DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Received 01/12/2026
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 10, 12-16, and 18 has/have been amended.
The objections to the claim(s) 1 and 15 have been withdrawn in view of the amendments received on 01/12/2026.
The 35 U.S.C § 103 rejection to claim(s) 1-20 have been fully considered in view of the amendments received on 01/12/2026 and are fully addressed in the prior art rejection below.
Response to Arguments
Received 01/12/2026
Applicant's arguments filed 01/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive; as expressed below.
Regarding independent claim(s) 1, 8, and 15:
Applicant argues (Remarks, Page 11, ¶ 3), that “… the claims of this Application require ‘project[ing] three-dimensional coordinates of a plurality of pixels of the media plane onto two-dimensional coordinates of an image space of the image to provide a plurality of two-dimensional points that are projected onto the image.’ As disclosed in this Application, this operation begins with known three-dimensional coordinates of pixels of the media plane and mathematically projects those three-dimensional coordinates into a two-dimensional image space to identify corresponding two-dimensional points on the image. The claimed projection therefore operates in the opposite directional relationship from Kim, starting from the media-plane pixel coordinates and projecting them into the image space, rather than mapping image-space pixels onto three-dimensional projection surfaces."
The Examiner disagrees. Applicant’s arguments fail to view the teachings of Kim et al. (US PGPUB No. 20150163447 A1), wherein Kim et al. teaches projecting image data to a spherical (3D) shape (as indicated by Applicant) as well as projecting from a spherical (3D) shape to a rectangular (2D) surface. Thus, Applicant arguments are directed to only part of the teachings. Wherein, Applicant fails to view ¶ 0057-0058 teaching virtual planes of Kim et al. as illustrated within Fig. 4. Even further, Kim et al. teaches projecting from the sphere to one or more virtual planes as illustrated within Fig. 5 (Kim; “the image on the sphere preferably is projected on the virtual planes” [¶ 0061-0062]).
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments regarding a reverse geometric projection above fail to be persuasive.
Applicant argues (Remarks, Page 12, ¶ 2 to Page 13, ¶ 1), that “… characterization of Kim as ‘implicitly interpolat[ing] color information’ is unsupported by Kim's disclosure and does not satisfy the express interpolation features actually recited by the claims of this Application. (Office Action, p., 5). These claims affirmatively require ‘interpolat[ing] color information of the plurality of pixels of the media plane based upon color information of a plurality of pixels of the image,’ which, as described in this Application, entails a mathematical interpolation process in which color values for individual media-plane pixels are determined by weighting and accumulating color information from multiple image pixels, such as those located near a projected two-dimensional point. By contrast, Kim merely maps or assigns image pixel data to corresponding locations on projection surfaces as part of generating projection images, without performing any interpolation operation between multiple image pixels to compute a media-plane pixel color. (Kim, ¶¶ [0014]-[0016], [0055]-[0063], [0075]-[0077]). Kim merely describes projecting or converting image content to a projection surface based on coordinate relationships, but does not disclose any weighting, blending, resampling, or statistical interpolation of color information derived from multiple pixels of the image. (Kim, ¶¶ [0014]-[0026], [0060]-[0074]). The fact that Kim's source image is composed of pixels that are projected onto a surface does not constitute interpolation, implicit or otherwise, as mere pixel mapping or assignment does not involve calculating a pixel's color value from a plurality of neighboring image pixels. (Kim, ¶¶ [0049]-[0053], [0060]-[0063]).
