DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The new grounds of rejection set forth below are necessitated by applicant’s amendment filed on August 21, 2026. In particular, claim 1 has been amended with the limitations from claim 16 and also including that the surface modifier is “extrudedly-incorporated in and throughout” the polypropylene matrix. This combination of limitations was not present at the time of the previous office action. Thus, the following action is properly made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-8, 12-14 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Udengaard et al (EP 3 216 432) in view of Murphy (US 5,153,046) with evidence provided by Hartmann et al (US 4,496,508).
Regarding claims 1 and 7-8, Udengaard teaches a polypropylene fiber (Abstract, Examples), which has a polypropylene matrix (Examples), a surface modifier such as a calcium carbonate ([0010]). The filler is included throughout the matrix ([0010] and Examples).
However, it fails to teach the addition of a surfactant, lubricating agent or mixture thereof.
Murphy teaches a polypropylene fiber (col. 7, lines 25-27) which incorporates lubricants and surfactants on the fiber (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the lubricants and surfactant of Murphy be applied to the polyester fiber of Udengaard. One would have been motivated to do so in order to receive the expected benefit of having fibers which are antifouling (Murphy, Abstract).
It is noted that the method of incorporating of the surface modifier throughout the matrix is a product-by-process limitation and does not carry much patentable weight. However, it is also noted that the continuously spinning process noted in Udengaard is an extrusion process as noted by the Abstract of the evidentiary reference Hartmann.
Regarding claim 2, Udengaard teaches that the polypropylene matrix is a homopolymer (Examples).
Regarding claim 12, modified Udengaard teaches that the surfactant can be an ionic or nonionic surfactant (Murphy, Abstract).
Regarding claims 13-14, modified Udengaard teaches that the surfactant can be an alcohol such as a fatty alcohol comprising ethylene oxide and/or propylene oxide (Murphy, col. 4, lines 55-62).
Regarding claim 17, this is a product by process claim, and therefore, the method of applying the lubricating agent to the fiber does not carry much patentable weight. As this is a product-by-process claim, patentability of said claim is based on the recited product and does not depend on its method of production. Since the product in modified Udengaard is the same as product as presently claimed the claim is unpatentable even though if the modified Udengaard product was made by a different process. In re Marosi, 710 F2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir. 1983). See MPEP 2113.
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Udengaard et al (EP 3 216 432) in view of Murphy (US 5,153,046) and McAmish et al (US 2010/0184348) with evidence provided by Hartmann et al (US 4,496,508).
The discussion regarding Udengaard and Murphy in paragraph 4 above is incorporated here by reference.
Regarding claims 9-10, Udengaard teaches the use of a calcium carbonate such as Fiberlink 201S ([0010]) which is used in applicants’ examples and therefore would inherently be a coated calcium carbonate. However, Udengaard does not explicitly state the Fiberlink 201S is a coated calcium carbonate.
McAmish teaches a polypropylene fiber ([0034]) which incorporates a coated calcium carbonate ([0039]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the calcium carbonate of Udengaard be coated as taught by McAmish. One would have been motivated to do so in order to receive the expected benefit of improving the dispersion of the calcium carbonate in the resin material (McAmish, [0045]).
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moussaif et al (US 2018/0022644).
Regarding claims 1-2, Moussaif teaches a polypropylene fiber (Abstract) which comprises polypropylene homopolymer ([0078]), a surface modifier (anti-static agent) ([0091]) and a surface-active agent (surfactant) ([0091]). Moussaif teaches that the surface modifier can be included in the melt via masterbatch ([0091]) and extruded ([0095]), thus resulting in the surface modifier being incorporated throughout the matrix.
Moussaif fails to specifically exemplify the exact recited fiber. However, Moussaif discloses each of the components of the fiber, and teaches that they are all suitable for use in the composition. It is within the ordinary level of skill in the art to make any of the fibers suggested by a reference, including selecting materials from a list in a reference. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to prepare any of the fibers suggested by Moussaif, including the claimed fiber. In view of this, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the present invention to use the teachings of Moussaif to arrive at the presently claimed invention. It would be nothing more that using known compound is a typical manner to achieve predictable results. KSR v. Teleflex, 550 U.S. 418, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 6, Moussaif teaches that the polypropylene matrix has a melt flow rate of 0.5 to 30 ([0085]).
Regarding claim 19, Moussaif teaches that the Mw/Mn is about 2.6 ([0087]).
Regarding claim 20, Moussaif teaches that the fiber presents a tenacity of 7-15 cN//dtex ([0039]).
Regarding claim 21, Moussaif teaches that the fiber presents an elongation that ranges from 5 to 40 % ([0045]).
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-8, 11 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (US 2004/0186214).
Regarding claims 1 and 7-8, Li teaches a polypropylene fiber (Abstract) which incorporates a polypropylene matrix ([0127]), a surface modifier such as calcium carbonate ([0202]) and a surfactant such as a fatty acid salt ([0205]). Li teaches that these components are thoroughly and uniformly blended and extruded ([0217]).
