DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment filed on 9/25/2025 have been entered and fully considered. Claims 1, 8, 12 and 18 are amended, and claims 1-20 are currently pending. Further, claim objections with respect to claims 1, 12 and 18 have been withdrawn based on the amendment. However, claim 8 raises new claim objection based on the amendment, please refer to the “Claim Objections” section below for detailed explanation.
Applicant’s amendment with respect to specification has been entered and fully considered, therefore specification objection has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, with respect to independent claim 1 (and its dependent claims), and similarly with respect to independent claims 12 and 18 (and their respective dependent claims), that the cited references Toner in view of Wall does not explicitly teach or disclose receiving channel state information relating to radio frequency signals transceived by the two or more devices connected to the WLAN, and determining, based on the channel state information, that the first Wi-Fi-based motion detection event has occurred.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Toner teaches wireless signals received at one or more wireless communication devices in the wireless communication network may be analyzed to determine channel information for the different communication links (between respective pairs of wireless communication devices) in the network. The channel information may be representative of a physical medium that applies a transfer function to wireless signals that traverse a space. In some instances, the channel information includes beamforming state information (e.g., a feedback matrix, a steering matrix, channel state information (CSI), etc.) provided by a beamforming system (Paragraph 0027). Toner further teaches the channel information for each of the communication links may be analyzed by one or more motion detection algorithms (e.g., running on a hub device, a client device, or other device in the wireless communication network, or on a remote device communicably coupled to the network) to detect, for example, whether motion has occurred in the space, to determine a relative location of the detected motion, or both. In some aspects, the channel information for each of the communication links may be analyzed to detect whether an object is present or absent, e.g., when no motion is detected in the space (Paragraph 0028). Thus the channel state information (CSI) obtained/calculated between pairs of wireless communication devices in the network [such as Wi-Fi] is analyzed [thus this information is transferred/transmitted to] an algorithm running on a hub device and/or other devices in the wireless communication network, and this CSI is used to detect whether motion has occurred, or to detect whether an object is present or absent. Therefore, Toner teaches receiving channel state information relating to radio frequency signals transceived by the two or more devices connected to the WLAN, and determining, based on the channel state information, that the first Wi-Fi-based motion detection event has occurred, as recited in independent claim 1, and similarly in independent claims 12 and 18, and their respective dependent claims.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8 recites “executing causing the second action”. Examiner will interpret the limitation as “executing the second action”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toner et al. (US 20230171563 A1 and Toner hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Toner teaches a system (Figure 15 and Paragraph 0033; access point or another network-connected device), comprising:
at least one processor (Paragraph 0033; edge motion processor); and
memory, operatively connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to perform a method (Paragraphs 0043 and 0126; the wireless communication devices 102 themselves are configured to perform one or more operations of the motion detection system, for example, by executing computer-readable instructions (e.g., software or firmware) on the wireless communication devices), the method comprising:
receiving, through a user interface, registration information for two or more devices connected to a wireless local area network (WLAN) (Figure 2C and Paragraphs 0057 and 0058; client devices (e.g., Wi-Fi client devices) 232A-232G seek to connect to and associate with their respective APs 226, 228, the client devices 232 may go through an authentication and association phase with their respective APs. Paragraph 0086; a system owner can grant permission 610 to a third-party entity to obtain motion information from a motion environment 510. Permission may be granted through an application 612. The third-party entity 604 can then register with the motion service provider 608 to access Wi-Fi motion information) operating within a WLAN environment (Figures 2C and 5, Paragraphs 0031 and 0076; a motion detection system operates based on wireless signals communicated in a wireless local area network, such as, for example, a Wi-Fi network that operates according to a Wi-Fi standard);
