DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The rejection under section 103 is withdrawn in favor of the following new ground of rejection under this section:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 6, 8-16, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ther. Deliv. (2015) 6(8), 903–910 (Therapeutic Delivery) in view of WO 2008009545 (WO 545); Ravindranath et al., Journal of Immunotoxicology, 2012; 9(3): 282–291 (Ravindranath).
Therapeutic Delivery demonstrates anti-NKG2A/PD-1 combination therapy was expected to have a reasonable expectation of success:
See pages 905-906.
WO 545 discloses that the recited anti-NKG2A antibodies were known, including their characterization (examples 1-15) as well as their use for treating cancer.
The required CDR’s are taught, see SEQ ID NO’s. 2, 5, 6, 7, 8, 17, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29 of WO 545 corresponding to the CDR’s in SEQ ID NO’s 4-8 and 9 of the instant claims.
See for example, SEQ ID NO. 5 of WO 545, disclosing the recited CDR’s of SEQ ID NO’s: 4-8, see GenCore version 6.4.1, Copyright (c) 1993 – 2020, Biocceleration Ltd., ID No. AOG49485, Anti-NKG2A humanize:
See GenCore version 6.4.1, Copyright (c) 1993 – 2020, Biocceleration Ltd., ID No. AOG49482, Anti-NKG2A humaniz, corresponding to CDR’s of SEQ ID NO: 9:
In this way, those of ordinary skill could have combined the recited anti-NKG2A antibodies in the manner required and in a predictable fashion for the purposes of providing the recited anti-NKG2A/PD-1 combination therapy. As outlined above, Therapeutic Delivery teaches the recited anti-NKG2A/PD-1 combination therapy for cancer treatment. WO 545 is added for the proposition that the required anti-NKG2A antibodies is applicable to this combination therapy. Specifically, the WO 545 teaches that using the instant anti-NKG2A antibodies for cancer treatment was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. In this manner, those of ordinary skill would have recognized that applying the known technique to cancer treatments, such as the combination treatment taught by Therapeutic Delivery, would have yielded predictable results. Accordingly, using the recited anti-NKG2A in anti-NKG2A/PD-1 combination for cancer therapy would have been prima facie obvious.
The required anti-PD-L1 antibodies, such as MEDI-4736, which, outside of any unexpected result, would have been a matter of choice between those anti-PD-L1 antibodies available to those of ordinary skill, and therefore, prima facie obvious. Similarly, the recited formulations would have been within the purview of those ordinary skill, in view of the applied references.
The claims have been amended to recite a method of treating a cancer that is poorly responsive to an anti-PD1 antibody.
However, the prior art demonstrates that NKG2A is an inhibitory receptor expressed on Natural Killer (NK) cells. When tumors overexpress HLA-E, they bind to NKG2A, and deactivating immune cells, see Ravindranath:
In this way NKG2A inhibitory pathway is separate and distinct from the PD-1 pathway. Therefore, while anti-PD-1 therapy works primarily by releasing T cells, it cannot reverse the NKG2A-driven suppression. Those of ordinary skill would expect that combining anti-NKG2A with anti-PD-1 can successfully lift both the T-cell and NK-cell checkpoints, resulting in synergistic tumor-killing and treat cancers poorly responsive to an anti-PD1 antibody.
The double patenting rejections are withdrawn in favor of the following new grounds of rejection. Namely, the claims have been amended to recite a method of treating a cancer that is poorly responsive to an anti-PD1 antibody. However, the conflicting claims recite methods of administering anti-NKG2a antibodies in combination with anti-PD-1 antibodies. Those of ordinary skill would have reason to provide anti-NKG2a antibodies to those undergoing PD-1 treatment based on the Ravindranath, as outlined above.
Double Patenting
Claims 2, 6, 8-16, 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10711063 in view of Ravindranath.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Specifically, the methods recited in the conflicting claims anticipate those covered by the rejected claims. Alternatively, the difference between the methods covered in the conflicting claims and those covered by the rejected claims is that the conflicting claims do not recite the instant methods with particularity so as to amount to anticipation (See M.P.E.P. § 2131: "[t]he identical invention must be shown in as complete detail as is contained in the ... claim." Richardson v. Suzuki Motor Co., 868 F.2d 1226, 1236, 9 USPQ2d 1913, 1920 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).). However, the conflicting claims recite the elements of the instant methods with sufficient guidance, particularity, and with a reasonable expectation of success, that the instant methods would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill (the prior art reference teaches or suggests all the claim limitations with a reasonable expectation of success. See M.P.E.P. § 2143).
As discussed above, Ravindranath teaches NKG2A inhibitory pathway is separate and distinct from the PD-1 pathway. Therefore, while anti-PD-1 therapy works primarily by releasing T cells, it cannot reverse the NKG2A-driven suppression. Those of ordinary skill would expect that combining anti-NKG2A with anti-PD-1 can successfully lift both the T-cell and NK-cell checkpoints, resulting in synergistic tumor-killing and treat cancers poorly responsive to an anti-PD1 antibody.
