Detailed Action
The Office Action is in response to claims filed on 2/2/2026 where claims 1, 3-7, 9-11, and 15 are pending and ready for examination.
The Examiner notes that Applicant’s claims reflect the current state of network providers of caching and intercepting requests for latency sensitive content for locally processing requests (i.e. edge nodes) and fulfilling non-latency media programs at remote nodes in the network.
Wei provides one of the ordinary skill in the art to intercept latency sensitive content originally intended for third party recipients (see e.g. Abstract, see e.g. [0080], [0081]) More importantly the trend of classifying data (i.e. latency vs not latency sensitive) is parcel of the Fog-RAN computing paradigm.
Wei states ([0082] “ ... when the processor identifies that the data traffic is a delay sensitive data traffic, the processor is configured to process the delay sensitive data traffic locally ... when the processor identifies that the data traffic is a delay tolerable data traffic, the processor is configured to forward the delay traffic toa service network ...”
Ku (“5G Radio Access Network Design with the Fog Paradigm: Confluence of Communications and Computing”) also highlights the features included in Applicant’s newly amened claims (see e.g. Fig. 2 below).
Ku in Fig. 2 also illustrates an edge node intercepting both low latency traffic and delay tolerable traffic. The low latency traffic may be processed at the edge node while the delay tolerable traffic is forwarded to a service tier.
In addition, Ku teaches the trend services providers are adhering to which comprises “ ... caching is third dimension of design consideration in F_RANS. Caching has been identified as an important aspect by bring storage functionality in network edges. Caching can improve quality of experience (QoE) of the consumers in F-RANs, especially in delay sensitive content ...”
The following references below also provide one of ordinary skill in the art to contemplate the Applicant’s newly amended claims:
Ye (US 2018/0270531): ([0036], [0040], [0065], [0069], [0062], [0041])
Varney (US 2014/0344391): ([1379]], Table, Page 83, Fig. 15, [1442], [0859], [0864],[1098].
The Examiner notes these same features are also contemplated in satellite communications with edge nodes (see e.g. Liu (US 10,419,106); Fig. 2) while taking in to account cache misses and cache hits (see e.g. Liu, Column 2, Lines 39 – 53; Column 24, Lines 2 – 34, see e.g. Column 19, Lines 11 -35)
The Examine further notes that several claims recite method steps having contingent conditions. Publicly available instructional materials, such as the YouTube Video “Tips for Integrating Starlink into Your Home Network,” illustrate network configurations in which different operational paths are executed depending on system conditions, demonstrating real-world implementations comprising such contingent method operations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 is directed to “an edge device” comprising structural components including a processor and a n0n-transitory data storage storing computer executable instructions. However, the claim further recites that instructions ,when executed by the processor of the edge device, “perform an automated process comprising” the subsequently recited steps.
The claim therefore introduces an “automated process comprising” a series of operational steps without clearly identifying the entity performing those steps. In particular, the claim language indicates that the instructions perform the automated process, rather than te processor or the edge device executing the instructions. As written, it is unclear whether the recited steps define:
Operations performed by the processor of the edge device,
Operations performed by the edge device, or
Steps of an automated process recited independently of the device.
Because the claim does not clearly identify the actor performing the recited steps, the scope of the claimed invention cannot be determined with reasonable clarity.
Further because the claim is introduced as an edge device while subsequently reciting an automated process comprising steps, the claim language renders it unclear whether the invention is directed to an apparatus or to a process, thereby further obscuring the statutory category of the claimed subject mater.
Accordingly, claim 11 is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5 – 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 USC 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Powell (US 20020073167)
Regarding claim 1, Powell discloses an automated process performed by a processor of an edge device in a satellite communications system, the automated process comprising:
receiving, via a satellite link, a plurality of media programs (Powell; Powell teaches that the satellite transmits the digital objects to local proxy servers ([0064], [0065]) or equivalently the local proxy servers are receiving the digital objects at the local proxy servers. Because the digital objects ([0029]) include media content sch as video, music, and other digital objects ([0029]), the local proxy servers, receive, via the satellite link, a plurality of media programs.
See e.g. [0064] “... the satellite 18, an uplink reception module 112 receives the uplinked web page 15a or other digital object 15. Subsequently, a digital object transmission module 114 formats and transmits the digital object 15 through satellite multicast 34 to all associated local proxy servers 22”
See e.g. [0029] “... The digital objects l5 may, however, comprise any form of digital content, including HTML files, video and music files, and any other digitally represented information or data that is capable of being transmitted across a global network”
See e.g. [0065] An uplink transmitter block 120 of FIG. 3 illustrates general functional modules operating within the satellite uplink transmitter 16 of FIGS. 1 and 2. The digital object 15 to be uplinked is formatted into a proper form and protocol for satellite transmission with a digital object formatting module 124. Header information is added to the packets to be uplinked with a header addition module 124. One simplified example of the structure of a packet 190 is shown in FIG. 4. A typical packet 190 is comprised of data 191 preceded by a header 192. The uplink transmission is conducted between the satellite uplink transmitter and the satellite 18 with the use of an uplink transmission module 126.
See e.g. Fig. 1 illustrating local proxy servers receiving media programs);
storing the received media programs in a data storage associated with the edge device (Powell, Powell teaches that each local proxy server includes a local cache database ([0030], [0031]). Thus, after the local proxy server receives the digital objects via the satellite link, the received media programs are stored in the local cache database associated with the local proxy server, which corresponds to the claimed data storage associated with the edge device;
see e.g. [0033] “... the local proxy server servers 22 receive and store high-demand digital objects 15 in the attendant local cache databases 24”
see e.g. [0030] “... a plurality of local proxy servers 22, each having a local caching module 17 disposed therein. Each local proxy server 22 also comprises or is otherwise in communication with a local cache database 24 ...”
