DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 03/16/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3, 12, 21, and 22 have been amended. No claims have been cancelled nor newly added. Claims 1-3 and 6-22 remain pending in the instant application. Examiner notes that claim 23 has been left off of the claims submitted 02/04/2026 but is still rejected below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 12, 21, and 22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20210330547A1 to Moaddeb (hereinafter “Moaddeb”) in view of US20150313542A1 to Goldberg et al. (hereinafter “Goldberg”) and WO2020006048A1 to Rosenbluth et al. (hereinafter “Rosenbluth”).
Regarding claim 1, Moaddeb discloses a wearable device for mitigating a movement disorder symptom of a user (Fig. 22 generally), comprising:
a band (Fig. 22 band 414);
a processing unit (Figs. 22 & 23 controller 432, circuit board 490);
a wearable device independently operable from the band and removably coupled to the band, the wearable device comprising a sensor configured to generate sensor data relating to a movement disorder (Fig. 22 housing 412, band 414, magnetometer 429; Paragraph 0071 discloses the housing is removably secured to the band and has coupling members (See Fig. 21); Paragraph 0073 discloses the magnetometer is disposed within housing 412 and is configured to sense changes to the magnetic field which are caused by tremors from the writs, arm, or hand of the patient; Paragraph 0073 also discloses the magnetometer is in communication with the controller 432 and may be a stand-alone (independent) detector of tremors); and
a transducer disposed in the band and in communication with the processing unit (Figs. 23-25 vibration elements 437, 438; Paragraph 0073 discloses the vibration elements are controlled by the controller), wherein the processing unit is configured to:
activate the transducer to provide a stimulation output to a portion of a user based on the command of the signal (Paragraph 0073 discloses the magnetometer may be an initial detection system and the vibration elements are also controlled by the controller; Examiner notes thus the magnetometer data would communicate with the controller to activate the vibration units based on the sensed data (See Paragraph 0059)).
Moaddeb does not disclose a processing unit disposed in the band, wherein the processing unit is configured to receive a signal comprising a command from the wearable device calculated by the wearable device based on sensor data. However, Goldberg teaches a wearable article which has a processing unit disposed in the band which may receive a signal from a processor in an independent device (Figs. 1 & 3 band 100, processing units 120, vibration-generating device 140, housing 200; Paragraph 0038 discloses at least one of the microprocessors may be located in the band 100; Paragraph 0042 discloses the band can include a vibrating generating device controlled by processing units; Paragraphs 0045 & 0046 discloses housing 200 may contain a processing unit in communication with (give commands to) other processing units; Examiner notes that independent merely means “removably coupled to”. Here the housing 200 is removably coupled to band 100 (See Paragraph 0045)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Moaddeb to further include a processor in the band wherein the processing unit is configured to receive a signal from a wearable device, as taught by Goldberg, in order to reduce the burden of processing tasks across the device. Examiner notes that the modification results in a more efficient device as processing of data is spread over multiple processors.
Examiner notes that Moaddeb discloses any combination of sensors including accelerometers and gyroscopes may be carried on the band, underside of the base, or in the housing (Paragraph 0080).
Moaddeb does not disclose an integrated sensor configured to independently generate sensor data relating to a movement disorder. However, Rosenbluth teaches a wearable tremor reduction device which has an integrated sensor configured to independently generate sensor data relating to a movement disorder (Fig. 7A housing 720, sensor 780; Paragraph 0120 discloses The housing 720 can also, in some embodiments, include a sensor 780 to detect the tremor, memory 770, display 790, and processor 797. The device in this embodiment may include a processor 797 coupled to the effector which could perform computations and control of other components; Paragraph 0125 discloses sensor 780 may be an accelerometers and gyroscopes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Moaddeb to include an integrated sensor which independently generates data related to a movement disorder, as taught by Rosenbluth, in order to provide an additional means to sensor the patient’s tremor (Paragraph 0120).
