DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the remarks filed 03/10/2026. Claims 1 – 7 and 9 - 15 are pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 – 7 and 9 - 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 7, 10 – 11, and 13 - 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Charlton et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0131878, hereinafter "Charlton") in view of Gada et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0380985, hereinafter “Gada”), Agarawala et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0313059, hereinafter “Agarawala”), Ikeda et al. (JP Pub. No. 2018173829, hereinafter “Ikeda”) and Muneda (JP App. No. JPH09146742A).
Regarding Claim 1, Charlton teaches
An electronic device (see Charlton Paragraph [0003], telecommunications applications and devices can provide communication between multiple users using a variety of media), comprising:
communication circuitry configured to establish a communication connection with at least one external electronic device (see Charlton Paragraph [0003], video conferencing allows two or more individuals to communicate with each other using a combination of software applications, telecommunications devices, and a telecommunications network and Paragraph [0116], the machine 1900 comprises a Radio-Frequency Integrated Circuit (RFIC));
a display (see Charlton Paragraph [0036], each of the client devices 110 can comprise a computing device that includes at least a display);
memory, comprising one or more storage media, storing instructions (see Charlton Paragraph [0117], the storage unit 1936 can include a machine-readable medium 1938 on which are stored the instructions 1916 embodying any of the methodologies or functions described herein); and
one or more processors operatively connected with the communication circuitry, the display, and the memory (see Charlton Paragraph [0030], the various embodiments of the present disclosure relate to devices and instructions by one or more processors of a device to modify an image or a video stream transmitted by the device to another device while the video stream is being captured (e.g., modifying a video stream in real time) and Figure 19 the machine 1900 comprises a Radio-Frequency Integrated Circuit (RFIC), processor(s) and memory),
wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively (see Charlton Paragraph [0032], FIG. 1 represents a set of executable software instructions and the corresponding hardware (e.g., memory and processor) for executing the instructions, forming a hardware-implemented component or engine and acting, at the time of the execution of instructions, as a special purpose machine configured to carry out a particular set of functions), cause the electronic device to:
transmit a first image to the at least one external electronic device using the communication circuitry and output the first image to the display (see Charlton Paragraph [0030], a device to modify an image or a video stream transmitted by the device to another device while the video stream is being captured (e.g., modifying a video stream in real time) and FIG. 4, an image 400, video stream, or real-time field of view of an image capture device),
select a first area, which is at least a partial area of the output first image (see Charlton Paragraph [0046] and Figure 5, the selection 500 is of the face 402, where the selection 500 taps or otherwise indicates a portion of pixels depicting the face within the user interface displayed on a mobile computing device),
identify a target image object in the first area (see Charlton Paragraph [0048], the image capture system 160 receives, captures, or causes presentation of an image 1000, a video stream, or a real-time field of view of an image capture device including one or more potential objects of interest 1002. For example, as shown in FIG. 10, a container 1004 and a logo 1006 are presented within the real-time field of view of the image capture device. As will be described in more detail below, the image capture system 160 identifies the logo 1006 as the object of interest 1002, as shown in FIG. 11, Paragraph [0052], upon selection, each target, area selected, or pixel position may display a context-specific mesh at activation, Paragraph [0056], in operation 320, in response to receiving the selection at the user interface, the context component 220 determines a modifier context, based at least in part on the selection and the position within the user interface. In some instances, the modifier context may be understood as a determination of an intent of the user based on a target of the selection. Where multiple targets may be indicated by the selection, the context component 220 may determine the modifier context by one or more characteristics of the selection. The characteristics of the selection may be aspects of the selection itself. In some instances, the characteristics of the selection are information determined at the time of the selection. The characteristics may also be information associated with the computing device or the image capture device captured, determined, or sensed contemporaneous to receiving the selection, and Paragraph [0057], where the target of the selection is clear (e.g., a selection proximate to a potential object of interest), the identification component 230 identifies a modifier category (e.g., a filter category, a lens category, or a category for a set of add-on graphical elements) or an activator type for the target. For example, where the selection indicates a face, components of the image capture system 160 may identify “face” as the modifier category or activator type. Activator types may include a code entered for a specified modifier, a natural feature tracking (NFT), a face, a surface, air, or any other suitable activator type. In some embodiments, to determine user intent, components of the image capture system first use the modifier category matching the target, and then use other rules, characteristics or categories, in a descending order),
generate a second image including a contour of the first area and at least one line dividing the first area into a plurality of second areas (see Charlton Paragraph [0046], the image capture system 160 generates a mesh 404 for the selected object of interest, as shown in FIGS. 5, 7, and 9, displaying the mesh 404 as an overlay on the object of interest, and Paragraph [0052], Upon selection, each target, area selected, or pixel position may display a context-specific mesh at activation. After activation, the presentation component 270 loads at least one set of modifiers, described in more detail below. In some instances, the modifiers are presented in a formatted presentation referred to as a modifier carousel. In some instances, the mesh is displayed for a target object when the modifier carousel user interface elements appear)
and output the second image to the display (see Charlton Figures 5, 7, 9, and 11, in which second image including a mesh (or an outline; a glowing outline; a highlighted area; a collection of glowing particles or sprites proximate to, overlapping, or overlaying the object of interest or other detectable visual features; a group of graphical elements (e.g., emojis or stickers); or any other suitable indication that signifies a surface, object or other visual feature is active or may become active (Paragraph [0046])) is output on display of device).
