DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-10, filed 08/24/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 9 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Crossman (US 2008/0249420).
Applicant's arguments regarding claim 21, see page 11, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the tapered section of Wang is not taught to be “configured to reduce the risk of damage to the inner wall of a blood vessel during catheter advancement” as recited in the amended claim. Examiner respectfully disagrees because Wang teaches in [0061] that angled edge 358 (interpreted as the tapered section) may aid in navigating guide extension catheter 314 and/or guide catheter 10 and/or a therapeutic medical device past lesion 54. The process of aiding in navigating the device and the accompanied catheter 10 past a lesion of the blood vessel is interpreted as meeting the limitations of being configured to reduce the risk of damage to the inner wall of the blood vessel because the shape of the tapering provides a smoother transition for the device to pass by the lesion. Therefore, applicants’ argument is not found to be persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Crossman (US 2008/0249420).
Regarding claim 1, Crossman discloses a catheter advancement assistance device (11, FIG 1A and 1D, [0036-0039]) the device comprising: (a) an elongate shaft (12, [0036]); and (b) an insertion body (17, FIG 1D) fixedly attached to a distal end of the elongate shaft (FIG 1D), the insertion body comprising: (i) a guidewire lumen ([0036] discloses “distal tip 17 having an orifice 19 defined by the lumen of the catheter therein”. Therefore there is also a lumen passing through 17 in order to reach the orifice 19. [0033 and 0052] mention the use of a guide wire) defined through the insertion body; (ii) a distal opening (19) defined in a distal end of the insertion body (FIG 1D, [0036]), the distal opening in fluidic communication with the guidewire lumen (Because 19 is the opening defined by the lumen); (iii) a radially symmetrical tapered section (See conical shaped tapering in FIG 1D, [0037-0038])) disposed at the distal end of the insertion body (FIG 1D) such that the tapered section is disposed around the distal opening (See conical tapered section extending around and immediately proximal from opening 19) and extends symmetrically and proximally from the distal end of the insertion body (FIG 1D); and (iv) an outer diameter sized such that the insertion body is positionable through a catheter (Examiner notes that as written, a catheter is not positively recited in the claim. However, FIG 6A demonstrates a catheter 241 through which the device is at least sized and configured to be inserted through, [0047]); and an attachment structure (20) associated with a proximal portion of the elongate shaft (FIG 1A, [0036]).
Regarding claim 2, Crossman discloses the guidewire lumen has an inner diameter that is larger than an outer diameter of a standard guidewire such that the guidewire lumen is sized to allow fluid to flow through the lumen when the standard guidewire is positioned therein ([0052] discloses passing a wire or other device through the catheter. The ability to freely move a wire or other device through the guidewire lumen shows that the lumen is at least configured to be used with a small enough guidewire that it would allow fluid to flow therethrough if the device were used in such a manner).
Regarding claim 5, Crossman discloses the attachment structure is coupleable to a proximal portion of the catheter (Interface member 20 is at least configured to be coupled to a proximal portion of a catheter in at least some way, for example by abutting a proximal opening of the catheter. Examiner notes the catheter is not a positively recited element of the claim).
Regarding claim 6, Crossman discloses the attachment structure is coupleable to a valve of the catheter (Interface member 20 is at least configured to be coupled to a valve of a catheter in at least some way, for example by abutting a hemostatic valve proximal opening of the catheter. Examiner notes the catheter and the valve are not positively recited elements of the claim).
Regarding claim 7, Crossman discloses the device is positionable within the catheter such that at least a portion of the tapered section is disposed out of a distal end of the catheter (For example as is shown in FIG 6B, if the device of FIG 1D were inserted through exemplary catheter 241, as suggested in [0047]).
Regarding claim 8, Crossman discloses the device is positioned within the catheter such that the device reduces a razor effect while the catheter is advanced through a blood vessel (The device is at least configured such that the tapered section can align with the distal opening of a catheter and therefore reduce the razor effect to some degree).
Claims 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (US 2014/0018773).
