DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the remarks filed on 1/21/2026.
The amendments filed on 1/21/2026 have been entered. Accordingly claims remain pending 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 9, 11, 20, 22, 46, 47, 49, and 57-60. Claims 3, 5, 7, 10, 12-19, 21, 23-26, 28-41, 43-45, 48-52, 54 are cancelled. Claims 53, and 55-56 were previously withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
Claims 27, and 55-56 were previously withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b).
The objection to the claim 46 has ben withdrawn in light of the applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the features as claimed in claim 1 of “wherein the transmission component includes a static ring, the static ring is a fixed portion of the slip ring assembly, the first slip ring is capable of rotating with respect to the static ring, and the second slip ring is capable of rotating with respect to the static ring.” as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 20 recites the limitation of “and/or” which should rather be either “and” or “or” to prevent any possible ambiguity due to the interpretation.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 9, 11, 20, 22, 46, 47, 49, and 57-60 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation of “wherein the transmission component includes a static ring, the static ring is a fixed portion of the slip ring assembly, the first slip ring is capable of rotating with respect to the static ring, and the second slip ring is capable of rotating with respect to the static ring” which the relationship of the other components recited in the limitations is not clear as to how they interact with each other or how they are placed together in relation to one another since the drawings and the specification does not appear to clearly indicate these features.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Overweg (US20140043027) in view of Maltz et al (US 20200406064 A1).
Regarding claim 1 (as the claim best understood in light of the 35 USC 112 rejections above) , Overweg teaches slip ring assembly (Slip ring assembly, title) comprising:
a first slip ring (“medical devices may be supplied with electrical power by the use of slip rings” [0005]; “The electric power for the systems on the rotating structure can be supplied through a set of slip-rings, so as to allow continuous rotation of the therapy device.” [0057]);
a second slip ring (“medical devices may be supplied with electrical power by the use of slip rings” [0005]; “The electric power for the systems on the rotating structure can be supplied through a set of slip-rings, so as to allow continuous rotation of the therapy device.” [0057]); and
a transmission component configured to facilitate at least one of
data transmission of the first slip ring,
data transmission of the second slip ring,
power transmission of the first slip ring (“medical devices may be supplied with electrical power by the use of slip rings. A slip ring as used herein encompasses is a sliding or rotating electrical contact” [0005]; “The electric power for the systems on the rotating structure can be supplied through a set of slip-rings, so as to allow continuous rotation of the therapy device.” [0057]), or power transmission of the second slip ring,
Although, Overweg teaches plurality of slip rings (i.e., “rotating structure can be supplied through a set of slip-rings, so as to allow continuous rotation of the therapy device” [0057]), Overweg does not point out the particulars of the slip rings rotating independently.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Maltz teaches radiation treatment system may include a gantry configured to rotate around an object, a treatment head moving with the gantry, a plurality of imaging radiation sources configured to emit imaging beams toward the object (Abst). Image guided radiation therapy (IGRT), and involves the use of an imaging system to view target tissues while radiation treatment is delivered to the target volume [0002]. First detector may be set differently such that they move in different rotation rings (e.g., rings 270-1 and 270-2 in FIG. 9) without interfering each other. As used herein, a rotation radius may refer to a radius of a rotation ring. Therefore, the first imaging radiation source and the corresponding first detector may move in the range of 360 degrees along the corresponding rotation ring without collision [0113]. The first detectors 114-2 and 114-3, and the second detector 117 such that they move in different rotation rings (e.g., rings 270-1 and 270-2 in FIG. 9) and the imaging radiation source 113-13 and the first detector 114-8 can move in a range of 360 degrees without colliding the other imaging components [0140].