Furthermore, Zhang and Oh alone, or any combination thereof, do not cure these deficiencies of Kim. Zhang is directed to edge blending, warping, and color or brightness correction in multi-projector display systems, where predefined blending maps, brightness coefficients, or color correction maps are applied on a pixel-by-pixel basis to already-mapped image data. (Zhang, ¶¶ [0002], [0018]-[0021], [0037]-[0039], [0041], [0045], [0066]). Zhang's blending operations operate within a two-dimensional image or projection context and assume that image pixels have already been assigned to corresponding projection locations. (Zhang, ¶¶ [0037]-[0039], [0045], [0066]-[0067]). Zhang does not disclose projecting three-dimensional coordinates of media-plane pixels into an image space, nor does it disclose interpolating color information for a media-plane pixel by weighting and accumulating color information from a plurality of nearby image pixels as required by the claims of this Application. (Zhang, ¶¶ [0002]-[0026]). Oh is directed to demosaicing and color-channel restoration of a two-dimensional sensor image, not to interpolating color information for pixels of a media plane based on projected image pixels. (Oh, ¶¶ [0024]-[0026], [0070]-[0071]). In Oh, interpolation is performed to reconstruct missing red, green, or blue values at individual image sensor pixel locations within a color filter array, using horizontal, vertical, or blended interpolation among neighboring sensor pixels in a local two-dimensional window. (Oh,¶¶ [0070]-[0079], [0083]-[0085], [0089]-[0090]). Oh's interpolation is a low-level image signal processing technique applied to reconstruct missing color components of already-defined image pixels, which is fundamentally different from the claimed interpolation of color information for media-plane pixels based on color information of multiple image pixels after geometric projection. (Oh, ¶¶ [0024]-[0026], [0070]- [0071], [0089]-[0090])."
The Examiner disagrees. Applicant’s arguments fail to view the manner in which the claim language is constructed. Wherein, “… interpolate color information of the plurality of pixels of the media plane based upon color information of a plurality of pixels of the image” (emphasis added). Such that, the interpolation of the pixels is based upon pixels within the image, as oppose to the media plane as inferred by Applicant. Additionally, Kim et al. relays on the teachings of Zhang et al. (US PGPUB No. 20130104182 A1) to incorporate interpolation of color information (Zhang; “… the blending application, it will be recognized that most of the data frame will specify fully bright pixels (unless blending is combined with color and/or brightness correction) … where the data blends images from adjacent projectors, a taper function controls the edge blending” [¶ 0037]; and, “The pixel processing nodes can perform any combination of edge blending, warping, color correction, and brightness correct” [¶ 0043]).
Even further, Applicant’s arguments fail to view the meaning of interpolation (Merriam-Webster; “… something that is introduced or inserted : an insertion or addition” or “… the process of calculating an approximate value based on values that are already known” [https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/interpolation]). Wherein, image projection and/or pixel blending corresponds to interpolation color information.
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments regarding color interpolating color information above fail to be persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments (Remarks, Page 13, ¶ 2 to Page 14, ¶ 1), filed 01/12/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 8 and 15 under 35 U.S.C § 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive due to claim 8’s, claim 15’s similarity to claim 1. Therefore, the rejection is maintained for reasons as addressed above.
Regarding dependent claims 2-6, 9-13, and 16-19:
Applicant’s arguments (Remarks, Page 14, ¶ 2 to Page 15, ¶ 1), filed 01/12/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 2-6, 9-13, and 16-19 under 35 U.S.C § 103 have been fully considered, due the dependency upon claims 1, 8, and 15 respectively. Wherein, the arguments are not persuasive, regarding reasons as addressed above.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-10, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al., US PGPUB No. 20150163447 A1, hereinafter Kim, in view of Zhang et al., US PGPUB No. 20130104182 A1, hereinafter Zhang, and further in view of Oh et al., US PGPUB No. 20190318452 A1, hereinafter Oh.