Regarding claim 2, Moaddeb in view of Goldberg and Rosenbluth discloses the wearable device of claim 1, and Moaddeb as modified by Goldberg further discloses wherein the wearable device is a smartwatch (Fig. 23 housing 412 and the components housed therein are interpreted to be a smartwatch; Paragraph 0059 discloses the wearable tremor control system is a smart device).
Regarding claim 3, Moaddeb in view of Goldberg and Rosenbluth discloses the wearable device of claim 1, and Moaddeb in view of Goldberg discloses wherein the band comprises one or more sensors (Moaddeb Fig. 15 sensing elements 132, 134; Paragraph 0040 discloses the sensing elements are configured to sense physiological signals from a user’s limb related to muscle contraction, including movement, which is sensed as a displacement which is indicative of tremor; Paragraph 0073 discloses the sensing elements 132, 134 may also be incorporated in this embodiment).
Regarding claim 6, Moaddeb in view of Goldberg and Rosenbluth discloses the wearable device of claim 1, and Moaddeb as modified by Goldberg further discloses wherein the processing unit is configured to: offload one more process of to the wearable device (Goldberg Paragraphs 0045 & 0046 discloses housing 200 may contain a processing unit in communication with (give commands to) other processing units 120; Examiner notes that the modified Moaddeb has a processing unit in the band from Goldberg in communication with the processor in the housing 412 of Moaddeb. Thus, the communication of data and processing to the processor in housing of Moaddeb is taken to be offloading); and receive a command from the wearable device, the command calculated by the wearable device through one or more processes (Moaddeb Paragraph 0059 and 0073 discloses the controller and circuit board activates the vibration units 437, 438 based on information from the sensing units 132, 134 and magnetometer 429; Examiner notes modified Moaddeb would use data from the processor in the band (as taught by Goldberg)).
Regarding claim 7, Moaddeb in view of Goldberg and Rosenbluth discloses the wearable device of claim 1, and Moaddeb further discloses wherein the band further comprises a sensor, the sensor configured to generate sensor output relating to a movement disorder of a user (Fig. 15 sensing elements 132, 134; Paragraph 0040 “The sensing elements 132, 134 are configured to sense physiological signals from a user's limb related to muscle contraction, including movement, which is sensed as a displacement. Physiological signals that are indicative of tremor tend to include a repetitive wave form that a motion sensor (sensing elements 132, 134) is capable of measuring.”; Paragraph 0073 discloses the sensing elements may be used in this embodiment).
Regarding claim 8, Moaddeb in view of Goldberg and Rosenbluth discloses the wearable device of claim 7, and Moaddeb further discloses further comprising a plurality of sensors disposed in the band, each sensor of the plurality of sensors positioned around a circumference of the band (Fig. 15 sensing elements 132, 134 are on opposite sides of the interior of band 104; Examiner notes the elements are thus considered to be throughout a circumference of the band and would be the same positioning for Figs. 23-25).
Regarding claim 9, Moaddeb in view of Goldberg and Rosenbluth discloses the wearable device of claim 1, and Moaddeb further discloses further comprising a plurality of transducers disposed in the band, each transducer of the plurality of transducers positioned around a circumference of the band (Fig. 23 vibration elements 437, 438 are on opposite sides of band 414; Examiner notes the elements are thus considered to be throughout a circumference of the band).
Regarding claim 10, Moaddeb in view of Goldberg and Rosenbluth discloses the wearable device of claim 1, and Moaddeb further discloses a battery which powers the processing unit and the transducer (Paragraph 0036 discloses a battery may be included in the housing to power the electrical components of the device; Examiner notes the processing unit and vibration elements are both taken to be electrical components). Moaddeb does not disclose wherein the battery is in the band. However, Goldberg teaches a wearable article which has a battery disposed in the band (Fig. 1 battery 150; Paragraph 0044 discloses the battery powers the processing units and any other electrical components and the watch face housing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery of Moaddeb to be positioned in the band, as taught by Goldberg, in order to provide distribute weight and/or bulk across the device (Paragraph 0044).
