reservoir is used for oil application), and
an integrated sprayer having multiple individually controllable nozzles (Zhang, 2nd paragraph in right column on pg. 99: “The flow through each nozzle was independently controlled by a bank of eight solenoid valves”) each configured to dispense a targeted micro-dose of a substance on the target vegetation (Zhang, spray manifold nozzles dispensing oil, 2nd paragraph in right column on pg. 99: “micro-dosing manifold…The internal chamber of the dosing manifold provided heated oil, under pressure, to a bank of eight nozzles where each nozzle contained 4 dosing tubes”; micro-dose, abstract on pg. 96: “precision, pulsed-jet, micro-dosing system to selectively deliver high-temperature, organic, food-grade oil”);
a control system including one or more processors (Zhang, 2nd paragraph on pg. 100: “computer system”) configured to:
determine a position of the robot on the pathway (Zhang, wheel location synchronizes imaging and micro-dosing during operation, 1st paragraph on pg. 100: “The two systems were integrated and synchronized with a ground-driven encoder wheel location stamp (i.e. by odometry)”);
initiate the imaging module to begin capturing the images of the crop row with the target vegetation (Zhang, section 2 on pg. 99: “camera line-by-line sequentially scanned the surface of the seedline”; camera/computer control, paragraph before section 2.2 on pg. 99: “hyperspectral image transfer rate from camera to computer”);
identify the target vegetation (Zhang, weed identification, section 2.2 on pg. 99: “A prototype of hyperspectral imaging system was developed to identify processing tomatoes versus weed species”; last paragraph before section 2 on pg. 98: “species identification”) and determine a location of the target vegetation in the crop row in at least some of the captured images (Zhang, last paragraph before section 2 on pg. 98: “hyperspectral vision identification system and a multispectral image processing technique for accurately identifying and mapping weeds within the seedline”; see also 2nd paragraph in section 2.4 on pg. 100);
create a weed map based on the identification of the target vegetation, the location of the target vegetation in the crop row (Zhang, last paragraph before section 2 on pg. 98: “identifying and mapping weeds within the seedline”; see also 2nd paragraph in section 2.4 on pg. 100);
identify one or more individually controllable nozzles to activate based on the 3D weed map (Zhang, pg. 100, top right paragraph: “To translate the weed map into a spray control map (plant-based), the predominant object classification (weed, tomato, soil) in each 1.27 cm linear region of the hyperspectral image, which corresponded to the 1.27 cm size of a nozzle target zone, determined the spray decision for that zone”);
activate the identified one or more individually controllable nozzles of the integrated sprayer to dispense the targeted micro-dose of the substance on the target vegetation (Zhang, (1) on pg. 104: “accurately delivered 85 mg/cm2 per 10 ms pulse duration of food-grade oil preheated to 160C to targeted weed foliage”; see also 1st paragraph in the right column on pg. 100).
However, Zhang fails to explicitly teach (1) wherein the integrated manifold heat exchanger is configured to continuously recirculate a heated thermal fluid to heat the manifold; (2) determine a location of the target vegetation in the crop row in at least some of the captured images based on a common feature in the at least some of the images captured from the image sensor, the common feature correlating to the target vegetation; and (3) determine, based on distance information associated with or derived from at least some of the images captured by the image sensor, a distance between the target vegetation and the image sensor; using a known spatial relationship between the image sensor and the multiple individually controllable nozzles of the integrated sprayer, create or update a continuously updated three-dimensional (3D) weed map based on the identification of the target vegetation, the location of the target vegetation in the crop row, and the at least one of: (i) the distance from the target vegetation to the image sensor and (ii) and the distance between the target vegetation and at least one nozzle.
Zhang teaches wherein the thermal fluid is contained in the heated oil reservoir, which transfers heated oil to the manifold, but is not used to heat the manifold (Zhang, manifold is heated by electric heaters, 2nd paragraph in right column on pg. 99: “At the dosing manifold, two electric resistance heaters (Model DI-5575-KEP, Therm-Coil MFG, 120 V, 100 W, West Newton, PA) was embedded in the manifold to boost the temperature of food-grade oil as it passed through the dosing manifold and nozzles prior to application”). Bechard teaches a method/system for heating oil (Bechard, abstract: “Heat energy from the heated liquid conductively transfers to the oil within the device”). Bechard teaches wherein an integrated manifold heat exchanger is configured to circulate a heated thermal fluid to heat the manifold (Bechard, col 5, ln 50-55: “Inside preheat device 1 there is a heated liquid passageway which allows a heated liquid to circulate within while conductively transferring heat energy through preheat device 1 to oil and compressed air as it passes through preheat device 1 to nozzle 2”; see Figure 3 wherein the liquid is continuously circulated; Claim 1: “a source of heated liquid coupled to the inlet and outlet ports of said second passageway to flow through said second passageway such that the heated liquid flow heats the manifold and transfers heat to oil in the first passageway to elevate the temperature of oil flowing in said first passage way as the oil is discharged from the nozzle”). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined utilizing the heated thermal fluid to heat the manifold, taught by Bechard, with the system of Zhang in order to more efficiently heat the oil before discharge (Bechard, col 5, ln 50-55: “transferring heat energy through preheat device 1 to oil and compressed air as it passes through preheat device 1 to nozzle 2”). Zhang’s invention requires two sources of heat, one for the outer reservoir (Zhang, last paragraph on pg. 98: “Oil (Bio Flo FG32, f BioBlend Renewable Resources, Joilet, IL) placed in the outer reservoir was heated with an immersion heater”) and one to heat the manifold to maintain the temperature (Zhang, 2nd paragraph in right column on pg. 99: “At the dosing manifold, two electric resistance heaters (Model DI-5575-KEP, Therm-Coil MFG, 120 V, 100 W, West Newton, PA) was embedded in the manifold to boost the temperature of food-grade oil as it passed through the dosing manifold and nozzles prior to application”). Bechard’s teachings offer a solution to discharge the heated oil by only heating the thermal fluid.
