DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 12/23/2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 3-10, 12-22 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of amendments to claims 1, 10, and 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-10, 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gunderson (US 20120281361 A1) in view of Kong et. al (US 20230120513 A1) hereafter referred to as Kong.
Regarding claim 1, Gunderson teaches a holder (10a data storage assembly) for stacked compression attached memory modules (CAMMs) (20 PCBA), the holder comprising: an outer frame (14 frame); a first recessed area (recessed area surrounded by 14 frame on the sides and 18 second cover on bottom and 70 internal cover on top) for receiving a bottom one of the stacked CAMMs; a second recessed area (recessed area surrounded by 14 frame on the sides and 16 first cover and 56 rigid layer on top and bottom) for receiving a top one of the stacked CAMMs (Fig 2); and a metal plate assembly (54 internal cover) affixed within the outer frame (¶59) and situated between the first recessed area and the second recessed area (¶59, Fig 5) and providing a spine (see annotated Fig 2 below) located within the outer frame (see annotated Fig 2 below) at an end of the bottom CAMM (edge of 21 that aligns with spine, see annotated Fig 2 below) adjacent to a contact pad array of the bottom CAMM of a bottom CAMM printed circuit board (PCB) of the bottom CAMM (see annotated Fig 2 below)
Gunderson fails to teach the spine including at least one screw hole to affix the bottom CAMM to a printed circuit board and a detent structure to provide a prestressed downward deformation of the bottom CAMM PCB. However, Kong teaches the spine (400 system) including two screw holes (440 externally threaded standoffs) to affix the bottom CAMM (402 fCAMM) to a printed circuit board (422 PCB) and a detent structure (428 CMT connector, ¶44 “CMT connector 428 includes an array of spring-loaded CMT contacts 430”) to provide a prestressed downward deformation of the bottom CAMM PCB (¶44). Gunderson and Kong are both in the industry of CAMM holders therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Gunderson to include the screw and screw hold structure of Kong to securely attach the CAMM to the surrounding structure in a compact way that allows for more memory to be installed in a device (Kong ¶6)
Regarding claim 3, Gunderson in view of Kong teach the holder of claim 1, wherein, when the bottom CAMM (20 PCBA) is installed into the holder (10a data storage assembly) and installed into an information handling system (Fig 2), the spine transfers compression applied to the spine via the dent structure to limit deformation of the bottom CAMM PCB (¶52)
Regarding claim 4, Gunderson in view of Kong teach the holder of claim 3, wherein the detent structure (58 protuberant rail) to provide a prestress to the bottom CAMM PCB (¶59).
Regarding claim 5, Gunderson in view of Kong teach the holder of claim 1, wherein the metal plate assembly (54 internal cover) is configured to provide electromagnetic interference (EMI) shielding for the bottom CAMM and the top CAMM (54 made of steel or aluminum, which are EMI shielding materials, ¶58).
Regarding claim 6, Gunderson in view of Kong teach the holder of claim 5, further comprising a cover (70 internal cover) coupled to the metal plate assembly (Fig 5) to further provide the EMI shielding (¶60, 58).
Regarding claim 7, Gunderson in view of Kong teach the holder of claim 6, wherein the metal plate assembly includes a metallic gasket (64 attachment features) configured to couple the metallic plate assembly (54 internal cover) to the cover (¶62, 61).
Regarding claim 8, Gunderson in view of Kong teach the holder of claim 6, wherein when the top CAMM (20A PCB) is installed into the holder (10a data storage assembly) and installed into an information handling system, the cover (70 internal cover) is configured to limit deformation of the top CAMM PCB (¶60 and 61).
Regarding claim 9, Gunderson in view of Kong teach the holder of claim 6, wherein the cover includes a detent structure (74 layer) to provide a prestress to the top CAMM PCB (¶61).
Regarding claim 10, Gunderson teaches a method, comprising: providing, for a holder for stacked compression attached memory modules (CAMMs) (20 PCBA), an outer frame 9 14 frame); providing, for the holder, a first recessed area (recessed area surrounded by 14 frame on the sides and 18 second cover on bottom and 70 internal cover on top) for receiving a bottom one of the stacked CAMMs (¶17); providing, for the holder, a second recessed area (recessed area surrounded by 14 frame on the sides and 16 first cover and 56 rigid layer on top and bottom) for receiving an top one of the stacked CAMMs (Fig 2); and providing, for the holder, a metal plate assembly (54 internal cover) affixed within the outer frame (¶59) and situated between the first recessed area and the second recessed area (¶59, Fig 5) and providing a spine (see annotated Fig 2 below) located within the outer frame (see annotated Fig 2 below) at an end of the bottom CAMM (edge of 21 that aligns with spine, see annotated Fig 2 below) adjacent to a contact pad array of the bottom CAMM of a bottom CAMM printed circuit board (PCB) of the bottom CAMM (see annotated Fig 2 below).
