DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LV (US 2023/0146812).
As to claim 1, LV discloses a negative electrode plate (figure 1, [0004]-[0005], discussed throughout), comprising: a negative current collector (figure 1, copper foil, [0004]-[0005], discussed throughout), a first negative active material layer (figure 1, [0004]-[0005], discussed throughout), and a second negative active material layer (figure 1, [0004]-[0005], discussed throughout); in a thickness direction of the negative electrode plate (figure 1, [0004]-[0005], discussed throughout), the first negative active material layer is located between the second negative active material layer and the negative current collector (figure 1, [0004]-[0005], discussed throughout); the first negative active material layer comprises a first negative active material (figure 1, [0004]-[0005], discussed throughout); the second negative active material layer comprises a second negative active material (figure 1, [0004]-[0005], discussed throughout); and an interlayer spacing of the first negative active material is smaller than an interlayer spacing of the second negative active material ([0005]-[0008], discussed throughout, overlapping ranges because alpha can be 1). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
As to claim 2, LV discloses wherein, a ratio of the interlayer spacing of the second negative active material to the interlayer spacing of the first negative active material falls within a range of 1.1 to 1.8 ([0005]-[0008], discussed throughout, overlapping ranges). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
As to claim 3, LV discloses wherein, the ratio of the interlayer spacing of the second negative active material to the interlayer spacing of the first negative active material falls within a range of 1.1 to 1.3 ([0005]-[0008], discussed throughout, overlapping ranges). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 I).
As to claim 4, LV discloses wherein, the interlayer spacing of the first negative active material is in the range of 0.34 nm to 0.42 nm; and the interlayer spacing of the second negative active material is in the range of 0.37 nm to 0.61 nm ([0020], discussed throughout). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists and a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (see MPEP 2144.05 I).
As to claim 5, LV discloses wherein, the interlayer spacing of the first negative active material is in the range of 0.34 nm to 0.37 nm; and the interlayer spacing of the second negative active material is in the range of 0.37 nm to 0.45 nm ([0020], discussed throughout). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists and a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (see MPEP 2144.05 I).
As to claim 6, LV discloses wherein, an undercoat layer is applied onto the negative current collector (figure 1, the active material on the other side, discussed throughout).
As to claim 7, LV discloses wherein, the undercoat layer comprises at least one of conductive carbon, carbon nanotubes, or graphene ([0080], discussed throughout).
As to claim 8, LV discloses wherein, the first negative active material and the second negative active material each are one independently selected from the group consisting of soft carbon, hard carbon, artificial graphite, and natural graphite ([0023], discussed throughout).
As to claim 9, LV discloses a battery cell, comprising a positive electrode plate, a separator, and a negative electrode plate; and the negative electrode plate is the negative electrode plate according to claim 1 (figure 3 #5, [0056], discussed throughout).
As to claim 10, LV discloses wherein, a ratio of the interlayer spacing of the second negative active material to the interlayer spacing of the first negative active material falls within a range of 1.1 to 1.8 ([0005]-[0008], discussed throughout, overlapping ranges). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
As to claim 11, LV discloses wherein, the ratio of the interlayer spacing of the second negative active material to the interlayer spacing of the first negative active material falls within a range of 1.1 to 1.3 ([0005]-[0008], discussed throughout, overlapping ranges). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
As to claim 12, LV discloses wherein, the interlayer spacing of the first negative active material is in the range of 0.34 nm to 0.42 nm; and the interlayer spacing of the second negative active material is in the range of 0.37 nm to 0.61 nm ([0020], discussed throughout). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists and a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (see MPEP 2144.05 I).
As to claim 13, LV discloses wherein, the interlayer spacing of the first negative active material is in the range of 0.34 nm to 0.37 nm; and the interlayer spacing of the second negative active material is in the range of 0.37 nm to 0.45 nm ([0020], discussed throughout). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists and a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (see MPEP 2144.05 I).
As to claim 14, LV discloses wherein, an undercoat layer is applied onto the negative current collector (figure 1, the active material on the other side, discussed throughout).
As to claim 15, LV discloses wherein, the undercoat layer comprises at least one of conductive carbon, carbon nanotubes, or graphene ([0080], discussed throughout).
As to claim 16, LV discloses wherein, the first negative active material and the second negative active material each are one independently selected from the group consisting of soft carbon, hard carbon, artificial graphite, and natural graphite ([0023], discussed throughout).
As to claim 17, LV discloses a battery, comprising the battery cell according to claim 9 (figure 4 #4, [0027], discussed throughout).
As to claim 18, LV discloses wherein, a ratio of the interlayer spacing of the second negative active material to the interlayer spacing of the first negative active material falls within a range of 1.1 to 1.8 ([0005]-[0008], discussed throughout, overlapping ranges). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
As to claim 19, LV discloses wherein, the ratio of the interlayer spacing of the second negative active material to the interlayer spacing of the first negative active material falls within a range of 1.1 to 1.3 ([0005]-[0008], discussed throughout, overlapping ranges). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
As to claim 20, LV discloses wherein, a value range of the interlayer spacing of the first negative active material is 0.34 nm to 0.42 nm; and a value range of the interlayer spacing of the second negative active material is 0.37 nm to 0.61 nm ([0020], discussed throughout). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists and a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (see MPEP 2144.05 I).
Contact Information
/BRIAN R OHARA/Examiner, Art Unit 1724