DETAILED ACTION
Status of Case
This communication is in response to the filing of Application 18/332,139 by CASTANEDA GARCIA et al. for “USER DEVICE AND METHOD FOR OPERATING SIDELINK COMMUNICATION”, filed on 06/09/2023.
Per the 09/12/2023 claim amendments, claims 1-17 are now pending. The independent claims are 1 and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KO et al. (US20220417872A1), hereinafter KO, in view of ZHANG et al. (US20190356451A1), hereinafter ZHANG.
Regarding claim 1, KO et al. teaches A User Equipment, UE, configured to perform sidelink communication, the UE comprising: a transceiver being configured (KO, Fig. 20, paragraph 233, teach device 100 (i.e. UE) arranged to operate sidelink communications comprising transceiver 114 and processor 120 configured to perform the overall functions.)
to receive a first signal from a first synchronization source, (KO, Fig. 15, steps 1510, paragraph 173, teach receiving a sidelink-synchronization signal from a source.)
and a processor being configured to: obtain a set of sidelink synchronization signal, SLSS, identifiers, IDs; (KO, Fig. 15, steps 1520, 1530, paragraphs 174-175, 187, teach obtaining SLSS IDs related to a plurality of S-SSBs.)
perform power control of a transmission of a synchronization signal based on the first signal and the set of SLSS IDs. (KO, Fig. 15, steps 1540, paragraphs 187-188, teach transmitting a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) or a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) based on the synchronization, which in turn is based on the first signal and the SLSS IDs.)
As described above, although KO teaches performing transmission of a synchronization signal based on the first signal and the set of SLSS IDs, KO does not specifically describe performing power control of the transmission.
ZHANG in the same field of endeavor teaches performing power control of a transmission (ZHANG, Fig. 2, steps 601-602, paragraphs 157-159, teach adjusting transmit power of a PSCCH and transmit power of PSSCH according to power control parameters.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of KO to perform an adjusting of a power control transmission of a synchronization signal based a synchronization signal and set of SLSS IDs. The motivation would be to utilize a control parameter to adjust the transmit power according to current congestion levels and meet uplink interference control requirements (ZHANG, paragraph 160).
Regarding claim 2, KO in view of ZHANG teaches the UE according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: obtain the set of SLSS IDs by receiving a set of SLSS IDs from a serving base station (BS). (KO, Fig. 12, paragraphs 109-110, teach obtaining the synchronization information by a serving base station.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of KO to obtain the set of SLSS IDs by receiving a set of SLSS IDs from a serving BS. The motivation would be to utilize a control parameter to adjust the transmit power according to current congestion levels and meet uplink interference control requirements (ZHANG, paragraph 160).
Regarding claim 3, KO in view of ZHANG teaches the UE according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: obtain the set of SLSS IDs by receiving a set of SLSS IDs from a synchronization reference (SyncRef) UE. (KO, Fig. 13, paragraphs 117, 124, teach the UE obtaining SLSS IDs from a UE synchronization reference (i.e. SyncRef).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of KO to obtain the set of SLSS IDs by receiving a set of SLSS IDs from a synchronization reference (SyncRef) UE. The motivation would be to utilize a control parameter to adjust the transmit power according to current congestion levels and meet uplink interference control requirements (ZHANG, paragraph 160).
Regarding claim 4, KO in view of ZHANG teaches the UE according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: obtain the set of SLSS IDs by determining the set of SLSS IDs based on an SLSS ID of a SyncRef UE and based on rules of pre-configuration. (KO, paragraphs 110-111, 117-118, teach determining the SLSS IDs based on the SLSS ID of the synchronization reference UE and pre-configured rules.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of KO to obtain the set of SLSS IDs by determining the set of SLSS IDs based on an SLSS ID of a SyncRef UE and based on rules of pre-configuration. The motivation would be to utilize a control parameter to adjust the transmit power according to current congestion levels and meet uplink interference control requirements (ZHANG, paragraph 160).