receiving, through the user interface, at least a first action definition for a first Wi-Fi-based motion detection event (Figure 8 and Paragraph 0092; through individual third-party entity application user interface desired motion information can be registered, this motion information can then be passed to a motion classifier. When a motion or anomaly is detected, message dispatch process 890 matches motion information to motion information requests and sends the motion information to third-party entity microservices 865. In some implementations, the classifier 810 accesses a database. The database correlates predetermined motion events to those third-party entities that have registered an interest in one or more of the pre-determined motion events. The motion classifier 810 produces a notification when the incoming motion information is correctly classified. That output is delivered to the 3rd parties and associated microservices 865 that have registered to receive this information);
receiving channel state information relating to radio frequency signals transceived by the two or more devices connected to the WLAN (Paragraph 0027; wireless signals received at one or more wireless communication devices in the wireless communication network may be analyzed to determine channel information for the different communication links (between respective pairs of wireless communication devices) in the network, and may include channel state information. Paragraph 0025; motion information can be generated once and distributed to various information consumers and motion information can be processed in the cloud on powerful server farms. Figure 5 and Paragraph 0076; the Wi-Fi devices 512 may be the wireless communication devices 102A, 102B, 102C or the wireless communication devices 204A, 204B, 204C. In an example, the Wi-Fi signals 514 are consumed by edge motion processors 516 to derive motion data 518. In various implementations, motion data 518 may include, for example, channel state information derived from the Wi-Fi signals 514);
determining, based on the channel state information (Paragraph 0027; wireless signals received at one or more wireless communication devices in the wireless communication network may be analyzed to determine channel information for the different communication links (between respective pairs of wireless communication devices) in the network, and may include channel state information. Paragraph 0025; motion information can be generated once and distributed to various information consumers and motion information can be processed in the cloud on powerful server farms), that the first Wi-Fi-based motion detection event has occurred (Figures 2A and 2B, Paragraphs 0050 and 0053; In FIG. 2A, along a fifth signal path 224A, the wireless signal is transmitted from the first wireless communication device 204A and reflected off the object at the first position 214A toward the third wireless communication device 204C. Between time t0 in FIG. 2A and time t1 in FIG. 2B, the object moves from the first position 214A to a second position 214B in the space 200 (e.g., some distance away from the first position 214A). In FIG. 2B, along a sixth signal path 224B, the wireless signal is transmitted from the first wireless communication device 204A and reflected off the object at the second position 214B toward the third wireless communication device 204C. The sixth signal path 224B depicted in FIG. 2B is longer than the fifth signal path 224A depicted in FIG. 2A due to the movement of the object from the first position 214A to the second position 214B); and
executing, based on the first action definition (Figure 8 and Paragraph 0092; through individual third-party entity application user interface desired motion information can be registered, this motion information can then be passed to a motion classifier. When a motion or anomaly is detected, message dispatch process 890 matches motion information to motion information requests and sends the motion information to third-party entity microservices 865. In some implementations, the classifier 810 accesses a database. The database correlates predetermined motion events to those third-party entities that have registered an interest in one or more of the pre-determined motion events. The motion classifier 810 produces a notification when the incoming motion information is correctly classified. That output is delivered to the 3rd parties and associated microservices 865 that have registered to receive this information), a first action in response to determination that the first Wi-Fi-based motion detection event has occurred (Paragraph 0023; uses wireless signals to detect motion and generates alerts when unusual activity is detected. Figure 3 and Paragraphs 0029, 0069 and 0070; a motion detection system returns motion data, and the motion data can be processed, for example, to perform motion encoding or to provide motion context alerts and notifications).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of various embodiments taught by Toner because it would provide several advantages including higher accuracy and reduce false alert (Toner, Paragraph 0022).
Regarding claim 12, Toner teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 in system form rather than in method form. Therefore claim 12 is rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, Toner teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 in system form rather than in device form. Therefore claim 18 is rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regarding claim 1. Further, Toner teaches a Wi-Fi routing device (Figures 2A and 2B, Paragraphs 0022 and 0035; layering Wi-Fi motion detection capabilities into routers and gateways).