see e.g. [0031] “The local proxy servers 22 are each provided with a local cache database 24. Preferably, the local cache databases 24 are provided with high capacity memory. In one embodiment, the cache databases 24 are provided with hard drive memory in excess of 40 Gigabytes. A cache database management module 29 is provided in the local proxy servers 22 to interface with the local cache database 24 ...”), wherein each of the received media programs is associated with a unique network address that identifies a location of the media program on the data storage associated with the edge device (Powell; Powell teaches that each digital object is assigned a globally unique identification number used to identify the particular digital object ([0076]. Because the digital objects are stored within the cache databases associated with the proxy servers ([0030], [0031]), the globally unique identification number functions a s the unique identifier used by the system to reference and locate the stored digital object within the cache storage, corresponding to the claimed unique network address identifying the location of the media program o the data storage associated with the edge device;
See e.g. [0076] “... every digital object 15 is assigned a globally unique identification number which can be stored and transmitted compactly and which is used to identify the particular digital object 15”
See e.g. [0032] “... Thus, an end user at a station 30 may be connected to a local proxy server 22 remotely over a modem, or locally over a network 44. The local proxy servers 22 can be considered to be at the "edge"... “);
subsequently receiving, from a customer device via a local area network that is separate from the satellite link, a request for a media program (Powell; Powell teaches that end user stations request digital objects from the proxy serves ([0032], [0076]). These user stations access the digital objects through the local network rather than through an Internet URL site ([0055]). Thus the proxy servers receive requests for digital objects from customer devise via a local network connection separate from the satellite transmission path;
see e.g. [0073] “... local statistics collection module 172 resident within each local proxy server 22 monitors the frequency of requests for each file of digital object 15 located within the local cache database 24. ...”
see e.g. [0076] “... each participating local proxy server 22 tabulates every request from every end user station 30 ...”
see e.g. [0055] “... Thus, the digital objects 15 may be viewed using the file transfer protocol of the local network, rather than as an Internet URL site ...”); and
if the requested media program matches one of the received media programs stored in the data storage, obtaining the requested media program from the data storage and transmitting the obtained media program to the customer device via the local area network (Powell; Powell teaches a cache hit which is equivalent to the requested media program matching one of the received media programs stored in the local cache. Subsequent to the cache hit the media program can be transmitted to the customer device via the local network;
See e.g. [0076] A hit rate reporting module 179 periodically reports the local hit rates for part or all of the digital objects 15 transmitted from the central proxy server 12. This information is used to calculate global demand statistics. Preferably, each participating local proxy server 22 tabulates every request from every end user station 30 ...”
See e.g. [0016] “ When a user requests Internet data, the request is first sent to the local cache database management module to determine whether the requested digital objects is present therein. If the digital objects is present, it is rapidly transmitted to the user directly from the local cache database, without the necessity for transmission over the Internet.), and
otherwise directing the customer device to request the requested media program via the satellite link for delivery directly to the customer device via the satellite link (Powell; Powell teaches that when a requested digital object is not present in the local cache, the system invokes a miss manager subsystem that identifies the requested object and initiates retrieval ([00134]. The requested digital object is then received over the satellite transmission path from the central proxy server and delivered to the local caching module ([0134])
Further, Figs. 1 and 2 disclose an embodiment in win which the local cache database is associated with a Direct Connect Use, indicating that the caching functionality may reside at the user device itself. In that embodiment, the requested digital object obtained via the satellite transmission path is delivered to the user-side device/cache arrangement rather than an intermediary proxy. Accordingly when the requested media program is not available in the edge device cache, the system causes the requested program to be obtained via the satellite transmission path terminating at the user device, thereby directing the customer device to obtain the requested media program via the satellite link for delivery directly to the customer device
See e.g. [0134] “ ... has not been previously cached by the local cache database management module, the local cache database management module calls up the miss manager subsystem 400, identifies the URL (universal resource locator) of that web object on the Internet, and gives the local caching module 17 an opportunity to take steps to find and gather that digital object and deliver it to the local cache database management module 29 by means of the present system in the manner which has been described up to this point, where the digital object is received over the satellite by the local caching module 17 ... ”
Examiner’s Note: The final limitation of claim 1 contains alternative (“if/otherwise”) contingent paths, Under MPEP 2173.05(h),a prior-art disclosure satisfying any one of the alternative limitations is sufficient to meet the claim. The Examiner has addressed both paths for completeness although satisfaction of either alternative would be sufficient).
Regarding claim 5, Powell discloses an automated process performed by a processor of an edge device in a satellite communications system, the automated process comprising:
receiving, via a satellite link, a plurality of media programs; storing the received media programs in a data storage associated with the edge device, wherein each of the received media programs is associated with a unique network address that identifies a location of the media program on the data storage associated with the edge device (Powell; Powell teaches that the satellite transmits the digital objects to local proxy servers ([0064], [0065]) or equivalently the local proxy servers are receiving the digital objects at the local proxy servers. Because the digital objects ([0029]) include media content sch as video, music, and other digital objects ([0029]), the local proxy servers, receive, via the satellite link, a plurality of media programs.
See e.g. [0064] “... the satellite 18, an uplink reception module 112 receives the uplinked web page 15a or other digital object 15. Subsequently, a digital object transmission module 114 formats and transmits the digital object 15 through satellite multicast 34 to all associated local proxy servers 22”
See e.g. [0029] “... The digital objects l5 may, however, comprise any form of digital content, including HTML files, video and music files, and any other digitally represented information or data that is capable of being transmitted across a global network”
See e.g. [0065] An uplink transmitter block 120 of FIG. 3 illustrates general functional modules operating within the satellite uplink transmitter 16 of FIGS. 1 and 2. The digital object 15 to be uplinked is formatted into a proper form and protocol for satellite transmission with a digital object formatting module 124. Header information is added to the packets to be uplinked with a header addition module 124. One simplified example of the structure of a packet 190 is shown in FIG. 4. A typical packet 190 is comprised of data 191 preceded by a header 192. The uplink transmission is conducted between the satellite uplink transmitter and the satellite 18 with the use of an uplink transmission module 126.
