DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 11-13, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nania et al. (US 2022/0001728).
Nania et al. discloses a tailgate assembly comprising a frame subassembly (30) having a cargo bed access opening (O) disposed between a driver side section (100) and a passenger side section (104), as shown in Figures 3 and 7. The cargo bed access opening (O) extends vertically downward at least as far as the floor of the cargo bed, as shown in Figure 3. A door subassembly (34) is pivotally coupled to the frame subassembly (30) to move back and forth between a door open position, as shown in Figure 3, and a door closed position, as shown in Figure 1. The door subassembly closes the cargo bed access opening (O) when the door subassembly is in the door closed position, as shown in Figure 1. An actuator system can pivot the door subassembly and the frame subassembly together back and forth between a tailgate closed position, as shown in Figure 1, and a tailgate open position, as shown in Figure 2 and disclosed in paragraph [0071]. An actuator system is inherent to the automatic pivoting of the tailgate disclosed in paragraph [0071]. A tube of the frame assembly includes a tube extending along an inboard side of the driver side section, along an inboard side of the passenger section, and along a bottom of the cargo bed access opening, as shown in Figure 7.
In reference to claim 11, the frame subassembly (30) and the door subassembly (34) pivot together about a horizontally extending axis (A1), as shown in Figures 1 and 2. The door subassembly (34) pivots relative to the frame subassembly (30) about a vertically extending axis (A2), as shown in Figure 3. In reference to claim 12, the method is disclosed in paragraphs [0067]-[0072]. In reference to claim 13, the driver side section (100) is connected to a passenger side section (104) of the frame subassembly (30) using a tube (108), as shown in Figure 7 and disclosed in paragraph [0060]. In reference to claim 16, the frame subassembly (30) and the door subassembly pivot together using the actuator system back and forth between the tailgate closed position and the tailgate open position, as shown in Figures 1 and 2 and disclosed in paragraph [0071]. In reference to claim 17, the frame subassembly (30) and the door subassembly (34) pivot together about a horizontally extending axis (A1), as shown in Figures 1 and 2. The door subassembly (34) pivots relative to the frame subassembly about a vertically extending axis (A2), as shown in Figure 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nania et al. (US 2022/0001728) in view of McGoff et al. (8,740,279).
Nania et al. does not disclose the torsion rod.
McGoff et al. teaches providing a torsion rod (204) within a tube of a frame subassembly (104), as shown in Figure 7 and disclosed on lines 51-53. The torsion rod is biased to assist a pivoting movement of tailgate assembly from the open position to the closed position, as is standard practice in the art. In reference to claim 4, the bushing (190) acts as an isolator that maintains a spacing between the torsion rod (2040 and the tube (104), as shown in Figure 7.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a torsion rod within the tube of Nania et al., as taught by McGoff et al., with a reasonable expectation for success to assist in manual closing of the tailgate assembly.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nania et al. (US 2022/0001728) in view of Abbasi et al. (US 2012/0324793).
Nania et al. discloses the frame subassembly (30) comprises a tube (108,132), as shown in Figure 7 and disclosed in paragraph [0060]. A portion of the tube (132) extends along the inboard side of the driver side section, a portion (108) of the tube (108,132) extends along a bottom of the cargo bed access opening (O), and a portion of the tube (108,132) extends along the inboard side of the passenger side section, as shown in Figure 7. However, Nania et al. does not disclose the tube extends continuously from the inboard side of the driver side section, along the bottom, and to the inboard side of the passenger side section.
Abbasi et al. teaches forming providing a U-shaped tube (18) that extends continuously and uninterruptedly from the driver side section, the bottom section, and the passenger side section, as shown in Figure 2 and disclosed in paragraph [0029]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the U-shaped tube of Nania et al. as a continuous and uninterrupted tube, as taught by Abbasi et al., with a reasonable expectation for success to improve the strength of the connection between the door subassembly and the frame subassembly to improve support of the door subassembly when the tailgate is in the open position and used to assist a person during ingress/egress from the truck bed.
Claims 6, 9, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nania et al. (US 2022/0001728) in view of Schachtl et al. (US 2004/0245064).
Nania et al. does not disclose the specifics of the actuator system..
Schachtl et al. teaches providing a motor (2) and clutch (5) such that the clutch (5) has an axis of rotation that is offset from the axis of rotation of the motor (2), as shown in Figure 1. In reference to claims 9 and 18, the clutch (5) and the motor (2) are vertically offset from one another, as shown in Figure 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a motor and clutch to Nania et al. such that the motor and clutch are vertically offset, as taught by Schachtl et al., with a reasonable expectation for success to provide an actuator system with an arrangement that allows both powered and manual movement of the tailgate while providing the additional feature of holding the tailgate in an intermediate position.
Claims 7 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Nania et al. (US 2022/0001728) and Schachtl (US 2004/0245064), as applied to claims 6 and 18, in view of Heiberger et al. (US 2017/0089116).
Nania et al., as modified, does not disclose the specific location of the actuator system.
Heiberger et al. teaches providing the clutch (36) and the motor (32) within the driver side section, as shown in Figure 5.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the motor and clutch of Nania et al., as modified, in the driver side section, as taught by Heiberger et al., with a reasonable expectation for success to provide a specific location of actuator system.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable the over the combination of Nania et al. (US 2022/0001728) and Schachtl (US 2004/0245064), as applied to claims 9.
Nania et al., as modified, discloses the motor is above the clutch, see Figure 1 of Schachtl et al. (US 2004/0245064). However, Nania et al., as modified, does not disclose the clutch is above the motor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reverse the relative positions of the motor and clutch of Nania et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation for success as an obvious reversal of parts that does not alter the operation or function of the actuator system.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nania et al. (US 2022/0001728) in view of McGoff et al. (8,740,279).
Nania et al. does not disclose the torsion rod.
McGoff et al. teaches providing a torsion rod (204) within a tube of a frame subassembly (104), as shown in Figure 7 and disclosed on lines 51-53.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a torsion rod within the tube of Nania et al., as taught by McGoff et al., with a reasonable expectation for success to assist in manual closing of the tailgate assembly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 20-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 24 is allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. After further review of the pending application, the inboard side of the passenger side section of the tube does not have to be along the passenger side of the cargo bed access opening. The inboard side of the passenger side section of the tube of this application is located in the same location as the inboard side of the passenger side section of the tube of the reference. The rejection has been changed from 103 to a 102 to reflect this understanding.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 11/21/2025, with respect to claim 3 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 3 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 5 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant has argued the rejection of claim 8, now amended into pending claim 6, by stating the rejection fails to present a prima facie case because the characteristics of Schachtl relating the offset arrangement of the motor and clutch is unrelated to the alleged benefit. Schachtl discloses the motor and clutch being offset in a friction clutch that provides the alleged benefits. Applicant has not shown why the rejection is in error. However, the rejection has been changed by removing the Heiberger et al. (US 2017/0089116) reference. Applicant’s arguments no longer apply to the rejection of these limitations.
GREGORY A. BLANKENSHIP
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3612
/GREGORY A BLANKENSHIP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612 March 11, 2026