Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of group I in the reply filed on 10/28/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no undue burden in considering both groups. This is not found persuasive because each of the groups has a different classification requiring a different field of search which presents at least a serious search burden. However, since claims 15-18 now depend from claim 1 they will be considered for rejoinder if claim 1 becomes allowable.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In claim 7, lines 5-6, it is unclear how the opening receives the post with the intervening push-on-fastener.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kitajima (US 12,000,422). Kitajima discloses a push-on-fastener (10) comprising: a base section; a sleeve (11) connected with the base including a central passage (13) with an inner surface (14) having a plurality of striations (15); and a threaded pin (12) cantilevered from an end of the sleeve opposite the base. The base, sleeve, and pin are formed of a unitary piece of metal and an outer diameter of the sleeve is greater than an outer diameter of the pin.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitajima in view of Ellis (US 10,598,203). Kitajima discloses the push-on-fastener in combination with a post on a first component (30) for attaching a second component onto the pin.
Kitajima however does not disclose the component system as part of a vehicle. Ellis discloses a push-on-fastener similar to Kitajima but further discloses it to be a part of a vehicle (column 5, paragraph beginning line 65). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to used the push-on-fastener of Kitajima in a vehicle as disclosed in Ellis because it would be superior in making a leak tight connection because the component is not breached.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 appears would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Durham (US 3,880,535) is cited to teach a fastener secured to post. Renke (US 8,833,830) is cited to teach a smooth post on a vehicle. Simmons (US 4,187,892) is cited to teach striations on an inner surface. The other references are cited for general interest.
/FLEMMING SAETHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675