See e.g. Fig. 1 illustrating local proxy servers receiving media programs
Powell teaches that each digital object is assigned a globally unique identification number used to identify the particular digital object ([0076]. Because the digital objects are stored within the cache databases associated with the proxy servers ([0030], [0031]), the globally unique identification number functions a s the unique identifier used by the system to reference and locate the stored digital object within the cache storage, corresponding to the claimed unique network address identifying the location of the media program o the data storage associated with the edge device;
See e.g. [0076] “... every digital object 15 is assigned a globally unique identification number which can be stored and transmitted compactly and which is used to identify the particular digital object 15”
See e.g. [0032] “... Thus, an end user at a station 30 may be connected to a local proxy server 22 remotely over a modem, or locally over a network 44. The local proxy servers 22 can be considered to be at the "edge"... “);
subsequently receiving, from a customer device via a local area network that is separate from the satellite link, a request for a media program(Powell; Powell teaches that end user stations request digital objects from the proxy serves ([0032], [0076]). These user stations access the digital objects through the local network rather than through an Internet URL site ([0055]). Thus the proxy servers receive requests for digital objects from customer devise via a local network connection separate from the satellite transmission path;
see e.g. [0073] “... local statistics collection module 172 resident within each local proxy server 22 monitors the frequency of requests for each file of digital object 15 located within the local cache database 24. ...”
see e.g. [0076] “... each participating local proxy server 22 tabulates every request from every end user station 30 ...”
see e.g. [0055] “... Thus, the digital objects 15 may be viewed using the file transfer protocol of the local network, rather than as an Internet URL site ...”); and
if the requested media program matches one of the received media programs stored in the data storage, obtaining the requested media program from the data storage and transmitting the obtained media program to the customer device via the local area network (Powell; Powell teaches a cache hit which is equivalent to the requested media program matching one of the received media programs stored in the local cache. Subsequent to the cache hit the media program can be transmitted to the customer device via the local network;
See e.g. [0076] A hit rate reporting module 179 periodically reports the local hit rates for part or all of the digital objects 15 transmitted from the central proxy server 12. This information is used to calculate global demand statistics. Preferably, each participating local proxy server 22 tabulates every request from every end user station 30 ...”
See e.g. [0016] “ When a user requests Internet data, the request is first sent to the local cache database management module to determine whether the requested digital objects is present therein. If the digital objects is present, it is rapidly transmitted to the user directly from the local cache database, without the necessity for transmission over the Internet., and
otherwise requesting the requested media program by the edge device via the satellite link(Powell; Powell teaches that when a requested digital object is not present in the local cache, the system invokes a miss manager subsystem that identifies the requested object and initiates retrieval ([00134]. The requested digital object is then received over the satellite transmission path from the central proxy server and delivered to the local caching module ([0134])
See e.g. [0134] “ ... has not been previously cached by the local cache database management module, the local cache database management module calls up the miss manager subsystem 400, identifies the URL (universal resource locator) of that web object on the Internet, and gives the local caching module 17 an opportunity to take steps to find and gather that digital object and deliver it to the local cache database management module 29 by means of the present system in the manner which has been described up to this point, where the digital object is received over the satellite by the local caching module 17 ... ”
Examiner’s Note: The final limitation of claim 1 contains alternative (“if/otherwise”) contingent paths, Under MPEP 2173.05(h),a prior-art disclosure satisfying any one of the alternative limitations is sufficient to meet the claim. The Examiner has addressed both paths for completeness although satisfaction of either alternative would be sufficient).
Regarding claim 6. Powell discloses the automated process of claim 5 wherein the requested media program is delivered to the customer device via a downlink from the satellite link directly to the customer device (Powell;
Figs. 1 and 2 disclose an embodiment in win which the local cache database is associated with a Direct Connect Use, indicating that the caching functionality may reside at the user device itself. In that embodiment, the requested digital object obtained via the satellite transmission path is delivered to the user-side device/cache arrangement rather than an intermediary proxy. Accordingly when the requested media program is not available in the edge device cache, the system causes the requested program to be obtained via the satellite transmission path terminating at the user device, thereby directing the customer device to obtain the requested media program via the satellite link for delivery directly to the customer device
See e.g. [0134] “ ... has not been previously cached by the local cache database management module, the local cache database management module calls up the miss manager subsystem 400, identifies the URL (universal resource locator) of that web object on the Internet, and gives the local caching module 17 an opportunity to take steps to find and gather that digital object and deliver it to the local cache database management module 29 by means of the present system in the manner which has been described up to this point, where the digital object is received over the satellite by the local caching module 17 ... ”)
Regarding claim 7, Powell discloses the automated process of claim 5 wherein the requested media program is delivered to the edge device via the satellite link for re-transmission of the requested media program to the customer device via the local area network (Powell.; Per Independent claim 1 once the media programs are received at the local proxy server comprising the local cache database they are retransmitted to the user device; see e.g. Fig. 1 or 2; see e.g. [0070])
Regarding claim 11, Powell discloses an edge device comprising a processor, a non-transitory data storage, a first interface for satellite communications with a satellite via a satellite antenna and a second interface for wireless terrestrial communications via a network, wherein the non-transitory data storage stores computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the processor of the edge device, perform an automated process comprising:
receiving, via the first interface, a plurality of media programs (Powell; Powell teaches that the satellite transmits the digital objects to local proxy servers ([0064], [0065]) or equivalently the local proxy servers are receiving the digital objects at the local proxy servers. Because the digital objects ([0029]) include media content sch as video, music, and other digital objects ([0029]), the local proxy servers, receive, via the satellite link, a plurality of media programs.
See e.g. [0064] “... the satellite 18, an uplink reception module 112 receives the uplinked web page 15a or other digital object 15. Subsequently, a digital object transmission module 114 formats and transmits the digital object 15 through satellite multicast 34 to all associated local proxy servers 22”
See e.g. [0029] “... The digital objects l5 may, however, comprise any form of digital content, including HTML files, video and music files, and any other digitally represented information or data that is capable of being transmitted across a global network”
See e.g. [0065] An uplink transmitter block 120 of FIG. 3 illustrates general functional modules operating within the satellite uplink transmitter 16 of FIGS. 1 and 2. The digital object 15 to be uplinked is formatted into a proper form and protocol for satellite transmission with a digital object formatting module 124. Header information is added to the packets to be uplinked with a header addition module 124. One simplified example of the structure of a packet 190 is shown in FIG. 4. A typical packet 190 is comprised of data 191 preceded by a header 192. The uplink transmission is conducted between the satellite uplink transmitter and the satellite 18 with the use of an uplink transmission module 126.