Additionally, Wu teaches a similar system (Wu, last para on pg. 2:
),
including determine a location of the target vegetation in the crop row in at least some of captured images based on a common feature in the at least some of the images captured from the image sensor (Wu, the last camera before the “End effector”), the common feature correlating to the target vegetation (Wu, common leaf features associated with weeds are compared across frames to facilitate intra-camera tracking as the robot moves, see FIG. 1; end of pg. 2 to pg. 3: “Both the crops and weeds are first detected and classified by a state-of-the-art learning-based algorithm using camera images, where the delayed classification results are propagated and retraced in the latest image. All the labeled crops and weeds are tracked and associated with newly classified plants until moving out of the scope of the first camera.”; pg. 11, section 4.2.3: “The primary objective of our proposed intra-camera tracking algorithm is continuously tracking the 3D positions of detected crops and/or weeds until retraced in the next camera or being treated”); and
determine, based on distance information associated with or derived from at least some of the images captured by the image sensor, a distance between the target vegetation and the image sensor (Wu, depth from sensor to points on the target vegetation, represented by the depth map, see FIG. 7; 2nd para on pg. 12: “The algorithm consists of two major components: camera tracking and scene structure mapping in Fig. 8, where the map is represented as inverse depth map”);
using a known spatial relationship between the image sensor and the multiple individually controllable nozzles of the integrated sprayer (Wu, homogeneous transformation matrix from the last camera frame to the sprayer, described in section 4.5 “Predictive Control,” attached below), create or update a continuously updated three-dimensional (3D) weed map (Wu, mapping details described in section 4.2, pg. 8, section 4: “the intra-camera tracking estimates the camera poses and 3D scene map using direct methods”; continuously updating, 1st para on pg. 9: “After repeated intra-camera tracking, updating, and inter-camera tracking, the weeds finally approach the end effector, where the control algorithm predicts the triggering timing and position of actuation for intervention”) based on the identification of the target vegetation (Wu, weed tracking, pg. 11, section 4.2.3: “detected crops and/or weeds”), the location of the target vegetation in the crop row (Wu, 3D positions of tracked objects, cited in section 4.3 on pg. 14, attached below), and the at least one of: (i) the distance from the target vegetation to the image sensor (Wu, depth map, see FIG. 7 and associated citations above) and (ii) and the distance between the target vegetation and at least one nozzle (Wu, pg. 15, section 4.5: “predicted horizontal displacement”; the predictive control is part of the continuously updated mapping process – objects are tracked and updated through the last camera frame so that distance between the weed and sprayer row can be calculated to time the spraying; see section 4.5, attached below).
In a similar way to Zhang, Wu identifies one or more individually controllable nozzles to activate based on the 3D weed map (Wu, 3rd para on pg. 7: “This application is assembled out of nine nozzles individually controlled by magnetic valves…each sprayer mounted in the lowest position can cover a 30mm-diameter area, which is sufficient to prevent valuable crops growing close to the weeds from being sprayed”; pg. 19, section 5.3: “The proposed predictive control module is evaluated on both the mechanical weeding tool and the selective sprayer in a real-world field with flat and rough terrain areas”; see the spraying robot in FIG. 2 on pg. 6). While Zhang teaches “[b]ased upon the detection of weed foliage, a spray map was generated by the machine vision system and used to direct a micro-controller which triggered specific solenoid valves to deliver liquid to the corresponding nozzle” (end of pg. 97), Zhang does not disclose specific details regarding the construction of the spray map beyond its basis on weed detection. Accordingly, Zhang discloses a base method for generating a spray map, but does not specify specific methods for creating or updating a three-dimensional weed map. Wu teaches a known technique of utilizing machine vision techniques to generate a 3D map of objects. A person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, could have applied the known technique, as taught by Wu, in the same way to the method of Zhang in view of Bechard and achieved predictable results of improving the precision of spraying by utilizing a more detailed set of location information to control the nozzles (i.e., continuously updated 3D depth and distance information versus solely machine vision object detection).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the 3D weed map and target vegetation tracking, taught by Wu, with the system of Zhang in view of Bechard in order to increase the precision of target vegetation tracking and spraying (Wu, pg. 17, section 5.2.1: “In this paper, one of our major contributions is that our system can deliver high-precision 3D position tracking of objects in high depth variance environments compared with our previously proposed weed control systems.”).
