DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 06/09/2023 has been entered. Claims 1-28 are pending in the application.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “eccentric gear formed by the rocker pins 15, 15a” is not clear how the rocker pins form an eccentric gear (page 13) and the drawings do not make up for this deficiency either. Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the eccentric gear formed by the rocker pins 15, 15a must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 5, 13-14, 16, 22-24, and 26-28 are objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 5, the phrase “the pin grooves”, claim 13, “the adjustment piece”, “the rocker pins”, claim 14, “the blade housing", "base body", and "adjustment piece", claim 16, “the clamping piece”, “the adjustment piece”, claim 22, the adjustment piece, the clamping piece, claim 23, the "clamping piece" and the "locking screws", claim 24, “the adjustment piece”, claim 26, “the chamfer”, “the clamping piece”, “the adjustment piece” , claims 27-28, “the clamping piece”, “the adjustment piece” are unclear if these features are part of the eccentric gear system or lack antecedent basis? Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 25 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “coupling between clamping piece and adjustment piece” lacks “a” or “the”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-11, 14, 17-18, 20, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Heule et al. (US 20100166515 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Heule et al. discloses a deburring tool (fig. 1) for deburring bores with a paired arrangement of cutting blades (29, 30) and a rotationally driven tool holder (2), wherein in a blade recess (31) of a blade housing (knife housing 2), the cutting blades (29, 30) are driven opposite one another with radially outwardly pointing conical cutting edges (40, fig. 4), so as to be radially displaceable relative to one another by means of a rotatable rocker (15) arranged in a base body (1) of the tool holder (24), and the rocker (15) is mounted in the tool holder (neck 22 is mounted in tool holder) rotatably about an axial longitudinal axis and is resiliently biased in the axial direction (via spring 12), characterized in that wherein for changing the cutting blades (29, 30), the blade housing (2) is mounted on the rocker (15) and the base body (1), so as to be axially displaceable and fixable ([0041-0069], figs. 1-11).
Regarding claim 7, Heule et al. discloses a deburring tool (fig. 1) for deburring bores with a paired arrangement of cutting blades (29, 30) and a rotationally driven tool holder (2), wherein in a blade recess (31) of a blade housing (knife housing 2), the cutting blades (29, 30) are driven opposite one another with radially outwardly pointing conical cutting edges (40, fig. 4), so as to be radially displaceable relative to one another by means of a rotatable rocker (15) arranged in a base body (1) of the tool holder (24), and the rocker (15) is mounted in the tool holder (neck 22 is mounted in tool holder) rotatably about an axial longitudinal axis and is resiliently biased in the axial direction (via spring 12), characterized in order to set the chamfer size of a bore edge, the radial rotational position of the blade housing (2) relative to the rocker (15) and the base body (1) can be rotated and fastened steplessly (index bolt 6 sets tension [0041-0069], figs. 1-11).
Regarding claim 17, Heule et al. discloses a deburring tool (fig. 1) for deburring bores with a paired arrangement of cutting blades (29, 30) and a rotationally driven tool holder (2), wherein in a blade recess (31) of a blade housing (knife housing 2), the cutting blades (29, 30) are driven opposite one another with radially outwardly pointing conical cutting edges (40, fig. 4), so as to be radially displaceable relative to one another by means of a rotatable rocker (15) arranged in a base body (1) of the tool holder (24), and the rocker (15) is mounted in the tool holder (neck 22 is mounted in tool holder) rotatably about an axial longitudinal axis and is resiliently biased in the axial direction by means of a torsion spring (12), characterized in that wherein for reproducible and process-reliable biasing of the rocker (15), the torsion spring (12) can be biased by radially rotating the shaft (5/8, [0041-0069], figs. 1-11).
Regarding claim 2, Heule et al. discloses the rocker (15) engages with axially directed rocker pins (rocker stud 23) in blade-side pin grooves (bolt groove 43) situated in the upper sides of the cutting blades (29/30), and in that the rocker pins (rocker stud 23) can be disengaged from the blade-side pin grooves (43) by axial displacement of the blade housing (2) on the rocker (15) in order to exchange the blades ([0050-0069], figs. 1-11).
Regarding claims 5-6, Heule et al. discloses for exchangeable connection of the cutting blades (29/30) to the rocker (15), the axial rocker pins (rocker studs 23) are arranged at the lower end of the rocker (15) and interact in a spring-loaded manner with the insertion bevels (42) on the cutting blades (29/30) leading into the pin grooves (43) and each cutting blade (29/30) can be inserted individually into the blade recess (31) in the blade housing (2), and that in the process, the insertion bevels (26) of the cutting blades (29/30) press the rocker (4), spring-loaded in the axial direction of the arrow (31), against a torsion spring (9), and the rocker pins (15, 15a) of the spring-loaded rocker (4) engage in the blade-side pin grooves (25) and fasten the cutting blades (2, 2a) in the radial direction in the blade recess (31) in the blade housing (2).