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses an image processing server for transforming an image for projection onto a media plane of a venue (Kim; an image processing server (i.e. image management apparatus) [¶ 0101-0103] for transforming an image for projection onto a media plane (i.e. projection surface) of a venue [¶ 0082-0083 and ¶ 0088-0090]; wherein, a theater is a multi-projection theater [¶ 0006-0007, ¶ 0076-0078, and ¶ 0089]; and wherein, a source image is used to generate a virtual plane based on s structure of a theater [¶ 0092-0093 and ¶ 0104]
moreover, executed by one or more server [¶ 0046]), the image processor (Kim; i.e. image processing server (IPS)[as addressed above]) comprising:
a memory configured to store instructions (Kim; the IPS (i.e. image management apparatus) [as addressed above] comprises a memory configured to store instructions (i.e. hardware and software) [¶ 0046-0047 and ¶ 0099-0100]); and
a processor, configured to execute the instructions, the instructions, when executed by the processor, configuring the processor (Kim; the IPS (i.e. image management apparatus) [as addressed above] comprises a processor configured to execute the instructions when executed by the processor the instructions configuring the processor to preform [¶ 0083 and ¶ 0095, and ¶ 0099-0100]; moreover, implemented using a combination of various hardware and software [¶ 0038]) to:
project three-dimensional coordinates of a plurality of pixels of the media plane onto two-dimensional coordinates of an image space of the image to provide a plurality of two-dimensional points that are projected onto the image (Kim; the processor [as addressed above] is configured to project 3D coordinates of a plurality of pixels of the media plane (i.e. projection surface) onto 2D coordinates of an image space of the image to provide a plurality of 2D points that are projected onto the image [¶ 0060-0064 and ¶ 0089]; moreover, media content (i.e. source image) [¶ 0052-0054] becomes a project image by converting the media based on the structure of a theater [¶ 0055-0057] using coordinate information [¶ 0087]; wherein, virtual planes are generated based on a reference point/location within the theater [¶ 0058]; furthermore, mapping between 3D coordinates and 2D coordinates [¶ 0065-0074], as illustrated within Figs. 5-8), interpolate color information of the plurality of pixels of the media plane based upon color information of a plurality of pixels of the image (Kim; the processor [as addressed above] is configured to implicitly interpolate color information (given image data pixel mapping) of the plurality of pixels of the media plane (i.e. projection surface) based upon color (i.e. image content) information of a plurality of pixels of the image [¶ 0075-0077 and ¶ 0089]; wherein, media content (i.e. source image) comprises pixels [¶ 0053] that are projected to surface [¶ 0060-0064]), and provide the color information of the plurality of pixels to the venue to project the image onto the media plane (Kim; the processor [as addressed above] is configured to provide the color (i.e. image content) information of the plurality of pixels [as addressed above] to the venue to project the image onto the media plane (i.e. surface) [¶ 0083, ¶ 0086, and ¶ 0088-0089]).
Kim fails to explicitly disclose to: interpolate color information.
However, Zhang teaches interpolate color information of the plurality of pixels of the media plane based upon color information of a plurality of pixels of the image (Zhang; interpolate/blending color information of the plurality of pixels of the media plane based upon color information of a plurality of pixels of the image [¶ 0036-0037 and ¶ 0042-0043]).
Kim and Zhang are considered to be analogous art because both pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce a visualization effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Kim, to incorporate interpolate color information of the plurality of pixels of the media plane based upon color information of a plurality of pixels of the image (as taught by Zhang), in order to provide an improved media transmission large image sets (Zhang; [¶ 0002-0004 and ¶ 0006-0007]).
Kim as modified by Zhang fails to explicitly disclose interpolate.
However, Oh teaches interpolate color information of the plurality of pixels (Oh; interpolate color information of the plurality of pixels [¶ 0071-0072 and ¶ 0077-0078 and ¶ 0089-0091]).
Kim in view of Zhang and Oh are considered to be analogous art because they pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce a visualization effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Kim as modified by Zhang, to incorporate interpolate color information of the plurality of pixels (as taught by Oh), in order to provide an improved image quality when reconstructing color images (Oh; [¶ 0001-0003]).
Regarding claim 2, Kim in view of Zhang and Oh further discloses the image processing server of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further configures the processor to reconstruct the image from one or more digital image signals that are associated with the image (Kim; when the processor executes instructions the processor [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] is further configured to reconstruct/recreate (i.e. generate) the image [¶ 0089-0090] from one or more digital image signals that are associated with the image [¶ 0083-0086]; moreover, one or more digital image signals corresponds to communicated data [¶ 0094-0095] and image generation [¶ 0088-0089 and ¶ 0093]).
Zhang further teaches one or more digital image signals that are associated with the image (Zhang; one or more digital image signals that are associated with the image [¶ 0024-0025 and ¶ 0036-0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Kim as modified by Zhang and Oh, to incorporate the instructions, when executed by the processor, further configures the processor to reconstruct the image from one or more digital image signals that are associated with the image (as taught by Zhang), in order to provide an improved media transmission large image sets (Zhang; [¶ 0002-0004 and ¶ 0006-0007]).
