Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the recitation “opposite the direction of insertion a portion of the non-linear” (lines 27-28) is suggested to be replaced with -- opposite the direction of insertion, and a portion of the non-linear --. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: the recitation “and second edge” in line 3 should be replaced with -- and the second strap edge --. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 7-12, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As amended, claim 1 requires two things at once: the non-linear contact surface profile is “configured to nest within” the non-linear holding surface, and “a portion of the non-linear contact surface profile abuts only a portion of the non-linear holding surface profile”. The specification describes these as alternative engagement modes of different embodiments, not as features of one single embodiment. Nesting is described for embodiment 200, which has concave to concave profiles; the “nest” feature is defined as “direct complementary contact of the surface profiles, where each of the surface profiles substantially engage one another” so that holding forces are “evenly distributed across the holding surfaces” (in paragraph [0041] and figure 9). Partial contact is described for embodiment 100, which has convex to concave profiles. There, “only portions of the engagement members are in contact engagement,” and holding forces are concentrated at region A (paragraph [0036] and figure 7). The disclosure presents the two engagements as alternatives in paragraphs [0023] and [0045]-[0049]. Therefore, the specification does not reasonably convey possession of a single apparatus in which the contact profile both nests within the holding profile, with complete engagement and even distributed forces, and abuts only a portion of it, with concentrated forces. Claims 2, 7-12, and 27 are provided with the same deficiency.
Claims 1-2, 7-12, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the requirement that the profiles “nest” (substantially engage) conflicts with the other requirement that only a portion abuts only a portion, thus making it unclear which engagement condition the claim covers. For purpose of examination, it is assumed that the non-linear contact surface profile is received within the concavity of the non-linear holding surface profile (nest within) and the actual contact between them occurs over only a portion of each profile.
Claims 2, 7-12, and 27 depend from claim 1 and therefore are also rejected under this section.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 7-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shely, US 5,295,285 in view of Harsley, US 2016/0001943.
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Shely discloses an object bundling apparatus comprising: a body (22) having an opening (28) extending through the body (22), the opening (28) defining an insertion chamber having a channel wall (boundary wall defining the opening 28), a first shoulder (54), and a second shoulder (54) opposite the first shoulder; a biasing member (56) extending (hinged) from the channel wall into the insertion chamber (figure 4); at least one body engagement member (58) disposed on the biasing member (figure 4), the at least one body engagement member (58) comprising a holding surface (engagement face of 58) laterally bound by a first side of the at least one body engagement member (58) and a second side of the at least one body engagement member (see the opposing lateral sides of 56 for the ‘first and second sides’ of 58), the holding surface (face of 58) positioned laterally between the first shoulder and the second shoulder (member 56 received in a channel 38 between the shoulders 54); and, a strap (24) adapted to be passed through the opening (28) in a direction of insertion, the strap (24) comprising: a first free end (26) and a terminal second end (attached to the body), the strap (24) made integral with the body (22) at the terminal second end (figures 1-2) and forming a unitary object bundling apparatus (figures 1-2); and a bottom surface (front side of the strap; figure 1) which includes a recessed medial portion (38) laterally bound by a first trap edge (36) and a second strap edge (36), wherein the strap (24) includes a plurality of strap engagement members (44) along the bottom surface (the front side; see figures 1 and 5), each of the plurality of strap engagement members (44) comprising a contact surface (52) laterally bound by the first strap edge (36) and the second strap edge (36), when the strap (24) is inserted in the insertion chamber, the bottom surface (front side) is supported on the first shoulder (54) and the second shoulder (54) and the strap medial portion (38) overlays (register over) the biasing member (56), and wherein the strap engagement members and body engagement member ratchet into firmer locking engagement upon advancement of the strap in a direction opposite to the direction of insertion (pawl teeth 58 biting more firmly into rack teeth 44 under holding load).
Shely does not explicitly disclose the holding surface (of the at least one body engagement member) having a non-linear surface profile (bounded by the first and second sides) and the contact surface (of the plurality of strap engagement members) having a non-linear surface profile extending laterally across the strap between the first strap edge and the second strap edge, wherein the non-linear contact surface profile of the strap (24) is configured to nest within the non-linear holding surface profile of the body (22) upon advancement of the strap (24) in the direction opposite the direction of insertion, and wherein a portion of the non-linear contact surface profile abuts only a portion of the non-linear holding surface profile upon advancement of the strap in a direction opposite the direction of insertion.