Regarding claims 2, 13 and 19, Toner teaches all of the limitations of claims 1, 12 and 18, as described above. Further, Toner teaches wherein the method further comprises: receiving a registration of a third-party system (Paragraph 0086; a system owner can grant permission 610 to a third-party entity to obtain motion information from a motion environment 510. Permission may be granted through an application 612. The third-party entity 604 can then register with the motion service provider 608 to access Wi-Fi motion information); storing motion detection information (Paragraph 0090; an indirect motion delivery subsystem may contain a classifier function, which can condense the individual motion information requests of multiple third-party entities 704 into motion classifiers. For example, if multiple third-party entities 704 request the same motion information such as, for example, notification of the most active hour of the day, this information can be efficiently determined once by a single classifier and notifications sent to the multiple third-party entities 704); providing, based on the registration, access to the motion detection information to the third-party system (Paragraph 0091; a classifier's output can be converted to individual alerts and notifications for a registered third-party entities 704. A third-party entity's user interface can use a filtering and/or message dispatch process to ensure that motion information analysis is matched to motion information requests, and specific motion information provided only to those third-party entities having made an authorized request).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Toner teaches all of the limitations of claims 2 and 13, as described above. Further, Toner teaches wherein the third-party system is an emergency services system (Figures 6 and 7, Paragraph 0069; the output of the motion detection system may be provided as a notification for graphical display on a user interface on a user device, wherein the user device may be of a caregiver or emergency contact), wherein the motion detection information comprises a location of last-detected movement in the WLAN environment (Paragraph 0072; the output of the motion detection system may be provided in real-time (e.g., to an end user [for example the caregiver or emergency contact])), and wherein providing access to the motion detection information (Paragraph 0091; a classifier's output can be converted to individual alerts and notifications for a registered third-party entities 704. A third-party entity's user interface can use a filtering and/or message dispatch process to ensure that motion information analysis is matched to motion information requests, and specific motion information provided only to those third-party entities having made an authorized request) comprises: providing an application programming interface (Figure 5 and Paragraph 0078; motion information 524 can then be filtered or otherwise processed by the motion service provider and the filtered motion information 534 made available to motion aware applications 532 provided by consumers 530); receiving a query from the emergency services system for the motion detection information (Paragraph 0090; an indirect motion delivery subsystem may contain a classifier function, which can condense the individual motion information requests of multiple third-party entities 704 into motion classifiers) through the application programming interface (Paragraph 0092; third-party entity application user interface); and returning the motion detection information in response to the query (Paragraph 0090; if multiple third-party entities 704 request the same motion information such as, for example, notification of the most active hour of the day, this information can be efficiently determined once by a single classifier and notifications sent to the multiple third-party entities 704).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Toner teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 14, as described above. Further, Toner teaches wherein the method further comprises: determining a confidence value (Paragraph 0030; U.S. Pat. No. 10,460,581 entitled “Determining a Confidence for a Motion Zone Identified as a Location of Motion for Motion Detected by Wireless Signals”), based on the channel state information (Paragraph 0027; wireless signals received at one or more wireless communication devices in the wireless communication network may be analyzed to determine channel information for the different communication links (between respective pairs of wireless communication devices) in the network, and may include channel state information), that the first Wi-Fi-based motion detection event has occurred (Figures 2A and 2B, Paragraphs 0050 and 0053; In FIG. 2A, along a fifth signal path 224A, the wireless signal is transmitted from the first wireless communication device 204A and reflected off the object at the first position 214A toward the third wireless communication device 204C. Between time t0 in FIG. 2A and time t1 in FIG. 2B, the object moves from the first position 214A to a second position 214B in the space 200 (e.g., some distance away from the first position 214A). In FIG. 2B, along a sixth signal path 224B, the wireless signal is transmitted from the first wireless communication device 204A and reflected off the object at the second position 214B toward the third wireless communication device 204C. The sixth signal path 224B depicted in FIG. 2B is longer than the fifth signal path 224A depicted in FIG. 2A due to the movement of the object from the first position 214A to the second position 214B); obtaining context data related to the first Wi-Fi-based motion detection event (Paragraph 0079; extraction of the contextual information 524 from the motion data 518 can be performed by a motion service provider and used to provide motion information analysis to the owner of the Wi-Fi system. Figure 10 and Paragraphs 0098 and 0099; a central context processor classify a motion context by utilizing granular motion data and statistical process to learn and identify motion types); and adjusting the confidence value based on the context data (Paragraph 0023; uses wireless signals to detect motion without using cameras or infringing on privacy, generates alerts when unusual activity is detected. Paragraphs 0115 and 0116; context evaluation of a motion event against the motion pattern detection function, the spatial deviation along the path from bedrooms to kitchen is compared to an allowable spatial deviation of +/- one meter along all points of the path/curve. Similarly the start time of the motion event is compared to the allowable bounds of the signature); wherein determining that the first Wi-Fi-based motion detection event has occurred is based on the adjusted confidence value (Paragraph 0021; a wireless sensing system can process wireless signals transmitted through a space between wireless communication devices, and can be used to detection motion, human detection (e.g., moving and stationary human detection). Paragraph 0023; uses wireless signals to detect motion without using cameras or infringing on privacy, generates alerts when unusual activity is detected, tracks sleep patterns, and generates preventative health data. For example, caregivers can monitor motion, visits from health care professionals, and unusual behavior such as staying in bed longer than normal).