Regarding claim 3, Kim in view of Zhang and Oh further discloses the image processing server of claim 1, wherein the color information of the plurality of pixels comprises luminance and chrominance components of YUV color model or red, green, and blue components of an RGB color model (Oh; the color information of the plurality of pixels [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] comprises red, green, and blue components of a RGB color model [¶ 0025 and ¶ 0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Kim as modified by Zhang and Oh, to incorporate the color information of the plurality of pixels comprises luminance and chrominance components of YUV color model or red, green, and blue components of an RGB color model (as taught by Oh), in order to provide an improved image quality when reconstructing color images (Oh; [¶ 0001-0003]).
Regarding claim 8, the rejection of claim 8 is addressed within the rejection of claim 1, due to the similarities claim 8 and claim 1 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 1 regarding the rejection of claim 8. Although, claim 8 and claim 1 may not be identical, it is reasonable to reject claim 8 based on the prior art teachings and rational within the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, the rejection of claim 9 is addressed within the rejection of claim 2, due to the similarities claim 9 and claim 2 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 2 regarding the rejection of claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, the rejection of claim 10 is addressed within the rejection of claim 3, due to the similarities claim 10 and claim 3 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 3 regarding the rejection of claim 10.
Regarding claim 15, the rejection of claim 15 is addressed within the rejection of claims 1 & 2, due to the similarities claim 15 and claims 1 & 2 share, therefore refer to the rejections of claims 1 & 2 regarding the rejection of claim 15. Although, claim 15 and claims 1 & 2 may not be identical, it is reasonable to reject claim 15 based on the prior art teachings and rational within the rejections of claims 1 & 2.
However, the subject matter/limitations not addressed by claims 1 & 2 is/are addressed below.
Kim discloses an image recording system configured to store one or more digital image that are associated with the image (Kim; an image recording system (i.e. database) [¶ 0083 and ¶ 0092-0093] configured to store one or more digital image that are associated with the image [¶ 0083-0086]; moreover, one or more digital image signals corresponds to communicated data [¶ 0094-0095] and image generation [¶ 0088-0089 and ¶ 0093]).
Kim fails to explicitly to store one or more digital image.
However, Zhang teaches to store one or more digital image signals that are associated with the image (Zhang; to store one or more digital image signals that are associated with the image [¶ 0024-0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Kim, to incorporate to store one or more digital image signals that are associated with the image (as taught by Zhang), in order to provide an improved media transmission large image sets (Zhang; [¶ 0002-0004 and ¶ 0006-0007]).
(further refer to the rejections of claims 1 & 2)
Regarding claim 16, the rejection of claim 16 is addressed within the rejection of claim 3, due to the similarities claim 16 and claim 3 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 3 regarding the rejection of claim 16.
Claim(s) 4, 5, 11, 12, 17, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Zhang and Oh as applied to claim(s) 1, 8, and 15 above, and further in view of Nelson et al., US PGPUB No. 20020000988, hereinafter Nelson.
Regarding claim 4, Kim in view of Zhang and Oh further discloses the image processing server of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, configures the processor to interpolate color information of a pixel of the media plane from among the plurality of pixels of the media plane by weighting and accumulating the color information of the plurality of pixels of the image that are situated within a sample kernel space from among a plurality of sample kernel spaces of the image (Kim; when the processor executes instructions the processor [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] is further configured to implicitly interpolate (given image data pixel mapping) color information (i.e. image content) a pixel of the media plane (i.e. projection surface) from among the plurality of pixels of the media plane (i.e. projection surface) [¶ 0075-0077 and ¶ 0089]; wherein, media content (i.e. source image) comprises pixels [¶ 0053] that are projected to surface [¶ 0060-0064]).
Oh further teaches to interpolate color information of a pixel of the media plane from among the plurality of pixels of the media plane by weighting and accumulating the color information of the plurality of pixels of the image (Oh; to interpolate color information of a pixel of the media from among the plurality of pixels of the media by weighting and accumulating the color information of the plurality of pixels of the image [¶ 0070-0072, ¶ 0077-0078, and ¶ 0089]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Kim as modified by Zhang and Oh, to incorporate to interpolate color information of a pixel of the media plane from among the plurality of pixels of the media plane by weighting and accumulating the color information of the plurality of pixels of the image (as taught by Oh), in order to provide an improved image quality when reconstructing color images (Oh; [¶ 0001-0003]).
