DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 35-54 in the reply filed on 10/31/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 50-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Dickson et al (US 2022/0177341).
Claims 50-52: Dickson teaches in figure 3 (part of fig.3, annotated, is copied herein) and [0138]-0145] the claimed process. Influent PFA-impacted wastewater at 1 [0139] is pretreated with ozo-fractionation at 2-4, and then the ozo-fractionated water is treated with adsorbent media at 5. Treated water is effused at 5.
The influent has PFAs and PFA precursors as claimed, and the ozofractionation converts precursors to PFAs. See [0140.] Oxidizing agent is ozone.
The PFA-impacted wastewater contains PFAs and PFA precursors – see [0140]. Since it is wastewater, sewer water, solvents etc., they would contain other organic matter or compounds as well.
While Dickson is silent on it, the enhancement of the adsorptive media implicitly or inherently follows because the conversion of precursors of PFAs to PFAs. Such is also implicit or inherent since Dickson provides the ozone – oxidation steps prior to passing through the adsorbents. Or, at the least it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill that that would be the result of the process.
"[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)
"[I]n considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom." In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825, 826, 159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968)
Claim 53: ozone with UV – see [0074.]
Claim 54: adsorptive media is GAC, ion exchange, etc. [0145.]
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/9/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. They are addressed in the rejection.
Argument: Dickson does not teach increasing capacity of .. the media: since Dickson teaches the same steps as claimed, this is implicit as shown.
Other organic compounds: water and wastewater inherently contains things like humic acid, etc. Inherent.
Dickson teaches pretreating sewage: while it does, it also teaches pretreating wastewater, surface water tec., which is what is relied on in the rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KRISHNAN S MENON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777