Regarding claim 2 (dependent on claim 1), Zhang in view of Bechard and Wu teaches wherein the target vegetation is a weed (Zhang, section 2.2 on pg. 99: “identify processing tomatoes versus weed species”; 2nd paragraph in right column on pg. 99: “delivering heated oil to weeds”).
Regarding claim 8 (dependent on claim 1), Zhang in view of Bechard and Wu teaches wherein the integrated sprayer includes a pulsing system configured to dispense the substance in a series of pulsed micro-doses (Zhang, abstract on pg. 96: “Food-grade oil, heated to approximately 160C, was applied to weeds using a pressurized micro-dosing pulsed-jet”; last paragraph before section 2 on pg. 98: “automated pulsed-jet micro-dose application system”).
Regarding claim 9 (dependent on claim 1), Zhang in view of Bechard and Wu teaches wherein the substance is an oil heated by the integrated manifold heat exchanger prior to dispensing to a temperature of 160°C (Zhang, (1) on pg. 104: “accurately delivered 85 mg/cm2 per 10 ms pulse duration of food-grade oil preheated to 160C to targeted weed foliage”).
Regarding claim 13 (dependent on claim 1), Zhang in view of Bechard and Wu teaches wherein the robot includes a position sensor configured to determine the position of the robot on the pathway (Zhang, ground-driven encoder, 1st paragraph on pg. 100: “The two systems were integrated and synchronized with a ground-driven encoder wheel location stamp (i.e. by odometry)”).
Regarding claim 15 (dependent on claim 1), Zhang in view of Bechard and Wu teaches wherein the control system is further configured to identify the target vegetation in the captured image by analyzing an identification characteristic in one of the captured images (Zhang, color, 2nd paragraph in section 2.4 on pg. 100: “Plants were mapped in real-time using a green foliage segmentation algorithm, modified red ratio vegetation index (MRVI; Biller, 1998), which calculated the ratio of the reflectance intensities at 555 nm (green) and 665 nm (red)”).
Regarding claim 16 (dependent on claim 15), Zhang in view of Bechard and Wu teaches wherein the control system is further configured to identify the target vegetation in the one of the captured images by inputting the one of the captured images to an artificial intelligence (AI) algorithm to detect the target vegetation in the one of the captured images based on the identification characteristic of the one of the captured images (Zhang, Bayesian classifier, 2nd to last paragraph on pg. 100: “Approximately one-third of the plants were randomly selected for each species as the calibration set to train the hyperspectral imaging classifier while the remaining plants were identified as the validation set (Table 4). A 13-waveband Bayesian classifier was developed using stepwise discriminant analysis”).
Regarding claim 17 (dependent on claim 1), Zhang in view of Bechard and Wu teaches wherein the control system is further configured to identify the target vegetation in a series of captured images by analyzing a common target vegetation identification characteristic of the series of captured images (Wu, intra- and inter-camera object tracking, pg. 11, section 4.2.3: “The primary objective of our proposed intra-camera tracking algorithm is continuously tracking the 3D positions of detected crops and/or weeds until retraced in the next camera or being treated”; see sections 4.2.3-4.2.4 for more detail).
Regarding claim 21 (dependent on claim 1), Zhang in view of Bechard and Wu teaches wherein the robot is a semi-autonomous robot (Zhang, conclusion on pg. 103-104: “automated machine vision identification and thermal treatment application system”; Figure 4 on pg. 100 demonstrates aspects of user intervention, making the system semi-autonomous).
Regarding claim 26 (dependent on claim 1), Zhang in view of Bechard and Wu teaches wherein the processor is further configured to determine the location of the target vegetation in the crop row based on (Zhang, last paragraph before section 2 on pg. 98: “hyperspectral vision identification system and a multispectral image processing technique for accurately identifying and mapping weeds within the seedline”).
Regarding claim 28 (dependent on claim 1), Zhang in view of Bechard and Wu teaches wherein the recirculated thermal fluid is a food-safe fluid (Zhang, 2nd paragraph on pg. 99: “The outer reservoir heating oil (flashpoint higher than 204C) was 75% biodegradable, non-toxic and had no expected adverse effects on humans and the environment including fish and wildlife”) flowing through a closed-loop system (Zhang, the outer reservoir is a closed loop, see Figure 3) and heated by an electric or gas-fired process heater (Zhang, bottom right on pg. 98: “outer reservoir was heated with an immersion heater (Model SETFAA, 120 V, 1650 W, Charmglow, Columbus, GA)”).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Bechard, Wu, and Pleines et al. (U.S. Patent No. 2023/0276783 A1), hereinafter Pleines.
Regarding claim 4 (dependent on claim 1), Zhang in view of Bechard and Wu fails to explicitly teach wherein the target vegetation is a specialty crop; however, Pleines teaches a similar system (Pleines, abstract, Fig. 1C) wherein the target vegetation is a specialty crop (Pleines, tomato, para 39: “As such, farming actions the farming machine 100 implements as part of a treatment plan may be applied to plants 104 in the field 160. The plants 104 can be crops but could also be weeds or any other suitable plant 104. Some example crops include cotton, lettuce, soybeans, rice, carrots, tomatoes”).