Maltz further teaches radiation treatment system may include a gantry configured to rotate around an object, a treatment head moving with the gantry, a plurality of imaging radiation sources configured to emit imaging beams toward the object (Abst). Image guided radiation therapy (IGRT), and involves the use of an imaging system to view target tissues while radiation treatment is delivered to the target volume [0002]. The slip ring may be operably coupled to, mounted on, or separated from the gantry 111. The slip ring may move with or independently of the gantry 111. In some embodiments, the one or more first detectors or the plurality of imaging radiation sources may be static or substantially static relative to each other [0083].
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the method and/or device of the modified combination of reference(s) as outlined above with slip rings rotating independently as taught by Maltz because it helps to obtain the maximum treatment radiation region so as not to interfere with the treatment beam ([0003] of Maltz).
The above combination does not point out the particulars of wherein the transmission component includes a static ring, the static ring is a fixed portion of the slip ring assembly, the first slip ring is capable of rotating with respect to the static ring, and the second slip ring is capable of rotating with respect to the static ring.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhou teaches [0095] FIG. 5 is a schematic diagram illustrating an exemplary slip ring according to some embodiments of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 5, the slip ring 500 may include a stationary portion 510, a connector 520, and a rotary portion 540. In some embodiments, the stationary portion 510 may be fixed, and the rotary portion 540 may rotate around its center axis (i.e., the dotted line). The rotary portion 540 and the stationary portion 510 may be connected to each other via the connector 520. The stationary portion 510 may be electrically connected to a power supply (e.g., a three-phase electric mains). The stationary portion 510 may extract electricity from the power supply and transmit the electricity via cables inside the stationary portion 510 to three conducting ports 550 (which may correspond to a live cable, a neutral cable, and a ground cable, respectively). The three conducting ports 550 may touch and be electrically connected to three conducting bars 530 mounted on the surface of the rotary portion 540, respectively. The conducting bars may be continuously connected to the corresponding conducting bars regardless of whether the rotary portion 540 is rotating or at rest. In some embodiments, the rotary portion 540 may be connected to a rotary ring (e.g., the rotary ring 114, the rotary ring 440). As such, the slip ring 500 may enable the rotary ring 114 to rotate continuously around the object and supply power to the components mounted on the rotary ring 114 (e.g., the first radiation source 113, the second radiation source 111 and/or the radiation detector 112). The slip ring 500 may also transmit one or more of the following data: control data to and from the linear accelerator, control and image data to and from the imaging detectors paired within the first radiation source and second radiation source, control data (such as exposure, beam energy and x-ray pulse timing) to and from the second radiation source [0095].
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the method and/or device of the modified combination of reference(s) as outlined above with wherein the transmission component includes a static ring, the static ring is a fixed portion of the slip ring assembly, the first slip ring is capable of rotating with respect to the static ring, and the second slip ring is capable of rotating with respect to the static ring as taught by Zhou because it is desirable to design a system capable of detecting the motion of the tumor and adjusting the radiation to the tumor region accordingly ([0003] of Zhou).
Regarding claim 2, Overweg teaches wherein the transmission component is configured to transmit at least one signal of the first slip ring and at least one signal of the second slip ring (“first set of conductive elements (112, 712) connected to the second cylindrical conductor; and a brush assembly (406) comprising a first brush (302) and a second brush (304). The first brush is operable to contact the first cylindrical conductor. The second brush is operable to contact the set of conductive elements.” abst; “The slip ring assembly further comprises a first set of conductive elements. Each of the set of conductive elements is connected to the second cylindrical conductor” [0016]; “Each of the set of conductive elements is connected to the third cylindrical conductor. The brush assembly comprises a third brush. The third brush is operable to contract the second set of conductive elements when the rotating member rotates about the axis of symmetry” [0029]).
Regarding claim 4, Overweg teaches wherein at least two of the first slip ring, the second slip ring, or the static ring are located in a same plane and wind around each other (“the surfaces 118, 116, and 226 could also be made co-planar by bends in the cylindrical conductors 108 and 220” [0076]).