Charlton does not expressively teach
and indicators indicating the plurality of second areas of the second image respectively, and
transmit the second image to the at least one external electronic device
identify that a position of the target image object or a direction of the target image object has changed,
change the second image based on the identified change, and
transmit the changed second image to the external electronic device and output the changed second image to the display.
However, Gada teaches
and indicators indicating the plurality of second areas of the second image respectively (see Gada Paragraph [0227] and [0228] and Figure 6B, In FIG. 6A, device 600 detects, via microphone 602B, voice input 601A (“SHOW GRID”) and, in response, displays the grid shown in FIG. 6B, and in FIG. 6B, device 600 displays a grid 608 that includes cell cues 608A, including specific cues 608A1, 608A6, and 608A7, that each correspond to a cell of grid 608), and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a device configured to establish communication with at least one external device in which a first image is transmitted to an external device and output on a display, and a first partial area of a first image is selected to generate a second image that includes a contour of the first area which may also be displayed (as taught in Charlton), with displaying indicators that indicate a plurality of areas respectively (as taught in Gada), the motivation being to reduce burden on a user and produce a more efficient human-machine interface that clearly identifies portion of a displayed image (see Gada Paragraphs [0005], [0227] and [0228]).
Charlton in view of Gada do not expressively teach
transmit the second image to the at least one external electronic device
identify that a position of the target image object or a direction of the target image object has changed,
change the second image based on the identified change, and
transmit the changed second image to the external electronic device and output the changed second image to the display.
However, Agarawala teaches
transmit the second image to the at least one external electronic device (see Agarawala Paragraph [0107], functionality allows devices to send data and facilitates exchange or transfer of data to and from external devices such as photos, videos, face mesh data, etc.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a device configured to establish communication with at least one external device in which a first image is transmitted to an external device and output on a display, and a first partial area of a first image is selected to generate a second image that includes a contour of the first area which may also be displayed (as taught in Charlton), with displaying indicators that indicate a plurality of areas respectively (as taught in Gada), the motivation being to reduce burden on a user and produce a more efficient human-machine interface that clearly identifies portion of a displayed image (see Gada Paragraphs [0005], [0227] and [0228]).
It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a device configured to establish communication with at least one external device in which a first image is transmitted to an external device and output on a display, and a first partial area of a first image is selected to generate a second image that includes a contour of the first area with indicators for the plurality of areas for display (as taught in Charlton in view of Gada), with transmitting an image to an external device that may include a mesh image (as taught in Agarawala), the motivation being to provide the functionality of visual interaction with external devices in which can provide clarity and enhanced understanding in a video conference setting (see Agarawala Paragraph [0107] and Figure 42).
Charlton in view of Gada and Agarawala do not expressively teach
identify that a position of the target image object or a direction of the target image object has changed,
transmit the changed second image to the external electronic device and output the changed second image to the display.