Harsley teaches a holding surface (rearward face of rung 13) laterally bound by a first side and a second side (portions 29 where rung 13 meets side rails 2), the holding surface having a non-linear surface profile (chevron/curved profile of rung 13; figures 3, 18, 19b, and 22) bound by the first side and the second side; a contact surface (leading face of latching rung 17) laterally bound by a first strap edge and a second strap edge (side rails 2), the contact surface having a non-linear surface profile (chevron profile of rung 17 with its apex; figures 19b and 22) extending laterally across the strap between the first strap edge and the second strap edge; wherein the non-linear contact surface profile (of 17) is configured to nest within the non-linear holding surface profile (received within the concavity of rung 13) upon advancement of the strap in a direction opposite the direction of insertion (when pulled in reverse, “the rungs engage to form a co-operative latch”; figures 15 and 19b; paragraphs [0045] and [0070]); and wherein a portion of the non-linear contact surface profile (apex region of 17) abuts only a portion of the non-linear holding surface profile (central region of 13) upon advancement in the direction opposite the direction of insertion. The aperture-bounding rungs 13, 14 are “vertically flatten and/or laterally straighten” ([0084]), while the rungs of the threaded portion “laterally compress” ([0086]). The holding profile of rung 13 is therefore shallower than the chevron contact profile of latching rung 17, so the apex of 17 bears against the central region of 13 while the angled arms of the two rungs remain spaced apart (figures 19b and 22).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the holding surface of the engagement member (58) and the contact surfaces of strap engagement members (44) of Shely to have non-linear surface profiles, with the contact profile received within the holding profile an engaging only a portion of it, as taught by Harsley, in order to increase load capacity, reduce wear, improve vibration resistance, and self-center the strap within the insertion chamber, since the apex of the contact profile seats at the center of the holding profile and resists lateral shifting of the strap.
Regarding claim 2, as best understood, the combination of Shely and Harsley teaches the object bundling apparatus of claim 1. Harsley further teaches wherein the holding surface of the at least one body engagement member (5) has an arc-shaped surface profile (curved rungs 3; figures 10, 11, and 13).
Regarding claim 7, as best understood, the combination of Shely and Harsley teaches the object bundling apparatus of claim 1. Harsley further teaches wherein the holding surface of the at least one body engagement member has a chevron-shaped surface profile (chevron rung 13; see figures 3, 15 and 19b) extending between the first side (29) and second side (29).
Regarding claim 8, as best understood, the combination of Shely and Harsley teaches the object bundling apparatus of claim 7. Harsley further teaches wherein the chevron-shaped surface profile is defined by angled lateral portions (7) extending between the first side (29) and second side (29).
Regarding claim 9, as best understood, the combination of Shely and Harsley teaches the object bundling apparatus of claim 7. Harsley further teaches wherein the contact surface of the plurality of strap engagement members has a chevron-shaped surface profile (rung 17; see figures 15 and 19b) extending between the first strap edge (on one rail 2) and second strap edge (on the other rail 2; see figure 15).
Regarding claim 10, as best understood, the combination of Shely and Harsley teaches the object bundling apparatus of claim 9. Harsley further teaches wherein the chevron-shaped surface profile (see figure 3) is defined by angled lateral portions (7) extending between the first strap edge (on the one rail 2) and second strap edge (on the other rail 2).
Regarding claim 11, as best understood, the combination of Shely and Harsley teaches the object bundling apparatus of claim 1. Harsley further teaches wherein the holding surface of the at least one body engagement member has a surface profile defined by a flat medial portion (64) and angled lateral portions (7) extending from the flat medial portion (64) to the first side (29) and second side (29).
Regarding claim 12, as best understood, the combination of Shely and Harsley teaches the object bundling apparatus of claim 11. Harsley further teaches wherein the contact surface of the plurality of strap engagement members has a surface profile defined by a flat medial portion (64) and angled lateral portions (7) extending from the flat medial portion (64) to the first strap edge (on one rail 2) and second strap edge (on the other rail 2).
