DETAILED ACTION
The rejection related to 35 USC § 101 regarding to claims 1-20 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-17, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karli et al. (Karli) US 11436777 in view of Nistala et al. (Nistala) US 2022/0214474 and Devine et al. (Devine) US 2021/0210187
In regard to claim 1, Karli disclose A computer-implemented method for predicting weather risk using artificial intelligence, the method comprising: (abstract, col. 1, line 42-col. 3, line 7, predicting hazard including weather using AI)
obtaining, using at least one hardware processor, historical data associated with operational suspension events corresponding to respective locations; (abstract, col. 1, line 42-col. 3, line 37, col. 5, line 20-col. 6, line 50, obtain, using the processor, hazard data related to hazard events corresponding to geographic locations)
training, using at least one hardware processor, a machine learning model to predict a suspension time period using a training dataset comprising the historical data associated with operational suspension events; (col. 1, line 42-col. 3, line 37, col. 5, line 20-col. 6, line 50, col. 9, line 57- col. 11, line 18, training a ML model to predict a hazard time period using a training dataset with obtained data related to the hazard events)
predicting, using the at least one hardware processor, a suspension time period corresponding to a location using the trained machine learning model. (col. 1, line 42-col. 3, line 37, col. 5, line 20-col. 6, line 50, col. 9, line 57- col. 11, line 18, predict a hazard time period corresponding to a location using the trained ML model)
But Karli fail to explicitly disclose “evaluating the trained machine learning model by determining a mean absolute percentage error (MAPE) of the trained machine learning model, and iteratively re-training the trained machine learning model when the MAPE satisfies a predetermined threshold.”
Nistala disclose comprising evaluating the trained machine learning model by determining a mean absolute percentage error (MAPE) of the trained machine learning model, and re-training the trained machine learning model when the MAPE satisfies a predetermined threshold. ([0034]-[0037] [0056] determine the performance of the model based on MAPE and re-train iteratively the model when the MQI (MAPE) is below a threshold)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Nistala‘s ML model into Karli’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of model training and learning. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Nistala‘s retraining the ML model based a condition would help to provide ML re-train trigger condition into Karli’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that providing ML retraining trigger condition would help to improve accuracy of prediction of the ML model.
But Karli and Nistala fail to explicitly disclose “and automatically generating an operational schedule that excludes lifting tasks for the location during the predicted suspension time period.”
Devine disclose and automatically generating an operational schedule that excludes lifting tasks for the location during the predicted suspension time period. ([0009]-[0014][0047] [0055][0056] [0079] [0080][0110] modifying a scheduled activity by removing a task from the schedule in response to predicting the adverse effect during the particular time period and location, and cause display of a calendar with the modified schedule, as for the particular task which is an implementation choice, but not an invention)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Devine‘s predicting an adverse effect based on a ML model into Nistala and Karli’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of model training and learning. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Devine‘s modifying a schedule based on predicting an adverse effect using a ML model would help to provide more predictions using ML into Nistala and Karli’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that modifying a schedule based on the ML prediction would help to improve planning with the help of ML model.
In regard to claim 2, Karli and Nistala, Devine disclose The computer implemented method of claim 1, Karli disclose wherein the training dataset comprises historical suspension time periods labeled by respective dates and respective locations. (col. 9, line 57- col. 11, line 18, the training dataset include historical hazard time periods annotated by the dates and corresponding locations)
In regard to claim 3, Karli and Nistala, Devine disclose The computer implemented method of claim 1,
Karli disclose wherein the training dataset comprises historical suspension time periods and corresponding weather conditions. (col. 9, line 57- col. 11, line 18, the training dataset include historical hazard time periods annotated by the dates and corresponding weather conditions)
In regard to claim 5, Karli and Nistala, Devine disclose The computer implemented method of claim 1,
Karli disclose comprising planning oil and gas operations based on the predicted suspension time period. (col. 11, line 19- col. 18, line 58, cause the operator to take appropriate action based on the predicted hazard time period related to the oil and gas)
In regard to claim 6, Karli and Nistala, Devine disclose The computer implemented method of claim 1,
Karli disclose comprising avoiding lifting tasks in oil and gas operation planning during the predicted suspension time period. (col. 8, line 34-col. 56, col. 11, line 19- col. 18, line 58, cause the operator to take appropriate action based on the predicted hazard time period related to the oil and gas, “notify technicians of location(s) of existing equipment or other infrastructure that may pose a danger to the technicians”)
In regard to claim 7, Karli and Nistala, Devine disclose The computer implemented method of claim 1,
Karli disclose wherein the historical data is pre-processed. (col. 9, line 57- col. 11, line 18, historical hazard data is corresponding to a particular geographic location and at times with certain conditions etc. therefore it is preprocessed)
In regard to claims 8-10, 12-14, claims 8-10, 12-14 are apparatus claims corresponding to the method claims 1-3, 5-7 above and, therefore, are rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejections of claims 1-3, 5-7.
In regard to claims 15-17, 19-20, claims 15-17, 19-20 are system claims corresponding to the method claims 1-3, 5-6 above and, therefore, are rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejections of claims 1-3, 5-6.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims filed on 4/23/2026 with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the current rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
PATENT PUB. # PUB. DATE INVENTOR(S) TITLE
US 20220334870 A1 2022-10-20 Chen et al.
Automatic Container Migration System
Chen et al. disclose A method, apparatus, system, and computer program product for container migration. A set of processors operates to identify a set of containers for a set of applications for a migration using a set of application performance metrics. The set of processors operates to create a set of tasks following a migration strategy to move the set of containers for the set of applications identified for the migration from a set of current physical host computers to a set of target physical host computers using the set of application performance metrics. The set of processors operates to move the set of containers for the set of applications from the set of current physical host computers to the set of target physical host computers using the set of tasks following the migration strategy… see abstract.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
XUYANG XIA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2143
/XUYANG XIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2143