However, Ikeda teaches
identify that a position of the target image object or a direction of the target image object has changed (see Ikeda Paragraph [0046], Return to FIG. Following S201, it is determined whether input data is received (S202). The input data is data related to "motion" or "voice" transmitted from the information processing terminal 100. If there is no input data received (S 202: No), the process proceeds to S 201. If input data has been received (S202: Yes), the target object corresponding to the received data is discriminated (S203). That is, the input data includes information capable of uniquely identifying the information processing terminal 100 or information uniquely identifying the corresponding user object, and Paragraph [0047], Here, the received input data is motion data indicating the direction of the conference participant transmitted from the information processing terminal 100, voice, or the like. Subsequently, based on the data received in S203, an image output instruction in the target object is generated (S204). The image output instruction includes information necessary for generating a display of a user object related to the other user judging the orientation of another participant and information for generating a display of the virtual space related to the orientation of the information processing terminal 100 as its own terminal including),
transmit the changed second image to the external electronic device and output the changed second image to the display (see Ikeda Paragraph [0048], Subsequently, an image output instruction related to the target object discriminated in S203 is generated (S204). The instruction generated in S204 indicates the content of change in display with respect to the target object based on the data received in S203. For example, when the orientation of another user 500 changes, an image output instruction that can display an image reflecting the attribute on the virtual conference space based on the attribute data and position data of the target object with respect to the user 500 is generated, therefore displayed on device and external devices in video conference).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a device configured to establish communication with at least one external device in which a first image is transmitted to an external device and output on a display, and a first partial area of a first image is selected to generate a second image that includes a contour of the first area which may also be displayed (as taught in Charlton), with displaying indicators that indicate a plurality of areas respectively (as taught in Gada), the motivation being to reduce burden on a user and produce a more efficient human-machine interface that clearly identifies portion of a displayed image (see Gada Paragraphs [0005], [0227] and [0228]).
It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a device configured to establish communication with at least one external device in which a first image is transmitted to an external device and output on a display, and a first partial area of a first image is selected to generate a second image that includes a contour of the first area with indicators for the plurality of areas for display (as taught in Charlton in view of Gada), with transmitting an image to an external device that may include a mesh image (as taught in Agarawala), the motivation being to provide the functionality of visual interaction with external devices in which can provide clarity and enhanced understanding in a video conference setting (see Agarawala Paragraph [0107] and Figure 42).
It would have additionally been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a device configured to establish communication with at least one external device in which a first image is transmitted to an external device and output on a display, and a first partial area of a first image is selected to generate a second image that includes a contour of the first area with indicators for the plurality of areas for display that may be transmitted to an external device (as taught in Charlton in view of Gada and Agarawala), with identifying a position or direction of a target image object has changed, and changing the image and outputting to the display and external device (as taught in Ikeda), the motivation being to create an immersive video conference experience by updating imagery for output (see Ikeda Paragraph [0002] – [0003] and Paragraph [0047] – [0048]).
Charlton in view of Gada, Agarawala and Ikeda do not expressively teach
change at least one of the contour of the first area included in the second image or the at least one line included in the second image based on the identified change;
However, Muneda teaches
change at least one of the contour of the first area included in the second image or the at least one line included in the second image based on the identified change (see Muneda Figures 8 – 11 and Paragraph [0004], a display means for displaying an image, among the divided images obtained by dividing an entire image displayed on the display means into a plurality, the divided images of the predetermined number of adjacent and block comprises a block rotation means for rotating each block in response to instruction of the operator, and from random displayed divided image, the operator of the block rotation means an image display device, characterized in that to complete the predetermined entire image using and Paragraph [0010], the operator indicates a change, and subsequently a divided area of the image is rotated, thus altering the shape and form of the image);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a device configured to establish communication with at least one external device in which a first image is transmitted to an external device and output on a display, and a first partial area of a first image is selected to generate a second image that includes a contour of the first area which may also be displayed (as taught in Charlton), with displaying indicators that indicate a plurality of areas respectively (as taught in Gada), the motivation being to reduce burden on a user and produce a more efficient human-machine interface that clearly identifies portion of a displayed image (see Gada Paragraphs [0005], [0227] and [0228]).
It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a device configured to establish communication with at least one external device in which a first image is transmitted to an external device and output on a display, and a first partial area of a first image is selected to generate a second image that includes a contour of the first area with indicators for the plurality of areas for display (as taught in Charlton in view of Gada), with transmitting an image to an external device that may include a mesh image (as taught in Agarawala), the motivation being to provide the functionality of visual interaction with external devices in which can provide clarity and enhanced understanding in a video conference setting (see Agarawala Paragraph [0107] and Figure 42).
