DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in grounds of the new rejection.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the inductor further comprises first and second wafers, the first and second wafers including the first and second substrates, respectively must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Regarding claim 22, the limitations ”.. and the inductor further comprises first and second wafers, the first and second wafers including the first and second substrates, respectively, ..” is vague and indefinite.
Para 0054 of the applicant pgpub discloses the core substrate 140 is included in a wafer. Where in the drawings/ specifications discloses features wherein inductor further comprises first and second wafers, the first and second wafers including the first and second substrates?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuo et al. (US 20130075860) in view of Kroener (US 8,072,042)
Regarding claim 5, Kuo et al.(figures 1a-2p and para 0010-0013) discloses a core substrate (170) having opposing first and second sides, first and second substrates (see figures 1p/2p) attached to the first and second sides of the core substrate, respectively(see figures 1p/2p); a conductive coil (see figures 1p/2p and para 0010) disposed around the vertically-laminated magnetic core (164) and the conductive coil including first and second metal wire segments formed in the first and second substrates, respectively (see figures 1p/2p).
Kuo et al. does not expressly disclose the substrate comprising ferromagnetic material disposed in the patterned voids to form vertically-oriented magnetic layers that extend from the first side to the second side wherein a substrate material is disposed between adjacent patterned voids.
Kroener (figures 1a-2f and Col 4, lines 1-67- Col 9, lines 1-20) discloses disclose the substrate (10) comprising ferromagnetic material disposed in the patterned voids to form vertically-oriented magnetic layers(see figures 2a-2f and Col 3, lines 41-51 disclosing material combinations that are ferromagnetic) that extend from the first side to the second side wherein a substrate material is disposed between adjacent patterned voids (see figures 2a-2f).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein the substrate comprising ferromagnetic material disposed in the patterned voids to form vertically-oriented magnetic layers that extend from the first side to the second side wherein a substrate material is disposed between adjacent patterned voids as taught by Kroener to the inductive device of Kuo et al. so as to effectively eliminate lateral electromagnetic crosstalk and parasitic coupling while also reducing eddy currents while also providing the inductive device with strong electromagnetic shielding
2. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuo et al. (US 20160307991) in view of Kroener (US 8,072,042)
Regarding claim 5, Kuo et al.(figures 1a-1b and para 0011-0040) discloses a core substrate (140) having opposing first and second sides, first and second substrates (160/130) attached to the first and second sides of the core substrate, respectively; a conductive coil (see figures 1a-1b and para 0011) disposed around the vertically-laminated magnetic core(see figures 1a-1b and para 0011) and the conductive coil including first and second metal wire segments formed in the first and second substrates, respectively (see figure 1b).
Kuo et al. does not expressly disclose the substrate comprising ferromagnetic material disposed in the patterned voids to form vertically-oriented magnetic layers that extend from the first side to the second side wherein a substrate material is disposed between adjacent patterned voids.
Kroener (figures 1a-2f and Col 4, lines 1-67- Col 9, lines 1-20) discloses disclose the substrate (10) comprising ferromagnetic material disposed in the patterned voids to form vertically-oriented magnetic layers(see figures 2a-2f and Col 3, lines 41-51 disclosing material combinations that are ferromagnetic) that extend from the first side to the second side wherein a substrate material is disposed between adjacent patterned voids (see figures 2a-2f).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein the substrate comprising ferromagnetic material disposed in the patterned voids to form vertically-oriented magnetic layers that extend from the first side to the second side wherein a substrate material is disposed between adjacent patterned voids as taught by Kroener to the inductive device of Kuo et al. so as to effectively eliminate lateral electromagnetic crosstalk and parasitic coupling while also reducing eddy currents while also providing the inductive device with strong electromagnetic shielding.
3 Claims 5, 8-9 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuo et al. (US 20160307991) in view of Zhang et al. (US 20190272936) and Sturcken et al. (US 20180182530).
Regarding claim 5, Kuo et al.(figures 1a-1b and para 0011-0040) discloses a core substrate (140) having opposing first and second sides, first and second substrates (160/130) attached to the first and second sides of the core substrate, respectively; a conductive coil (see figures 1a-1b and para 0011) disposed around the vertically-laminated magnetic core(see figures 1a-1b and para 0011) and the conductive coil including first and second metal wire segments formed in the first and second substrates, respectively (see figure 1b).
Kuo et al. does not expressly disclose the substrate comprising ferromagnetic material disposed in the patterned voids to form vertically-oriented magnetic layers that extend from the first side to the second side wherein a substrate material is disposed between adjacent patterned voids.
Zhang et al. (figures 2a-2b and para 0034-0042) discloses a teaching wherein the substrate comprising magnetic material disposed in the patterned voids to form vertically-oriented magnetic layers (see para 0039) that extend from the first side to the second side (see figure 2b), wherein a substrate material is disposed between adjacent patterned voids (see figure 2b). but does not expressly disclose wherein the magnetic material is a ferromagnetic material.