Li fails to specifically exemplify the exact recited fiber. However, Li discloses each of the components of the fiber, and teaches that they are all suitable for use in the composition. It is within the ordinary level of skill in the art to make any of the fibers suggested by a reference, including selecting materials from a list in a reference. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to prepare any of the fibers suggested by Li, including the claimed fiber. In view of this, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the present invention to use the teachings of Li to arrive at the presently claimed invention. It would be nothing more than using known compound is a typical manner to achieve predictable results. KSR v. Teleflex, 550 U.S. 418, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 2, Li teaches that the polypropylene can be a homopolymer ([0124]).
Regarding claim 3, Li teaches that the polypropylene matrix has a comonomer which is C4-C20 alpha olefin present in the amount from 0.1 to 50 % by wt. ([0127]).
Regarding claim 11, Li teaches that the calcium carbonate surface modifier is present in the amount from 0.1 to 25 % by weight ([0202]).
Regarding claim 15, Li teaches that the fatty acid salt surfactant is present in the amount from 0.0001 to 1 % by weight ([0205]).
Claim(s) 1, and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McLeod et al (US 2009/0155614).
Regarding claim 1, McLeod teaches a polypropylene fiber ([0007]) which comprises a polypropylene matrix ([0022]), a surface modifier such as a filler and an additive such as a lubricant ([0025]). McLeod teaches that these additive are combined with the polymer within the extruder ([0025]) resulting in a mixture that is uniform throughout.
McLeod fails to specifically exemplify the exact recited fiber. However, McLeod discloses each of the components of the fiber, and teaches that they are all suitable for use in the composition. It is within the ordinary level of skill in the art to make any of the fibers suggested by a reference, including selecting materials from a list in a reference. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to prepare any of the fibers suggested by McLeod, including the claimed fiber. In view of this, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the present invention to use the teachings of McLeod to arrive at the presently claimed invention. It would be nothing more than using known compound is a typical manner to achieve predictable results. KSR v. Teleflex, 550 U.S. 418, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 4, McLeod teaches that the polypropylene matrix is a heterophasic polypropylene comprising a rubber phase dispersed in a polypropylene continuous phase ([0026]) and comprises a comonomer such as ethylene which is present in the amount from 5 to 25 % by weight ([0022]).
Regarding claim 5, McLeod teaches that the heterophasic polypropylene has a rubber phase which is present in the amount from 5 to 50 % by weight ([0026]).
Claim(s) 1 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boelaers et al (US 2015/0024650).
Regarding claim 1, Boelaers teaches a polypropylene fiber (Abstract) comprising a polypropylene matrix (Abstract) and a surface modifier such as a filler ([0030]) ana a surfactant such as glycerol monostearate ([0030]. These additives can be incorporated into polymer granules ([0030)] and then extruded ([0043]) which will result in the additive being incorporated throughout the matrix.
Boelaers fails to specifically exemplify the exact recited fiber. However, Boelaers discloses each of the components of the fiber, and teaches that they are all suitable for use in the composition. It is within the ordinary level of skill in the art to make any of the fibers suggested by a reference, including selecting materials from a list in a reference. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to prepare any of the fibers suggested by Boelaers, including the claimed fiber. In view of this, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the present invention to use the teachings of Boelaers to arrive at the presently claimed invention. It would be nothing more than using known compound is a typical manner to achieve predictable results. KSR v. Teleflex, 550 U.S. 418, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 18, Boelaers teaches that the rheological polydispersity index ranges from 2.0 to 4.0 ([0032]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 21, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the reasons set forth below:
Applicant’s argument: Udengaard is silent regarding an extrusion technique for producing a polyolefin composition containing a surface-modifier extrudely-incorporated in and throughout a matrix. Notably, it uses a spunbound process.
Examiner’s response: It is noted that the method of incorporating of the surface modifier throughout the matrix is a product-by-process limitation and does not carry much patentable weight. However, it is also noted that the continuously spinning process noted in Udengaard is an extrusion process as noted by the Abstract of the evidentiary reference Hartmann.
Applicant’s argument: Udengaard teaches a migration and concentration of additive at or near the surface region of the fibers and refers to paragraph [0005]) of Udengaard.
Examiner’s response: It is noted that the claims do not necessitate a uniform distribution of the additive. It is also noted that the migration of the additive is the migration of a “melt additive” which is a different compound than the cited surface modifier (filler) (Examples). There is no mention of the surface modifier (filler) migrating anywhere, rather it changes the morphology of the matrix to allow for the migration of the melt additive.
Applicant’s argument: Moussaif, Li, McLeod and Boelaers fail to teach the limitations of claim 1
Examiner’s response: These references all teach the newly presented limitation (as cited in each rejection) and, as such, the rejections are maintained above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DORIS L. LEE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1764
/DORIS L LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764