Regarding claims 5 and 16, Toner teaches all of the limitations of claims 4 and 15, as described above. Further, Toner teaches wherein the method further comprises: receiving information about a first occupant (Paragraph 0024; detect when a person walks through the front door); receiving information about a third device associated with the first occupant (Paragraph 0024; a thermostat of smart home where a person walks through the front door); and determining that the first Wi-Fi-based motion detection event is related to the first occupant (Paragraph 0024; detect when a person walks through the front door).
Regarding claim 6, Toner teaches all of the limitations of claim 5, as described above. Further, Toner teaches wherein the context data comprises information about a state of the third device that is associated with the first occupant (Paragraph 0024; smart home functions that may be triggered include adjusting the thermostat when a person walks through the front door, turning other smart devices on or off based on preferences, automatically adjusting lighting, adjusting HVAC systems based on present occupants, etc.) and connected to the WLAN (Paragraphs 0024 and 0038; wireless communication devices 102 may be a wireless-enabled device (e.g., a smart thermostat of a smart home) that communicates in the wireless network).
Regarding claims 7, 17 and 20, Toner teaches all of the limitations of claims 1, 12 and 18, as described above. Further, Toner teaches wherein the first Wi-Fi-based motion detection event comprises an absence of detected motion within the WLAN environment for at least a threshold period of time (Paragraph 0021; a wireless sensing system can process wireless signals transmitted through a space between wireless communication devices, and can be used to detection motion, human detection (e.g., moving and stationary human detection). Paragraph 0023; uses wireless signals to detect motion without using cameras or infringing on privacy, generates alerts when unusual activity is detected, tracks sleep patterns, and generates preventative health data. For example, caregivers can monitor motion, visits from health care professionals, and unusual behavior such as staying in bed longer than normal).
Regarding claim 9, Toner teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Toner teaches wherein the first action comprises controlling a third device connected to the WLAN that is different from the two or more devices (Paragraph 0024; adjusting the thermostat [interpreted as third device connected to the WLAN] when a person walks through the front door, urning other smart devices on or off based on preferences, automatically adjusting lighting, adjusting HVAC systems based on present occupants, etc.).
Regarding claim 10, Toner teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Toner teaches wherein determining that the first Wi-Fi-based motion detection event has occurred comprises determining that unexpected motion in the WLAN environment has been detected (Paragraph 0021; a wireless sensing system can process wireless signals transmitted through a space between wireless communication devices, and can be used to detection motion, human detection (e.g., moving and stationary human detection). Paragraph 0023; uses wireless signals to detect motion without using cameras or infringing on privacy, generates alerts when unusual activity is detected, tracks sleep patterns, and generates preventative health data. For example, caregivers can monitor motion, visits from health care professionals, and unusual behavior such as staying in bed longer than normal), wherein the method further comprises: determining, based on the channel state information (Paragraph 0027; wireless signals received at one or more wireless communication devices in the wireless communication network may be analyzed to determine channel information for the different communication links (between respective pairs of wireless communication devices), that motion has been detected (Figures 2A and 2B, Paragraphs 0050 and 0053; In FIG. 2A, along a fifth signal path 224A, the wireless signal is transmitted from the first wireless communication device 204A and reflected off the object at the first position 214A toward the third wireless communication device 204C. Between time t0 in FIG. 2A and time t1 in FIG. 2B, the object moves from the first position 214A to a second position 214B in the space 200 (e.g., some distance away from the first position 214A). In FIG. 2B, along a sixth signal path 224B, the wireless signal is transmitted from the first wireless communication device 204A and reflected off the object at the second position 214B toward the third wireless communication device 204C. The sixth signal path 224B depicted in FIG. 2B is longer than the fifth signal path 224A depicted in FIG. 2A due to the movement of the object from the first position 214A to the second position 214B); obtaining context data related to the detected motion (Paragraph 0079; extraction of the contextual information 524 from the motion data 518 can be performed by a motion service provider and used to provide motion information analysis to the owner of the Wi-Fi system. Figure 10 and Paragraphs 0098 and 0099; a central context processor classify a motion context by utilizing granular motion data and statistical process to learn and identify motion types); and determining a confidence value (Paragraph 0030; U.S. Pat. No. 10,460,581 