DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mardall et al. (US2014/0193683A1).
As to claim 1, Mardall discloses a battery pack (101) including a thermal management assembly [0038], comprising: a first housing (401) configured to connect to a vehicle body with a gap between at least a portion of the first housing and the vehicle body [0039]; and a first guiding member arranged on the first housing, wherein the first guiding member on the first housing defines an area jointly with the first housing, and the first guiding member is configured to at least partially fill the gap (see annotated fig. 4) and guide airflow to at least partially bypass the area (the battery pack enclosure is mounted such that ambient air flows over the outside surface of the enclosure base plate during vehicle motion [Abstract]).
(Mardall, annotated fig. 4)
As to claim 2, Mardall the first guiding member comprises a structure that continuously extends from a first end of the first housing to a first side of the first housing and to a second side of the first housing that is opposite the first side. (see annotated fig. 4 above)
As to claim 3, Mardall discloses the first guiding member comprises a first portion extending along a first end of the first housing, and a second portion and a third portion extending from both ends of the first portion towards a second end opposite to the first end, respectively, and wherein an angled or smooth transition is formed between the first portion and the second portion and between the first portion and the third portion. (see annotated fig. 4 above)
As to claim 4, Mardall discloses the first guiding member forms a substantially enclosed structure along an outer surface of the first housing. (see annotated fig. 4 above)
As to claim 5, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated, Mardall discloses at least one second guiding member connected to the first housing, wherein the at least one second guiding member is located in the area. (see annotated fig. 4 above and as exemplified by element (170) of fig. 2 in the instant specification)
As to claim 19, the rejection claim 1 is incorporated, Mardall disclose comprising a battery pack connected to a vehicle body [Abstract] and forming a gap with the vehicle body [0039], wherein the vehicle includes a guiding member that is adjacent to the battery pack to guide airflow to at least partially bypass the gap (see Mardall annotate fig. 4).
As to claim 20, the rejection of claim 19 is incorporated, Mardall discloses the guiding member generally surrounds ends and both sides of the battery pack gap (see Mardall annotate fig. 4 above .
, wherein the guiding member is connected to a housing of the battery pack or to the vehicle body. (as shown in annotated fig. 4 above the guiding member is connected to the housing (401))
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-10, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mardall et al. (US2014/0193683A1)as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tan et al. (US2023/0112735A1, with foreign priority date of 6/19/2020).
As to claim 8, Mardall discloses a second housing (503) with integrated cooling tubes (501) and the second housing is connected to the first housing to limit a battery storage space [0040].
but does not explicitly disclose a second housing integrated with a cooling plate. In the same field of endeavor Tan discloses a battery pack and teaches battery pack (100) includes cooling plate (120) provided with cold flow channels (140). Tan further teaches the present disclosure provides a battery pack which has high service efficiency and low service cost [0004].
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify Mardall with the cooling plate as taught by Tan to improve service efficiency and lower service cost.
As to claim 9, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated, modified Mardall discloses the cooling plate comprises a first plate (503) and a second plate connected to the first plate (Tan, (120)), and wherein at least one of the first plate and the second plate defines a fluid channel (Tan, (140) [0039] fig.1) .
As to claim 10, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated, modified Mardall discloses a thermal insulation member connected to the second housing. (a layer of thermally insulating material is interposed between the batteries and the heat exchanger conduits [Mardall, 0014] or flow channels (140) of cooling plate (120) substituted for tubes (501) of second housing (503)).
As to claim 17, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated, modified Mardall discloses the cooling plate (cooling plate (120) of Tan) comprises at least two sets of parallel independent fluid channel subsystems (cold flow channels (140), Tan [0039], fig. 1) , wherein the at least two sets of independent fluid channel subsystems are connected to a heat exchange system of a vehicle. (Mardall, [0046-49])
As to claim 18, the rejection of claim 17 is incorporated, modified Mardall discloses each set of the at least one sets of parallel independent fluid channel subsystems includes a heat exchange circulating liquid inlet ((505) Mardall [0040]) and a heat exchange circulating liquid outlet ((507) Mardall [0040]), a first main channel and a second main channel extending between the heat exchange circulating liquid inlet and the heat exchange circulating liquid outlet (coolant exit and entrance [Tan 0039]), and multiple sets of auxiliary channels extending between the first main channel and the second main channel (Multiple curved cold flow channels 140 are provided in the direct cooling plate 120 [0039]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 are allowed.
Claims 11-16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument, page 5, that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “The features of claim 1 are a single member”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant argues, page 6, the Mardall does not disclose an airflow at least partially bypass the area. The office respectfully disagrees as Mardal discloses the panel 401 preferably providing a substantially airtight seal [0039] which meets the limitation “at least” partially bypass the area.
Applicant argues, page 6, Mardell does not disclose the first guiding member configured to at least partially fill a gap with the vehicle body. The office respectfully disagrees as Mardell discloses, battery pack 101 is integrated within the vehicle 100's structural frame, [0038]. Where integration could not occur without a gap.
The 35 U.S.C. §112(b) rejection of claim 19 is withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BART HORNSBY
Examiner
Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728