Regarding claim 11, Moaddeb in view of Goldberg and Rosenbluth discloses the wearable device of claim 1, and Moaddeb further discloses wherein the wearable device is in communication with a smartphone (Moaddeb Paragraph 0046 discloses the external device may include an application 189 that allows the users to control and modify the operation of the wearable tremor control system 100).
Regarding claim 12, Moaddeb discloses a method of mitigating a movement disorder symptom of a user (Moaddeb Paragraph 0001 discloses the invention pertains to methods for controlling the effects of tremors), comprising:
a wearable device independently operable from the band and removably coupled to the band, wherein the command is calculated by the wearable device based on sensor data relating to a movement disorder obtained through a sensor of the wearable device (Fig. 22 housing 412, band 414, magnetometer 429; Paragraph 0071 discloses the housing is removably secured to the band and has coupling members (See Fig. 21); Paragraph 0073 discloses the magnetometer is disposed within housing 412 and is configured to sense changes to the magnetic field which are caused by tremors from the writs, arm, or hand of the patient; Paragraph 0073 also discloses the magnetometer is in communication with the controller 432 and may be a stand-alone (independent) detector of tremors);
activating, by the processing unit, a transducer based on the command of the signal from the wearable device, wherein the transducer is disposed within the band and connected to the processing unit (Figs. 23-25 vibration elements 437, 438; Paragraph 0073 discloses the vibration elements are controlled by the controller 490); and
providing a stimulation output generated from the transducer to a portion of a user to mitigate a movement disorder symptom of the user (Paragraph 0073 discloses the magnetometer may be an initial detection system and the vibration elements are also controlled by the controller; Examiner notes thus the magnetometer data would communicate with the controller to activate the vibration units based on the sensed data (See Paragraph 0059)).
Moaddeb does not disclose a processing unit disposed in the band, wherein the processing unit receives a signal comprising a command from a wearable device coupled to the band. However, Goldberg teaches a wearable article which has a processing unit disposed in the band which may receive a motor signal from a processor in an independent device (Figs. 1 & 3 band 100, processing units 120, vibration-generating device 140, housing 200; Paragraph 0038 discloses at least one of the microprocessors may be located in the band 100; Paragraph 0042 discloses the band can include a vibrating generating device controlled by processing units; Paragraphs 0045 & 0046 discloses housing 200 may contain a processing unit in communication with (give commands to) other processing units; Examiner notes that independent merely means “removably coupled to”. Here the housing 200 is removably coupled to band 100 (See Paragraph 0045)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Moaddeb to further include a processor in the band wherein the processing unit is configured to receive a signal from a wearable device, as taught by Goldberg, in order to reduce the burden of processing tasks across the device. Examiner notes that the modification results in a more efficient device as processing of data is spread over multiple processors.
Examiner notes that Moaddeb discloses any combination of sensors including accelerometers and gyroscopes may be carried on the band, underside of the base, or in the housing (Paragraph 0080).
Moaddeb does not disclose an integrated sensor configured to independently generate sensor data. However, Rosenbluth teaches a wearable tremor reduction device which has an integrated sensor configured to independently generate sensor data relating to a movement disorder (Fig. 7A housing 720, sensor 780; Paragraph 0120 discloses The housing 720 can also, in some embodiments, include a sensor 780 to detect the tremor, memory 770, display 790, and processor 797. The device in this embodiment may include a processor 797 coupled to the effector which could perform computations and control of other components; Paragraph 0125 discloses sensor 780 may be an accelerometers and gyroscopes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Moaddeb to include an integrated sensor which independently generates data related to a movement disorder, as taught by Rosenbluth, in order to provide an additional means to sensor the patient’s tremor (Paragraph 0120).
