DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The term “generally adjacent” in claims 19 and 20 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “generally adjacent” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The term “generally adjacent” does not specify the position of the guiding member as adjacent or next to, or only near the guiding member .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mardall et al. (US2014/0193683A1).
As to claim 1, Mardall discloses a battery pack (101) including a thermal management assembly [0038], comprising: a first housing (401) configured to connect to a vehicle body with a gap between at least a portion of the first housing and the vehicle body [0039]; and a first guiding member arranged on the first housing, wherein the first guiding member on the first housing defines an area jointly with the first housing, and the first guiding member is configured to at least partially fill the gap (see annotated fig. 4) and guide airflow to at least partially bypass the area (the battery pack enclosure is mounted such that ambient air flows over the outside surface of the enclosure base plate during vehicle motion [Abstract]).
(Mardall, annotated fig. 4)
As to claim 2, Mardall the first guiding member comprises a structure that continuously extends from a first end of the first housing to a first side of the first housing and to a second side of the first housing that is opposite the first side. (see annotated fig. 4 above)
As to claim 3, Mardall discloses the first guiding member comprises a first portion extending along a first end of the first housing, and a second portion and a third portion extending from both ends of the first portion towards a second end opposite to the first end, respectively, and wherein an angled or smooth transition is formed between the first portion and the second portion and between the first portion and the third portion. (see annotated fig. 4 above)
As to claim 4, Mardall discloses the first guiding member forms a substantially enclosed structure along an outer surface of the first housing. (see annotated fig. 4 above)
As to claim 5, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated, Mardall discloses at least one second guiding member connected to the first housing, wherein the at least one second guiding member is located in the area. (see annotated fig. 4 above and as exemplified by element (170) of fig. 2 in the instant specification)
As to claim 19, the rejection claim 1 is incorporated, Mardall disclose comprising a battery pack connected to a vehicle body [Abstract] and forming a gap with the vehicle body [0039], wherein the vehicle includes a guiding member that is generally adjacent to the battery pack to guide airflow to at least partially bypass the gap (see Mardall annotate fig. 4).
As to claim 20, the rejection of claim 19 is incorporated, Mardall discloses the guiding member generally surrounds ends and both sides of the battery pack gap (see Mardall annotate fig. 4 above .
, wherein the guiding member is connected to a housing of the battery pack or to the vehicle body. (as shown in annotated fig. 4 above the guiding member is connected to the housing (401))
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-10, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mardall et al. (US2014/0193683A1)as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tan et al. (US2023/0112735A1, with foreign priority date of 6/19/2020).
As to claim 8, Mardall discloses a second housing (503) with integrated cooling tubes (501) and the second housing is connected to the first housing to limit a battery storage space [0040].
but does not explicitly disclose a second housing integrated with a cooling plate. In the same field of endeavor Tan discloses a battery pack and teaches battery pack (100) includes cooling plate (120) provided with cold flow channels (140). Tan further teaches the present disclosure provides a battery pack which has high service efficiency and low service cost [0004].
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify Mardall with the cooling plate as taught by Tan to improve service efficiency and lower service cost.
As to claim 9, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated, modified Mardall discloses the cooling plate comprises a first plate (503) and a second plate connected to the first plate (Tan, (120)), and wherein at least one of the first plate and the second plate defines a fluid channel (Tan, (140) [0039] fig.1) .
As to claim 10, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated, modified Mardall discloses a thermal insulation member connected to the second housing. (a layer of thermally insulating material is interposed between the batteries and the heat exchanger conduits [Mardall, 0014] or flow channels (140) of cooling plate (120) substituted for tubes (501) of second housing (503)).
As to claim 17, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated, modified Mardall discloses the cooling plate (cooling plate (120) of Tan) comprises at least two sets of parallel independent fluid channel subsystems (cold flow channels (140), Tan [0039], fig. 1) , wherein the at least two sets of independent fluid channel subsystems are connected to a heat exchange system of a vehicle. (Mardall, [0046-49])
As to claim 18, the rejection of claim 17 is incorporated, modified Mardall discloses each set of the at least one sets of parallel independent fluid channel subsystems includes a heat exchange circulating liquid inlet ((505) Mardall [0040]) and a heat exchange circulating liquid outlet ((507) Mardall [0040]), a first main channel and a second main channel extending between the heat exchange circulating liquid inlet and the heat exchange circulating liquid outlet (coolant exit and entrance [Tan 0039]), and multiple sets of auxiliary channels extending between the first main channel and the second main channel (Multiple curved cold flow channels 140 are provided in the direct cooling plate 120 [0039]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 and 11-16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
Moscher et al. (US2017/0025721A1) Battery pack with fluid heat
exchanger.
Kellner et al. (US11,223,080B2) Battery pack with integrated cooling channels.
BART HORNSBY
Examiner
Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728