See e.g. Fig. 1 illustrating local proxy servers receiving media programs through a first network interface which is necessarily and/or inherently present to receive the media progrdams);
storing the received media programs in the non-transitory data storage, wherein each of the received media programs is associated with a unique network address that identifies a location of the media program on the data storage associated with the edge device (Powell, Powell teaches that each local proxy server includes a local cache database ([0030], [0031]). Thus, after the local proxy server receives the digital objects via the satellite link, the received media programs are stored in the local cache database associated with the local proxy server, which corresponds to the claimed data storage associated with the edge device;
see e.g. [0033] “... the local proxy server servers 22 receive and store high-demand digital objects 15 in the attendant local cache databases 24”
see e.g. [0030] “... a plurality of local proxy servers 22, each having a local caching module 17 disposed therein. Each local proxy server 22 also comprises or is otherwise in communication with a local cache database 24 ...”
see e.g. [0031] “The local proxy servers 22 are each provided with a local cache database 24. Preferably, the local cache databases 24 are provided with high capacity memory. In one embodiment, the cache databases 24 are provided with hard drive memory in excess of 40 Gigabytes. A cache database management module 29 is provided in the local proxy servers 22 to interface with the local cache database 24 ...”;
Powell teaches that each digital object is assigned a globally unique identification number used to identify the particular digital object ([0076]. Because the digital objects are stored within the cache databases associated with the proxy servers ([0030], [0031]), the globally unique identification number functions a s the unique identifier used by the system to reference and locate the stored digital object within the cache storage, corresponding to the claimed unique network address identifying the location of the media program o the data storage associated with the edge device;
See e.g. [0076] “... every digital object 15 is assigned a globally unique identification number which can be stored and transmitted compactly and which is used to identify the particular digital object 15”
See e.g. [0032] “... Thus, an end user at a station 30 may be connected to a local proxy server 22 remotely over a modem, or locally over a network 44. The local proxy servers 22 can be considered to be at the "edge"... “
subsequently receiving, from a customer device via the second interface, a request for a media program(Powell; Powell teaches that end user stations request digital objects from the proxy serves ([0032], [0076]). These user stations access the digital objects through the local network rather than through an Internet URL site ([0055]). Thus the proxy servers receive requests for digital objects from customer devise via a local network connection separate from the satellite transmission path;
see e.g. [0073] “... local statistics collection module 172 resident within each local proxy server 22 monitors the frequency of requests for each file of digital object 15 located within the local cache database 24. ...”
see e.g. [0076] “... each participating local proxy server 22 tabulates every request from every end user station 30 ...”
see e.g. [0055] “... Thus, the digital objects 15 may be viewed using the file transfer protocol of the local network, rather than as an Internet URL site ...”
A second interface at the user station is necessarily and/or inherently present such that it can receive program media);
if the requested media program matches one of the received media programs stored in the data storage, obtaining the requested media program from the non-transitory data storage and transmitting the obtained media program to the customer device via the second interface (Powell; Powell teaches a cache hit which is equivalent to the requested media program matching one of the received media programs stored in the local cache. Subsequent to the cache hit the media program can be transmitted to the customer device via the local network;
See e.g. [0076] A hit rate reporting module 179 periodically reports the local hit rates for part or all of the digital objects 15 transmitted from the central proxy server 12. This information is used to calculate global demand statistics. Preferably, each participating local proxy server 22 tabulates every request from every end user station 30 ...”
See e.g. [0016] “ When a user requests Internet data, the request is first sent to the local cache database management module to determine whether the requested digital objects is present therein. If the digital objects is present, it is rapidly transmitted to the user directly from the local cache database, without the necessity for transmission over the Internet.)
Powell teaches storing the received media programs in the cache of the proxy server. The cache stores the media programs and therefore functions as the claimed non-transitory data storage ([0031)], and
otherwise directing the customer device via the second interface to request the requested media program for delivery to the customer device via the satellite(Powell; Powell teaches that when a requested digital object is not present in the local cache, the system invokes a miss manager subsystem that identifies the requested object and initiates retrieval ([00134]. The requested digital object is then received over the satellite transmission path from the central proxy server and delivered to the local caching module ([0134])
Further, Figs. 1 and 2 disclose an embodiment in win which the local cache database is associated with a Direct Connect Use, indicating that the caching functionality may reside at the user device itself. In that embodiment, the requested digital object obtained via the satellite transmission path is delivered to the user-side device/cache arrangement rather than an intermediary proxy. Accordingly when the requested media program is not available in the edge device cache, the system causes the requested program to be obtained via the satellite transmission path terminating at the user device, thereby directing the customer device to obtain the requested media program via the satellite link for delivery directly to the customer device
See e.g. [0134] “ ... has not been previously cached by the local cache database management module, the local cache database management module calls up the miss manager subsystem 400, identifies the URL (universal resource locator) of that web object on the Internet, and gives the local caching module 17 an opportunity to take steps to find and gather that digital object and deliver it to the local cache database management module 29 by means of the present system in the manner which has been described up to this point, where the digital object is received over the satellite by the local caching module 17 ... ”
The second interface at the user station is necessarily and/or inherently present such that it can receive program media and/or transmit requests to and from the Satellite system as depicted in Figs. 1 and 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Powell in view of Lo (US 2015/0012584)
Regarding claim 3, Powell discloses the automated process of claim 1 wherein if the requested media program does not match one of the received media programs stored by the edge device (Powell per Independent claim 1), Powell does not expressly disclose the edge device transmits a message to the customer device via the local area network directing the customer device to request the requested media program for delivery directly to the customer device via the satellite link.
However in analogous art Lo discloses:
transmits a message (Lo;
see e.g. [0049] “In an embodiment, the local HTTP proxy may select one of the multiple selected alternative resource IDs in the HTTP redirect message received from the network side HTTP proxy server, and may send a redirect to an HTTP application/client running on a processor of the receiver device ...”)
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Lo’s scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies in delivering content to user devices.
Powell in view of Lo discloses:
the edge device transmits a message to the customer device via the local area network directing the customer device to request the requested media program for delivery directly to the customer device via the satellite link (Powell teaches an edge device including a local caching module and cache database that determines whether a requested digital object matches a stored object and , when the requested object is not stored by the edge device, retrieves the digital object via satellite communication. Lo ([0049]) teaches that a local proxy sends a redirect message to a client application running on a receiver device and that the client receiving the redirect message generates a request for the indicated resource. Accordingly, the combined teachings contemplate that if the requested media program does not match one of the received media programs stored by the edge device, the edge device transmits a message to the customer device via the local area network directing the customer device to request the requested media program is delivered via the satellite link. Therefor ethe combined references read on the limitations of claim 3)
Regarding claim 4, Powell in view of Lo disclose the automated process of claim 3 wherein the customer device places a request for the requested media program via an uplink from the customer device to the satellite link (The combined solution per Lo provides for utilizing satellite link as illustrated Figs. 1 and 2).