Regarding claim 9, Overweg teaches further comprising a carbon brush assembly (“surfaces are used to contact the carbon brushes moving around the ring” [0060]; “The brush assembly 406 further comprises a first brush 302, a second brush 304, and a third brush 306” [0061]),
wherein the carbon brush assembly may be configured to facilitate at least one of first data transmission or first power transmission between the first slip ring and the transmission component (“The slip ring assembly further comprises at least one additional set of conductive elements. Each of the at least one set of conductive elements is connected to the at least one additional cylindrical conductor. The brush assembly comprises at least one additional brush. The at least one additional brush is operable to contact the at least one additional set of conductive elements when the rotating member” [0037]), and
at least one of second data transmission or second power transmission between the second slip ring and the transmission component (“The slip ring assembly further comprises at least one additional set of conductive elements. Each of the at least one set of conductive elements is connected to the at least one additional cylindrical conductor. The brush assembly comprises at least one additional brush. The at least one additional brush is operable to contact the at least one additional set of conductive elements when the rotating member” [0037]).
Claims 20, 49, 57-58 and 60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Overweg (US20140043027) in view of Maltz and Zhou as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Breuer et al (US20110150171).
Regarding claim 11, Overweg teaches all the claimed limitations except for contactless data transmission between the slip ring and the transmission component and transmission module is opposingly positioned with respect to one receiving module.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Breuer teaches stationary structure is coupled to the rotational gantry via one or more slip rings that transfer the processed image data (abst). [0019] The data flow 44 also includes one or more slip rings 48 capable of transmitting data from the rotating gantry 16 to one or more stationary system components that are located in a stationary computer 50. To that end, the slip rings 48 are electrically connected to the rotating gantry 16 and suitable contacts (e.g., brushes) mounted on the stationary structure 14 contact the slip rings 48, thus transferring data from the slip rings 48 to the stationary computer 50. In the illustrated embodiment, a bidirectional serial data exchange protocol 52 is run over the slip rings 48 and facilitates the bidirectional exchange of data to and from the slip rings 48. For instance, the data exchange protocol 52 may allow the concurrent bidirectional exchange of data between the slip rings 48 and the stationary computer 50, the slip rings 48 and the non-volatile storage 46, and so forth. That is, the data exchange protocol 52 allows for data to be exchanged both to and from the slip rings 48 at the same time. [0020] In some embodiments, the bidirectional serial data exchange protocol 52 may be any suitable protocols, such as a protocol commonly referred to as the “Peripheral Component Interconnect Express” or “PCI Express” protocol cooperatively developed.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the method and/or device of the modified combination of reference(s) as outlined above with contactless data transmission and transmission module is opposingly positioned with respect to one receiving module as taught by Breuer because it provides improved CT systems that reduce the cost and unreliability of the data transfer from the rotating gantry to the stationary computer ([0002] of Breuer).
Regarding claim 20, the above noted combination teaches all the claimed limitations along with transmission components yet does not explicitly name the components first or second as the claimed required second transmission component.
Specifically, Zhou teaches [0097] FIG. 6 is a schematic diagram illustrating an exemplary connection of a rotary ring and a slip ring according to some embodiments of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 6, radiation delivery device 600 may include a gantry 610, a connector 620, and a stationary portion 640 of a slip ring, and a rotary ring 630. The stationary portion 640 may be fixedly connected to the gantry 610 and may remain at rest when the rotary portion (or the rotary ring 630) rotates. The rotary ring 630 may be mounted on a rotary portion (not shown in the figure). In some embodiments, the connector 620 may each include three conducting ports (similar to the conducting ports 550). The rotary portion (or the rotary ring 630) may include three conducting bars around its circumference. Conducting ports of the connector 620 may touch and be electrically connected to the conducting bars at respective locations. The connector 620 can both hold and supply power to the rotary ring 630.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Breuer teaches stationary structure is coupled to the rotational gantry via one or more slip rings that transfer the processed image data (abst). [0019] The data flow 44 also includes one or more slip rings 48 capable of transmitting data from the rotating gantry 16 to one or more stationary system components that are located in a stationary computer 50. To that end, the slip rings 48 are electrically connected to the rotating gantry 16 and suitable contacts (e.g., brushes) mounted on the stationary structure 14 contact the slip rings 48, thus transferring data from the slip rings 48 to the stationary computer 50. In the illustrated embodiment, a bidirectional serial data exchange protocol 52 is run over the slip rings 48 and facilitates the bidirectional exchange of data to and from the slip rings 48. [0020] the bidirectional serial data exchange protocol 52 may be any suitable protocols, such as a protocol commonly referred to as the “Peripheral Component Interconnect Express” or “PCI Express” protocol cooperatively developed.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the method and/or device of the modified combination of reference(s) as outlined above with second transmission component as taught by Breuer because it provides improved CT systems that reduce the cost and unreliability of the data transfer from the rotating gantry to the stationary computer ([0002] of Breuer).