Regarding claim 13, Moaddeb in view of Goldberg and Rosenbluth discloses the method of claim 12, and Moaddeb as modified by Goldberg further discloses generating sensor output related to a movement disorder of the user from a sensor of the wearable device (Moaddeb Fig. 15 sensing elements 132, 134; Paragraph 0040 “The sensing elements 132, 134 are configured to sense physiological signals from a user's limb related to muscle contraction, including movement, which is sensed as a displacement. Physiological signals that are indicative of tremor tend to include a repetitive wave form that a motion sensor (sensing elements 132, 134) is capable of measuring.”); and transmitting, from the wearable device to the processing unit, a signal for a command of the transducer Paragraph 0059 discloses the controller and circuit board activates the vibration units 136, 138 based on information from the sensing units 132, 134).
Regarding claim 14, Moaddeb in view of Goldberg and Rosenbluth discloses the method of claim 12, and Moaddeb as modified by Goldberg further discloses generating sensor output from a sensor of the band; calculating at the processing unit, a stimulation output based on the sensor output; and activating by the processing unit, the transducer to provide the stimulation output to the portion of the user (Paragraph 0059 discloses the controller and circuit board activates the vibration units 136, 138 (437, 438) based on information from the sensing units 132, 134; Examiner notes that the modified Moaddeb has a processing unit in the band from Goldberg in communication with the processor in the housing 102 of Moaddeb. Thus, the communication of data and processing to the processor in housing of Moaddeb is taken to be offloading).
Regarding claim 15, Moaddeb in view of Goldberg and Rosenbluth discloses the method of claim 12, and Moaddeb as modified by Goldberg further discloses generating sensor output from a sensor in the band; transmitting the sensor output to the wearable device; calculating, at the wearable device, a stimulation output (Paragraph 0059 discloses the controller and circuit board activates the vibration units 136, 138 (also vibrational elements 437, 438) based on information from the sensing units 132, 134; Examiner notes the sensor is in the band; Paragraph 0073 discloses the sensing elements may also be included in addition to the independent magnetometer); transmitting the stimulation output from the wearable device to the processing unit; and activating, by the processing unit, the transducer based on the stimulation output (Goldberg Figs. 1 & 3 microprocessor 120, vibration-generating device 140, housing 200; Paragraphs 0045 & 0046 discloses housing 200 may contain a processing unit in communication with (give commands to) other processing units; Examiner notes that Moaddeb as modified by Goldberg has an additional processor in the band of Moaddeb in communication with the processor of Moaddeb in the housing; The processor of Moaddeb uses the sensor signals to direct the vibration elements (Moaddeb Paragraph 0059)).
Regarding claim 16, Moaddeb in view of Goldberg and Rosenbluth discloses the method of claim 12, and Moaddeb further discloses wherein the band is coupled to a housing of the wearable device (Fig. 22 housing 412 is coupled to band 414).
Regarding claim 17, Moaddeb in view of Goldberg and Rosenbluth discloses the method of claim 12, and Moaddeb further discloses a battery which powers the processing unit and the transducer (Paragraph 0036 discloses a battery may be included in the housing to power the electrical components of the device; Examiner notes the processing unit and vibration elements are both taken to be electrical components). Moaddeb does not disclose wherein the battery is in the band. However, Goldberg teaches a wearable article which has a battery disposed in the band (Fig. 1 battery 150; Paragraph 0044 discloses the battery powers the processing units and any other electrical components and the watch face housing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery of Moaddeb to be positioned in the band, as taught by Goldberg, in order to provide distribute weight and/or bulk across the device (Paragraph 0044).
Regarding claim 18, Moaddeb in view of Goldberg and Rosenbluth discloses the method of claim 12, and Moaddeb further discloses wherein the stimulation output includes a stimulation waveform (Paragraph 0040 discloses the sensed physiological signals includes a repetitive wave form; Paragraph 0059 discloses the controller and circuit board activates the vibration units 136, 138 (also vibrational elements 437, 438) based on information from the sensing units 132, 134; Paragraph 0073 discloses the sensing elements may be incorporated ).