It would have additionally been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a device configured to establish communication with at least one external device in which a first image is transmitted to an external device and output on a display, and a first partial area of a first image is selected to generate a second image that includes a contour of the first area with indicators for the plurality of areas for display that may be transmitted to an external device (as taught in Charlton in view of Gada and Agarawala), with identifying a position or direction of a target image object has changed, and changing the image and outputting to the display and external device (as taught in Ikeda), the motivation being to create an immersive video conference experience by updating imagery for output (see Ikeda Paragraph [0002] – [0003] and Paragraph [0047] – [0048]).
It would have additionally been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a device configured to establish communication with at least one external device in which a first image is transmitted to an external device and output on a display, and a first partial area of a first image is selected to generate a second image that includes a contour of the first area with indicators for the plurality of areas for display that may be transmitted to an external device, in which the device additionally identifies a position or direction of a target image object has changed, and changing the image and outputting to the display and external device (as taught in Charlton in view of Gada, Agarawala and Ikeda), with changing at least one of the contour of the first area included in the second image or the at least one line included in the second image based on the identified change (as taught in Muneda), the motivation being to make the system adaptive and modify according to change, therefore improving accuracy of region segmentation (see Muneda Figures 8 - 11).
Regarding Claim 2, Charlton in view of Gada, Agarawala, Ikeda and Muneda teaches
The electronic device of claim 1,
wherein the second image comprises a grid-shaped image (see Charlton Figure 5, in which second image comprises a grid-shaped image), and
wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
generate a third image in which the first image and the second image are synthesized (see Charlton Figure 13, in which first original image and second image with a mesh were used to create a third image (Figure 13)), the third image including the at least one line and the indicators (see Gada Paragraph [0227] and [0228] and Figure 6B, In FIG. 6A, device 600 detects, via microphone 602B, voice input 601A (“SHOW GRID”) and, in response, displays the grid shown in FIG. 6B, and in FIG. 6B, device 600 displays a grid 608 that includes cell cues 608A, including specific cues 608A1, 608A6, and 608A7, that each correspond to a cell of grid 608),
transmit the third image to the external electronic device (see Agarawala Paragraph [0107], functionality allows devices to send data and facilitates exchange or transfer of data to and from external devices such as photos, videos, face mesh data, etc.), and
output the third image to the display (see Charlton Figure 13, in which third image is show on user device display).
Regarding Claim 3, Charlton in view of Gada, Agarawala, Ikeda and Muneda teaches
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to generate the second image based on at least one of a size of the first image, a size of the first area, or a shape of the first area (see Charlton Figure 5, in which size of the mesh (grid) and the number and size of the pixels depicting the area is dependent on the size and shape of the area selected (first area)).
Regarding Claim 4, Charlton in view of Gada, Agarawala, Ikeda and Muneda teaches
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to determine at least one of a number of the plurality of second areas or a size of each of the plurality of areas based on at least one of a size of the first image, a size of the first area, or a shape of the first area (see Charlton Figure 5, in which size of the mesh (grid) and the number and size of the pixels depicting the area is dependent on the size and shape of the area selected (first area)).
Regarding Claim 5, Charlton in view of Gada, Agarawala, Ikeda and Muneda teaches
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
perform image analysis on the first image to identify at least one image object included in the first image (see Charlton Paragraph [0048], Although described with respect to selection of an object of interest or area of interest depicted within the user interface, it should be understood that the image capture system 160 is capable of identifying or otherwise selecting the object of interest automatically, without input from a user),
identify the target image object among the at least one image object (see Charlton Paragraph [0048], the image capture system 160 receives, captures, or causes presentation of an image 1000, a video stream, or a real-time field of view of an image capture device including one or more potential objects of interest 1002. For example, as shown in FIG. 10, a container 1004 and a logo 1006 are presented within the real-time field of view of the image capture device. As will be described in more detail below, the image capture system 160 identifies the logo 1006 as the object of interest 1002, as shown in FIG. 11), and
select the first area including at least the target image object (see Charlton Paragraph [0048], the image capture system 160 generates the mesh 1100 overlay on the logo 1006, as shown in FIG. 11. As will be described below in more detail, in response to identifying the logo 1006 as the object of interest 1002, the image capture system 160 surfaces or identifies a set of modifiers and causes presentation of at least one modifier icon for the set of modifiers associated with the logo).