Regarding claim 21, Wang et al. discloses a catheter advancement assistance device (14, FIG 3, [0036-0037], specifically the embodiment of 114, FIG 5-13) the device comprising: (a) an insertion body (126, FIG 5, [0048]) comprising: (i) a distal opening (362) defined in a distal end of the insertion body (FIG 17-18); (ii) a tapered section (358, FIGs 17-18) disposed around the distal opening (FIG 17-18) and extending proximally from the distal end (360) of the insertion body ([0060] discloses that tip member 356 can be utilized with any of the guide extension catheters disclosed herein, such as 114. FIG 18 shows a section which tapers from the distal end of the insertion body), wherein the tapered section is configured to reduce the risk of damage to the inner wall of a blood vessel during catheter advancement ([0061] discloses “angled edge 358 and lip 360 may aid in navigating guide extension catheter 314 (and/or guide catheter 10 and/or a therapeutic medical device) past lesion 54”) (iii) a guidewire lumen (Lumen through which 50 passes, FIGs 9-13) defined through the insertion body, wherein the guidewire lumen is substantially coaxial with a longitudinal axis of the insertion body (The lumen extends along the axis of the device through which the guidewire passes); and (iv) an outer diameter sized such that the insertion body is positionable through a catheter (10, FIGs 8, 11, [0051, 0054]); (b) an elongate proximal shaft (16/116) fixedly attached to a proximal portion of the insertion body such that the elongate proximal shaft is non-coaxial with the longitudinal axis of the insertion body (FIGs 4 and 5); and (c) an attachment structure (24, FIG 3, [0038]) associated with a proximal portion of the elongate shaft (FIG 3), wherein the attachment structure is coupleable to a proximal portion of the catheter (Hub 24 is at least configured to be coupled to a proximal portion of a catheter in at least some way, for example by abutting a proximal opening of the catheter. Examiner notes the catheter is not a positively recited element of the claim), wherein the device is configured to be positioned through the catheter such that a portion of the tapered section is disposed out of a distal end of the catheter (FIG 8 and 11 show the insertion body partially extending from the distal end of a catheter 10. The insertion body is at least configured to be further advanced such that the tapered section extends form the distal end as well), thereby reducing or eliminating a razor effect while the catheter is advanced distally through a blood vessel (The device is at least configured such that the tapered section can align with the distal opening of the catheter and therefore reduce the razor effect to some degree).
Regarding claims 22-23, Wang et al. discloses at least one visualization marker associated with the device and disposed on the insertion body ([0040] discloses the radiopaque material on the distal sheath 26, equivalent to 126).
Regarding claim 24, Wang et al. discloses the attachment structure is coupleable to a valve of the catheter (Hub 24 is at least configured to be coupled to a valve of a vascular catheter in at least some way, for example by abutting a hemostatic valve proximal opening of the catheter. Examiner notes the catheter and the valve are not positively recited elements of the claim).
Regarding claim 25, Wang et al. discloses the guidewire lumen has a diameter ranging from about 0.01 inches to about 0.05 inches ([0051] discloses an outer diameter of the insertion body being 0.03 to 0.10 inches and having a wall thickness of 0.001 to 0.010 inches, resulting in an inner diameter, or lumen diameter of 0.029 to 0.09 inches which overlaps the claimed range with sufficient specificity).
Regarding claim 26, Wang et al. discloses the guidewire lumen has an inner diameter that is larger than an outer diameter of a standard guidewire such that the guidewire lumen is sized to allow fluid to flow through the lumen when the standard guidewire is positioned therein (FIG 10 and 12 show guidewire 50 received within the lumen such that substantial space surrounding the guidewire is provided, therefore allowing fluid to flow therethrough if the device were used in such a manner).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 2014/0018773) in view of Crossman (US 2008/0249420).
Regarding claim 1, Wang et al. discloses a vascular catheter advancement assistance device (14, FIG 3, [0036-0037], specifically the embodiment of 114, FIG 5-13) the device comprising: (a) an elongate shaft (16/116); (b) an insertion body (126, FIG 5, [0048]) fixedly attached to a distal end of the elongate shaft (FIG 5), the insertion body comprising: (i) a guidewire lumen (Lumen through which 50 passes, FIGs 9-13) defined through the insertion body; (ii) a distal opening (362) defined in a distal end of the insertion body (FIG 17-18), the distal opening in fluidic communication with the guidewire lumen (FIG 19); (iii) a tapered section (358, FIGs 17-18) disposed at the distal end (360) of the insertion body ([0060] discloses that tip member 356 can be utilized with any of the guide extension catheters disclosed herein, such as 114. FIG 18 shows a section which tapers from the distal end of the insertion body) such that the tapered section is disposed around the distal opening (FIG 17-18) and extends proximally from the distal end of the insertion body (FIG 17); and (iv) an outer diameter sized such that the insertion body is positionable through a catheter (10, FIGs 8, 11, [0051, 0054]); and (c) an attachment structure (24, FIG 3, [0038]) associated with a proximal portion of the elongate shaft (FIG 3).
Wang is silent regarding the tapered section of the insertion body being radially symmetrical.