Zhang teaches a system for spraying target vegetation with a substance, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the target vegetation is a specialty crop; however, Pleines teaches the identification and treatment application to a specialty crop. One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, could have combined the system taught by Zhang in view of Bechard and Wu with the target vegetation of Pleines, using known methods. In doing so, each element merely would have performed the same functions as it did separately (The system of Zhang could target a tomato crop species instead of a weed; see also section 2.2 on pg. 99 where tomato species may be identified.) and would achieve the predictable results of removing a targeted specialty crop, when needed (Pleines, plants may need to be removed/incinerated, etc., para 54: “the effect of treating a plant 104 with a treatment mechanism 120 may include any of plant necrosis, plant growth stimulation, plant portion necrosis or removal, plant portion growth stimulation, or any other suitable treatment effect…the treatment mechanism 120 can apply a treatment that dislodges a plant 104 from the substrate 106, severs a plant 104 or portion of a plant 104 (e.g., cutting), incinerates a plant 104 or portion of a plant 104”).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Bechard, Wu, and Lee et al. (Lee, W. S., Slaughter, D. C., & Giles, D. K. (1999). Robotic weed control system for tomatoes. Precision Agriculture, 1(1), 95-113), hereinafter Lee.
Regarding claim 6 (dependent on claim 1), Zhang in view of Bechard and Wu fails to explicitly teach wherein the multiple individually controllable nozzles of the integrated sprayer are arranged in two rows or three rows perpendicular to a direction of travel of the robot along the pathway (Although Zhang teaches wherein the imaging system scans perpendicular to the travel direction, see last paragraph before 2.3 on pg. 99, it is not explicitly stated that the rows are arranged this way.). However, Lee teaches a similar system (Lee, abstract: “intelligent robotic weed control system”) wherein the spray nozzles are arranged in two rows or three rows perpendicular to a direction of travel of the robot along the pathway (Lee, see Figure 4 on pg. 108, attached below; last paragraph on pg. 105: “each micro-spray nozzle emitted an elliptical deposit 0.9 cm along the direction of travel and 1.27 cm perpendicular to the direction of travel when operated at 103 kPa from a nozzle height of 10.16 cm above the seedbed”). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the nozzle arrangement of Lee with the system of Zhang in view of Bechard and Wu in order to adequately cover the width of the crop row (Lee, see Figure 4 below).
Regarding claim 7 (dependent on claim 6), Zhang in view of Bechard, Wu, and Lee teaches wherein the integrated manifold heat exchanger is configured to heat the multiple individually controllable nozzles of the integrated sprayer (Zhang, heated spray, 1st paragraph on pg. 99: “All connection fittings were stainless steel (nominal 6.35 mm) for transporting heated food-grade oil to the spray manifold for micro-dosing applications. Fins were added to the interior oil chamber to increase heat transfer rates to the foodgrade oil volume (Fig. 3a)”; referring to the heated reservoirs, see also section 2.1 on pg. 98; individually controlled spray, 2nd paragraph in right column on pg. 99: “The flow through each nozzle was independently controlled by a bank of eight solenoid valves”).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Bechard, Wu, and Hoeferlin et al. (U.S. Patent No. 2022/0406039 A1), hereinafter Hoeferlin.
Regarding claim 10 (dependent on claim 1), Zhang in view of Bechard and Wu fails to explicitly teach wherein the substance is a fertilizer; however, Hoeferlin teaches a similar system (Hoerferlin, abstract and para 41) wherein the substance is a fertilizer (Hoerferlin, para 17: “the sprayer can also be used for applying a crop protection agent or fertilizer to a useful plant”).
Thus, Zhang teaches a system for spraying target vegetation with a substance, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the substance is a fertilizer; however, Hoeferlin teaches a sprayer that applies fertilizer to a plant. One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, could have combined the system taught by Zhang in view of Bechard and Wu with the substance of Hoeferlin, using known methods. In doing so, each element merely would have performed the same functions as it did separately and would achieve the predictable results of treating targeted vegetation and surrounding soil with fertilizer in order to aid its maintenance/growth (Hoerferlin, para 39: “In this case, a mechanical tool can be accurately guided right up to the position of the plant or the sprayer, for applying the pesticide, crop protection agent or fertilizer, can be guided to a position at a predefined distance from the weed or the useful plant and can be directed at the latter”).
Further, Hoerferlin references the use of hot oil, similar to the invention disclosed by Zhang (Hoerferlin, para 17: “Furthermore, even further processing tools, such as, for instance, an electric processing tool, a laser, microwaves, hot water or oil, are conceivable”). Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine aspects from both disclosures.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Bechard, Wu, and Sibley et al. (U.S. Patent No. 2022/0117215 A1), hereinafter Sibley.
