DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-9, filed 09/03/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 9, and 21 under 35 USC 102 in view of Wang have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of an alternative embodiment of Wang.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 and 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 2014/0018773).
Regarding claim 1, Wang et al. discloses a catheter advancement assistance device (14, FIG 3, [0036-0037], specifically the embodiment of 114, FIG 5-13) the device comprising: (a) an elongate shaft (16/116); and (b) an insertion body (126, FIG 5, [0048]) fixedly attached to a distal end of the elongate shaft (FIG 5), the insertion body comprising: (i) a tapered section (358, FIGs 17-18) disposed at and extending proximally from a distal end (360) of the insertion body ([0060] discloses that tip member 356 can be utilized with any of the guide extension catheters disclosed herein, such as 114. FIG 18 shows a section which tapers from the distal end of the insertion body), (ii) a guidewire lumen (Lumen through which 50 passes, FIGs 9-13) defined through the insertion body; (ii) an outer diameter sized such that the insertion body is positionable through a catheter (10, FIGs 8, 11, [0051, 0054]); and an attachment structure (24, FIG 3, [0038]) associated with a proximal portion of the elongate shaft (FIG 3).
Regarding claim 2, Wang et al. discloses the guidewire lumen has an inner diameter that is larger than an outer diameter of a standard guidewire such that the guidewire lumen is sized to allow fluid to flow through the lumen when the standard guidewire is positioned therein (FIG 10 and 12 show guidewire 50 received within the lumen such that substantial space surrounding the guidewire is provided, therefore allowing fluid to flow therethrough if the device were used in such a manner).
Regarding claim 3, Wang et al. discloses at least one visualization marker associated with the device ([0040-0041, 0068]).
Regarding claim 4, Wang et al. discloses the at least one visualization marker is disposed on the insertion body ([0040] discloses the radiopaque material on the distal sheath 26, equivalent to 126).
Regarding claim 5, Wang et al. discloses the attachment structure is coupleable to a proximal portion of the catheter (Hub 24 is at least configured to be coupled to a proximal portion of a catheter in at least some way, for example by abutting a proximal opening of the catheter. Examiner notes the catheter is not a positively recited element of the claim).
Regarding claim 6, Wang et al. discloses the attachment structure is coupleable to a valve of the catheter (Hub 24 is at least configured to be coupled to a valve of a catheter in at least some way, for example by abutting a hemostatic valve proximal opening of the catheter. Examiner notes the catheter and the valve are not positively recited elements of the claim).
Regarding claim 7, Wang et al. discloses the device is positionable within the catheter such that at least a portion of the tapered section is disposed out of a distal end of the catheter ([0061] discloses “while guide catheter 10 is not shown, it can be appreciated that distal sheath 326 (and therefore the tapered section) may extend outer from distal end 12 of guide catheter 10”).
Regarding claim 8, Wang et al. discloses the device is positioned within the catheter such that the device reduces a razor effect while the catheter is advanced through a blood vessel (The device is at least configured such that the tapered section can align with the distal opening of the catheter and therefore reduce the razor effect to some degree).
Regarding claim 9, Wang et al. discloses a vascular catheter advancement assistance device (14, FIG 3, [0036-0037], specifically the embodiment of 114, FIG 5-13) the device comprising: (a) an insertion body (126, FIG 5, [0048]) comprising: (i) a tapered section (358, FIGs 17-18) disposed at and extending proximally from a distal end (360) of the insertion body ([0060] discloses that tip member 356 can be utilized with any of the guide extension catheters disclosed herein, such as 114. FIG 18 shows a section which tapers from the distal end of the insertion body), (ii) a guidewire lumen (Lumen through which 50 passes, FIGs 9-13) defined through the insertion body, wherein the guidewire lumen is substantially coaxial with a longitudinal axis of the insertion body (The lumen extends along the axis of the device through which the guidewire passes) and has a diameter ranging from about 0.01 inches to about 0.05 inches ([0051] discloses an outer diameter of the insertion body being 0.03 to 0.10 inches and having a wall thickness of 0.001 to 0.010 inches, resulting in an inner diameter, or lumen diameter of 0.029 to 0.09 inches which overlaps the claimed range with sufficient specificity); and (iii) an outer diameter sized such that the insertion body is positionable through a vascular catheter (10, FIGs 8, 11, [0051, 0054]); and (b) an elongate proximal shaft (16/116) fixedly attached to a proximal portion of the insertion body such that the elongate proximal shaft is non-coaxial with the longitudinal axis of the insertion body (FIGs 4 and 5), wherein the device is configured to be positioned through the vascular catheter such that a portion of the tapered section is disposed out of a distal end of the vascular catheter (FIG 8 and 11 show the insertion body partially extending from the distal end of a catheter 10. The insertion body is at least configured to be further advanced such that the tapered section extends form the distal end as well), thereby reducing or eliminating a razor effect while the vascular catheter is advanced distally through a blood vessel (The device is at least configured such that the tapered section can align with the distal opening of the catheter and therefore reduce the razor effect to some degree).