Gunderson fails to teach the spine including at least one screw hole to affix the bottom CAMM to a printed circuit board and a detent structure to provide a prestressed downward deformation of the bottom CAMM PCB. However, Kong teaches the spine (400 system) including two screw holes (440 externally threaded standoffs) to affix the bottom CAMM (402 fCAMM) to a printed circuit board (422 PCB) and a detent structure (428 CMT connector, ¶44 “CMT connector 428 includes an array of spring-loaded CMT contacts 430”) to provide a prestressed downward deformation of the bottom CAMM PCB (¶44). Gunderson and Kong are both in the industry of CAMM holders therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Gunderson to include the screw and screw hold structure of Kong to securely attach the CAMM to the surrounding structure in a compact way that allows for more memory to be installed in a device (Kong ¶6)
Regarding claim 12, Gunderson in view of Kong teach the method of claim 10, wherein, when the bottom CAMM (20 PCBA) is installed into the holder (10a data storage assembly) and installed into an information handling system (Fig 2), the spine transfers compression applied to the spine via the dent structure to limit deformation of the bottom CAMM PCB (¶52).
Regarding claim 13, Gunderson in view of Kong teach the method of claim 12, wherein the detent structure (58 protuberant rail) provides a prestress to the bottom CAMM PCB (¶59).
Regarding claim 14, Gunderson in view of Kong teach method of claim 10, wherein the metal plate assembly (54 internal cover) is configured to provide electromagnetic interference (EMI) shielding for the bottom CAMM and the top CAMM (54 made of steel or aluminum, which are EMI shielding materials, ¶58).
Regarding claim 15, Gunderson in view of Kong teach the method of claim 14, further comprising providing a cover (70 internal cover) coupled to the metal plate assembly (Fig 5) to further provide the EMI shielding (¶60, 58).
Regarding claim 16, Gunderson in view of Kong the method of claim 15, wherein the metal plate assembly includes a metallic gasket (64 attachment features) configured to couple the metallic plate assembly (54 internal cover) to the cover (¶62, 61).
Regarding claim 17, Gunderson in view of Kong the method of claim 15, wherein when the top CAMM (20A PCB) is installed into the holder (10a data storage assembly) and installed into an information handling system, the cover (70 internal cover) is configured to limit deformation of the top CAMM PCB (¶60 and 61).
Regarding claim 18, Gunderson in view of Kong method of claim 15, wherein the cover includes a detent structure (74 compressible layer) to provide a prestress to the top CAMM PCB (¶61).
Regarding claim 19, Gunderson teaches the information handling system, comprising: a first compression attached memory module (CAMM) (20a PCBA); a second CAMM (20b PCBA); and a holder (10a data storage assembly) for affixing the first CAMM and the second CAMM to the information handling system (¶59), the holder including: an outer frame (14 frame); a first recessed area for receiving the first CAMM (recessed area surrounded by 14 frame on the sides and 18 second cover on bottom and 70 internal cover on top); a second recessed area for receiving the second CAMM (recessed area surrounded by 14 frame on the sides and 16 first cover and 56 rigid layer on top and bottom); a metal plate assembly (54 internal cover) affixed within the outer frame (¶59) and situated between the first recessed area and the second recessed area (¶59, Fig 5) and a spine (see annotated Fig 2 below) located within the outer frame (see annotated Fig 2 below) at an end of the bottom CAMM (edge of 21 that aligns with spine, see annotated Fig 2 below) adjacent to a contact pad array of the bottom CAMM of a bottom CAMM printed circuit board (PCB) of the bottom CAMM (see annotated Fig 2 below).
Gunderson fails to teach the spine including at least one screw hole to affix the bottom CAMM to a printed circuit board and a detent structure to provide a prestressed downward deformation of the bottom CAMM PCB. However, Kong teaches the spine (400 system) including two screw holes (440 externally threaded standoffs) to affix the bottom CAMM (402 fCAMM) to a printed circuit board (422 PCB) and a detent structure (428 CMT connector, ¶44 “CMT connector 428 includes an array of spring-loaded CMT contacts 430”) to provide a prestressed downward deformation of the bottom CAMM PCB (¶44). Gunderson and Kong are both in the industry of CAMM holders therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Gunderson to include the screw and screw hold structure of Kong to securely attach the CAMM to the surrounding structure in a compact way that allows for more memory to be installed in a device (Kong ¶6)
Regarding claim 20, Gunderson in view of Kong the holder of claim 19, further comprising: a cover (18 second cover) configured to limit deformation of a second CAMM PCB of the second CAMM (¶41).
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gunderson in view of Kong, and further in view of Vona et. al (CN 103682702 A) hereafter referred to as Vona.
Regarding claim 21, Gunderson in view of Kong the holder of claim 1.
Gunderson in view of Kong fails to teach the detent structure is in one of an m-shape, an arch- shape, and a v-shape. However, Vona teaches the detent structure (725 alignment member) is in one of an m-shape, an arch- shape, and a v-shape (¶33, 725 alignment member may be v-shaped). Gunderson, Kong, and Vona are both in the industry of circuit board mounting structures, therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Gunderson and Kong to include the V-shaped dent structure in order to align the circuit board with the mounting structure. (Vona ¶33)
Regarding claim 20, Gunderson in view of Kong the holder of claim 10.
Gunderson in view of Kong fails to teach the detent structure is in one of an m-shape, an arch- shape, and a v-shape. However, Vona teaches the detent structure (725 alignment member) is in one of an m-shape, an arch- shape, and a v-shape (¶33, 725 alignment member may be v-shaped). Gunderson, Kong, and Vona are both in the industry of circuit board mounting structures, therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Gunderson and Kong to include the V-shaped dent structure in order to align the circuit board with the mounting structure. (Vona¶33)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Schell et. al (US-20220350753-A1) and Schnell et. al (US-20220027078-A1) both teach holders for stacked CAMM units.
/ALLEN L PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/E.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2841