Regarding claims 8-9 , Heule et al. discloses the rotatable rocker is a rotationally spring-loaded rocker and wherein a stop pin (adjusting screw/bolt 20, [0047], fig. 7-11) of the rocker (15) and a stop pin (stop screw 32) in the base body (1) hold the rotationally spring-loaded rocker (15) in a fixed stop position in the blade housing (2) in one direction of rotation and the torsional force of the torsion spring (12) biases the rocker-side stop pin (adjusting screw/bolt 20) against the stop pin (32) on the base body side in the one-sided stop position of the rocker (15, [0047-0069], figs. 1-11).
Regarding claims 10-11, Heule et al. discloses a cylindrical adjustment piece (tensioning element 4) connected to the base body (1) is detachably coupled at the end face to a cylindrical clamping piece (guide hub 18) and radially inwardly directed locking screws (eccentric tappet 25) are arranged in the base body (1) and adjustably connect the adjustment piece (4) to the base body (1) by means of the clamping piece (28), both detachably and in a fixed state, in order to transmit the cutting forces to the shaft ([0047-0069], figs. 1-11).
Regarding claims 18, Heule et al. discloses the biasing torque of the rocker (15) required for machining different materials is integrated into the connection of the base body (1) and the shaft (5/8) by adjusting the radially acting spring bias of the rocker (12).
Regarding claims 26, Heule et al. discloses the chamfer or deburring size can be set or adjusted, in that when the two tapered locking screws (eccentric tappet 25) arranged in the base body (1) are fixed in associated radially directed conical surfaces (28) arranged in the clamping piece (guide hub 18), the clamping piece (guide hub 18) can be moved into the base body (1) in the axial direction of the arrow (figs. 1-7), thereby tightening the adjustment piece (tensioning element 4) in the axial direction against the base body (1).
Regarding claims 14 and 20, Heule et al. discloses a detachable coupling between a clamping piece (4/9) and hub 18 (5) is formed as a plug-in rotary coupling (11/16/17) and a limiting screw (index bolt 6 sets tension) and markings (index holes 33) are provided on the base body (1) opposite to markings (line/slots) on the adjustment piece (4, fig. 9) to provide scalable and reproducible adjustment of the biasing force of the torsion spring (see figs. 9-11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 3-4, 12-13, 15-16, 19, 21-25, and 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Heule et al. (US 20100166515 A1) in view of Heule (US 7172373 B2) and further in view of Heule (US 5209617 A).
Regarding claims 3-4, 12-13, 15-16, 19, 21-25, and 27-28, Heule et al. discloses a detachable coupling between a clamping piece (4/9) and hub (18) is formed as a plug-in rotary coupling (11/16/17) and a limiting pin/screw (index bolt 6 sets tension) and markings (index holes 33) are provided on the base body (1) opposite to markings (line/slots) on the adjustment piece (4, fig. 9).
Heule et al. fails to explicitly disclose having an adjustment piece, the continuous adjustment of the chamfer size of the bore edge is performed by turning the adjustment piece relative to the base body, and when fastening the adjustment piece by means of the internal clamping piece, the setting made for the chamfer size is fixed, by loosening the locking screws on the base body side, the frictional fit between the base body and the adjustment piece is removed, and in that the cutting blades are radially displaceable and adjustable by turning the blade housing relative to the rocker via the eccentric gear formed by the rocker pins and blade-side pin grooves, in order to limit the maximum adjustment range of the cutting blades, a limiting pin in the adjustment piece engages in a limiting groove in the base body, when the locking screws on the base body side are tightened against the clamping piece, the frictional fit between the adjustment piece and the base body can be restored and the clamping piece is detachably connected to the base body by means of the locking screws and the adjustment piece is connected axially by positive form fit and radially by frictional fit to the base body, and in that the rocker remains mounted rotatably and axially displaceably relative to the blade housing, the adjustment piece and the clamping piece, the form fit of adjustment piece and base body is obtained by means of the clamping piece, such that when these two parts are fastened, no forces occur which act in the direction of rotation in an interfering manner, which would impair the precise adjustment during fastening, and in order to fasten the relative displacement position between the blade housing and the rocker, one or more locking screws are arranged in an adjustment piece and can be placed with their ends on the pin side against the blade housing and a limiting screw is provided, which is arranged in the adjustment piece in the radial direction and engages with its pin-side end in an axially directed limiting groove in the blade housing.