Regarding claim 13, Shely discloses an object bundling apparatus comprising: a body (22) having an opening (28) extending through the body (22), the opening (28) defining an insertion chamber having a channel wall (boundary wall defining the opening 28), a first shoulder (54), and a second shoulder (54) opposite the first shoulder; a biasing member (56) extending (hinged) from the channel wall into the insertion chamber (figure 4); at least one body engagement member (58) disposed on the biasing member (56), the at least one body engagement member (58) comprising a holding surface (engagement face of 58) laterally bound by a first side of the at least one body engagement member (58) and a second side of the at least one body engagement member (58; see the opposing lateral sides of 56), the holding surface (of 58) positioned laterally between the first shoulder and the second shoulder (member 56 received in a channel 38 between the shoulders 54); and, a strap (24) adapted to be passed through the opening (28) in a direction of insertion, the strap (24) comprising: a first free end (26) and a terminal second end (attached to the body), the strap (24) made integral with the body (22) at the terminal second end (figures 1-2) and forming a unitary object bundling apparatus (figures 1-2); and a bottom surface (front side of the strap; figure 1) which includes a recessed medial portion (38) laterally bound by a first trap edge (36) and a second strap edge (36), wherein the strap (24) includes a plurality of strap engagement members (44) along the bottom surface (the front side; see figures 1 and 5), each of the plurality of strap engagement members (44) comprising a contact surface (52) laterally bound by the first strap edge (36) and the second strap edge (36), the contact surface (52) having a surface profile extending laterally across the strap (24) between the first strap edge (36) and second strap edge (36), when the strap (24) is inserted in the insertion chamber, the bottom surface (front side) is supported on the first shoulder (54) and the second shoulder (54) and the strap medial portion (38) overlays (register over) the biasing member (56), and the contact surface profile of the strap (24) is configured to abut against the holding surface profile (of the engagement member) of the body (22) upon advancement of the strap (24) in a direction opposite the direction of insertion.
Shely does not explicitly disclose the holding surface having a non-linear surface profile and the contact surface having a non-linear surface profile extending laterally across the strap (24) between the first strap edge and second strap edge, and wherein the non-linear contact surface profile of the strap (24) is configured to abut against the non-linear holding surface profile of the body (22) upon advancement of the strap (24) in the direction opposite the direction of insertion.
Harsley teaches a holding surface a holding surface (rearward face of rung 13) having a non-linear surface profile (chevron/curved), and a contact surface (leading face of rung 17) having a non-linear surface profile extending laterally across the strap between the first strap edge and the second strap edge (rails 2), wherein the non-linear contact surface profile is configured to abut against the non-linear holding surface profile (rung 17 latches against the rear rung 13; abutting against each other wherein apex of 17 in direct contact with a portion of 13, figures 19b and 22).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the holding surface (face of 58) and contact surfaces (52) of Shely to have non-linear surface profiles that abut against one another as taught by Harsley in order to increase load capacity, reduce wear (due to the camming interaction), improve vibration resistance (since the curved surfaces can draw the engagement pawl member deeper into the strap as tension increases), and self-center the strap (as set forth in claim 1).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Shely and Harsley teaches the object bundling apparatus of claim 13. Harsley further teaches wherein the holding surface of the at least one body engagement member has an arc-shaped surface profile (curved rungs; see figures 10, 11, and 13) between the first side (29) and the second side (29).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Shely and Harsley teaches the object bundling apparatus of claim 14. Harsley further teaches wherein the holding surface of the at least one body engagement member has a concave surface profile relative to the direction of insertion (receiving side of rung 13; see figures 14 and 19b).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Shely and Harsley teaches the object bundling apparatus of claim 14. Harsley further teaches wherein the holding surface of the at least one body engagement member has a convex surface profile relative to the direction of insertion (leading side of the aperture-bounding rung 14, see figures 14 and 22).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Shely and Harsley teaches the object bundling apparatus of claim 14. Harsley further teaches wherein the contact surface of the plurality of strap engagement members has a concave arc-shaped surface profile relative to the direction of insertion (trailing side of the curved rungs; figures 10 and 14).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Shely and Harsley teaches the object bundling apparatus of claim 14. Harsley further teaches wherein the contact surface of the plurality of strap engagement members has a convex arc-shaped surface profile relative to the direction of insertion (leading, apex side of the curved rungs; figures 10 and 14).