Regarding claim 11 (dependent on claim 1), Zhang in view of Bechard and Wu fails to explicitly teach wherein the control system includes at least one on-board processor; however, Sibley teaches a similar system (Sibley, abstract). Sibley further discloses wherein the control system includes at least one on-board processor (Sibley, para 135: “agricultural treatment system 400 can include an on-board computing unit 420, such compute unit 420 computing unit embedded with a system on chip. The on-board computing unit can include a compute module 424 configured to process images”; para 343: “onboard circuitry, processors and sensors”). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the on-board processor of Sibley with the system of Zhang in view of Bechard and Wu in order to efficiently perform the image processing functions to control the robot system (Sibley, para 343: “the agricultural treatment system has onboard circuitry, processors and sensors that allows the system to obtain imagery of agricultural objects and then identify a target object to be sprayed”).
Regarding claim 12 (dependent on claim 1), Zhang in view of Bechard and Wu fails to explicitly teach wherein the control system includes multiple processors, one of which is an on-board processor, and further comprising a communications module electronically coupled to a remote processor and configured to transmit data between the on-board processor and a remote computing system through the remote processor.
However, Sibley teaches a similar system (Sibley, abstract) wherein the control system includes multiple processors (Sibley, para 343: “processors”), one of which is an on-board processor (Sibley, para 343: “onboard circuitry”), and further comprising a communications module (Sibley, para 137: “The communications module 426, as well as any telemetry modules on the computing unit, can be configured to receive and transmit data”) electronically coupled to a remote processor and configured to transmit data between the on-board processor and a remote computing system through the remote processor (Sibley, para 137: “processed either on a computer or computing device on-board the vehicle, such as one or more computing devices or components for the compute module 424, or remotely from a remote device close to the device on-board the vehicle or at a distance farther away from the agricultural scene or environment that the agricultural treatment system 400 maneuvers on”). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the processors of Sibley with the system of Zhang in view of Bechard and Wu in order to efficiently perform the image processing functions to control the robot system and manage computational resources as needed (Sibley, para 343: “the agricultural treatment system has onboard circuitry, processors and sensors that allows the system to obtain imagery of agricultural objects and then identify a target object to be sprayed”; para 100: “embedded in the system 100, or supported by one or more servers or computing devices remote from the vehicle supporting the system 100”).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Bechard, Wu, and Long et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,035,707 B2), hereinafter Long.
Regarding claim 14 (dependent on claim 1), Zhang in view of Bechard and Wu fails to explicitly teach wherein the control system is further configured to determine the position of the robot on the pathway by analyzing a location characteristic in one of the captured images. However, Long teaches a similar system (Long, col 4, ln 54-65: “first work vehicle that may be used to detect one or more targets within the field during a first operation and a second vehicle that may apply an agricultural product to each target during a second operation”; although the vehicles are separate, the embodiment still demonstrates wherein images of the crops are captured before targeted spraying, similar to the claimed invention) wherein the control system is further configured to determine the position of the robot on the pathway by analyzing a location characteristic of a captured image (Long, col 16, ln 15-21: “the path analysis module 224 may be configured to process/analyze the sprayer path 242 to estimate or determine a position of the second vehicle 200. For example, in some embodiments, the path analysis module 224 may receive data from the image analysis module 222 and/or the positioning system 220”; image analysis module analyzes image characteristics, col 15-16, ln 65-11: “the image analysis module 222 may be configured to process/analyze the images received from the target sensors 90, and/or the data deriving therefrom to estimate or determine the location of one more weeds 96…the image analysis module 222 may receive one or more imaged portions of the field 20 from the target sensors 90 and correlate the captured portions of the field 20 with the field data to locate a previously identified object”). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the determination of the robot’s position on the pathway, taught by Long, with the system of Zhang in view of Bechard and Wu in order to ensure that the robot is operating within the correct region (Long, col 16, ln 21-25: “the instructions may ensure that the second vehicle 200 is being operated within a defined region and/or with a specific agricultural product based on the region within which the second vehicle 200 is operating.”).
Claims 18-19 and 31-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Bechard, Wu, and Van De Woestyne (U.S. Patent No. 2021/0299692 A1).
Regarding claim 18 (dependent on claim 1), Zhang in view of Bechard and Wu fails to explicitly teach wherein the control system further comprises a post-spray checking module configured to: initiate the imaging module to begin capture of a post-spray image of the target vegetation, the post-spray image captured after the targeted micro-dose of the substance is dispensed on the target vegetation, determine an actual sprayed area of the target vegetation from a characteristic in the post-spray image, compare the actual sprayed area to an expected sprayed area of the target vegetation, and determine a difference value of the actual sprayed area to the expected sprayed area of the target vegetation, and output the difference value.