Regarding claim 5, KO in view of ZHANG teaches the UE according to claim 4, wherein the set of SLSS IDs includes the SLSS ID used by the SyncRef UE. (KO, paragraphs 124-125 teach utilizing the SLSS ID used by the reference UE.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of KO to configure the set of SLSS IDs as including the SLSS ID used by the SyncRef UE. The motivation would be to utilize a control parameter to adjust the transmit power according to current congestion levels and meet uplink interference control requirements (ZHANG, paragraph 160).
Regarding claim 6, KO in view of ZHANG teaches the UE according to claim 5 defining a priority, wherein the processor is further configured to: obtain a priority of the SyncRef UE; and include the SLSS ID of the SyncRef UE in the set of SLSS IDs when the priority of the SyncRef UE is higher than or equal to the priority of the UE. (KO, paragraphs 124-125, table 6, teach obtaining a priority of the SyncRef UE and comparing it to a value which is greater than or equal to a pre-configured threshold.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of KO to obtain a priority of the SyncRef UE, and include the SLSS ID of the SyncRef UE in the set of SLSS IDs when the priority of the SyncRef UE is higher than or equal to the priority of the UE. The motivation would be to utilize a control parameter to adjust the transmit power according to current congestion levels and meet uplink interference control requirements (ZHANG, paragraph 160).
Regarding claim 7, KO in view of ZHANG teaches the UE according to claim 1, wherein the transceiver is configured to perform beamforming, wherein the first signal is received on a first beam, and the processor is further configured to perform the power level on the first beam for transmitting the synchronization signal. (ZHANG, paragraph 4 teaches implementing the communications via beamforming.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of KO to perform the power level on the first beam for transmitting the synchronization signal. The motivation would be to utilize a control parameter to adjust the transmit power according to current congestion levels and meet uplink interference control requirements (ZHANG, paragraph 160).
Regarding claim 8, KO in view of ZHANG teaches the UE according to claim 1, wherein the first synchronization source is a BS and wherein the processor is further configured to perform the power control based on a DownLink PathLoss (DL PL) of the first signal. (ZHANG, paragraph 38 teaches implementing the power control based on congestion level, open-loop power, current resource pool (i.e. pathloss).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of KO to perform the power control based on a DownLink PathLoss (DL PL) of the first signal. The motivation would be to utilize a control parameter to adjust the transmit power according to current congestion levels and meet uplink interference control requirements (ZHANG, paragraph 160).
Regarding claim 9, KO in view of ZHANG teaches the UE according to claim 1, wherein the first synchronization source is a SyncRef UE and wherein the processor is further configured to operate the power control based on a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) of the first signal. (KO, paragraphs 124-125, table 6, teach transmitting based on RSRP of the first signal.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of KO to operate the power control based on a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) of the first signal. The motivation would be to utilize a control parameter to adjust the transmit power according to current congestion levels and meet uplink interference control requirements (ZHANG, paragraph 160).
Regarding claim 10, KO in view of ZHANG teaches the UE according to claim 9, wherein the processor is further configured to: compare the (RSRP) of the first signal with a predetermined threshold value and perform the power control based on the comparison. (KO, paragraphs 124-125, table 6, teach comparing the RSRP with a predetermined threshold value and transmitting the signal based on the comparison.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of KO to compare the (RSRP) of the first signal with a predetermined threshold value and perform the power control based on the comparison. The motivation would be to utilize a control parameter to adjust the transmit power according to current congestion levels and meet uplink interference control requirements (ZHANG, paragraph 160).
Regarding claim 11, KO in view of ZHANG teaches the UE according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine the power level of a data transmission and perform the power control based on the power level of the data transmission when the UE is transmitting data. (ZHANG, Fig. 2, steps 601-602, paragraphs 157-159, teach adjusting transmit power of a PSCCH and transmit power of PSSCH according to power control parameters.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of KO to determine the power level of a data transmission and perform the power control based on the power level of the data transmission when the UE is transmitting data. The motivation would be to utilize a control parameter to adjust the transmit power according to current congestion levels and meet uplink interference control requirements (ZHANG, paragraph 160).