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Shely and Harsley teaches the object bundling apparatus of claim 13. Harsley further teaches wherein the holding surface of the at least one body engagement member has a chevron-shaped surface profile (rung 13) extending between the first side (29) and second side (29).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Shely and Harsley teaches the object bundling apparatus of claim 19. Harsley further teaches wherein the chevron-shaped surface profile is defined by angled lateral portions (7) extending between the first side (29) and second side (29).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Shely and Harsley teaches the object bundling apparatus of claim 19. Harsley further teaches wherein the contact surface of the plurality of strap engagement members has a chevron-shaped surface profile (rung 17) extending between the first strap edge (on one rail 2) and the second strap edge (on the other rail 2; see figure 15).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Shely and Harsley teaches the object bundling apparatus of claim 21. Harsley further teaches wherein the chevron-shaped surface profile is defined by angled lateral portions (7) extending between the first strap edge (on the one rail 2) and second strap edge (on the other rail 2).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Shely and Harsley teaches the object bundling apparatus of claim 13. Harsley further teaches wherein the holding surface of the at least one body engagement member (5) has a surface profile defined by a flat medial portion (64) and angled lateral portions (7) extending from the flat medial portion (64) to the first side (29) and second side (29).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Shely and Harsley teaches the object bundling apparatus of claim 23. Harsley further teaches wherein the contact surface of the plurality of strap engagement members has a surface profile defined by a flat medial portion (64) and angled lateral portions (7) extending from the flat medial portion (64) to the first strap edge (on one rail 2) and second strap edge (on the other rail 2).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Shely and Harsley teaches the object bundling apparatus of claim 13. Harsley further teaches wherein the non-linear contact surface profile of the strap is convex relative to the direction of insertion (apex forward leading face of rung 17), and the non-linear holding surface profile is concave relative to the direction of insertion (receiving face of rung 13) such that only a portion of the non-linear contact surface profile (apex region of 17) contacts only a portion of the non-linear holding surface profile (central region of the straightened rung 13; figures 18, 19b, and 22).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Shely and Harsley teaches the object bundling apparatus of claim 25. The combination further teaches wherein holding forces between the strap and the body are concentrated at the respective portions of the non-linear contact surface profile and the non-linear holding surface profile. When the entire holding load is transmitted through only the contacting portions of the two profiles, the force is necessarily concentrated at those portions. This is an inherent result of the structure taught by the combination.
Regarding claim 27, as best understood, the combination of Shely and Harsley teaches the object bundling apparatus of claim 1, wherein the portion of the non-linear contact surface profile in abutment with the non-linear holding surface profile (apex region of 17) extends over less than an entire lateral extent of the non-linear contact surface profile between the first strap edge and the second strap edge (the angled arms 7 of rung 17 remain spaced from the straightened rung 13 toward rails 2; figures 19b and 22).
Regarding claim 28, Shely discloses an object bundling apparatus comprising: a body (22) having an opening (28) extending through the body (22), the opening (28) defining an insertion chamber (head opening 28) having a channel wall (boundary wall defining opening 28), a first shoulder (54), and a second shoulder (54) opposite the first shoulder (figures 3-4); a biasing member (56) extending (integrally) from the channel wall into the insertion chamber (figure 4); at least one body engagement member (58) disposed on the biasing member (56), the at least one body engagement member (58) comprising a holding surface (engagement face of 58) laterally bound by a first side of the at least one body engagement member and a second side of the at least one body engagement member (opposing lateral sides of 56, 58), the holding surface (of 58) positioned laterally between the first shoulder (54) and the second shoulder (54); and, a strap (24) adapted to be passed through the opening (28) in a direction of insertion, the strap comprising: a first free end (26) and a terminal second strap end (end joined to head 22), the strap made integral with the body (22) at the terminal second strap end and forming a unitary object bundling apparatus (figures 1-2); and a bottom surface (front side of strap 24; figure 1) which includes a recessed medial portion (channel 38 with floor 40) laterally bound by a first strap edge (36) and a second strap edge (36), wherein: the strap (24) includes a plurality of strap engagement members (44) along the bottom surface (figures 1 and 5), each of the plurality of strap engagement members (44) comprising a contact surface (52) laterally bound by the first strap edge (36) and the second strap edge (36), the contact surface having a non-linear surface profile extending laterally across the strap between the first strap edge and the second strap edge (figures 5 and 7), when the strap (24) is inserted in the insertion chamber, the bottom surface is supported on the first shoulder (54) and the second shoulder (54) and the strap medial portion (38) overlays the biasing member (56).