However, Van De Woestyne teaches a post-spray checking module (Van De Woestyne, para 88: “sprayer performance system”) configured to:
initiate the imaging module to begin capture of a post-spray image of the target vegetation, the post-spray image captured after the targeted micro-dose of the substance is dispensed on the target vegetation (Van De Woestyne, para 89: “The sensors can include, for example, an optical sensor that captures an image of the corn plant after the substance has been sprayed”), determine an actual sprayed area of the target vegetation from a characteristic in the post-spray image (Van De Woestyne, para 92: “Spray application logic 352 identifies the coverage of pesticide/insecticide (as well as other sprayed substances) on corn silks”), compare the actual sprayed area to an expected sprayed area of the target vegetation (Van De Woestyne, para 88: “performance system 312 can compare the difference between the performed spray application and the target/prescribed application to a spray quality threshold”), and determine a difference value of the actual sprayed area to the expected sprayed area of the target vegetation (Van De Woestyne, compared difference, see last citation from para 88), and output the difference value (Van De Woestyne, para 92: “spray quality threshold logic 358 can compare the difference to one or more threshold values. The threshold values can be automatically determined or manually selected (e.g., by a user or operator). The threshold values can represent, for example, an acceptable deviation from the desired quantity of pesticide/insecticide applied to the corn”; para 93: “Based on the identified performance characteristics, spray application determination system 351 can generate various recommendations/indications for the operator 228 or remote user 216”). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the post-spray checking module of Van De Woestyne with the system of Zhang in view of Bechard and Wu in order to ensure that the target vegetation is being adequately sprayed (Van De Woestyne, para 16: “the blanket application of pesticide can miss the portions of plants that would actually benefit from pesticide and thus pests are not prevented from damaging the crop. Furthermore, in an attempt to cover as much of the crop as possible, much of the pesticide being sprayed goes to waste. Thus, these typical approaches can lead to increased costs and reduced yields.”).
Regarding claim 19 (dependent on claim 18), Zhang in view of Bechard, Wu, and Van De Woestyne teaches wherein the control system is further configured to adjust a subsequent spray of the target vegetation based on the difference value (Van De Woestyne, para 88: “performance system 312 can compare the difference between the performed spray application and the target/prescribed application to a spray quality threshold. Upon determining these various characteristics, action signals are generated and used to control the operation of agricultural sprayer system 102, or to generate recommendations/indications, as well as various other actions”; see also para 94).
Regarding claim 31 (dependent on claim 1), Zhang in view of Bechard and Wu teaches wherein the substance is an oil (Zhang, abstract on pg. 96: “Food-grade oil, heated to approximately 160C, was applied to weeds), but fails to explicitly teach further comprising an oil pressure monitoring system configured to monitor the pressure of the oil dispensed through the sprayer (Zhang teaches measuring the pressure of the delivery system, top left of pg. 98, during initial tests). However, Van De Woestyne teaches a pressure monitoring system configured to monitor the pressure of a substance dispensed through the sprayer (Van De Woestyne, para 51: “substance operation sensor(s) 236 can sense the pressure of fluid within the substance tank(s) 272, the pressure at which the fluid pump(s) 270 are pumping the substance, a flow rate of the substance through the conduits, the pressure of the fluid within the conduits, along with various other characteristics of the operation of the substance to be sprayed within sprayer system 102”). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the pressure monitoring system of Van De Woestyne with the oil spraying system of Zhang in view of Bechard and Wu in order to ensure that the oil is being sprayed correctly (Van De Woestyne, para 51: “substance operation sensor(s) 236 can sense operational characteristics of the spraying subsystem 254”).
Regarding claim 32 (dependent on claim 31), Zhang in view of Bechard, Wu, and Van De Woestyne teaches wherein the oil pressure monitoring system includes one or more pneumatic accumulators integrated into the manifold and configured to maintain constant pressure of the oil dispensed through the sprayer (Zhang, pressurized nitrogen/pressure regulator, Figure 2 and last paragraph on pg. 98: “The new design for heated oil applications utilized pressurized nitrogen gas, providing a pressure head, to deliver the heated oil to the spray manifold through an internally pressurized chamber”; integrated into the manifold, top right on pg. 99: “A pressurized nitrogen (0.3 m3, 13,700 kPa) cylinder provided a constant pressure of 275 kPa (single stage regulator) within the headspace volume of the submersed interior chamber to deliver heated oil from the interior reservoir to the manifold/nozzles for site-specific heated oil application”).
Regarding claim 33 (dependent on claim 1), Zhang in view of Bechard and Wu fails to explicitly teach further comprising a temperature sensor configured to monitor a temperature of one or both of the heated thermal fluid and the substance (Zhang teaches measuring the temperature of the substance, top left of pg. 98, during initial tests); however, Van De Woestyne teaches a temperature sensor configured to monitor a temperature of the substance (Van De Woestyne, temperature of the substance sprayed, para 89: “a temperature sensor that generates an indication of spray coverage based on a temperature difference between the corn plant and the substance sprayed”). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the temperature sensor of Van De Woestyne with the system of Zhang in view of Bechard and Wu in order to ensure that the substance is being sprayed correctly (Van De Woestyne, para 89: “In one example, sensor accessing logic 362 receives an indication of how well the substance covered a corn silk. This is indicated by the sensor signals generated by one or more of sensors 128”).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Bechard, Wu, Xu et al. (CN Patent No. 103548802 A), hereinafter Xu, and Polzounov et al. (U.S. Patent No. 2019/0362146 A1), hereinafter Polzounov.