Regarding claim 19, Moaddeb in view of Goldberg and Rosenbluth discloses the method of claim 12, and Moaddeb further discloses wherein the wearable device is a smartwatch (Fig. 23 housing 412 and the components housed therein are interpreted to be a smartwatch; Paragraph 0059 discloses the wearable tremor control system is a smart device).
Regarding claim 20, Moaddeb in view of Goldberg and Rosenbluth discloses the method of claim 12, and Moaddeb further discloses wherein the wearable device is in communication with a smartphone (Paragraph 0046 discloses the external device may include an application 189 that allows the users to control and modify the operation of the wearable tremor control system 100).
Regarding claim 21, Moaddeb discloses a wearable device for mitigating a movement disorder symptom of a user (Fig. 22 generally), comprising:
a band (Fig. 22 band 414);
a processing unit (Figs. 22 & 23 circuit board 490, controller 432);
a wearable device independently operable from the band and removably coupled to the band, wherein the wearable device comprises a sensor configured to generate sensor data relating to a movement disorder (Fig. 22 housing 412, band 414, magnetometer 429; Paragraph 0071 discloses the housing is removably secured to the band and has coupling members (See Fig. 21); Paragraph 0073 discloses the magnetometer is disposed within housing 412 and is configured to sense changes to the magnetic field which are caused by tremors from the writs, arm, or hand of the patient; Paragraph 0073 also discloses the magnetometer is in communication with the controller 432 and may be a stand-alone (independent) detector of tremors); and
a transducer disposed in the band and in communication with the processing unit (Figs. 23-25 vibration elements 437, 438; Paragraph 0073 discloses the vibration elements are controlled by the controller), wherein the processing unit is configured to:
convert the signal into a stimulation waveform (Paragraph 0040 discloses the sensed physiological signals includes a repetitive wave form; Paragraph 0059 discloses the controller and circuit board activates the vibration units 136, 138 based on information from the sensing units 132, 134); and
activate the transducer to provide a stimulation output to a portion of the user based on the stimulation waveform (Paragraph 0073 discloses the magnetometer may be an initial detection system and the vibration elements are also controlled by the controller; Examiner notes thus the magnetometer data would communicate with the controller to activate the vibration units based on the sensed data (See Paragraph 0059)).
Moaddeb does not disclose a processing unit disposed in the band, wherein the processing unit is configured to receive a signal comprising a command from the wearable device calculated by the wearable device based on sensor data. However, Goldberg teaches a wearable article which has a processing unit disposed in the band which may receive signal from a processor in an independent device (Figs. 1 & 3 band 100, processing units 120, vibration-generating device 140, housing 200; Paragraph 0038 discloses at least one of the microprocessors may be located in the band 100; Paragraph 0042 discloses the band can include a vibrating generating device controlled by processing units; Paragraphs 0045 & 0046 discloses housing 200 may contain a processing unit in communication with (give commands to) other processing units; Examiner notes that independent merely means “removably coupled to”. Here the housing 200 is removably coupled to band 100 (See Paragraph 0045)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Moaddeb to further include a processor in the band wherein the processing unit is configured to receive a signal from a wearable device, as taught by Goldberg, in order to reduce the burden of processing tasks across the device. Examiner notes that the modification results in a more efficient device as processing of data is spread over multiple processors.
Examiner notes that Moaddeb discloses any combination of sensors including accelerometers and gyroscopes may be carried on the band, underside of the base, or in the housing (Paragraph 0080).
Moaddeb does not disclose an integrated sensor configured to independently generate sensor data relating to a movement disorder. However, Rosenbluth teaches a wearable tremor reduction device which has an integrated sensor configured to independently generate sensor data relating to a movement disorder (Fig. 7A housing 720, sensor 780; Paragraph 0120 discloses The housing 720 can also, in some embodiments, include a sensor 780 to detect the tremor, memory 770, display 790, and processor 797. The device in this embodiment may include a processor 797 coupled to the effector which could perform computations and control of other components; Paragraph 0125 discloses sensor 780 may be an accelerometers and gyroscopes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Moaddeb to include an integrated sensor which independently generates data related to a movement disorder, as taught by Rosenbluth, in order to provide an additional means to sensor the patient’s tremor (Paragraph 0120).