entitled “Determining a Confidence for a Motion Zone Identified as a Location of Motion for Motion Detected by Wireless Signals”), based on the context data, that the motion is unexpected (Paragraph 0023; Paragraph 0023; uses wireless signals to detect motion without using cameras or infringing on privacy, generates alerts when unusual activity is detected. Paragraphs 0115 and 0116; context evaluation of a motion event against the motion pattern detection function, the spatial deviation along the path from bedrooms to kitchen is compared to an allowable spatial deviation of +/- one meter along all points of the path/curve. Similarly the start time of the motion event is compared to the allowable bounds of the signature); wherein determining that the first Wi-Fi-based motion detection event has occurred is based on the confidence value exceeding a threshold (Paragraph 0021; a wireless sensing system can process wireless signals transmitted through a space between wireless communication devices, and can be used to detection motion, human detection (e.g., moving and stationary human detection). Paragraph 0023; uses wireless signals to detect motion without using cameras or infringing on privacy, generates alerts when unusual activity is detected, tracks sleep patterns, and generates preventative health data. For example, caregivers can monitor motion, visits from health care professionals, and unusual behavior such as staying in bed longer than normal).
Regarding claim 11, Toner teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Toner teaches wherein the method further comprises: receiving device registration information including: (a) identifiers (Paragraph 0058; the client devices 232 seek to connect to and associate with their respective APs 226, 228, the client devices 232 may go through an authentication and association phase with their respective APs 226, 228. Among other things, the association phase assigns address information (e.g., an association ID or another type of unique identifier) to each of the client devices 232) and locations for the two or more devices (Figure 1 and Paragraph 0040; wireless communication devices 102A, 102B and 102C can be used to probe different motion detection zones 110A, 110B and 110C [Examiner asserts the motion detection zones may be interpreted as locations]. Paragraph 0038; one or more wireless communication devices 102 is a Wi-Fi access point or edge devices that access the mesh network through one of the APs); and (b) identification of at least a third device, connected to the WLAN, that is different from the two or more devices (Paragraphs 0024 and 0038; thermostat set up in a smart home that communicates in a wireless network) providing the channel state information (Figure 1 and Paragraph 0039; wireless communication devices transmit wireless signals to each other over wireless communication links and can be used as motion probes to detect motion of objects in the signal paths between the devices. Paragraph 0076; motion data may include channel state information derived from the Wi-Fi signals); wherein the first action comprises controlling the third device (Paragraphs 0024 and 0038; adjusting the thermostat when a person walks through the front door, turning other smart devices on or off based on preferences, automatically adjusting lighting, adjusting HVAC systems based on present occupants, etc.).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toner, as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Wall et al. (US 20200086829 A1 and Wall hereinafter).
Regarding claim 8, Toner teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above.
Toner does not explicitly teach wherein the first action definition includes a second action, wherein the first action comprises sending a notification asking to confirm that the second action should be taken, and wherein the method further comprises: receiving confirmation of the second action; and executing causing the second action. In an analogous art, Wall teaches wherein the first action definition includes a second action, wherein the first action comprises sending a notification asking to confirm that the second action should be taken (Paragraph 0033; after the vehicle enters the “Proximity-Auto-On” state, the system can provide a time period (e.g., a 5-minute window) for a user to press a ”GO” button shown on the user’s mobile device [may be interpreted as the first action] to confirm setting the vehicle to the “unlocked” state [may be interpreted as the second action]), and wherein the method further comprises: receiving confirmation of the second action (Paragraph 0033; if the user confirm or respond within the time period); and executing causing the second action (Paragraph 0033; set the vehicle to the “unlocked” state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Toner and Wall because it would provide convenience to user and also prevent unauthorized users from accessing vehicles [or objects] (Wall, Paragraph 0003).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Galvez et al. (US 20200068351 A1) discloses a student tracking system deploys distributed sensors installed throughout a school building, and track locations of students. When motion or movement is detected of the students, alert parent regarding the movement.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Jing Gao/
Examiner
Art Unit 2647
/DIANE D MIZRAHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647