DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection necessitated due to claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-8, 10, 15-17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balagurunathan (U.S. Patent No. 11,586,344), and further in view of Xu (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0242695).
Regarding claim 1, Balagurunathan teaches a method, comprising:
receiving, at the first computing device, content data, wherein the content data comprises a plurality of content feeds (col. 13 ll. 47-63, col. 18 ll. 44-49, ll. 63-65,, col. 19 ll. 1-19 mixing system receiving various feeds from different sources);
transmitting the content data from the first computing device to the second computing device in real time (col. 3 ll. 52-57, col. 10 ll. 41-46, col. 18 ll. 63-col. 19 ll. 1, col. 20 ll. 4-18);
receiving, at the first computing device and from the second computing device, a cue comprising: an indication of a subset of the content data, the subset of the content data indicating one or more content feeds to be included in a broadcast feed, and a time at which the broadcast feed is to begin including the subset of the content data (col. 3 ll. 57-col. 4 ll. 59, col. 5 ll. 1-22, col. 9 ll. 7-12, col. 20 ll. 56-col. 21 ll. 64, col. 24 ll. 8-27, col. 27 ll. 10-23 receiving broadcast plan/ schedule);
based on the received cue, the first computing device selecting the indicated subset of the content data for inclusion in a broadcast feed at the indicated time; transmitting the broadcast feed to one or more third computing devices associated with content consumers (col. 5 ll. 23-47, col. 6 ll. 19-23, ll. 46-49, ll. 61-65, col. 7 ll. 24-29, col. 9 ll. 12-18, col. 10 ll. 46-53, col. 13 ll. 33-36, col. 18 ll. 49-56, col. 19 ll. 54-64, col. 20 ll. 25-33, col. 22 ll. 8-58, col. 23 ll. 10-58, col. 25 ll. 5-col. 26 ll. 44, col. 28 ll. 24-33 transmitting to listeners according to broadcast plan/ schedule); and
dynamically, based on one or more operator inputs received at the second computing device during a live event, updating the cue such that the first computing device adjusts the broadcast feed to include a different subset of the content data and initiates said adjustment at a time indicated by the updated cue (col. 28 ll. 15-col. 29 ll. 32 interaction received from the creator and broadcast plan reconfigured for future delivery, “At box 645, data for presenting the content of the media program is transmitted to the computer systems of the listeners.”, and then “If an interaction with the user interface was received by the media system at box 650, however, then the process advances to box 660, where the media system reconfigures the media program in accordance with the interaction. For example, the media system may identify media content to be presented to listeners in accordance with the broadcast plan at a next period, or to identify sources of the media content.” (emphasis added)) (col. 3 ll. 11-col. 30 ll. 48 for complete details).
Balagurunathan does not teach synchronizing timing of a first computing device at a first geographic location and a second computing device at a second geographic location.
However, in the similar field, Xu teaches synchronizing timing of a first computing device at a first geographic location and a second computing device at a second geographic location (Paragraphs 0055-0058).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Balagurunathan to include synchronizing timing of a first computing device at a first geographic location and a second computing device at a second geographic location as taught by Xu in order to keep “the timers for all stations in the same infrastructure network synchronized” (Xu, Paragraph 0055).
Regarding claim 6, Balagurunathan teaches receiving, from the second computing device and at the first computing device, a feed comprising content data for inclusion in the broadcast feed (col. 7 ll. 56-col. 8 ll. 28).
Regarding claim 7, Balagurunathan teaches the first computing device comprises a portable computing device (Figs. 1E, 1F, 1G item 115) configured for use at an event space, and wherein the second computing device (Figs. 1E, 1F, 1G item 182-1,….,182-n) is disposed remote from the event space.
Regarding claim 8, Balagurunathan teaches the content data included in the broadcast feed remains unchanged until a cue indicating a change to the broadcast feed is received (Figs. 1B-1D the program stays until time changed by the user). Xu teaches the content data included in the broadcast feed remains unchanged until a cue indicating a change to the broadcast feed is received (Paragraphs 0046, 0048 program stays same until changed by user).
