DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 6 and 17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/17/2025.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A in the reply filed on 12/17/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9-16, 18, and 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)&( 2) as being anticipated by Davis et al. (WO 2020/025738 A2).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Davis discloses:
A system for generating an inhalable aerosol, ([pg 1 lines 23-24]), the system comprising:
an insert, comprising:
a housing defining an inner chamber, ([pg 26 line 25] Fig 1 & 2 ref an outer tube 10a defining an interior space anticipating an inner chamber), the inner chamber comprising:
a first compartment configured to contain a non-liquid vaporizable material, the non-liquid vaporizable material forming a part of the inhalable aerosol as a result of being heated, ([pg 32 lines 1-8] Fig 1&2 ref 10b the first compartment being defined by the outer tube 10a and the material itself 10b, and the air gap 13, [pg 31 lines 3-5] the aerosolizable material may be an amorphous solid or other forms described); and
a second compartment that is separate from the first compartment of the inner chamber and defines a first insert airflow pathway, ([pg 32 lines 1-8] Fig 1&2 ref 13 the second compartment defined bounded by the outer aeroslizable material ref 10b, the inner aerosolizable material 11b and the spacing elements 12, 12a, 12b),
the second compartment, extending between an inlet and an outlet of the housing, (Fig 2 ref 17 indicating a mouth end outlet, the opposite end comprising the inlet), configured to allow formation of the inhalable aerosol therealong and delivery of the inhalable aerosol through the outlet for inhalation by a user, ([pg 32 lines 1-8] describing an external tube heater to heat the aerosolizable material on the interior of the outer tube, and an internal tube heater to heat the aerosolizable material on the exterior of the inner tube, where the aerosol from each mingle in the gap between the two (and are expected to be inhalable through the end of the end of the tube, , ([pg 36 lines 17-18] Fig 2, ref 17); and
a vaporizer body, (Fig 6) comprising:
a receptacle, (Fig 6 ref 110) configured to receive the insert; and
a device airflow pathway that extends into the receptacle between the insert and a side wall of the receptacle, (Fig 6 depicting a consumable expected to have an exterior gap between the sidewall of the receptacle, [pg 37 lines 32-33] suggesting the outer tube of the insert is nonporous, reasonably depicting a device airflow pathway in the absence of any other air inlet shown),
the device airflow pathway being upstream from and in fluid communication with the first insert airflow pathway, (Fig 6); and
wherein the system further comprises a heating element configured to heat the non-liquid vaporizable material when the insert is positioned in the compartment receptacle to generate the inhalable aerosol, ([pg 32 lines 1-8] describing exterior and interior tube heaters).
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Davis discloses:
The system of claim 1, further comprising an outlet positioned along a mouthpiece of the insert, ([pg 41 lines 13-16] Fig 2, ref 17 the end of the tube anticipating a mouthpiece in use as a location that the user draws aerosol from the consumable with their mouth).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Davis discloses:
The system of claim 2, further comprising an inlet positioned along a first end of the insert, the first end being opposed to a second end including the mouthpiece, (Fig 2 having a mouthpiece end, ref 17, and opposite to that end, a first end with an inlet).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Davis discloses:
The system of claim 1, wherein the first compartment and the second compartment extend approximately parallel to each other, (Fig 2 ref 10b first compartment with solid vaporizable material and 13 second compartment comprising an airflow passage, extending approximately parallel along the A----A line).
Regarding claims 5 and 16, Davis discloses:
The system of claim 1, wherein the inner chamber further includes a third compartment configured to contain additional non-liquid vaporizable material, the second compartment positioned between the first compartment and the third compartment, (Fig 2 ref 11b comprising additional solid vaporizable material, a layer on the inner tube 11a, the layer 11b, the inner tube 11a, and the air gap 13 bounding the layer and forming the second compartment).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Davis discloses:
The system of claim 1, wherein the housing comprises aluminum foil, ([pg 34 lines 2] describing the outer layer of the tube as a carrier, and [pg 16 lines 19-20] indicating that in some embodiments the carrier comprises a metal foil such as aluminum foil).
Regarding claims 9 and 20, Davis discloses:
The system of claim 1, wherein the housing comprises a paper material, , ([pg 34 lines 2] describing the outer layer of the tube as a carrier, and [pg 16 lines 8-12] indicating that in some embodiments the carrier comprises a paper-backed foil).
Regarding claims 10 and 21, Davis discloses:
The system of claim 1, wherein the non- liquid vaporizable material comprises a plant material and/or a plant material based product, ([pg 7-8 lines 30-5] the aerosolizable material may contain tobacco, known to be a plant material).
Regarding claims 11 and 22, Davis discloses:
The system of claim 1, wherein the non-liquid vaporizable material comprises a tobacco leaf and/or a reconstituted tobacco, ([pg 7-8 lines 30-5] the aerosolizable material may contain reconstituted tobacco).
Conclusion
/D.E.V./Examiner, Art Unit 1747
/KATHERINE A WILL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1747