Regarding claim 10, Wang et al. discloses an attachment structure (24, FIG 3, [0038]) associated with a proximal portion of the elongate shaft (FIG 3).
Regarding claim 11, Wang et al. discloses the attachment structure is coupleable to a proximal portion of the vascular catheter (Hub 24 is at least configured to be coupled to a proximal portion of a catheter in at least some way, for example by abutting a proximal opening of the catheter. Examiner notes the catheter is not a positively recited element of the claim).
Regarding claim 12, Wang et al. discloses the attachment structure is coupleable to a valve of the catheter (Hub 24 is at least configured to be coupled to a valve of a vascular catheter in at least some way, for example by abutting a hemostatic valve proximal opening of the catheter. Examiner notes the catheter and the valve are not positively recited elements of the claim).
Regarding claim 13, Wang et al. discloses at least one visualization marker disposed on the insertion body ([0040] discloses the radiopaque material on the distal sheath 26, equivalent to 126).
Regarding claim 14, Wang et al. discloses the guidewire lumen has an inner diameter that is larger than an outer diameter of a standard guidewire such that the guidewire lumen is sized to allow fluid to flow through the lumen when the standard guidewire is positioned therein (FIG 10 and 12 show guidewire 50 received within the lumen such that substantial space surrounding the guidewire is provided, therefore allowing fluid to flow therethrough if the device were used in such a manner).
Regarding claim 21, Wang et al. discloses a catheter advancement assistance device (14, FIG 3, [0036-0037], specifically the embodiment of 114, FIG 5-13) the device comprising: (a) an insertion body (126, FIG 5, [0048]) comprising: (i) a tapered section (358, FIGs 17-18) disposed at and extending proximally from a distal end (360) of the insertion body ([0060] discloses that tip member 356 can be utilized with any of the guide extension catheters disclosed herein, such as 114. FIG 18 shows a section which tapers from the distal end of the insertion body), (ii) a guidewire lumen (Lumen through which 50 passes, FIGs 9-13) defined through the insertion body, wherein the guidewire lumen is substantially coaxial with a longitudinal axis of the insertion body (The lumen extends along the axis of the device through which the guidewire passes); and (iii) an outer diameter sized such that the insertion body is positionable through a catheter (10, FIGs 8, 11, [0051, 0054]); (b) an elongate proximal shaft (16/116) fixedly attached to a proximal portion of the insertion body such that the elongate proximal shaft is non-coaxial with the longitudinal axis of the insertion body (FIGs 4 and 5); and (c) an attachment structure (24, FIG 3, [0038]) associated with a proximal portion of the elongate shaft (FIG 3), wherein the attachment structure is coupleable to a proximal portion of the catheter (Hub 24 is at least configured to be coupled to a proximal portion of a catheter in at least some way, for example by abutting a proximal opening of the catheter. Examiner notes the catheter is not a positively recited element of the claim), wherein the device is configured to be positioned through the catheter such that a portion of the tapered section is disposed out of a distal end of the catheter (FIG 8 and 11 show the insertion body partially extending from the distal end of a catheter 10. The insertion body is at least configured to be further advanced such that the tapered section extends form the distal end as well), thereby reducing or eliminating a razor effect while the catheter is advanced distally through a blood vessel (The device is at least configured such that the tapered section can align with the distal opening of the catheter and therefore reduce the razor effect to some degree).
Regarding claims 22-23, Wang et al. discloses at least one visualization marker associated with the device and disposed on the insertion body ([0040] discloses the radiopaque material on the distal sheath 26, equivalent to 126).
Regarding claim 24, Wang et al. discloses the attachment structure is coupleable to a valve of the catheter (Hub 24 is at least configured to be coupled to a valve of a vascular catheter in at least some way, for example by abutting a hemostatic valve proximal opening of the catheter. Examiner notes the catheter and the valve are not positively recited elements of the claim).
Regarding claim 25, Wang et al. discloses the guidewire lumen has a diameter ranging from about 0.01 inches to about 0.05 inches ([0051] discloses an outer diameter of the insertion body being 0.03 to 0.10 inches and having a wall thickness of 0.001 to 0.010 inches, resulting in an inner diameter, or lumen diameter of 0.029 to 0.09 inches which overlaps the claimed range with sufficient specificity).
Regarding claim 26, Wang et al. discloses the guidewire lumen has an inner diameter that is larger than an outer diameter of a standard guidewire such that the guidewire lumen is sized to allow fluid to flow through the lumen when the standard guidewire is positioned therein (FIG 10 and 12 show guidewire 50 received within the lumen such that substantial space surrounding the guidewire is provided, therefore allowing fluid to flow therethrough if the device were used in such a manner).
Conclusion
/BROOKE LABRANCHE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771