Regarding claim 20 (dependent on claim 1), Zhang in view of Bechard and Wu teaches wherein the control system is further configured to transmit an instruction to the integrated sprayer to initiate an ON pulse of 10 milliseconds (ms) in which one or more of the multiple individually controllable nozzles of the integrated sprayer are open to form a droplet to dispense as the targeted micro-dose of the substance when the robot is moving along the pathway over the crop row (Zhang, last paragraph before section 2.2 on pg. 99: “delivered 85 mg/ cm2 (standard deviation of 19 mg/cm2 ) of heated food-grade oil based on a ground travel speed of 0.04 m/s and 10 ms valve opening time”), but fails to explicitly teach wherein the robot is moving at a speed of 0.5 meters per second along the pathway over the crop row. However, Xu teaches a similar system (Xu, para 10-11 on pg. 6-7) wherein the robot is moving at a speed of 0.5 meters per second along the pathway (Xu, para 14 on pg. 12: “The forward speed of the self-propelled orchard automatic target sprayer is 0.5-1m/s”). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have increased the speed of the robot of Zhang in view of Bechard and Wu, as taught by Xu, to improve the efficiency of the system to complete the spraying of the target crop rows (Xu, para 10 on pg. 6: “The purpose of this technology is to provide a self-propelled orchard automatic target sprayer that can automatically target, is less affected by the environment, has a fast response time, has high target detection accuracy, will not miss or over-spray, and prevents waste of pesticides.”).
Zhang discloses wherein the travel speed of the system is constrained by the imaging system (Zhang, last paragraph before section 2.2 on pg. 99: “The travel speed of the system was constrained by the hyperspectral image transfer rate from camera to computer”). However, Polzounov teaches a similar system (Polzounov, abstract: “The control system of the farming machine executes a plant identification model configured to identify plants in the field for treatment”; para 52: “For example, a treatment mechanism 120 is a nozzle that sprays treatment fluid”) with an imaging system that identifies plants (Polzounov, para 29: “The semantic segmentation model encodes an image of the field to a convolutional neural network trained to reduce the encoded image and identify plants in the field. Rather than decoding the identified plants back to an image, the semantic segmentation model decodes the identified plants to a treatment map which the farming machine uses to treat the plants in the field”) in a similar way to the Zhang disclosure (Zhang and Polzounov both disclose trained computer models to identify plants in images), but allows the system to move faster (Polzounov, para 52: “the velocity of the farming machine is 2.5 m/s”). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the imaging system of Polzounov with the system of Zhang in view of Bechard, Wu, and Xu in order to more efficiently treat the crop area (Polzounov, para 29: “The dimensionality of the treatment map is, generally, much less than the dimensionality of the image and, therefore, the processing time is reduced. The semantic segmentation model has higher accuracy, specificity, and provides better resolution for the treatment mechanisms than other traditional plant identification models”). Polzounov teaches an imaging system that allows the robot to move at a rate of at least 0.5 m/s.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Bechard, Wu, and Redden et al. (U.S. Patent No. 2021/0406540 A1), hereinafter Redden.
Regarding claim 22 (dependent on claim 1), Zhang in view of Bechard and Wu fails to explicitly teach wherein the robot is a towed implement; however, Redden teaches a similar system (Redden, para 22-23 and Figure 1) wherein the robot is a towed implement (Redden, para 27: “the transportation mechanism 130 may include a hitch that allows the mobile treatment platform 100 to be attached to a separate vehicle to be towed through the field”).
Thus, Redden teaches a system that detects plants and treats them while traversing an area. One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, could have combined the system of Zhang in view of Bechard and Wu with the towed implement of Redden, using known methods. In doing so, each element merely would have performed the same functions as it did separately and would achieve the predictable results of creating a mobile system that can be attached to different types of vehicles, allowing for the robot to be used with various vehicles depending on what is appropriate for the terrain.
Claims 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Bechard, Wu, and Sibley et al. (U.S. Patent No. 2021/0185942 A1), hereinafter ‘942.
Regarding claim 23 (dependent on claim 1), Zhang in view of Bechard and Wu fails to explicitly teach wherein the processor is further configured to determine the position of the robot on the pathway (‘942, abstract and Figure 1) wherein the processor is further configured to determine the position of a robot on a pathway based on a position characteristic in one of the captured images (‘942, position within the geographic boundary based on detected markers, para 52: “As agricultural treatment delivery system 111 and/or sensory platform 113 traverses path portions 119, image capture devices may detect fiducial markers, reflective surfaces, or the like, so that logic within sensory platform 113 or vehicle 110 (e.g., one or more processors and one or more applications including executable instructions) may be configured to detect or confirm a position of vehicle 110 or emitter 112c, or both, as a position within geographic boundary 120 or relative to an agricultural object.”; para 68: “motion estimator/localizer 219 may be configured to determine a location of one or more component of agricultural treatment delivery vehicle 210 relative to a reference coordinate system”). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the position characteristic of ‘942 with the system of Zhang in view of Bechard and Wu in order to aid the robot in traversing the crop rows correctly (‘942, para 51: “Any of agricultural treatment delivery systems 111a or 111b may be configured to operate, for example, in a sensor mode during which a sensor platform 113 may be configured to receive, generate, and/or derive sensor data from any number of sensors as vehicle 110 traverses various path portions 119”).
Regarding claim 24 (dependent on claim 23), Zhang in view of Bechard, Wu, and ‘942 teaches wherein the processor is further configured to determine the location of the robot based on the position characteristic in the one of the captured images (‘942, location information based on the visual marker, para 52: “any image capture device may be configured to detect a visual fiducial marker or any other optically-configured item (e.g., a QS code, barcode, or the like) that may convey information, such as position or location information, or other information”).
