DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 310. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03 August 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Deng (PG Pub 20150063072).
Considering claim 1, Deng (Figures 1A + 3A) teaches an acoustic tracking device comprising: an acoustic transducer comprising a ferroelectric single crystal piezoelectric component (8 + paragraph 0051); a microprocessor (6 + paragraph 0051) electronically coupled to the acoustic transducer to drive the acoustic transducer (paragraph 0060); an oscillator having a preset operating frequency, the oscillator electronically (paragraph 0060) coupled to the microprocessor and a battery (10 + paragraph 0051) electronically coupled to each of the microprocessor and the oscillator.
Considering claim 3, Deng (Figures 1A + 3A) teaches wherein the ferroelectric single crystal piezoelectric component is shaped as a tube (paragraph 0049).
Considering claim 4, Deng (Figures 1A + 3A) teaches wherein the battery (10 + paragraph 0055) is arranged within the tube formed by the ferroelectric single crystal piezoelectric.
Considering claim 7, Deng teaches wherein the microprocessor is configured (It has been held that the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function is not a positive limitation buy only requires the ability to so perform) to drive the acoustic transducer at the preset frequency (paragraph 0051).
Considering claim 8, Deng teaches wherein the microprocessor (6 + paragraph 0051) is configured to calibrate a driving frequency of the acoustic transducer based upon a signal from the oscillator at the preset frequency (It has been held that the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function is not a positive limitation buy only requires the ability to so perform).
Considering claim 9, Deng (Figures 1A + 3A) teaches comprising a housing (4 + paragraph 0049) configured to hold the acoustic transducer, the microprocessor, the oscillator and the battery within a form factor (implicit since the same structure is taught + It has been held that the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function is not a positive limitation buy only requires the ability to so perform).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5-6, and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng (PG Pub 20150063072).
Considering claim 2, Deng discloses the acoustic transducer comprises the ferroelectric single crystal piezoelectric component as described above. However, Deng does not disclose a plurality of ferroelectric single crystal piezoelectric components arranged in a stack, wherein the polling direction of a first one of the plurality of ferroelectric single crystal piezoelectric components is oriented opposite of the polling direction of an adjacent one of the ferroelectric single crystal piezoelectric components of the stack. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art at the time the invention was made to a plurality of ferroelectric single crystal piezoelectric components arranged in a stack, wherein the polling direction of a first one of the plurality of ferroelectric single crystal piezoelectric components is oriented opposite of the polling direction of an adjacent one of the ferroelectric single crystal piezoelectric components of the stack, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
Considering claim 5, Deng discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the preset operating frequency is 417 kHz. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the preset operating frequency is 417 kHz, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art.
Considering claim 6, Deng discloses the claimed invention except wherein a natural resonance frequency of the acoustic transducer is 417 kHz. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a natural resonance frequency of the acoustic transducer is 417 kHz, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art.
Considering claim 10, Deng discloses the form factor is substantially cylindrical (4 + paragraph 0049) except for with a diameter of 2 mm or less and a length of 8 mm or less. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a diameter of 2 mm or less and a length of 8 mm, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art.
Considering claim 11, Deng discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the acoustic tracking device has a weight of 57 mg or less. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the acoustic tracking device has a weight of 57 mg or less, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-17 are allowed. Considering claim 12, the prior art does not teach an acoustic tracking device comprising: an acoustic transducer shaped substantially as a tube open at one end; a battery arranged within the tube and a cap arranged in the tube as the open end to hermetically seal the battery within the tube and the cap in combinations with the rest of the applicant’s claimed limitations.
Conclusion
/BRYAN P GORDON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837