Claims 2, 6, 8-16, 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 11572410 in view of Ravindranath.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Specifically, the methods recited in the conflicting claims anticipate those covered by the rejected claims. Alternatively, the difference between the methods covered in the conflicting claims and those covered by the rejected claims is that the conflicting claims do not recite the instant methods with particularity so as to amount to anticipation (See M.P.E.P. § 2131: "[t]he identical invention must be shown in as complete detail as is contained in the ... claim." Richardson v. Suzuki Motor Co., 868 F.2d 1226, 1236, 9 USPQ2d 1913, 1920 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).). However, the conflicting claims recite the elements of the instant methods with sufficient guidance, particularity, and with a reasonable expectation of success, that the instant methods would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill (the prior art reference teaches or suggests all the claim limitations with a reasonable expectation of success. See M.P.E.P. § 2143).
The conflicting claims may recite compositions while the instant claims cover methods of treating. However, the specification of these patents and applications disclose the utility of the recited compositions as covered by the instant methods of use, see Sun Pharmaceutical Industries, Ltd., v. Eli Lilly and Co. where the district court ruled that the claims of the ‘826 patent were invalid in light of the ‘614 patent which disclosed gemcitabine’s use in cancer treatment, but did not claim it. In making this ruling, the district court relied on the Federal Circuit’s earlier rulings on double patenting of compound claims, mainly Geneva Pharmaceuticals, Inc, v. GlaxoSmithKline PLC, 349 F. 3d 1373 (Fed. Cir. 2003), and Pfizer, Inc. v. Teva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc., 518 F.3d 1353 (Fed. Cir. 2008). In both of these cases, the Federal Circuit found claims of a later patent invalid for obviousness-type double patenting where an earlier patent claimed a compound, disclosing its utility in the specification, and a later patent claimed a method of using the compound for a use described in the specification of the earlier patent. The cases also established that in determining the scope of compound claims for a double patenting rejection one must look to the specification to interpret the utility of the compound.
As discussed above, Ravindranath teaches NKG2A inhibitory pathway is separate and distinct from the PD-1 pathway. Therefore, while anti-PD-1 therapy works primarily by releasing T cells, it cannot reverse the NKG2A-driven suppression. Those of ordinary skill would expect that combining anti-NKG2A with anti-PD-1 can successfully lift both the T-cell and NK-cell checkpoints, resulting in synergistic tumor-killing and treat cancers poorly responsive to an anti-PD1 antibody.
Claims 2, 6, 8-16, 18 are remain are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Application No. 18/164649 in view of WO 2008009545 (WO 545) and Ravindranath.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Specifically, the methods recited in the conflicting claims anticipate those covered by the rejected claims. Alternatively, the difference between the methods covered in the conflicting claims and those covered by the rejected claims is that the conflicting claims do not recite the instant methods with particularity so as to amount to anticipation (See M.P.E.P. § 2131: "[t]he identical invention must be shown in as complete detail as is contained in the ... claim." Richardson v. Suzuki Motor Co., 868 F.2d 1226, 1236, 9 USPQ2d 1913, 1920 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).). However, the conflicting claims recite the elements of the instant methods with sufficient guidance, particularity, and with a reasonable expectation of success, that the instant methods would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill (the prior art reference teaches or suggests all the claim limitations with a reasonable expectation of success. See M.P.E.P. § 2143).
WO 545 is added for the proposition that the recited NKG2A antibodies, combinations with anti-PD-1 antibodies and compositions were within the purview of those of ordinary skill, as outlined, above.
Based upon the known activity of anti-NKG2A and anti-PD-1 antibodies, those of ordinary skill would expect that the application of these antibodies to NKG2A+/PD-1+ would modulate the anti-cancer activity of lymphocytes.
As discussed above, Ravindranath teaches NKG2A inhibitory pathway is separate and distinct from the PD-1 pathway. Therefore, while anti-PD-1 therapy works primarily by releasing T cells, it cannot reverse the NKG2A-driven suppression. Those of ordinary skill would expect that combining anti-NKG2A with anti-PD-1 can successfully lift both the T-cell and NK-cell checkpoints, resulting in synergistic tumor-killing and treat cancers poorly responsive to an anti-PD1 antibody.
Claims 2, 6, 8-16, 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12209126 in view of Ravindranath.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Specifically, the methods recited in the conflicting claims anticipate those covered by the rejected claims. Alternatively, the difference between the methods covered in the conflicting claims and those covered by the rejected claims is that the conflicting claims do not recite the instant methods with particularity so as to amount to anticipation (See M.P.E.P. § 2131: "[t]he identical invention must be shown in as complete detail as is contained in the ... claim." Richardson v. Suzuki Motor Co., 868 F.2d 1226, 1236, 9 USPQ2d 1913, 1920 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).). However, the conflicting claims recite the elements of the instant methods with sufficient guidance, particularity, and with a reasonable expectation of success, that the instant methods would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill (the prior art reference teaches or suggests all the claim limitations with a reasonable expectation of success. See M.P.E.P. § 2143).
Those of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation that the combination taught by the conflicting claims and WO 545 would be effective against cancers, such as lung cancer.
As discussed above, Ravindranath teaches NKG2A inhibitory pathway is separate and distinct from the PD-1 pathway. Therefore, while anti-PD-1 therapy works primarily by releasing T cells, it cannot reverse the NKG2A-driven suppression. Those of ordinary skill would expect that combining anti-NKG2A with anti-PD-1 can successfully lift both the T-cell and NK-cell checkpoints, resulting in synergistic tumor-killing and treat cancers poorly responsive to an anti-PD1 antibody.
Conclusion
/KARL J PUTTLITZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1646