Regarding claim 25 (dependent on claim 24), Zhang in view of Bechard, Wu, and ‘942 teaches wherein the processor is further configured to determine the location of the robot based on one or both of wheel odometry sensor data from a wheel position sensor on the robot and accelerometer data received from one or more accelerometers positioned on the robot (‘942, location sensor, para 51: “Sensor platform 113 may also include one or more location or position sensors, such as one or more global positioning system (“GPS”) sensors and one or more inertial measurement units (“IMU”), as well as one or more radar devices, one or more sonar devices, one or more ultrasonic sensors, one or more gyroscopes, one or more accelerometers, one or more odometry sensors (e.g., wheel encoder or direction sensors, wheel speed sensors, etc.), and the like”).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Bechard, Wu, and Donaldson (U.S. Patent No. 2023/0069163 A1).
Regarding claim 27 (dependent on claim 1), Zhang in view of Bechard and Wu teaches wherein the manifold heat exchanger is located adjacent to or near the integrated sprayer (Zhang, see Figure 2 from pg. 98 wherein the hot oil reservoir is near the manifold and nozzles), but fails to explicitly teach a second, integrated manifold heat exchanger.
However, Donaldson teaches a system for heating and spraying a fluid (Donaldson, abstract and para 2), disclosing a second, integrated manifold heat exchanger (Donaldson, para 30: “first heat exchanger 100” and “second heat exchanger 102”). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the second integrated manifold heat exchanger of Donaldson with the system of Zhang in view of Bechard and Wu in order to allow for the spraying of more than one type of fluid (Donaldson, para 30: “configured to spray a mixture of a first component fluid and second component fluid… a first heat exchanger 100 configured to supply heat to the first component fluid; and a second heat exchanger 102 configured to supply heat to the second component fluid… the system 10 can provide that the first heat exchanger 100 and second heat exchanger 102 are independently controlled by a control system 36. in some embodiments, the system 10 can provide that the control system 36 is configured to control a first pump 12, 14 and a second pump 12, 14 independently”). In doing so, each element merely would have performed the same functions as it did separately and would achieve the predictable results of allowing substances to be concurrently dispensed at different temperatures depending on the type of substance and plant. Further, substances could be kept separate and then subsequently mixed for application.
Claims 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Bechard, Wu, and Pirobloc (PIROBLOC, Food Industry, 24 October 2021, [online], [retrieved on 2025-08-29]. Retrieved from the Internet <URL: https://web.archive.org/web/20211024053524/https://www.pirobloc.com/en/applications-and-sectors/food-industry/>).
Regarding claim 29 (dependent on claim 28), Zhang in view of Bechard and Wu fails to explicitly teach wherein the food-safe fluid is heated to a temperature of 175C (Zhang teaches wherein the heated substance to be sprayed is heated to 160 degrees Celsius, meaning that the thermal fluid should exceed that; however, a temperature is not explicitly disclosed). However, Pirobloc discloses utilizing thermal fluids for heat transfer in oil heating systems (Pirobloc, pg. 2). Pirobloc teaches wherein a thermal fluid is heated to around 230C in order to heat vegetable oil to 175C (Pirobloc, 5th paragraph on pg. 3: “With a thermal fluid/vegetable oil heat exchanger, the temperature of the former is around 230 ºC, ensuring a stable and extremely precise temperature of 175 ºC in the vegetable oil…the heat source does not exceed 230 ºC”). Thus, Pirobloc teaches wherein the heated thermal fluid is heated to a temperature of 175C (Pirobloc, up to 230C includes heating to 175C). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the temperature of the thermal fluid, taught by Pirobloc, with the system of Zhang in view of Bechard and Wu in order to ensure that the heated oil to be sprayed remains at a stable temperature and is less susceptible to degradation (Pirobloc, 5th paragraph on pg. 3: “The higher the film temperature of the vegetable oil, the sooner it will oxidise and degrade…ensuring a stable and extremely precise temperature of 175 ºC in the vegetable oil”).
Regarding claim 30 (dependent on claim 29), Zhang in view of Bechard, Wu, and Pirobloc teaches wherein the substance is canola oil (Zhang, last paragraph in left column on pg. 99: “Food-grade canola oil is generally recognized as safe (GRAS) as defined by the US FDA. Physical density and kinematic viscosity of the canola oil applied to the weeds”) heated by the food-safe fluid to a temperature of 160C prior to the canola oil being dispensed from the sprayer (Zhang, (1) on pg. 104: “accurately delivered 85 mg/cm2 per 10 ms pulse duration of food-grade oil preheated to 160C to targeted weed foliage”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
U.S. Patent No. 2015/0012164 A1 (Method and apparatus for controlling driving of robot)
CN Patent No. 101961003 A (Precise targeted spraying and weeding device)
U.S. Patent No. 2020/0107537 A1 (Nozzles with interchangeable inserts for precision application of crop protectant)
/EMMA E DRYDEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2677
/ANDREW W BEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2677