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Lo’s scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies in delivering content to user devices.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Powell in view of Fu (US 2023/0403611)
Regarding claim 9. Powell discloses the automated process of claim 1, Powell does not expressly disclose wherein the customer device obtains the unique network address of the requested program by placing a domain name services (DNS) query to the edge device.
However in analogous art Fu discloses:
customer device obtains the unique network address of the requested program by placing a domain name services (DNS) query to the edge device (Fu:
see e.g. [0018] receiving, by an edge dispatch node, a domain name system (DNS) resolution request from a user equipment (UE)
see e.g. [0063] In this embodiment, the edge dispatch node is a functional entity with edge dispatch and related functions. For example, the edge dispatch node may be an edge dispatch device or an edge dispatch center in form of an independent device or server, or may be jointly set up with other functional entities”
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Fu’s DNS query. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies in delivering media programs to users.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Powell in view of Taylor and in further view of Flavel
Regarding claim 10, Powell discloses the The automated process of claim 1, Powell does not expressly disclose wherein the customer device obtains the unique network address of the requested program by placing a domain name services (DNS) query via the satellite link.
However in analogous art Taylor discloses:
placing a domain name services (DNS) query via the satellite link(Taylor;
See e.g [0005] “ ... transmitting a query to a DNS server across the satellite link ...”)
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Taylor’s DNS scheme. The motivation being the combined invent provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of delivering program media to users.
Powell in view of Taylor discloses:
wherein the customer device obtains the unique network address of the requested program by placing a domain name services (DNS) query via the satellite link (Taylor teaches using a DNS query and receiving a resolved network address corresponding to requested media programs. Powell teaches that a media program stored in an edge database is associated with a globally unique identifier, thereby uniquely identifying the media program within the system. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the network address obtained from the DNS resolution as the network address associated with the globally uniquely identified media program, because a uniquely identified resource in a network system must be accessed through a corresponding network address. Accordingly, the combination yields a unique network address associated with the globally uniquely identified media program)
As evidence of the above rationale Flavel discloses:
unique network address (Flavel;
see e,g, [0025] “... each edge server may have also have its own unique edge IP address ...”)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Flavel’s unique network address. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of accessing stored content at edge devices.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Powell in view of Taylor and in further view of McCord (US 2023/0254284_
Regarding claim 10, Powell discloses the automated process of claim 1, Powell does not expressly disclose wherein the customer device obtains the unique network address of the requested program by placing a domain name services (DNS) query via the satellite link.
However in analogous art Taylor discloses:
placing a domain name services (DNS) query via the satellite link(Taylor;
See e.g [0005] “ ... transmitting a query to a DNS server across the satellite link ...”)
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Taylor’s DNS scheme. The motivation being the combined invent provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of delivering program media to users.
Powell in view of Taylor discloses:
wherein the customer device obtains the unique network address of the requested program by placing a domain name services (DNS) query via the satellite link (Taylor teaches using a DNS query and receiving a resolved network address corresponding to requested media programs. Powell teaches that a media program stored in an edge database is associated with a globally unique identifier, thereby uniquely identifying the media program within the system. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the network address obtained from the DNS resolution as the network address associated with the globally uniquely identified media program, because a uniquely identified resource in a network system must be accessed through a corresponding network address. Accordingly, the combination yields a unique network address associated with the globally uniquely identified media program)
As evidence of the above rationale Flavel discloses:
unique network address (McCord;
see e.g. [0094] “The addressing controller 354 is configured to automatically and autonomously create a globally-unique local address 355 for its VPN node, Node 250, as per Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) Request for Comments (RFC) 4193, where the Global and Subnet IDs are derived from a shared, unique, and randomly-generated identifier ...”
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate McCord’s unique network address. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of accessing stored content at edge devices.
Claims 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Powell in view of Schmidt (US 2017/0251267) and in further view of Flavel (US 2015/0358401)
Regarding claim 15, Powell discloses an automated process to be performed by a customer device that comprises a processor and an interface to a terrestrial wireless network for communicating with an edge device having access to a satellite communications system, wherein the automated process comprises:
receiving a list of programs by the customer device via a satellite link from the edge device, wherein the list of programs describes media programs stored in a local data storage associated with the edge device and wherein each of the media programs stored in the local data storage is associated with a unique network address that identifies a location of the media program on the data storage associated with the edge device so that the media program is available directly from the edge device via the terrestrial device using the unique network address (Powell ([0078]) teaches maintaining a list of media programs associated with media content stored at the edge device. While Powell describes the edge device maintaining the list of available media programs, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the customer device to receive the list of programs describing the media programs stored in the local data storge associated with the edge device so that the customer device can identify programs available for selection and retrieval. Powell further teaches associating stored media content with a unique address identifying the location of the media program within the data storage, In view of Powell’s teaching that each stored media program is associated with a unique address
identifying its location, it would have been obvious to implement the address a unique network address so that the selected media program can be identified and accessed using that address
see e.g. [0078] In one embodiment, the digital object management module 160 keeps track of related files within a web page 15a or related to a web page 15a. The related files may be uplinked and transmitted together through satellite transmission 34. The relevance determination module 170, being integrated with the digital object management module 160, may be configured to receive a list of the objects and files associated with a page. In this manner, the local digital object relevance determination module 170 may able to ensure that the related digital objects stay together and are stored together in the local cache database 24. It may also calculate usage information for each of the objects and files separately and keep all associated files or "trim" a portion of the objects and files that are not highly used. The related files may then be transmitted as a group when one or more of the related files is requested by a user at a communicating station 30”
See e.g. [0032] “... Thus, an end user at a station 30 may be connected to a local proxy server 22 remotely over a modem, or locally over a network 44. The local proxy servers 22 can be considered to be at the "edge"...”);
receiving, by the customer device, a user selection of a selected media program (Powell; the list received by the customer device as detailed above may be utilized for the user lection of a selected media program);
determining, by the customer device, if the selected media program is identified in the list of programs that are available directly from the edge device ( Powell; Powell teaches that the client device presents a list of media programs from which a user selects a program (per the rationale above), On view of Powell’s teaching that that the list identifies the media programs available from the edge server/cache, the client device necessarily determines whether the selected media program appears in the list in order to determine that the program is available directly from the edge device and can be obtained from that device);
if the selected media program is available directly from the edge device in communication with the customer device via the terrestrial wireless network, obtaining the selected media program from the edge device via the terrestrial wireless network using the unique network address(Powell; Powell teaches a cache hit which is equivalent to the requested media program matching one of the received media programs stored in the local cache. Subsequent to the cache hit the media program can be transmitted to the customer device via the local network;
See e.g. [0076] A hit rate reporting module 179 periodically reports the local hit rates for part or all of the digital objects 15 transmitted from the central proxy server 12. This information is used to calculate global demand statistics. Preferably, each participating local proxy server 22 tabulates every request from every end user station 30 ...”