Regarding Claim 6, Charlton in view of Gada, Agarawala, Ikeda and Muneda teaches
The electronic device of claim 5, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
identify a contour area of the target image object (see Charlton Paragraph [0046] and Figure 5, the selection 500 is of the face 402, where the selection 500 taps or otherwise indicates a portion of pixels depicting the face within the user interface displayed on a mobile computing device), and
generate the second image based on at least one of a size of the contour area or a shape of the contour area (see Charlton Paragraph [0048], As shown in FIGS. 10-12, the image capture system 160 receives, captures, or causes presentation of an image 1000, a video stream, or a real-time field of view of an image capture device including one or more potential objects of interest 1002. For example, as shown in FIG. 10, a container 1004 and a logo 1006 are presented within the real-time field of view of the image capture device. As will be described in more detail below, the image capture system 160 identifies the logo 1006 as the object of interest 1002, as shown in FIG. 11. The image capture system 160 may identify the logo 1006 based on existence of an associated image modifier among the modifiers available to the image capture system 160. The image capture system 160 generates the mesh 1100 overlay on the logo 1006, as shown in FIG. 11).
Regarding Claim 7, Charlton in view of Gada, Agarawala, Ikeda and Muneda teaches
The electronic device of claim 5, further comprising:
an input circuitry receiving a user’s input (see Charlton Paragraph [0046], as shown in FIGS. 4-9, the selection, received in operation 310, indicates a position within the field of view of the image capture device depicted within the user interface),
wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
receive an input for selecting at least one target image object among at least one image object identified by the image analysis using the input circuitry (see Charlton Paragraph [0046], In FIG. 5, the selection 500 is of the face 402, where the selection 500 taps or otherwise indicates a portion of pixels depicting the face within the user interface displayed on a mobile computing device), and
identify the target image object based on the input (see Charlton Paragraph [0046], the image capture system 160 generates a mesh 404 for the selected object of interest, as shown in FIGS. 5, 7, and 9, displaying the mesh 404 as an overlay on the object of interest).
Regarding Claim 10, Charlton in view of Gada, Agarawala, Ikeda and Muneda teaches
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
identify a third area, which is at least one area of the plurality of second areas (see Charlton Paragraph [0076], in operation 1430, the identification component 230 identifies a second set of modifiers based on the modifier context and at least one identification of the set of identifications, the second set of modifiers may be identified in a manner similar to or the same as described above with respect to operation 330),
generate a fourth image by processing at least one among at least a portion of the first image or at least a portion of the second image corresponding to the third area (see Charlton Paragraph [0046], the image capture system 160 generates a mesh 404 for the selected object of interest, as shown in FIGS. 5, 7, and 9, displaying the mesh 404 as an overlay on the object of interest), and
transmit the generated fourth image to the external electronic device (see Agarawala Paragraph [0107], functionality allows devices to send data and facilitates exchange or transfer of data to and from external devices such as photos, videos, face mesh data, etc.).
Regarding Claim 11, Charlton in view of Gada, Agarawala, Ikeda and Muneda teaches
The electronic device of claim 10, wherein the fourth image comprises:
an image in which at least a portion of the first image corresponding to the third area is processed to be invisible, or
an image in which at least a portion of the first image corresponding to the remaining area excluding the third area is processed to be invisible (see Charlton Figure 13, in which a portion of the first image is processed to be invisible, as a modifier icon is now covering up a portion of the image).
Regarding Claim 13, Charlton in view of Gada, Agarawala, Ikeda and Muneda teaches
The electronic device of claim 10, wherein the fourth image comprises a line dividing at least a portion of the first image corresponding to the third area into a plurality of detailed areas (see Charlton Paragraph [0076], in operation 1430, the identification component 230 identifies a second set of modifiers based on the modifier context and at least one identification of the set of identifications, the second set of modifiers may be identified in a manner similar to or the same as described above with respect to operation 330 and Figure 5, the selection 500 is of the face 402, where the selection 500 taps or otherwise indicates a portion of pixels depicting the face within the user interface displayed on a mobile computing device).