Regarding claim 10, Balagurunathan teaches a system, comprising:
at least one device including a hardware processor; the system being configured to perform operations (Fig. 2A, 2B, col. 10 ll. 60-col. 18 ll. 6), comprising:
receiving, at the first computing device, content data, wherein the content data comprises a plurality of content feeds (col. 13 ll. 47-63, col. 18 ll. 44-49, ll. 63-65,, col. 19 ll. 1-19 mixing system receiving various feeds from different sources);
transmitting the content data from the first computing device to the second computing device in real time (col. 3 ll. 52-57, col. 10 ll. 41-46, col. 18 ll. 63-col. 19 ll. 1, col. 20 ll. 4-18);
receiving, from the second computing device, a cue comprising: an indication of a subset of the content data, the subset of the content data indicating one or more content feeds to be included in a broadcast feed, and a time at which the broadcast feed is to begin including the subset of the content data (col. 3 ll. 57-col. 4 ll. 59, col. 5 ll. 1-22, col. 9 ll. 7-12, col. 20 ll. 56-col. 21 ll. 64, col. 24 ll. 8-27, col. 27 ll. 10-23 receiving broadcast plan/ schedule);
based on the received cue, selecting the indicated subset of the content data for inclusion in a broadcast feed at the indicated time; transmitting the broadcast feed to one or more third computing devices associated with content consumers (col. 5 ll. 23-47, col. 6 ll. 19-23, ll. 46-49, ll. 61-65, col. 7 ll. 24-29, col. 9 ll. 12-18, col. 10 ll. 46-53, col. 13 ll. 33-36, col. 18 ll. 49-56, col. 19 ll. 54-64, col. 20 ll. 25-33, col. 22 ll. 8-58, col. 23 ll. 10-58, col. 25 ll. 5-col. 26 ll. 44, col. 28 ll. 24-33 transmitting to listeners according to broadcast plan/ schedule); and
dynamically, based on one or more operator inputs received at the second computing device during a live event, updating the cue such that the first computing device adjusts the broadcast feed to include a different subset of the content data and initiates said adjustment at a time indicated by the updated cue (col. 28 ll. 15-col. 29 ll. 32 interaction received from the creator and broadcast plan reconfigured for future delivery, “At box 645, data for presenting the content of the media program is transmitted to the computer systems of the listeners.”, and then “If an interaction with the user interface was received by the media system at box 650, however, then the process advances to box 660, where the media system reconfigures the media program in accordance with the interaction. For example, the media system may identify media content to be presented to listeners in accordance with the broadcast plan at a next period, or to identify sources of the media content.” (emphasis added)) (col. 3 ll. 11-col. 30 ll. 48 for complete details).
Balagurunathan does not teach synchronizing timing of a first computing device at a first geographic location and a second computing device at a second geographic location.
However, in the similar field, Xu teaches synchronizing timing of a first computing device at a first geographic location and a second computing device at a second geographic location (Paragraphs 0055-0058).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Balagurunathan to include synchronizing timing of a first computing device at a first geographic location and a second computing device at a second geographic location as taught by Xu in order to keep “the timers for all stations in the same infrastructure network synchronized” (Xu, Paragraph 0055).
Regarding claim 15, Balagurunathan teaches receiving, from the second computing device and at the first computing device, a feed comprising content data for inclusion in the broadcast feed (col. 7 ll. 56-col. 8 ll. 28).
Regarding claim 16, Balagurunathan teaches the first computing device comprises a portable computing device (Figs. 1E, 1F, 1G item 115) configured for use at an event space, and wherein the second computing device (Figs. 1E, 1F, 1G item 182-1,….,182-n) is disposed remote from the event space.
Regarding claim 17, Balagurunathan teaches the content data included in the broadcast feed remains unchanged until a cue indicating a change to the broadcast feed is received (Figs. 1B-1D the program stays until time changed by the user). Xu teaches the content data included in the broadcast feed remains unchanged until a cue indicating a change to the broadcast feed is received (Paragraphs 0046, 0048 program stays same until changed by user).
