DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18332591 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both directed to dock levelers having a leg, deck hinge bracket, c-shaped brackets and stock plates.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-8, 13-15, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Di Sieno et al (5,784,740) (“Di Sieno”).
Regarding claim 1, Di Sieno teaches a dock leveler, comprising: a leg (34); a deck hinge bracket (38) coupled to a top portion of the leg, wherein the deck hinge bracket comprises: a rear plate couplable to a back wall of the dock (33); a bottom plate coupled to the rear plate; a deck hinge shaft (39) coupled to the bottom plate of the deck hinge bracket.
Regarding claim 6, DiSieno teaches an adjustment bracket (32) is coupled to a bottom portion of the leg (34).
Regarding claim 7, DiSieno teaches a support plate (vertical piece of element 32) is coupled to the leg (34) at least partially between the adjustment bracket (32) and the deck hinge bracket (38) (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 8, DiSieno teaches a dock leveler for a loading dock, comprising: a leg bracket assembly, comprising: a leg (34); a deck hinge bracket (38) coupled to a top portion of the leg (34), wherein the deck hinge bracket comprises: a rear plate couplable to a back wall (33) of the dock; a bottom plate (horizontal portion) coupled to the rear plate; a deck hinge shaft (39) coupled to the bottom plate of the deck hinge bracket; and a deck (40) rotatably coupled to the deck hinge shaft (Figures 1, 2).
Regarding claim 13, DiSieno teaches the back wall of the dock (33) comprises a curb angle, and wherein the rear plate (38) of the deck hinge bracket is coupled to the curb angle (See marked up Figure 2).
Regarding claim 14, DiSieno teaches a dock leveler for a loading dock, comprising: a leg bracket assembly (38), comprising: a leg (34); a deck hinge bracket coupled to a top portion of the leg and a back wall of the dock (33); a deck hinge shaft (39) coupled to the deck hinge bracket such that the deck hinge shaft is proximate the back wall of the dock; and a deck (40) rotatably coupled to the deck hinge shaft such that a back end of the deck is proximate a top edge of the back wall of the dock (See Figure 1).
Regarding claim 15, DiSieno teaches the deck hinge bracket (38) comprises a rear plate and a bottom plate coupled to the rear plate (See marked up Figure 2 above), and wherein the deck hinge shaft is coupled to the bottom plate (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 20, DiSieno teaches the back wall of the dock (33) comprises a curb angle, and wherein the rear plate of the deck hinge bracket is coupled to the curb angle (See Marked up Figure 2 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 9 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di Sieno et al (5,784,740) (“Di Sieno”) in view of Le Clear (3,071,790).
Regarding claim 2, DiSieno teaches the invention as described above but fails to teach a stock plate. Le Clear teaches a dock leveler having a deck hinge bracket (79) with a rear wall and bottom plate (Figure 1) and further teaches the bottom plate of the deck hinge bracket comprises a stock plate extending upward from a top surface of the bottom plate, and wherein the deck hinge shaft is coupled to a top surface of the stock plate (See marked up Figure 1 below). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a stock plate on the hinge bracket of DiSieno as taught by Le Clear as it is obvious to use a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way.
Regarding claim 9, DiSieno teaches the invention as described above but fails to teach a stock plate. Le Clear teaches a dock leveler having a deck hinge bracket (79) with a rear wall and bottom plate (Figure 1) and further teaches the bottom plate of the deck hinge bracket comprises a stock plate extending upward from a top surface of the bottom plate, and wherein the deck hinge shaft is coupled to a top surface of the stock plate (See marked up Figure 1 below). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a stock plate on the hinge bracket of DiSieno as taught by Le Clear as it is obvious to use a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way.
Regarding claim 16, DiSieno teaches the invention as described above but fails to teach a stock plate. Le Clear teaches a dock leveler having a deck hinge bracket (79) with a rear wall and bottom plate (Figure 1) and further teaches the bottom plate of the deck hinge bracket comprises a stock plate extending upward from a top surface of the bottom plate, and wherein the deck hinge shaft is coupled to a top surface of the stock plate (See marked up Figure 1 below). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a stock plate on the hinge bracket of DiSieno as taught by Le Clear as it is obvious to use a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way.