Heule’373 teaches having an adjustment piece (base body 7), the continuous adjustment of the chamfer size of the bore edge is performed by moving the adjustment piece (7) relative to a base body (1), and when fastening the adjustment piece (7) by means of the internal clamping piece (stepped shoulder 8), the setting made for the chamfer size is fixed, by loosening locking screws (4a) on the base body side, when the locking screws (4a) on the base body side are tightened against the clamping piece (8), the frictional fit between the adjustment piece (7) and the base body (1) can be restored.
Heule’9617 teaches having an adjustment piece (2), the continuous adjustment of the chamfer size of the bore edge is performed by moving the adjustment piece (2) relative to a base body (1), and when fastening the adjustment piece (2) by means of the internal clamping piece (3), the setting made for the chamfer size is fixed, by loosening locking screws (8/9 and/or pin 25) on the base body side, the frictional fit between the base body (1) and the adjustment piece (2) is removed, and in that cutting blades (12) are radially displaceable and adjustable by turning a blade housing (3) relative to a rocker (4) via a eccentric gear formed by rocker pins (lug 21/9) and blade-side pin grooves (20), in order to adjust the rotational position of the blade housing (3) in a scaled and reproducible manner, in order to limit the maximum adjustment range of the cutting blades (12), and the clamping piece (3) is detachably connected to the base body (1) by means of the locking screws (8) and the adjustment piece (2) is connected axially by positive form fit and radially by frictional fit to the base body (1), and in that the rocker (4) remains mounted rotatably and axially displaceably relative to the blade housing (3), the adjustment piece (2) and the clamping piece (3), the form fit of adjustment piece (2) and base body (1) is obtained by means of the clamping piece (3), such that when these two parts (1/2) are fastened, no forces occur which act in the direction of rotation in an interfering manner, which would impair the precise adjustment during fastening, and in order to fasten the relative displacement position between the blade housing (3) and the rocker (4), one or more locking screws (8) are arranged in an adjustment piece (2) and can be placed with their ends on the pin side against the blade housing (3) and a limiting screw (25 and/or 8) is provided, which is arranged in the adjustment piece (2) in the radial direction and engages with its pin-side end in an axially directed limiting groove in the blade housing (2/3).
Given the teachings of Heule et al. to have a detachable coupling between a clamping piece and hub formed as a plug-in rotary coupling and a limiting pin/screw index bolt that sets tension with markings, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the detachable coupling assembly with having/including an adjustment piece, the continuous adjustment of the chamfer size of the bore edge is performed by turning the adjustment piece relative to the base body, and when fastening the adjustment piece by means of the internal clamping piece, the setting made for the chamfer size is fixed, by loosening the locking screws on the base body side, the frictional fit between the base body and the adjustment piece is removed, and in that the cutting blades are radially displaceable and adjustable by turning the blade housing relative to the rocker via the eccentric gear formed by the rocker pins and blade-side pin grooves, in order to limit the maximum adjustment range of the cutting blades, a limiting pin in the adjustment piece engages in a limiting groove in the base body, when the locking screws on the base body side are tightened against the clamping piece, the frictional fit between the adjustment piece and the base body can be restored and the clamping piece is detachably connected to the base body by means of the locking screws and the adjustment piece is connected axially by positive form fit and radially by frictional fit to the base body, and in that the rocker remains mounted rotatably and axially displaceably relative to the blade housing, the adjustment piece and the clamping piece, the form fit of adjustment piece and base body is obtained by means of the clamping piece, such that when these two parts are fastened, no forces occur which act in the direction of rotation in an interfering manner, which would impair the precise adjustment during fastening, and in order to fasten the relative displacement position between the blade housing and the rocker, one or more locking screws are arranged in an adjustment piece and can be placed with their ends on the pin side against the blade housing and a limiting screw is provided, which is arranged in the adjustment piece in the radial direction and engages with its pin-side end in an axially directed limiting groove in the blade housing for indexing the deburring tool a selected number of degrees to have precise adjustment of speed/torque, for more precise operation of the tool and more precise action on a workpiece (avoid overshoot/damage to the workpiece) and/or for adjusting the length purposes as taught by Heule’373 and Heule’9617.
Response to Arguments
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., axially non-displaceable rocker, rocker is held in the axial and radial direction) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). As claimed – “rocker is mounted in the tool holder rotatably about an axial longitudinal axis and is resiliently biased in the axial direction” does not preclude the rocker from moving and “resiliently biased” indicates the rocker moves axially. Also, the phrase “eccentric gear formed by the rocker pins 15, 15a” is confusing since an eccentric gear is not a rocker pin.
Also, claims 5, 13-14, 16, 22-24, and 26-28 are not clear if they are part of the eccentric gear. Do the rocker pins pivot as typical rocker pins? In general, the claims, specification, and drawings are mismatched resulting in confusion.
Conclusion
Additional prior art considered pertinent: see form 892.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT F LONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731