Regarding claim 12, KO in view of ZHANG teaches the UE according to claim 11, wherein the processor is further configured to: perform the power control based on the power level of the data transmission and a pre-specified offset value. (ZHANG, paragraphs 214, 220, teach adjusting transmit power based on the power levels and syncOffsetIndicator (i.e. pre-specified offset value).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of KO to perform the power control based on the power level of the data transmission and a pre-specified offset value. The motivation would be to utilize a control parameter to adjust the transmit power according to current congestion levels and meet uplink interference control requirements (ZHANG, paragraph 160).
Regarding claim 13, KO in view of ZHANG teaches the UE according to claim 1, wherein the first signal is received from the first synchronization source having a first SLSS ID and the processor is configured to perform power control of the transmission of the synchronization signal based on the first signal and the set of SLSS IDs by determining that the first SLSS ID is within the set of SLSS IDs. (KO, paragraphs 159-160, teach performing the transmission of the synchronization signal based on determining the SLSS ID is within a set having a SLSS ID value or priority range.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of KO to perform power control of the transmission of the synchronization signal based on the first signal and the set of SLSS IDs by determining that the first SLSS ID is within the set of SLSS IDs. The motivation would be to utilize a control parameter to adjust the transmit power according to current congestion levels and meet uplink interference control requirements (ZHANG, paragraph 160).
Regarding claim 14, KO in view of ZHANG teaches the UE according to claim 1, wherein the UE is configured to act as a (SyncRef UE) in a sidelink communication network. (KO, paragraph 115, “a UE performing sidelink communication may determine itself as a reference synchronization when there is no synchronization source nearby.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of KO to configure the UE to act as a (SyncRef UE) in a sidelink communication network. The motivation would be to utilize a control parameter to adjust the transmit power according to current congestion levels and meet uplink interference control requirements (ZHANG, paragraph 160).
Regarding claim 15, KO teaches A method for performing sidelink communication with User Equipment (UE) wherein the method comprises: receiving a first signal from a first synchronization source; (KO, Fig. 15, steps 1510, paragraph 173, teach a UE receiving a sidelink-synchronization signal from a source.)
obtaining a set of sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS) identifiers, IDs; (KO, Fig. 15, steps 1520, 1530, paragraphs 174-175, 187, teach obtaining SLSS IDs related to a plurality of S-SSBs.)
and performing power control of a transmission of a synchronization signal based on the first signal and the set of SLSS IDs. (KO, Fig. 15, steps 1540, paragraphs 187-188, teach transmitting a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) or a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) based on the synchronization, which in turn is based on the first signal and the SLSS IDs.)
As described above, although KO teaches performing transmission of a synchronization signal based on the first signal and the set of SLSS IDs, KO does not specifically describe performing power control of the transmission.
ZHANG in the same field of endeavor teaches performing power control of a transmission (ZHANG, Fig. 2, steps 601-602, paragraphs 157-159, teach adjusting transmit power of a PSCCH and transmit power of PSSCH according to power control parameters.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of KO to perform an adjusting of a power control transmission of a synchronization signal based a synchronization signal and set of SLSS IDs. The motivation would be to utilize a control parameter to adjust the transmit power according to current congestion levels and meet uplink interference control requirements (ZHANG, paragraph 160).
Regarding claim 16, KO in view of ZHANG teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the computer- readable storage medium stores a computer program, and when the computer program is executed by a processor, the method according to claim 15 is implemented. (KO, paragraph 191, teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium to perform the overall functions claimed.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of KO to configure a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium to perform the overall functions claimed. The motivation would be to utilize a control parameter to adjust the transmit power according to current congestion levels and meet uplink interference control requirements (ZHANG, paragraph 160).
Regarding claim 17, KO in view of ZHANG teaches A computer program that includes instructions stored on a memory, wherein when the instructions are executed by a processor, the method according to claim 15 is implemented. (KO, paragraph 224 teaches computer programming to perform the overall functions claimed.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of KO to configure computer programming to perform the overall functions claimed. The motivation would be to utilize a control parameter to adjust the transmit power according to current congestion levels and meet uplink interference control requirements (ZHANG, paragraph 160).
Conclusion
/WALLI Z BUTT/Examiner, Art Unit 2412