Regarding claims 57 and 58, the combination noted above teaches all the claimed limitations along with transmission and receiving components yet does not point out the specifics of the first slip ring includes at least one first channel configured to facilitate the first data transmission between the first slip ring and the static ring; and the second slip ring includes at least one second channel configured to facilitate the second data transmission between the second slip ring and the static ring.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Breuer teaches stationary structure is coupled to the rotational gantry via one or more slip rings that transfer the processed image data (abst). [0019] The data flow 44 also includes one or more slip rings 48 capable of transmitting data from the rotating gantry 16 to one or more stationary system components that are located in a stationary computer 50. To that end, the slip rings 48 are electrically connected to the rotating gantry 16 and suitable contacts (e.g., brushes) mounted on the stationary structure 14 contact the slip rings 48, thus transferring data from the slip rings 48 to the stationary computer 50. In the illustrated embodiment, a bidirectional serial data exchange protocol 52 is run over the slip rings 48 and facilitates the bidirectional exchange of data to and from the slip rings 48. [0020] the bidirectional serial data exchange protocol 52 may be any suitable protocols, such as a protocol commonly referred to as the “Peripheral Component Interconnect Express” or “PCI Express” protocol cooperatively developed.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the method and/or device of the modified combination of reference(s) as outlined above with multi- channel data transmission as taught by Breuer because it provides improved CT systems that reduce the cost and unreliability of the data transfer from the rotating gantry to the stationary computer ([0002] of Breuer).
Regarding claim 60, the above noted combination teaches all the claimed limitations along with transmission components yet does not explicitly teach components are located on two sides of the first slip ring along an axial direction of the first slip ring or two sides of the second slip ring along an axial direction of the second slip ring.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhou teaches [0095] FIG. 5 is a schematic diagram illustrating an exemplary slip ring according to some embodiments of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 5, the slip ring 500 may include a stationary portion 510, a connector 520, and a rotary portion 540. In some embodiments, the stationary portion 510 may be fixed, and the rotary portion 540 may rotate around its center axis (i.e., the dotted line). The rotary portion 540 and the stationary portion 510 may be connected to each other via the connector 520. The stationary portion 510 may be electrically connected to a power supply (e.g., a three-phase electric mains). The stationary portion 510 may extract electricity from the power supply and transmit the electricity via cables inside the stationary portion 510 to three conducting ports 550 (which may correspond to a live cable, a neutral cable, and a ground cable, respectively). The three conducting ports 550 may touch and be electrically connected to three conducting bars 530 mounted on the surface of the rotary portion 540, respectively. The conducting bars may be continuously connected to the corresponding conducting bars regardless of whether the rotary portion 540 is rotating or at rest. In some embodiments, the rotary portion 540 may be connected to a rotary ring (e.g., the rotary ring 114, the rotary ring 440). As such, the slip ring 500 may enable the rotary ring 114 to rotate continuously around the object and supply power to the components mounted on the rotary ring 114 (e.g., the first radiation source 113, the second radiation source 111 and/or the radiation detector 112). The slip ring 500 may also transmit one or more of the following data: control data to and from the linear accelerator, control and image data to and from the imaging detectors paired within the first radiation source and second radiation source, control data (such as exposure, beam energy and x-ray pulse timing) to and from the second radiation source.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the method and/or device of the modified combination of reference(s) as outlined above with components are located on two sides of the first slip ring along an axial direction of the first slip ring or two sides of the second slip ring along an axial direction of the second slip ring as taught by Zhou because it is desirable to design a system capable of detecting the motion of the tumor and adjusting the radiation to the tumor region accordingly ([0003] of Zhou).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Overweg (US20140043027) in view of Maltz and Zhou as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Collins (US 5208581).