Shely does not explicitly disclose the holding surface having a non-linear surface profile bound by the first side and the second side, the contact surface having a non-linear surface profile extending laterally across the strap between the first strap edge and the second strap edge, and wherein the non-linear contact surface profile of the strap is convex relative to the direction of insertion and the non-linear holding surface profile is concave relative to the direction of insertion such that only a portion of the non-linear contact surface profile abuts only a portion of the non-linear holding surface profile.
Harsley teaches a holding surface (rearward face of rung 13) having a non-linear surface profile (chevron/curved profile of rung 13; figures 3, 18, 19b and 22) bound by the first side (29) and the second side (29); a contact surface (leading face of latching rung 17) having a non-linear surface profile (chevron profile of rung 17; figures 19b and 22) extending laterally across the strap between the first strap edge and the second strap edge (side rails 2); and wherein the non-linear contact surface profile of the strap is convex relative to the direction of insertion (apex forward leading face of rung 17), and the non-linear holding surface profile is concave relative to the direction of insertion (receiving face of rung 13), such that only a portion of the non-linear contact surface profile (apex region of 17) abuts only a portion of the non-linear holding surface profile (central region of rung 13; figures 18, 19b and 22). The aperture-bounding rungs 13, 14 are laterally straighten, while the threaded rungs “laterally compress”. The concave holding profile of rung 13 is therefore more shallow than the convex contact profile of rung 17, so the apex of 17 bears against the central region of 13 while the angled arms (7) of the two rungs remain spaced apart.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the holding surface (face of 58) and the contact surface (52) of Shely to have non-linear surface profiles, with the contact profile convex and the holding profile concave relative to the direction of insertion such that only a portion of each abuts the other, as taught by Harsley, in order to increase load capacity, reduce wear (due to the camming interaction), improve vibration resistance and self-center the strap within the insertion chamber (since the apex of the convex contact profile seats at the center of the concave holding profile and resists lateral shifting of the strap).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on August 24, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the chevron rungs of Harsley are in contact “along the full length of their respective surface profiles” (figure 15) and therefore do not show only portions of the profiles in contact. The argument is found not persuasive. At the aperture through which the strip is threaded, Harsley’s aperture-bounding rungs 13, 14 “vertically flatten and/or laterally straighten” (figure 22; paragraph [0084]) while the rungs of the threaded portion “laterally compress” ([0086]). As a result, the concave holding profile of the rear aperture rung 13 is shallower than the convex chevron contact profile of the latching rung 17; the apex region of rung 17 bears against only a central portion of rung 13; and the angled arms (7) of the two rungs remain spaced apart outside of the apex (figures 19b and 22). Harsley has disclosed that the engagement as one in which “at least some portion of one rung is in contact with the inside wall of the rear aperture rung 13” ([0073]) and therefore read on the claimed partial abutment.
Applicant argues that Shely’s pawl teeth and rack teeth are in “positive engagement” across the width of the teeth along an “uninterrupted transverse edge”, and that Shely therefore teaches away from contact between only portions of the surface profiles. The argument is found not persuasive. Shely’s statement merely describes the performance of its own flat linear teeth. It does not otherwise discourage the use of non-linear or partially contacting engagement profiles. The rejection does not rely on Shely for the non-linear, partially abutting profiles. That limitation is relied upon from Harsley. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. In re Keller, 642 F. 2d 413, 425, 208 USPQ 871, 881 (CCPA 1981).
Regarding claim 13, Applicant argues that the definition of “abut” in [0037] should be read into the claim, so that claim 13 requires a portion of the contact surface profile to abut a portion of the holding surface profile, and that neither reference teaches such contact. The argument is found not persuasive. The definition in [0037] (direct contact with a portion of the surface profiles) does not exclude contact over a larger area.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that neither reference discloses “a portion of the non-linear contact surface profile abuts only a portion of the non-linear holding surface profile”. The argument is found not persuasive for the reasons set forth above regarding Harsley and also in view of the rejection of the claim above.
Conclusion
/R.D./ Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/ SPE, Art Unit 3677