Sturcken et al.(figures 7b/8 and para 0058) discloses a teaching wherein a ferromagnetic material is disposed in the patterned voids to form vertically-oriented ferromagnetic layers.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein the substrate comprising ferromagnetic material disposed in the patterned voids to form vertically-oriented magnetic layers that extend from the first side to the second side wherein a substrate material is disposed between adjacent patterned voids as taught by Zhang et al to the inductive device of Kuo et al. so as to effectively eliminate lateral electromagnetic crosstalk and parasitic coupling while also reducing eddy currents.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein a ferromagnetic material is disposed in the patterned voids to form vertically-oriented ferromagnetic layers as taught by Sturcken et al. to the inductive device of Kuo et al. so as to allow the inductive device to have to strong electromagnetic shielding and have the ability to become a permanent magnet.
Regarding claim 8, Zhang et al.(figure 2b) discloses first and second VIAs (212) formed in the core substrate, the vertically-oriented magnetic layers disposed between the first and second VIAs.
Regarding claim 9, Zhang et al.(figure 2b) discloses wherein the first and second VIAs are each electrically coupled to the first and second metal wire segments to form the conductive coil.
Regarding claim 12, Sturcken et al.(figures 7b/8 and para 0058) discloses wherein each vertically-oriented ferromagnetic layer has a width of about 5 nm to about 50 μm, the width determined with respect to a width axis that is parallel to a plane defined by the first side of the substrate.
Regarding claim 13, Sturcken et al.(figures 7b/8 and para 0058) discloses wherein each vertically-oriented ferromagnetic layer has a height of about 100 μm to about 800 μm, the height determined with respect to a height axis that is orthogonal to the plane defined by the first side of the substrate.
Regarding claim 14, Sturcken et al.(figures 7b/8 and para 0058) discloses wherein each vertically-oriented ferromagnetic layer has an aspect ratio in a range of about 2:1 to about 160,000:1, the aspect ratio determined by dividing the height by the width.
Regarding claim 15, the modified inductive device of Kuo et al in view of Strurcken/Zhang) combined has similar structural features that allows for each vertically-oriented ferromagnetic layer having an induced easy axis of magnetization that is parallel to a vertical axis, the vertical axis orthogonal to the first and second sides of the core substrate. (see Sturcken et al. para 0017/0047/0074-0076)
Regarding claim 16, the modified inductive device of Kuo et al in view of Strurchen/Zhang) combined has similar structural features wherein the induced easy axis of magnetization is a permanently induced easy axis of magnetization. (see Sturcken et al. para 0017/0047/0074-0076)
Regarding claim 17, the modified inductive device of Kuo et al in view of Strurchen/Zhang) combined has similar structural features wherein each vertically-oriented ferromagnetic layer has an induced hard axis of magnetization that is orthogonal to the vertical axis and parallel to the first and second sides of the core substrate. (see Sturcken et al. para 0017/0047/0074-0076)
Regarding claim 18, the modified inductive device of Kuo et al in view of Strurchen/Zhang) combined has similar structural features wherein the induced hard axis of magnetization is a permanently induced hard axis of magnetization. (see Sturcken et al. para 0017/0047/0074-0076)
Regarding claim 19, Sturcken et al.(para 0056) discloses wherein the ferromagnetic material comprises cobalt, nickel, and/or iron.
Regarding claim 20, Sturcken et al.(para 0047) discloses wherein the ferromagnetic material comprises an oxide of cobalt, an oxide of nickel, and/or an oxide of iron.
4. Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuo et al. (US 20160307991) in view of Zhang et al. (US 20190272936) and Sturcken et al. (US 20180182530) in further view of Ahn et al. (US 20050093669)
Regarding claim 21, the modified inductive device of Kuo et al. discloses all the limitations as noted above but does not expressly disclose a wafer, the wafer including the core substrate.
Ahn et al. (figure 1a-1c and claims 4/23) discloses a teaching wherein a wafer, the wafer including the core substrate (110)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein disclose a wafer, the wafer including the core substrate as taught by Ahn et al.. to the modified inductive device of Kuo et al. so as to provides enhanced mechanical rigidity, improved thermal stability, and better structural support for high-density semiconductor packaging.
Regarding claim 22, designing wafer is a core wafer, and the inductor further comprises first and second wafers, the first and second wafers including the first and second substrates would have been an obvious design consideration based on intended application/environment use Such as to reduces parasitic resistance and improves inductor efficiency while also maximizing inductance while reducing electromagnetic interference (EMI) with neighboring circuits. Please note that in the instant application, the applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
5. Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuo et al. (US 20160307991) in view of Zhang et al. (US 20190272936) and Sturcken et al. (US 20180182530) in further view of Askarinya et al. (US 20130335937)
Regarding claim 21, the modified inductive device of Kuo et al. discloses all the limitations as noted above but does not expressly disclose a wafer, the wafer including the core substrate.
Askarinya et al. (figure 8a-8c and para 0022/0030-0033) discloses a teaching wherein a wafer (WLP), the wafer including the core substrate (340/815)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein disclose a wafer, the wafer including the core substrate as taught by Askarinya et al.. to the modified inductive device of Kuo et al. so as to provides enhanced mechanical rigidity, improved thermal stability, and better structural support for high-density semiconductor packaging.
Regarding claim 22, designing wafer is a core wafer, and the inductor further comprises first and second wafers, the first and second wafers including the first and second substrates would have been an obvious design consideration based on intended application/environment use Such as to reduces parasitic resistance and improves inductor efficiency while also maximizing inductance while reducing electromagnetic interference (EMI) with neighboring circuits. Please note that in the instant application, the applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RONALD HINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837