Regarding claim 6, Overweg teaches all the claimed limitations except for the static ring is located between the first slip ring and the second slip ring.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Collins teaches CAT scanner utilizes large diameter slip rings to permit continuous rotation of a rotatable gantry. A communication signal is applied at a first point on one slip ring. The communication signal may then be received at any point on the slip ring by a receive connection. The drive and termination connections to the slip ring may be made by brushes and matching receive connections being made by a physical connection to the slip ring (abst). Slip rings on the rotating gantry, the slip rings may alternately be fixed onto the stationary frame, or may even be free wheeling, e.g. not fixed to either mounting structure (col. 3 lines 50-53). It should be apparent to those skilled in the art that numerous modifications of the above-described embodiments are contemplated within the scope of this invention. For example, although the slip rings have been described as rotating along with the gantry 11, it is equally possible to instead have the slip rings be stationary, with brushes mounted on the rotating gantry. In the latter case, the brushes may contact the slip rings on an inside circumference. In other words, stationary and rotating mechanical mounting structures can be inter changed (col 14 lines 17-27).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the method and/or device of the modified combination of reference(s) as outlined above with static ring is located between the first slip ring and the second slip ring as taught by Collins because it provides a high-speed communications apparatus for a CAT scanner which provides for both continuous rotation and for reliable, higher speed communications. (col. 2 lines 28-31 of Collins).
Claim 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Overweg (US20140043027) in view of Maltz as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Breuer et al (US20110150171) and Collins (US 5208581).
Regarding claim 22, Overweg teaches all the claimed limitations except for ring are disposed coaxially.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Collins teaches CAT scanner utilizes large diameter slip rings to permit continuous rotation of a rotatable gantry. A communication signal is applied at a first point on one slip ring. The communication signal may then be received at any point on the slip ring by a receive connection. The drive and termination connections to the slip ring may be made by brushes and matching receive connections being made by a physical connection to the slip ring (abst). Slip rings on the rotating gantry, the slip rings may alternately be fixed onto the stationary frame, or may even be free wheeling, e.g. not fixed to either mounting structure (col. 3 lines 50-53). The first and second mechanical mounting structures rotate with respect to each other along an axis of rotation and a slip ring is arranged coaxially with the axis of rotation between the first and second mounting structures (col. 2 lines 38-42). The second slip ring may be mounted coaxially with the first slip ring and arranged adjacent to the first slip ring (col. 3 lines 55-58).
It should be apparent to those skilled in the art that numerous modifications of the above-described embodiments are contemplated within the scope of this invention. For example, although the slip rings have been described as rotating along with the gantry 11, it is equally possible to instead have the slip rings be stationary, with brushes mounted on the rotating gantry. In the latter case, the brushes may contact the slip rings on an inside circumference. In other words, stationary and rotating mechanical mounting structures can be inter changed (col 14 lines 17-27).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the method and/or device of the modified combination of reference(s) as outlined above with ring are disposed coaxially as taught by Collins because it provides a high-speed communications apparatus for a CAT scanner which provides for both continuous rotation and for reliable, higher speed communications. (col. 2 lines 28-31 of Collins).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 11, 46-47, and 59 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SERKAN AKAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797