DETAILED ACTION
Disposition of the Claims
Claims 1-19 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doherty (US 20240303522 A1).
Regarding claim 1, 2, Doherty teaches an apparatus (Abstract, “Circuits are provided that create entanglement among qubits having Gottesman-Kitaev-Preskill (GKP) encoding using photonic systems and structures.”) comprising:
an optical circuit (id., a photonic circuit) comprising:
an interferometer (¶31, “Fig. 9A shows a circuit diagram for a dual-rail-encoded type II fusion gate that can be used in some embodiments.”) arranged to:
receive, as 2N input optical modes, a plurality of N dual-rail encoded photonic qubits (Qubit A and Qubit B), each photonic qubit encoded as probability amplitudes (sequitur) corresponding to the photon occupation of two orthogonal optical modes (¶2, “At the most general level, a qubit is a quantum system that can exist in one of two orthogonal states (denoted as |0> and |1> in the conventional bra-ket notation”);
interfere the N dual-rail encoded photonic qubits via beamsplitter interactions (¶91, “Thus, type II fusion gate 900 takes as input two dual-rail-encoded photon qubits thereby resulting in a total of four input modes (e.g., modes 943, 945, 947, and 949). To accomplish the fusion operation, a first mode coupler (e.g., 50/50 beam splitter) 953 is applied between a mode of each of the input qubits, e.g., between mode 943 and mode 949, and a second mode coupler (e.g., 50/50 beam splitter) 955 is applied between the other modes of each of the input qubits, e.g., between modes 945 and 947.”), the beamsplitter interactions comprising:
a beamsplitter interaction (953) on the first mode of the first qubit and the second mode of the Nth qubit (id.); and
a beamsplitter interaction (955) on the second mode of the jth qubit and the first mode of the (j+1)th qubit for all j between 1 and N - 1, wherein j is an integer; and
output 2N optical modes (¶91, “A detection operation is performed on all four [output] modes …”); and
a detector arrangement comprising one or more photodetectors, the detector arrangement configured to measure a photon occupation of each of the 2N output optical modes (¶91, “A detection … using photon detectors 957(1)-957(4).”, and ¶82, number of photons measured).
Doherty does not explicitly show the apparatus wherein N is an integer greater than two.
However, Doherty explicitly contemplates extension to cluster states of a collection of qubits (¶99), and n-GHZ fusion measurements for N > 2 (¶189, “Persons skilled in the art with the benefit of this disclosure will be able to construct appropriate n-GHZ fusion circuits using a network of beam splitters and homodyne measurement circuits.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have extended the disclosed circuit to achieve a disclosed cluster state and thus achieve an apparatus wherein N is an integer greater than two for the purpose of achieving measurement based quantum computing (Doherty, ¶99).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Doherty teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the detector arrangement comprises one or more photon number resolving photodetectors (¶82).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Doherty teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the detector arrangement comprises one or more threshold photodetectors (it is considered that any detector can be considered to be responsive to a threshold, e.g. to a minimum number of photons, such as an output mode of Doherty in Fig. 9A).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Doherty teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a second optical circuit configured to dual-rail encode the photonic qubits as 2N input optical modes (¶68-70, Figs. 2A, 2B).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Doherty teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the input optical modes and output optical modes are spatial modes (¶56-57).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Doherty teaches the apparatus according to claim 6, and further discloses wherein the interferometer is a spatial interferometer including 2N input ports for inputting the N dual-rail encoded qubits to the interferometer and further including 2N output ports for outputting the 2N output optical modes towards the detector arrangement (Fig. 9A, ¶89).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Doherty teaches the apparatus according to claim 7, and further discloses wherein the spatial interferometer (Fig. 9A, ¶89) comprises a plurality of waveguides arranged to pass through the interferometer to connect the 2N input ports to the 2N output ports; wherein the plurality of waveguides are arranged to provide coupling locations between pairs of the plurality of waveguides, wherein a waveguide coupler is arranged at each of at least a subset of the coupling locations such that at each of those coupling locations the two optical modes carried by the two respective waveguides are capable of coupling with each other in a beamsplitter interaction (Fig. 9A, ¶89).
Regarding claim 9 and 10, the modified Doherty teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein at least the interferometer is provided on a photonic integrated circuit (¶64, “qubits are provided in an integrated photonic system employing waveguides, beam splitters, photonic switches, and single photon detectors, and the modes that can be occupied by photons are spatiotemporal modes that correspond to presence of a photon in a waveguide”).