Regarding Claim 14, Charlton in view of Gada, Agarawala, Ikeda and Muneda teaches
The electronic device of claim 10, further comprising:
an input circuitry (see Charlton Paragraph [0004], input device),
wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
receive an input for selecting the third area using the input circuitry, and identify the third area based on the input (see Charlton Paragraph [0076], in operation 1430, the identification component 230 identifies a second set of modifiers based on the modifier context and at least one identification of the set of identifications, the second set of modifiers may be identified in a manner similar to or the same as described above with respect to operation 330).
Regarding Claim 15, it is rejected as Claim 1. The method can be found in Charlton (Abstract, method).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Charlton et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0131878, hereinafter "Charlton") in view of Gada et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0380985, hereinafter “Gada”), Agarawala et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0313059, hereinafter “Agarawala”), Ikeda et al. (JP Pub. No. 2018173829, hereinafter “Ikeda”), Muneda (JP App. No. JPH09146742A) and Liu et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0207770, hereinafter "Liu").
Regarding Claim 9, Charlton in view of Gada, Agarawala, Ikeda and Muneda teaches
The electronic device of claim 5, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
transmit the rendered second image to the external electronic device (see Agarawala Paragraph [0107], functionality allows devices to send data and facilitates exchange or transfer of data to and from external devices such as photos, videos, face mesh data, etc.), and
output the rendered second image to the display (see Charlton Figures 5, 7, 9, and 11, in which second image including a mesh (or an outline; a glowing outline; a highlighted area; a collection of glowing particles or sprites proximate to, overlapping, or overlaying the object of interest or other detectable visual features; a group of graphical elements (e.g., emojis or stickers); or any other suitable indication that signifies a surface, object or other visual feature is active or may become active (Paragraph [0046])) is output on display of device).
Charlton in view of Gada, Agarawala, Ikeda and Muneda does not expressively teach
generate modeling information acquired by 3D modeling the target image object,
generate the second image based on the modeling information,
render the second image in two dimensions,
However, Liu teaches
generate modeling information acquired by 3D modeling the target image object (see Liu Figure 3,training process that generates a 3-D mesh of a subject)
generate a second image based on the modeling information (see Liu Figure 5, training process that uses a nonparametric 3D model to render a 2-D output image),
render the second image in two dimensions (see Liu Figure 5, 2D image is rendered (item 512)),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of selecting a first partial area of a first image to generate a second image, and transmitting the second image to at least one external electronic device for output (as taught in Charlton in view of Gada, Agarawala, Ikeda and Muneda), with generating a 3D model of a target image object to render into two dimensions (as taught in Liu), the motivation being to render a realistic and natural appearance of target object (see Liu Paragraph [0003]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Charlton et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0131878, hereinafter "Charlton") in view of Gada et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0380985, hereinafter “Gada”), Agarawala et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0313059, hereinafter “Agarawala”), Ikeda et al. (JP Pub. No. 2018173829, hereinafter “Ikeda”), Muneda (JP App. No. JPH09146742A) and Shimizu et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0218589, hereinafter "Shimizu").
Regarding Claim 12, Charlton in view of Gada, Agarawala, Ikeda and Muneda teaches all the limitations of Claim 10, but does not expressively teach
The electronic device of claim 10, wherein the fourth image comprises an image in which at least a portion of the first image corresponding to the third area is enlarged.
However, Shimizu teaches
The electronic device of claim 10, wherein the fourth image comprises an image in which at least a portion of the first image corresponding to the third area is enlarged (see Shimizu Paragraph [0072], The enlargement/shrink function is a function that enlarges and shrinks a target of the image. The codec unit is a processing unit that compresses and decompresses the captured image and video).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of selecting a first partial area of a first image to generate a second image, and transmitting the second image to at least one external electronic device for output (as taught in Charlton in view of Gada, Agarawala, Ikeda and Muneda), with enlarging a target area of an image (as taught in Shimizu), the motivation being to automatically bring a focal point to attention of users (see Shimizu Paragraph [0072]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of References Cited for a listing of analogous art.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CARISSA A JONES/Examiner, Art Unit 2691
/DUC NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2691