However, Crossman teaches in the same field of endeavor a catheter advancement assistance device (11, FIG 1A and 1D, [0036-0039]) the device comprising and atraumatic distal tip insertion body comprising: (i) a guidewire lumen ([0036] discloses “distal tip 17 having an orifice 19 defined by the lumen of the catheter therein”. Therefore, there is also a lumen passing through 17 in order to reach the orifice 19. [0033 and 0052] mention the use of a guide wire) defined through the insertion body; (ii) a distal opening (19) defined in a distal end of the insertion body (FIG 1C or 1D, [0036]), the distal opening in fluidic communication with the guidewire lumen (Because 19 is the opening defined by the lumen); (iii) a radially symmetrical tapered section (See conical shaped tapering in FIG 1C and 1D, [0037-0038])) disposed at the distal end of the insertion body (FIG 1C or 1D) such that the tapered section is disposed around the distal opening (See conical tapered section extending around and immediately proximal from opening 19) and extends symmetrically and proximally from the distal end of the insertion body (FIG 1D). Crossman further discloses that there are many shapes which would be suitable for forming the atraumatic tip of the insertion body, including tapered, beveled, chamfered, or graduated ([0037]) in a manner to provide a blunt and non-traumatic effect or interaction when the catheter shaft or portion thereof and/or distal tip are advanced, translated, turned or moved through the vasculature ([0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the shape of the tapered section of Wang from the chamfered edge to the radially symmetrical taper extending proximally and symmetrically from the distal end/distal opening, as taught by Crossman, because both shapes are disclosed as equivalent structures for providing an atraumatic shape for navigating vasculature and substitution of one for the other would have resulted in the predictable result of allowing for the insertion body to be easily advanced to a target treatment site. KSR, 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 2, Wang et al./Crossman discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1. Wang further discloses the guidewire lumen has an inner diameter that is larger than an outer diameter of a standard guidewire such that the guidewire lumen is sized to allow fluid to flow through the lumen when the standard guidewire is positioned therein (FIG 10 and 12 show guidewire 50 received within the lumen such that substantial space surrounding the guidewire is provided, therefore allowing fluid to flow therethrough if the device were used in such a manner).
Regarding claim 3, Wang et al./Crossman discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1. Wang further discloses at least one visualization marker associated with the device ([0040-0041, 0068]).
Regarding claim 4, Wang et al./Crossman discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 3. Wang further discloses the at least one visualization marker is disposed on the insertion body ([0040] discloses the radiopaque material on the distal sheath 26, equivalent to 126).
Regarding claim 5, Wang et al./Crossman discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1. Wang further discloses the attachment structure is coupleable to a proximal portion of the catheter (Hub 24 is at least configured to be coupled to a proximal portion of a catheter in at least some way, for example by abutting a proximal opening of the catheter. Examiner notes the catheter is not a positively recited element of the claim).
Regarding claim 6, Wang et al./Crossman discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 5. Wang further discloses the attachment structure is coupleable to a valve of the catheter (Hub 24 is at least configured to be coupled to a valve of a catheter in at least some way, for example by abutting a hemostatic valve proximal opening of the catheter. Examiner notes the catheter and the valve are not positively recited elements of the claim).
Regarding claim 7, Wang et al./Crossman discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1. Wang further discloses the device is positionable within the catheter such that at least a portion of the tapered section is disposed out of a distal end of the catheter ([0061] discloses "while guide catheter 10 is not shown, it can be appreciated that distal sheath 326 (and therefore the tapered section as modified) may extend outer from distal end 12 of guide catheter 10").
Regarding claim 8, Wang et al./Crossman discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 7. Wang further discloses the device is positioned within the catheter such that the device reduces a razor effect while the catheter is advanced through a blood vessel (The device is at least configured such that the tapered section can align with the distal opening of the catheter and therefore reduce the razor effect to some degree).