See e.g. [0016] “ When a user requests Internet data, the request is first sent to the local cache database management module to determine whether the requested digital objects is present therein. If the digital objects is present, it is rapidly transmitted to the user directly from the local cache database, without the necessity for transmission over the Internet_; and
if the selected media program is not available from the edge device, directing the edge device to obtain the selected media program via the satellite communications system (Powell; Powell teaches that when a requested digital object is not present in the local cache, the system invokes a miss manager subsystem that identifies the requested object and initiates retrieval ([00134]. The requested digital object is then received over the satellite transmission path from the central proxy server and delivered to the local caching module ([0134];
See e.g. [0134] “ ... has not been previously cached by the local cache database management module, the local cache database management module calls up the miss manager subsystem 400, identifies the URL (universal resource locator) of that web object on the Internet, and gives the local caching module 17 an opportunity to take steps to find and gather that digital object and deliver it to the local cache database management module 29 by means of the present system in the manner which has been described up to this point, where the digital object is received over the satellite by the local caching module 17 ... ”
Examiner’s Note: The final limitation of claim 1 contains alternative (“if/otherwise”) contingent paths, Under MPEP 2173.05(h),a prior-art disclosure satisfying any one of the alternative limitations is sufficient to meet the claim. The Examiner has addressed both paths for completeness although satisfaction of either alternative would be sufficient)).
As evidence of the rationale above Schmidt discloses:
receiving a list of programs by the customer device (Schmidt;
see e.g. [0029] “... Client device 210 may display a list of the media programs to a user, and the user may request that one of the media programs be played back via client device 210 ...”)
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Schmidt’s list. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implanting a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of delivering content to user devices. Moreover, the combined solution also realizes the steps of a user selecting items from the list for (i.e. requests) for potential consumption at the client device.
As evidence of the rationale above Flavel discloses:
unique network address (Flavel;
see e,g, [0025] “... each edge server may have also have its own unique edge IP address ...”)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Flavel’s unique network address. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of accessing stored content at edge devices.
Regarding claim 20, Powell in view of Schmidt and in further view of Flavel discloses the automated process of claim claim 15 wherein the edge device is configured to communicate with a satellite control service to instruct the satellite control service to deliver the selected media program to the edge device via the satellite link and to forward the selected media program received via the satellite link to the customer device via the terrestrial wireless network (Powell, [0059], [0070], [0134], Powell provides for the central proxy server to interact directly with the local proxy servers which subsequently interact with user devices for delivery of content from the “edge” (se e.g. Fig.1 and 2) The illustration in Figs. 1 and 2 function as a satellite control service; see e.g. Abstract)
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Schmidt’s list. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implanting a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of delivering content to user devices. Moreover, the combined solution also realizes the steps of a user selecting items from the list for (i.e. requests) for potential consumption at the client device.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Flavel’s unique network address. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of accessing stored content at edge devices.
Claim 1,5, 11, and 15 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Takagi (US2020/00072260) in view of Liu (US 10,419106)
Regarding claim 1, Takagi discloses an automated process performed by a processor of an edge device in a satellite communications system, the automated process comprising:
receiving, via a satellite link, a plurality of media programs (Takagi;
see e.g. Fig. 3 illustrating an Edge System 120 receiving via a satellite modem 142 media programs from Satellite 144;
The Examiner notes a conventional satellite link is inherently present to realize the transmittal of media from the satellite 144 to network element 143
see e.g. Fig. 7
see e.g.[0055] “... The S-CDN Device 135 in some example embodiments provides for streaming of content delivered via the satellite link”
see e.g. [0053] “The S-CDN Device 136 ... converts downlink transmission from the Satellite 144 ...”
see e.g. [0088] “... video on demand (VOD) media ...”
see e.g. [0062] “... a space based satellite network. The content may be one or more of a variety of video or data delivery formats and applications including, for example, linear video, video on demand ...” );
storing the received media programs in a data storage associated with the edge device (Takagi;
see e.g. Fig. 3 illustrating S-CDN device 136 actively storing the received media programs in cache 138;
see e.g.. Fig. 3 illustrating Edge Server 130 comprising Cache 138
see e.g. [0053] “... The S-CDN Device 136 may include at least one cache 138 ...”
see e.g. Fig. 8, Step 820 “Store content in local cache”
see e.g. [0054] “... the S-CDN Device 136 may be instantiated on common multi-tenant architecture (such as OpenStack) at the edge system 120 location ...”), wherein each of the received media programs is associated with a unique network address that identifies a location of the media program on the data storage associated with the edge device(Takagi; Takagi discloses)[0057]) that each cached media program is identified by a unique URI/URL that resolves to a server IP address, thereby identifying its location in the cache associated with the edge device . Takagi also further discloses ([0167]) that the DNS maintains entries mapping hostnames to corresponding IP addresses (main and secondary). Taken together, these disclosures teach that each received media program associated with a unique network address hierarchy (URI/URL –> IP) that identifies both the device location and the individual media object stored therein.