Claim(s) 3-4,10-11, 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di Sieno et al (5,784,740) (“Di Sieno”) in view of Hahn (4,570,277).
Regarding claim 3, Di Sieno teaches the invention as described above but fails to teach a c-shaped bracket. Hahn teaches a dock leveler having a leg (13a) and a hinge bracket (13d) wherein the deck hinge bracket further comprises a C- shaped bracket (13c) coupled to the rear plate and the bottom plate, wherein the deck hinge shaft (18a) is disposed within the C-shaped bracket (13c). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a c-shaped bracket on the hinge bracket of DiSieno as taught by Hahn as it is obvious to use a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way. The combination of DiSieno and Hahn would result in the c-shaped bracket being coupled to the rear plate and bottom plate of DiSieno.
Regarding claim 4, DiSieno as modified by Hahn teaches the deck hinge shaft is coupled to the C-shaped bracket (13c).
Regarding claim 10, Di Sieno teaches the invention as described above but fails to teach a c-shaped bracket. Hahn teaches a dock leveler having a leg (13a) and a hinge bracket (13d) wherein the deck hinge bracket further comprises a C- shaped bracket (13c) coupled to the rear plate and the bottom plate, wherein the deck hinge shaft (18a) is disposed within the C-shaped bracket (13c). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a c-shaped bracket on the hinge bracket of DiSieno as taught by Hahn as it is obvious to use a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way. The combination of DiSieno and Hahn would result in the c-shaped bracket being coupled to the rear plate and bottom plate of DiSieno.
Regarding claim 11, DiSieno as modified by Hahn teaches the deck hinge shaft is coupled to the C-shaped bracket (13c).
Regarding claim 17, Di Sieno teaches the invention as described above but fails to teach a c-shaped bracket. Hahn teaches a dock leveler having a leg (13a) and a hinge bracket (13d) wherein the deck hinge bracket further comprises a C- shaped bracket (13c) coupled to the rear plate and the bottom plate, wherein the deck hinge shaft (18a) is disposed within the C-shaped bracket (13c). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a c-shaped bracket on the hinge bracket of DiSieno as taught by Hahn as it is obvious to use a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way. The combination of DiSieno and Hahn would result in the c-shaped bracket being coupled to the rear plate and bottom plate of DiSieno.
Regarding claim 18, DiSieno as modified by Hahn teaches the deck hinge shaft is coupled to the C-shaped bracket (13c).
Claim(s) 5, 12 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di Sieno et al (5,784,740) (“Di Sieno”) in view of Stevenson (3,839,761).
Regarding claim 5, DiSieno teaches the invention as described above but fails to teach the rear plate of the deck hinge bracket comprises a weld point. Stevenson teaches a dock leveler having a deck hinge bracket (25) wherein the rear plate comprises a weld point (Figure 9, 61). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a weld point on the bracket of DiSieno as taught by Stevenson to provide a secure connection between the bracket and the hinge and as it is obvious to use a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way.
Regarding claim 12, DiSieno teaches the invention as described above but fails to teach the rear plate of the deck hinge bracket comprises a weld point. Stevenson teaches a dock leveler having a deck hinge bracket (25) wherein the rear plate comprises a weld point (Figure 9, 61). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a weld point on the bracket of DiSieno as taught by Stevenson to provide a secure connection between the bracket and the hinge and as it is obvious to use a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way.
Regarding claim 19, DiSieno teaches the invention as described above but fails to teach the rear plate of the deck hinge bracket comprises a weld point. Stevenson teaches a dock leveler having a deck hinge bracket (25) wherein the rear plate comprises a weld point (Figure 9, 61). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a weld point on the bracket of DiSieno as taught by Stevenson to provide a secure connection between the bracket and the hinge and as it is obvious to use a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed on the attached PTO-892. Wallis teaches a dock leveler having a hinge bracket coupled to a leg portion.
/ABIGAIL A RISIC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671 January 19, 2026