Kim as modified by Zhang and Oh fails to disclose a sample kernel space from among a plurality of sample kernel spaces of the image.
However, Nelson teaches weighting and accumulating the color information of the plurality of pixels of the image that are situated within a sample kernel space from among a plurality of sample kernel spaces of the image (Nelson; weighting and accumulating the color information of the plurality of pixels of the image that are situated within a sample kernel space [¶ 0094-0097 and ¶ 0111-0113] from among a plurality of sample kernel spaces of the image [¶ 0155-0156 and ¶ 0160], as illustrated within Figs. 12A-B; moreover, sampling [¶ 0015] in relation with super-sampling [¶ 0122-0126], as illustrated within Fig. 4 and Figs. 5A-B; additionally, accumulation of sample data within memory [¶ 0093, ¶ 0150, and ¶ 0154]).
Kim in view of Zhang and Oh and Nelson are considered to be analogous art because they pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce a visualization effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Kim as modified by Zhang and Oh, to incorporate weighting and accumulating the color information of the plurality of pixels of the image that are situated within a sample kernel space from among a plurality of sample kernel spaces of the image (as taught by Nelson), in order to provide an improved image processing without the need for higher resource complexity (Nelson; [¶ 0005-0010 and ¶ 0016]; moreover, improved realism, reducing artifacts, and efficient rendering [¶ 0011-0014 and ¶ 0017]).
Regarding claim 5, Kim in view of Zhang, Oh, and Nelson further discloses the image processing server of claim 4, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, configures the processor to weigh the color information of the plurality of pixels of the image (Kim; when the processor executes instructions the processor [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] is further configured to weigh/calculate the color information (i.e. image content) of the plurality of pixels of the image [¶ 0065-0070]).
Nelson further teaches to weigh the color information of the plurality of pixels of the image that are situated within the sample kernel space in accordance with a probability density function (Nelson; to weigh/calculate the color information of the plurality of pixels of the image that are situated within the sample kernel space [¶ 0094-0097] in accordance with a probability density function (i.e. super-sampling) [¶ 0122-0126]; moreover, sample density within a region [¶ 0124-0126], as illustrated within Fig. 5A-B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Kim as modified by Zhang and Oh, to incorporate to weigh the color information of the plurality of pixels of the image that are situated within the sample kernel space in accordance with a probability density function (as taught by Nelson), in order to provide an improved image processing without the need for higher resource complexity (Nelson; [¶ 0005-0010 and ¶ 0016]; moreover, improved realism, reducing artifacts, and efficient rendering [¶ 0011-0014 and ¶ 0017]).
Regarding claim 11, the rejection of claim 11 is addressed within the rejection of claim 4, due to the similarities claim 11 and claim 4 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 4 regarding the rejection of claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, the rejection of claim 12 is addressed within the rejection of claim 5, due to the similarities claim 12 and claim 5 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 5 regarding the rejection of claim 12.
Regarding claim 17, the rejection of claim 17 is addressed within the rejection of claim 4, due to the similarities claim 17 and claim 4 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 4 regarding the rejection of claim 17.
Regarding claim 18, the rejection of claim 18 is addressed within the rejection of claim 5, due to the similarities claim 18 and claim 5 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 5 regarding the rejection of claim 18.
Claim(s) 6, 13, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Zhang, Oh, and Nelson as applied to claim(s) 4, 11, and 17 above, and further in view of Deering et al., US PGPUB No. 20020005854 A1, hereinafter Deering.