[0057] The S-CDN Device 136 may host a software instance of a Request Routing system to advertise the cache content (e.g., URLs URIs, etc.) to resolve to a server IP address enabling requests from UEs 110 for content that is cached in the cache 138 of the S-CDN Device 136 to be directed via the LS-GW 132 to the LP-GW 134 and to the cache 138 of the S-CDN Device 136. As a result of this process, the requested content is delivered from the cache 138 of the S-CDN Device 136 to the LP-GW 134 and then to the LS-GW 132, from the LS-GW 132 to the eNodeB 126, and through the eNodeB 126 to the UEs 110 over the RAN 124
[0167] In operation S1620, the DNS query returns two IP addresses. For example, the DNS may have entries:
TABLE-US-00001 TABLE 1 1 Main-CR Hostname IP Address 2 Secondary-CR Hostname IP Address
[0168] In operation S1630, the first IP address is resolved to the Main-CR hostname using the DNS table (see Table 1));
subsequently receiving, from a customer device via a local area network that is separate from the satellite link, a request for a media program (Takagi;
see e.g. [0006] “... receives a request for content from the UE ...”
see e.g. Fig. 3 illustrating the reception of requests from UEs (i.e. customer devices 110);
see e.g. [0063] “... stored in the cache 138 within the S-CDN Device 136 and made available to be delivered from the cache 138 over the eNodeB 126/RAN 124 in response to requests from the UEs 110 operating within the communication range of the eNodeB 126/RAN 124 ...”
see e.g. [0041] “... to a receive site for S-CDN such as a WiFi hotspot, a home satellite dish, etc., where the content is downlinked, unpacked, unencrypted and provided for delivery directly to a television or other user equipment (UE) on the WIFI hotspot or in the home ...” );
if the requested media program matches one of the received media programs stored in the data storage, obtaining the requested media program from the data storage and transmitting the obtained media program to the customer device via the local area network (Takagi;
see e.g. [0063] “... stored in the cache 138 within the S-CDN Device 136 and made available to be delivered from the cache 138 over the eNodeB 126/RAN 124 in response to requests from the UEs 110 operating within the communication range of the eNodeB 126/RAN 124 ...”
see e.g. [0067] “... CDN requests routing techniques for route optimizations are used to enable automatic determination as to whether content request by any given UE 110 is available to be delivered via the LP-GW 134 from the local cache 138 of the S-CDN Device 136 of the edge system 120 ...”), and otherwise indicating to the customer device via the local area network that the requested media program is not available from the edge device (Takagi; If the requested media program is not available the UE device is instructed to stream content from another source previously provided per a timeout indication);
see e.g. [0167], [0171] ,[0175] , [0176]
see e.g. Fig. 16).
Takagi Does not expressly disclose:
otherwise directing the customer device to request the requested media program via the satellite link for delivery directly to the customer device via the satellite link
However in analogous art Liu discloses:
otherwise directing the customer device to request the requested media program via the satellite link for delivery directly to the customer device via the satellite link (Liu;
See e.g. Column 19, Lines 45 – 50 “In short the content fetching can follow the following pattern: 1) Terminal devices sends a content request, 2) upon cache missing in LEO, the LEO satellite forwards the content request to the caching layer 204, 3) upon cache missing in GEO, the GEO satellite forwards request to peers through ISLs, ...”
See e.g. Fig. 8)
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Liu’s caching scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implanting a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of providing content to user devices.
Furthermore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the primary reference to allow delivery of requested content via a satellite link when the content is not available at an edge node, as taught by Liu, which discloses that a terminal device (902) may request and receive content from a serving access node such as a LEO satellite (804) that inspects its onboard cache and delivers its the content if available. Incorporating such satellite based delivery into Powell’s edge caching architecture would have been a predictable design choice to enable content delivery when edge caches do not contain the requested content while leveraging satellite based VDN distribution mechanisms.
Examiner’s Note:
The Examiner further notes that the combined teachings reflect a content delivery network (CDN) architecture in which content may be delivered through multiple alternative network paths depending on the availability of cached content and the resources of the distribution network. A person of ordinary skill in the art, such as a network planner, CDN architect, or content distribution engineer, would understand that such systems would understand that such such systems are not statically configured for a single rigid delivery path, Rather, CDN deployments may be designed to dynamically select delivery routes and distribution nodes based on operational considerations including cache availability, network topology, subscriber demand, system load, and available transmission resources
The Examiner further notes that the satellite based CDN architecture described in expressly contemplates multiple distribution layers and flexible content delivery paths. For example Liu ((Column 3, Lines 8 - 49)) describes an extraterrestrial CDN architecture in which LEO satellites may operate as an access layer, GEO/MEO satellites may operate as a caching layer, and additional storage and relay layers may be implemented at other network locations. Such an architecture supports the selection of different content delivery paths depending on such factors such as cache availability, bandwidth usage, and service requirements (e.g. delay -sensitive traffic, versus delay-tolerant traffic). Accordingly, a person of ordinary skill in the art, such as a network planner or CDN architect would understand that that the distribution policies within such a system may be configured to retrieve or deliver requested content through any available layer capable of providing the requested content, including satellite access nodes or other upstream distribution resources when content is not available at the a local edge cache. The modification of the primary reference to incorporate the satellite delivery mechanism described in Liu therefore reflects the application of the disclosed hierarchical CDN architecture to provide and additional delivery path for requested content.
Regarding claim 5, claim 5 comprises the same and/or similar subject matter as claim1 and is considered an obvious variation; therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 comprises the same and/or similar subject matter as claim1 and is considered an obvious variation; therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 comprises the same and/or similar subject matter as claim1 and is considered an obvious variation; therefore it is rejected under the same rationale
Claim 1,5, 11, and 15 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Takagi (US2020/00072260) in view of Powell
Regarding claim 1, Takagi discloses an automated process performed by a processor of an edge device in a satellite communications system, the automated process comprising:
receiving, via a satellite link, a plurality of media programs (Takagi;
see e.g. Fig. 3 illustrating an Edge System 120 receiving via a satellite modem 142 media programs from Satellite 144;
The Examiner notes a conventional satellite link is inherently present to realize the transmittal of media from the satellite 144 to network element 143
see e.g. Fig. 7
see e.g.[0055] “... The S-CDN Device 135 in some example embodiments provides for streaming of content delivered via the satellite link”
see e.g. [0053] “The S-CDN Device 136 ... converts downlink transmission from the Satellite 144 ...”
see e.g. [0088] “... video on demand (VOD) media ...”