Regarding claim 9, Wang et al. discloses a vascular catheter advancement assistance device (14, FIG 3, [0036-0037], specifically the embodiment of 114, FIG 5-13) the device comprising: (a) an insertion body (126, FIG 5, [0048]) comprising: (i) a guidewire lumen (Lumen through which 50 passes, FIGs 9-13) defined through the insertion body, wherein the guidewire lumen is substantially coaxial with a longitudinal axis of the insertion body (The lumen extends along the axis of the device through which the guidewire passes) and has a diameter ranging from about 0.01 inches to about 0.05 inches ([0051] discloses an outer diameter of the insertion body being 0.03 to 0.10 inches and having a wall thickness of 0.001 to 0.010 inches, resulting in an inner diameter, or lumen diameter of 0.029 to 0.09 inches which overlaps the claimed range with sufficient specificity); (ii) a distal opening (362) defined in a distal end of the insertion body (FIG 17-18), the distal opening in fluidic communication with the guidewire lumen (FIG 19); (iii) a tapered section (358, FIGs 17-18) disposed at the distal end (360) of the insertion body ([0060] discloses that tip member 356 can be utilized with any of the guide extension catheters disclosed herein, such as 114. FIG 18 shows a section which tapers from the distal end of the insertion body) such that the tapered section is disposed around the distal opening (FIG 17-18) and extends symmetrically and proximally from the distal end of the insertion body (See annotated FIG 17 above which shows an axis along which the tapered section is symmetrical); and (iii) an outer diameter sized such that the insertion body is positionable through a vascular catheter (10, FIGs 8, 11, [0051, 0054]); and (b) an elongate proximal shaft (16/116) fixedly attached to a proximal portion of the insertion body such that the elongate proximal shaft is non-coaxial with the longitudinal axis of the insertion body (FIGs 4 and 5), wherein the device is configured to be positioned through the vascular catheter such that a portion of the tapered section is disposed out of a distal end of the vascular catheter (FIG 8 and 11 show the insertion body partially extending from the distal end of a catheter 10. The insertion body is at least configured to be further advanced such that the tapered section extends form the distal end as well), thereby reducing or eliminating a razor effect while the vascular catheter is advanced distally through a blood vessel (The device is at least configured such that the tapered section can align with the distal opening of the catheter and therefore reduce the razor effect to some degree).
Wang is silent regarding the tapered section of the insertion body being radially symmetrical.
However, Crossman teaches in the same field of endeavor a catheter advancement assistance device (11, FIG 1A and 1D, [0036-0039]) the device comprising and atraumatic distal tip insertion body comprising: (i) a guidewire lumen ([0036] discloses “distal tip 17 having an orifice 19 defined by the lumen of the catheter therein”. Therefore, there is also a lumen passing through 17 in order to reach the orifice 19. [0033 and 0052] mention the use of a guide wire) defined through the insertion body; (ii) a distal opening (19) defined in a distal end of the insertion body (FIG 1C or 1D, [0036]), the distal opening in fluidic communication with the guidewire lumen (Because 19 is the opening defined by the lumen); (iii) a radially symmetrical tapered section (See conical shaped tapering in FIG 1C and 1D, [0037-0038])) disposed at the distal end of the insertion body (FIG 1C or 1D) such that the tapered section is disposed around the distal opening (See conical tapered section extending around and immediately proximal from opening 19) and extends symmetrically and proximally from the distal end of the insertion body (FIG 1D). Crossman further discloses that there are many shapes which would be suitable for forming the atraumatic tip of the insertion body, including tapered, beveled, chamfered, or graduated ([0037]) in a manner to provide a blunt and non-traumatic effect or interaction when the catheter shaft or portion thereof and/or distal tip are advanced, translated, turned or moved through the vasculature ([0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the shape of the tapered section of Wang from the chamfered edge to the radially symmetrical taper extending proximally and symmetrically from the distal end/distal opening, as taught by Crossman, because both shapes are disclosed as equivalent structures for providing an atraumatic shape for navigating vasculature and substitution of one for the other would have resulted in the predictable result of allowing for the insertion body to be easily advanced to a target treatment site. KSR, 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 10, Wang et al./Crossman discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 9. Wang further discloses an attachment structure (24, FIG 3, [0038]) associated with a proximal portion of the elongate shaft (FIG 3).
Regarding claim 11, Wang et al./Crossman discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 10. Wang further discloses the attachment structure is coupleable to a proximal portion of the vascular catheter (Hub 24 is at least configured to be coupled to a proximal portion of a catheter in at least some way, for example by abutting a proximal opening of the catheter. Examiner notes the catheter is not a positively recited element of the claim).
Regarding claim 12, Wang et al./Crossman discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 11. Wang further discloses the attachment structure is coupleable to a valve of the catheter (Hub 24 is at least configured to be coupled to a valve of a vascular catheter in at least some way, for example by abutting a hemostatic valve proximal opening of the catheter. Examiner notes the catheter and the valve are not positively recited elements of the claim).
Regarding claim 13, Wang et al./Crossman discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 9. Wang further discloses at least one visualization marker disposed on the insertion body ([0040] discloses the radiopaque material on the distal sheath 26, equivalent to 126).
Regarding claim 14, Wang et al./Crossman discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 9. Wang further discloses the guidewire lumen has an inner diameter that is larger than an outer diameter of a standard guidewire such that the guidewire lumen is sized to allow fluid to flow through the lumen when the standard guidewire is positioned therein (FIG 10 and 12 show guidewire 50 received within the lumen such that substantial space surrounding the guidewire is provided, therefore allowing fluid to flow therethrough if the device were used in such a manner).
Conclusion
/BROOKE LABRANCHE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771