Regarding claim 15, Doherty teaches a method for entangling a plurality of N photonic multiqubit states (Abstract, “Circuits are provided that create entanglement among qubits having Gottesman-Kitaev-Preskill (GKP) encoding using photonic systems and structures.”, which is an N-qubit state per ¶63, “More generally, an n-qubit Greenberger-Horne-Zeilinger (GHZ) state (or “n-GHZ state”) is an entangled quantum state of n qubits. For a given orthonormal logical basis, an n-GHZ state is a quantum superposition of all qubits being in a first basis state superposed with all qubits being in a second basis state”), the method comprising performing a N-qubit state measurement on a set of photonic qubits (¶64), the set comprising one photonic qubit from each of the N photonic multiqubit states (Fig. 9A, Qubit A and/or Qubit B by the detectors 957), wherein performing the N-qubit state measurement comprises:
dual-rail encoding each photonic qubit of the set as probability amplitudes corresponding to the photon occupation of two orthogonal optical modes (Fig. 9A, ¶91, “Thus, type II fusion gate 900 takes as input two dual-rail-encoded photon qubits thereby resulting in a total of four input modes (e.g., modes 943, 945, 947, and 949). To accomplish the fusion operation, a first mode coupler (e.g., 50/50 beam splitter) 953 is applied between a mode of each of the input qubits, e.g., between mode 943 and mode 949, and a second mode coupler (e.g., 50/50 beam splitter) 955 is applied between the other modes of each of the input qubits, e.g., between modes 945 and 947.”);
providing the dual-rail encoded photonic qubits to an interferometer (Fig. 9A, interfered at 953, 955), the interferometer configured to:
perform a beamsplitter interaction (at 953 and 955) on the first mode of the first qubit and the second mode of the Nth qubit (¶91); and
perform a beamsplitter interaction on the second mode of the jth qubit and the first mode of the (j + 1)th qubit for all j between 1 and N - 1, wherein j is an integer (Fig. 9A, ¶91); and
measuring a photon occupation of optical modes output from the interferometer (¶68, “Any type of photodetector that has sensitivity to single photons can be used. In some embodiments, detection of a photon (e.g., at the output end of a waveguide) indicates an occupied mode while absence of a detected photon can indicate an unoccupied mode.”).
Doherty does not explicitly show wherein N is an integer greater than two.
However, Doherty explicitly contemplates extension to cluster states of a collection of qubits (¶99), and n-GHZ fusion measurements for N > 2 (¶189, “Persons skilled in the art with the benefit of this disclosure will be able to construct appropriate n-GHZ fusion circuits using a network of beam splitters and homodyne measurement circuits.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have extended the disclosed circuit to achieve a disclosed cluster state and thus achieve an apparatus wherein N is an integer greater than two for the purpose of achieving measurement based quantum computing (Doherty, ¶99).
Regarding claim 16, the modified Doherty teaches the method according to claim 15, and further discloses further comprising, based on the measured photon occupation of the output modes, performing corrective operations on at least one unmeasured photonic qubit of the entangled state (¶98, “Entanglement between the physical qubits results in expected correlations among measurements on different physical qubits, which enables error correction.”).
Regarding claim 17, the modified Doherty teaches the method according to claim 15, and further discloses wherein at least one photonic multiqubit state comprises a Bell state (¶128).
Regarding claim 18, the modified Doherty teaches the method according to claim 15, and further discloses wherein at least one photonic multiqubit state comprises a 3-qubit GHZ state (¶42, ¶169, ¶188, and Fig. 18).
Regarding claim 19, the modified Doherty teaches the method according to claim 15, and further discloses wherein the optical modes are spatial modes (¶57).
Regarding claim 11, the modified Doherty teaches the apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the interferometer is a time bin interferometer (Figs. 3, ¶23, Mach-Zehnder interferometers; ¶13, “Some embodiments relate to a method that can include receiving, at a plurality of fusion sites, a first plurality of quantum systems, wherein each quantum system of the first plurality of quantum systems includes a plurality of GKP qubits in an entangled state, and wherein respective quantum systems of the first plurality of quantum systems are independent quantum systems that are not entangled with one another. For each of the plurality of fusion sites, a homodyne measurement operation can be selected to be performed by a reconfigurable fusion circuit on respective GKP qubits from two or more of the quantum systems of the first plurality of quantum systems, thereby generating measurement outcome data”; ¶67, “For instance, active multiplexing schemes that employ log-tree, generalized Mach-Zehnder interferometers …”; and ¶209, “Resource state generator 2806 can incorporate CZ gates (e.g., instances of circuit 1700 described above), 3-GHZ state generators (e.g., circuit 1800), and/or fusion circuits (e.g., any of circuits 1900, 2000, 2100, 2200) to create resource states, which in this example are quantum systems of entangled GKP qubits … Fusion network router 2808 can include a set of switches, delay lines, and/or other components that direct qubits of particular resource states to fusion sites within fusion unit 2810 with appropriate timing to implement a particular fusion network. For instance, fusion network router 2808 can include delay lines (which can be lengths of optical fiber or other waveguides) to delay selected qubits from resource states generated during one operating cycle of resource state generator 2806 until a later operating cycle, thereby supporting timelike fusion”, i.e. time-bin encoding into early and late windows).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 12, the modified Doherty teaches the apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the time bin interferometer comprises at least one temporal mode coupling device, and wherein a temporal mode coupling device comprises a beamsplitter and a delay line, the delay line configured to connect one input port of the beamsplitter with one output port of the beamsplitter (Fig. 28, ¶207-209).
The modified Doherty does not explicitly show a reconfigurable beam splitter. The prior art when taken alone or in combination does not remedy this deficiency. Therefore the claim is allowable over the prior art.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, the dependent claims depend from a claim that contains allowable subject matter and are therefore allowable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, and generally discloses optical details (in particular interferometric details) toward entanglement and homodyne detection.
/COLLIN X BEATTY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872