see e.g. [0062] “... a space based satellite network. The content may be one or more of a variety of video or data delivery formats and applications including, for example, linear video, video on demand ...” );
storing the received media programs in a data storage associated with the edge device (Takagi;
see e.g. Fig. 3 illustrating S-CDN device 136 actively storing the received media programs in cache 138;
see e.g.. Fig. 3 illustrating Edge Server 130 comprising Cache 138
see e.g. [0053] “... The S-CDN Device 136 may include at least one cache 138 ...”
see e.g. Fig. 8, Step 820 “Store content in local cache”
see e.g. [0054] “... the S-CDN Device 136 may be instantiated on common multi-tenant architecture (such as OpenStack) at the edge system 120 location ...”), wherein each of the received media programs is associated with a unique network address that identifies a location of the media program on the data storage associated with the edge device(Takagi; Takagi discloses)[0057]) that each cached media program is identified by a unique URI/URL that resolves to a server IP address, thereby identifying its location in the cache associated with the edge device . Takagi also further discloses ([0167]) that the DNS maintains entries mapping hostnames to corresponding IP addresses (main and secondary). Taken together, these disclosures teach that each received media program associated with a unique network address hierarchy (URI/URL –> IP) that identifies both the device location and the individual media object stored therein.
[0057] The S-CDN Device 136 may host a software instance of a Request Routing system to advertise the cache content (e.g., URLs URIs, etc.) to resolve to a server IP address enabling requests from UEs 110 for content that is cached in the cache 138 of the S-CDN Device 136 to be directed via the LS-GW 132 to the LP-GW 134 and to the cache 138 of the S-CDN Device 136. As a result of this process, the requested content is delivered from the cache 138 of the S-CDN Device 136 to the LP-GW 134 and then to the LS-GW 132, from the LS-GW 132 to the eNodeB 126, and through the eNodeB 126 to the UEs 110 over the RAN 124
[0167] In operation S1620, the DNS query returns two IP addresses. For example, the DNS may have entries:
TABLE-US-00001 TABLE 1 1 Main-CR Hostname IP Address 2 Secondary-CR Hostname IP Address
[0168] In operation S1630, the first IP address is resolved to the Main-CR hostname using the DNS table (see Table 1));
subsequently receiving, from a customer device via a local area network that is separate from the satellite link, a request for a media program (Takagi;
see e.g. [0006] “... receives a request for content from the UE ...”
see e.g. Fig. 3 illustrating the reception of requests from UEs (i.e. customer devices 110);
see e.g. [0063] “... stored in the cache 138 within the S-CDN Device 136 and made available to be delivered from the cache 138 over the eNodeB 126/RAN 124 in response to requests from the UEs 110 operating within the communication range of the eNodeB 126/RAN 124 ...”
see e.g. [0041] “... to a receive site for S-CDN such as a WiFi hotspot, a home satellite dish, etc., where the content is downlinked, unpacked, unencrypted and provided for delivery directly to a television or other user equipment (UE) on the WIFI hotspot or in the home ...” );
if the requested media program matches one of the received media programs stored in the data storage, obtaining the requested media program from the data storage and transmitting the obtained media program to the customer device via the local area network (Takagi;
see e.g. [0063] “... stored in the cache 138 within the S-CDN Device 136 and made available to be delivered from the cache 138 over the eNodeB 126/RAN 124 in response to requests from the UEs 110 operating within the communication range of the eNodeB 126/RAN 124 ...”
see e.g. [0067] “... CDN requests routing techniques for route optimizations are used to enable automatic determination as to whether content request by any given UE 110 is available to be delivered via the LP-GW 134 from the local cache 138 of the S-CDN Device 136 of the edge system 120 ...”), and otherwise indicating to the customer device via the local area network that the requested media program is not available from the edge device (Takagi; If the requested media program is not available the UE device is instructed to stream content from another source previously provided per a timeout indication);
see e.g. [0167], [0171] ,[0175] , [0176]
see e.g. Fig. 16).
Takagi Does not expressly disclose:
otherwise directing the customer device to request the requested media program via the satellite link for delivery directly to the customer device via the satellite link
However in analogous art Powell discloses:
otherwise directing the customer device to request the requested media program via the satellite link for delivery directly to the customer device via the satellite link ((Powell; Powell teaches that when a requested digital object is not present in the local cache, the system invokes a miss manager subsystem that identifies the requested object and initiates retrieval ([00134]. The requested digital object is then received over the satellite transmission path from the central proxy server and delivered to the local caching module ([0134])
Further, Figs. 1 and 2 disclose an embodiment in win which the local cache database is associated with a Direct Connect Use, indicating that the caching functionality may reside at the user device itself. In that embodiment, the requested digital object obtained via the satellite transmission path is delivered to the user-side device/cache arrangement rather than an intermediary proxy. Accordingly when the requested media program is not available in the edge device cache, the system causes the requested program to be obtained via the satellite transmission path terminating at the user device, thereby directing the customer device to obtain the requested media program via the satellite link for delivery directly to the customer device
See e.g. [0134] “ ... has not been previously cached by the local cache database management module, the local cache database management module calls up the miss manager subsystem 400, identifies the URL (universal resource locator) of that web object on the Internet, and gives the local caching module 17 an opportunity to take steps to find and gather that digital object and deliver it to the local cache database management module 29 by means of the present system in the manner which has been described up to this point, where the digital object is received over the satellite by the local caching module 17 ... ”)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Powell’s scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies in delivering content across user devices.
Examiner’s Note: The final limitation of claim 1 contains alternative (“if/otherwise”) contingent paths, Under MPEP 2173.05(h),a prior-art disclosure satisfying any one of the alternative limitations is sufficient to meet the claim. The Examiner has addressed both paths for completeness although satisfaction of either alternative would be sufficient)
Regarding claim 5, claim 5 comprises the same and/or similar subject matter as claim1 and is considered an obvious variation; therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 comprises the same and/or similar subject matter as claim1 and is considered an obvious variation; therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 comprises the same and/or similar subject matter as claim1 and is considered an obvious variation; therefore it is rejected under the same rationale
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ismail (US 2014/0269279) Teaches client side proxy and/or cache may be reside at a client device or external to a client device (See e.g. Fig. 1C, [0104])
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner's supervisor Vivek Srivastava can be reached on (571) 272 7304
/TODD L BARKER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2449