DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Regarding claim 10 recites the limitation " the first and second insulated material " in lines 1-2 of claim 10. . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Regarding claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 10 , the limitations ”.. wherein the first and second insulated material layers comprise first and second passivation layers, . .” is vague and indefinite. Since claim 10 , directly depends on claim 5 , the examiner is unclear on how a passivation layers being added to the first and second insulated layers since claim 5 does not mention having first and second insulated material layers . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 1 Claim s 1 , 5-6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a1 as being anticipated by Kroener (US 8,072,042). Regarding claim 1 , Kroener ( figures 1 a-2 f and Col 4, lines 1-67- Col 9 , lines 1- 20 ) discloses a substrate ( 1 0 ) having opposing first and second sides ( see figures 2a-2f ) , the substrate comprising patterned voids that extend from the first side to the second side ( see figures 2a-2f ) , wherein a substrate material is disposed between adjacent patterned voids ( see figures 2a-2f ) ; and a ferromagnetic material ( see Col 3, lines 41-51 disclosing material combinations that are ferromagnetic ) disposed in the patterned voids to form vertically-oriented ferromagnetic layers . ( see figures 2a-2f ) . Regarding claim 5 , Kroener ( figures 1 a-2 f and Col 4, lines 1-67- Col 9, lines 1-20 ) discloses a substrate ( 1 0 ) having opposing first and second sides ( see figures 2a-2f ) , the substrate comprising patterned voids that extend from the first side to the second side ( see figures 2a-2f ) , wherein a substrate material is disposed between adjacent patterned voids ( see figures 2a-2f ) ; and a ferromagnetic material ( see Col 3, lines 41-51 disclosing material combinations that are ferromagnetic ) disposed in the patterned voids to form vertically-oriented ferromagnetic layers .( see figures 2a-2f ) a conductive coil ( 51 or 52 ) disposed around the vertically-laminated ferromagnetic core. Regarding claim 6 , Kroener ( figures 1 a-2 f and Col 4, lines 1-67- Col 9, lines 1-20 ) discloses comprising first and second insulated material layers ( 32 / 33 ) disposed on the first and second sides of the substrate, respectively. Regarding claim 11 , Kroener ( figures 1 a-2 f and Col 4, lines 1-67- Col 9, lines 1-20 ) discloses wherein the substrate is a core substrate and the first and second insulated material layers comprise first and second substrates, respectively. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 2 Claim s 1-6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 20190272936) in view of Sturcken et al. (US 20180182530). Regarding claim 1 , Zhang et al. ( figures 2a-2b and para 0034-0042 ) discloses a substrate ( 205 ) having opposing first and second sides, the substrate comprising patterned voids that extend from the first side to the second side ( see figure 2b ) , wherein a substrate material is disposed between adjacent patterned voids( see figure 2b ) . Zhang et al. para ( 00039 ) discloses wherein a magnetic material is disposed in the patterned voids to form vertically-oriented magnetic layers but does not expressly disclose wherein the magnetic material is a ferromagnetic material. Sturcken et al. ( figures 7b/8 and para 0058 ) discloses a teaching wherein a ferromagnetic material is disposed in the patterned voids to form vertically-oriented ferromagnetic layers. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein a ferromagnetic material is disposed in the patterned voids to form vertically-oriented ferromagnetic layers as taught by Sturcken et al. to the inductive device of Zhang et al. so as to allow the inductive device to have to strong electromagnetic shielding a nd have the ability to become a permanent magnet . Regarding claim 2 , Zhang et al.( para 0058 and figure 8 ) discloses wherein each vertically-oriented ferromagnetic layer has a width of about 5 nm to about 50 μm, the width determined with respect to a width axis that is parallel to a plane defined by the first side of the substrate. Regarding claim 3 , Zhang et al.( para 0058 and figure 8 ) discloses wherein each vertically-oriented ferromagnetic layer has a height of about 100 μm to about 800 μm, the height determined with respect to a height axis that is orthogonal to the plane defined by the first side of the substrate. Regarding claim 4 , Zhang et al.( para 0058 ) discloses wherein each vertically-oriented ferromagnetic layer has an aspect ratio in a range of about 2:1 to about 160,000:1, the aspect ratio determined by dividing the height by the width. Regarding claim 5 , Zhang et al.( figures 2a-2b and para 0034-0042 ) discloses a a substrate ( 205 ) having opposing first and second sides, the substrate comprising patterned voids that extend from the first side to the second side ( see figure 2b ) , wherein a substrate material is disposed between adjacent patterned voids ( see figure 2b ) and a conductive coil ( 210 ) disposed around the vertically-laminated magnetic core. Zhang et al. para ( 00039 ) discloses wherein a magnetic material is disposed in the patterned voids to form vertically-oriented magnetic layers but does not expressly disclose wherein the magnetic material is a ferromagnetic material. Sturcken et al.( figures 7b/8 and para 0058 ) discloses a teaching wherein a ferromagnetic material is disposed in the patterned voids to form vertically-oriented ferromagnetic layers. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein a ferromagnetic material is disposed in the patterned voids to form vertically-oriented ferromagnetic layers as taught by Sturcken et al. to the inductive device of Zhang et al. so as to allow the inductive device to have to strong electromagnetic shielding a nd have the ability to become a permanent magnet . Regarding claim 6 , Zhang et al.( figure 2b and para 003 7 ) discloses comprising first and second insulated material layers ( 208a/208b ) disposed on the first and second sides of the substrate, respectively. Regarding claim 1 1 , Zhang et al.( figures 2a-2b and para 0034-0042 ) discloses wherein the substrate is a core substrate and the first and second insulated material layers comprise first and second substrates, respectively. 3 . Clai ms 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 20190272936) in view of Sturcken et al. (US 20180182530) in further view of Ahn et al. (US 6531945 ) Regarding claim 7, the modified inductive of Zhang et al.( figures 2a-2b and para 0034-0042 ) discloses a ll the limitations as noted above but does not expressly first and second metal wire segments formed in the first and second insulated material layers, respectively. Ahn et al.( figures 9a-9c and Col 10, lines 39-60 ) discloses a teaching wherein first and second metal wire segments formed in the first and second insulated material layers ( 500 ) , respectively. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein discloses first and second metal wire segments formed in the first and second insulated material layers as taught by Ahn et al. to the inductive device of Zhang et al. so as to pr otect the exposed portions of the conductive coil from moisture, contamination, and physical damage. Regarding claim 8 , Zhang et al.( figure 2b ) discloses first and second VIAs ( 212 ) formed in the substrate, the vertically-oriented magnetic layers disposed between the first and second VIAs. Regarding claim 9 , Zhang et al.( figure 2b ) discloses wherein the first and second VIAs are each electrically coupled to the first and second metal wire segments to form the conductive coil. Regarding claim 10 , the modified inductive of Zhang et al.( figures 2a-2b and para 0034-0042 ) discloses all the limitations as noted above but does not expressly wherein the first and second insulated material layers comprise first and second passivation layers, respectively. Ahn et al.( figures 9a-9c and Col 10, lines 39-60 ) discloses a teaching wherein the first and second insulated material layers comprise first and second passivation layers ( 500 ), respectively. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein the first and second insulated material layers comprise first and second passivation layers respectively as taught by Ahn et al. to the inductive device of Zhang et al. so as to pr otect the exposed portions of the conductive coil from moisture, contamination, and physical damage. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT RONALD HINSON whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-7915 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M to F; 8 -5 . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Shawki Ismail can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-3985 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /RONALD HINSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837