Regarding claim 22, Moaddeb discloses a wearable device for mitigating a movement disorder symptom of a user (See Fig. 22 generally), comprising:
a band configured to removably couple to a housing of a wearable device, wherein the wearable device is independently operable from the band and comprises a sensor configured to generate sensor data relating to a movement disorder (Fig. 22 housing 412, band 414, magnetometer 429; Paragraph 0071 discloses the housing is removably secured to the band and has coupling members (See Fig. 21); Paragraph 0073 discloses the magnetometer is disposed within housing 412 and is configured to sense changes to the magnetic field which are caused by tremors from the writs, arm, or hand of the patient; Paragraph 0073 also discloses the magnetometer is in communication with the controller 432 and may be a stand-alone (independent) detector of tremors);
a processing unit (Figs. 22 & 23 controller 432, circuit board 490); and
a transducer disposed in the band and in communication with the processing unit (Figs. 23-25 vibration elements 437, 438; Paragraph 0073 discloses the vibration elements are controlled by the controller), wherein the processing unit is configured to:
activate the transducer to provide a stimulation output to a portion of a user based on the signal (Paragraph 0073 discloses the magnetometer may be an initial detection system and the vibration elements are also controlled by the controller; Examiner notes thus the magnetometer data would communicate with the controller to activate the vibration units based on the sensed data (See Paragraph 0059)).
Moaddeb does not disclose a processing unit disposed in the band, wherein the processing unit is configured to receive a signal from the wearable device calculated by the wearable device based on sensor data. However, Goldberg teaches a wearable article which has a processing unit disposed in the band which may receive signal from a processor in an independent device (Figs. 1 & 3 band 100, processing units 120, vibration-generating device 140, housing 200; Paragraph 0038 discloses at least one of the microprocessors may be located in the band 100; Paragraph 0042 discloses the band can include a vibrating generating device controlled by processing units; Paragraphs 0045 & 0046 discloses housing 200 may contain a processing unit in communication with (give commands to) other processing units; Examiner notes that independent merely means “removably coupled to”. Here the housing 200 is removably coupled to band 100 (See Paragraph 0045)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Moaddeb to further include a processor in the band wherein the processing unit is configured to receive a signal from a wearable device, as taught by Goldberg, in order to reduce the burden of processing tasks across the device. Examiner notes that the modification results in a more efficient device as processing of data is spread over multiple processors.
Examiner notes that Moaddeb discloses any combination of sensors including accelerometers and gyroscopes may be carried on the band, underside of the base, or in the housing (Paragraph 0080).
Moaddeb does not disclose an integrated sensor configured to independently generate sensor data relating to a movement disorder. However, Rosenbluth teaches a wearable tremor reduction device which has an integrated sensor configured to independently generate sensor data relating to a movement disorder (Fig. 7A housing 720, sensor 780; Paragraph 0120 discloses The housing 720 can also, in some embodiments, include a sensor 780 to detect the tremor, memory 770, display 790, and processor 797. The device in this embodiment may include a processor 797 coupled to the effector which could perform computations and control of other components; Paragraph 0125 discloses sensor 780 may be an accelerometers and gyroscopes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Moaddeb to include an integrated sensor which independently generates data related to a movement disorder, as taught by Rosenbluth, in order to provide an additional means to sensor the patient’s tremor (Paragraph 0120).
Regarding claim 23, Moaddeb in view of Goldberg and Rosenbluth discloses the wearable device of claim 1, and Moaddeb further discloses wherein the transducer is a mechanical transducer (Fig. 23-25 vibration elements 437, 438).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US-20190183724-A1 to Sifferlin; and US-20170119620-A1 to Trapp.
/TYLER A RAUBENSTRAW/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/BRADLEY H PHILIPS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799