Regarding claim 19, Balagurunathan teaches one or more non-transitory computer readable media comprising instructions which, when executed by one or more hardware processors, causes performance of operations (col. 10 ll. 60-col. 18 ll. 6) comprising:
receiving, at the first computing device, content data, wherein the content data comprises a plurality of content feeds (col. 13 ll. 47-63, col. 18 ll. 44-49, ll. 63-65,, col. 19 ll. 1-19 mixing system receiving various feeds from different sources);
transmitting the content data from the first computing device to the second computing device in real time (col. 3 ll. 52-57, col. 10 ll. 41-46, col. 18 ll. 63-col. 19 ll. 1, col. 20 ll. 4-18);
receiving, from the second computing device, a cue comprising: an indication of a subset of the content data, the subset of the content data indicating one or more content feeds to be included in a broadcast feed, and a time at which the broadcast feed is to begin including the subset of the content data (col. 3 ll. 57-col. 4 ll. 59, col. 5 ll. 1-22, col. 9 ll. 7-12, col. 20 ll. 56-col. 21 ll. 64, col. 24 ll. 8-27, col. 27 ll. 10-23 receiving broadcast plan/ schedule);
based on the received cue, selecting the indicated subset of the content data for inclusion in a broadcast feed at the indicated time; transmitting the broadcast feed to one or more third computing devices associated with content consumers (col. 5 ll. 23-47, col. 6 ll. 19-23, ll. 46-49, ll. 61-65, col. 7 ll. 24-29, col. 9 ll. 12-18, col. 10 ll. 46-53, col. 13 ll. 33-36, col. 18 ll. 49-56, col. 19 ll. 54-64, col. 20 ll. 25-33, col. 22 ll. 8-58, col. 23 ll. 10-58, col. 25 ll. 5-col. 26 ll. 44, col. 28 ll. 24-33 transmitting to listeners according to broadcast plan/ schedule); and
dynamically, based on one or more operator inputs received at the second computing device during a live event, updating the cue such that the first computing device adjusts the broadcast feed to include a different subset of the content data and initiates said adjustment at a time indicated by the updated cue (col. 28 ll. 15-col. 29 ll. 32 interaction received from the creator and broadcast plan reconfigured for future delivery, “At box 645, data for presenting the content of the media program is transmitted to the computer systems of the listeners.”, and then “If an interaction with the user interface was received by the media system at box 650, however, then the process advances to box 660, where the media system reconfigures the media program in accordance with the interaction. For example, the media system may identify media content to be presented to listeners in accordance with the broadcast plan at a next period, or to identify sources of the media content.” (emphasis added)) (col. 3 ll. 11-col. 30 ll. 48 for complete details).
Balagurunathan does not teach synchronizing timing of a first computing device at a first geographic location and a second computing device at a second geographic location.
However, in the similar field, Xu teaches synchronizing timing of a first computing device at a first geographic location and a second computing device at a second geographic location (Paragraphs 0055-0058).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Balagurunathan to include synchronizing timing of a first computing device at a first geographic location and a second computing device at a second geographic location as taught by Xu in order to keep “the timers for all stations in the same infrastructure network synchronized” (Xu, Paragraph 0055).
Claims 9, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balagurunathan and Xu as applied to claims 1, 10 above, and further in view of Sheen (U.S. Patent No. 11,758,214).
Regarding claim 9, Balagurunathan and Xu do not teach synchronizing the timing of the first computing device at the first geographic location and the second computing device at the second geographic location comprises using one or more of Network time protocol or Precision Time Protocol to synchronize the timing of the first computing device and the second computing device.
However, in the similar field, Sheen teaches synchronizing the timing of the first computing device at the first geographic location and the second computing device at the second geographic location comprises using one or more of Network time protocol or Precision Time Protocol to synchronize the timing of the first computing device and the second computing device (col. 2 ll. 47-col. 3 ll. 4, col. 3 ll. 51-col. 4 ll. 5, col. 26 ll. 57-col. 27 ll. 1, col. 27 ll. 14-18, col. 29 ll. 7-40).
It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Balagurunathan and Xu to include synchronizing the timing of the first computing device at the first geographic location and the second computing device at the second geographic location comprises using one or more of Network time protocol or Precision Time Protocol to synchronize the timing of the first computing device and the second computing device as taught by Sheen in order to enable “the local clock at each playback device in the playback group to (i) have the same absolute time and/or (ii) operate at the same clock rate” (Sheen, col. 2 ll. 49-52).
Regarding claim 18, Balagurunathan and Xu do not teach synchronizing the timing of the first computing device at the first geographic location and the second computing device at the second geographic location comprises using one or more of Network time protocol or Precision Time Protocol to synchronize the timing of the first computing device and the second computing device.
However, in the similar field, Sheen teaches synchronizing the timing of the first computing device at the first geographic location and the second computing device at the second geographic location comprises using one or more of Network time protocol or Precision Time Protocol to synchronize the timing of the first computing device and the second computing device (col. 2 ll. 47-col. 3 ll. 4, col. 3 ll. 51-col. 4 ll. 5, col. 26 ll. 57-col. 27 ll. 1, col. 27 ll. 14-18, col. 29 ll. 7-40).
It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Balagurunathan and Xu to include synchronizing the timing of the first computing device at the first geographic location and the second computing device at the second geographic location comprises using one or more of Network time protocol or Precision Time Protocol to synchronize the timing of the first computing device and the second computing device as taught by Sheen in order to enable “the local clock at each playback device in the playback group to (i) have the same absolute time and/or (ii) operate at the same clock rate” (Sheen, col. 2 ll. 49-52).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 11-14, 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The above objection(s) is (are) based on the claim(s) as presently set forth in its (their) totality. It should not be interpreted as indicating that amended claim(s) broadly reciting certain limitations would be allowable. A more detailed reason(s) for allowance may be set forth in a subsequent Notice of Allowance if and when all claims in the application are put into a condition for allowance.
Conclusion
HEMANT PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2694
/HEMANT S PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694