Regarding claim 6, Kim in view of Zhang, Oh, and Nelson further discloses the image processing server of claim 4, wherein the plurality of sample kernel spaces includes a first sample kernel space having a smaller two-dimensional area than a second sample kernel space (Nelson; the plurality of sample kernel spaces includes a 1st sample kernel space having a smaller 2D area than a 2nd sample kernel space [¶ 0132-0135 and ¶ 0167-0168], as illustrated within Fig. 5A-B and Fig. 12A; moreover, kernel filter ranges [¶ 0212-0214], as illustrated within Fig. 16), and wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, configures the processor to weigh the color information of the plurality of pixels of the image that are situated within the first sample kernel space (Nelson; to weigh/calculate the color information of the plurality of pixels of the image that are situated within the 1st sample kernel space [¶ 0094-0097 and ¶ 0124-0126], as illustrated within Fig. 5A-B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Kim as modified by Zhang, Oh, and Nelson, to incorporate the plurality of sample kernel spaces includes a first sample kernel space having a smaller two-dimensional area than a second sample kernel space (as taught by Nelson), in order to provide an improved image processing without the need for higher resource complexity (Nelson; [¶ 0005-0010 and ¶ 0016]; moreover, improved realism, reducing artifacts, and efficient rendering [¶ 0011-0014 and ¶ 0017]).
Kim as modified by Zhang, Oh, and Nelson fails to disclose when the pixel of the media plane is closer to a top of the media plane or within the second sample kernel space when the pixel of the media plane is closer to a bottom of the media plane.
However, Deering teaches to weigh the color information of the plurality of pixels of the image that are situated within the first sample kernel space when the pixel of the media plane is closer to a top of the media plane or within the second sample kernel space when the pixel of the media plane is closer to a bottom of the media plane (Deering; to weigh the color information of the plurality of pixels of the image that are situated (within the 1st sample kernel space when the pixel of the media plane is closer to a top of the media plane or) within the 2nd sample kernel space when the pixel of the media plane is closer to a bottom of the media plane [¶ 0174-0177], as illustrated within Fig. 12C; wherein, filter kernel is radially symmetric [¶ 0212-0214], as illustrated within Fig. 16).
Kim in view of Zhang, Oh, and Nelson and Deering are considered to be analogous art because they pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce a visualization effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Kim as modified by Zhang, Oh, and Nelson, to incorporate to weigh the color information of the plurality of pixels of the image that are situated within the first sample kernel space when the pixel of the media plane is closer to a top of the media plane or within the second sample kernel space when the pixel of the media plane is closer to a bottom of the media plane (as taught by Nelson), in order to provide an improved image processing without the need for higher resource complexity (Nelson; [¶ 0005-0010 and ¶ 0016]; moreover, improved realism, reducing artifacts, and efficient rendering [¶ 0011-0014 and ¶ 0017]).
Regarding claim 13, the rejection of claim 13 is addressed within the rejection of claim 6, due to the similarities claim 13 and claim 6 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 6 regarding the rejection of claim 13.
Regarding claim 19, the rejection of claim 19 is addressed within the rejection of claim 6, due to the similarities claim 19 and claim 6 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 6 regarding the rejection of claim 19.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 14, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
7. The image processing server of claim 6, wherein the first sample kernel space comprises a circle, and wherein the second sample kernel space is related to a Rosenbrock function.
14. The image processing server of claim 13, wherein the first sample kernel space comprises a circle, and wherein the second sample kernel space is related to a Rosenbrock function.
20. The image processing system of claim 19, wherein the first sample kernel space comprises a circle, and wherein the second sample kernel space is related to a Rosenbrock function.
Although, Nelson teaches first sample kernel space comprises a circle (Nelson; [¶ 0124-0126 and ¶ 0155], as illustrated within Figs. 5A-B and Figs. 12A-B; moreover, [¶ 0176-0179], as illustrated within Figs. 15), Nelson fails to disclose a sample kernel space related to a Rosenbrock function. Still further, Kim in view of Zhang and Oh fails to disclose the second sample kernel space is related to a Rosenbrock function.
Although, optimization of a color image or pixel region is taught within the prior art (e.g. Rephaeli et al. (US PGPUB No. 20200111193 A1), Meler (US Patent No. 9792709 B1), Okutomi et al. (US Patent No. 7515747 B2), Vora et al. (US PGPUB No. 20040114047 A1), Ovsiannikov et al. (US PGPUB No. 20080298708 A1)), the prior art fails to disclose the subject matter of a sample kernel space related to a Rosenbrock function, in the manner further limited by the subject matter of the parent claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of Reference Cited for a listing of analogous art.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CHARLES LLOYD. BEARD
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2611
/CHARLES L BEARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611