Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the particular species that are: chemical treatment for degrading an amplicon (relevant to claim 74); nucleic acid target analyte (relevant to claims 83 and 84); and signal detection by sequencing by hybridization (relevant to claim 90) in the reply filed on 08/18/2026 is acknowledged.
In light of the Examiners search and examination of the elected “chemical” treatment for degrading an amplicon, the species election requirement as it was applied to the election of a degradation treatment selected from chemical, enzymatic, or light (relevant to claim 74) is withdrawn.
Claims 85 (drawn to non-elected protein analytes), 86 (drawn to non-elected lipid, metabolite or small molecule analytes), 88 (drawn to non-elected sequencing by synthesis), and 89 (drawn to non-elected sequencing by ligation) are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/18/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 71-84, 87 and 90 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al (2014) (NPL citation 36 on the IDS of 06/12/2023) including the Supplementary Material, in view of Cai et al (US PG Pub 2015/0267251; US Patent Application citation 97 on the IDS of 06/12/2023).
Relevant to the methods of instantly rejected claim 71, Choi et al teaches associating a plurality of primary probes (relevant to claims 79, 80 and 81) to an mRNA target analyte (relevant to claims 83 and 84), where the primary probe has a structure that includes first and second linkers located at the 5’ and the 3’ end of the each primary probe (relevant to claim 72) (e.g.: Figure 1). The primary probes of Choi et al include distinct linker sequences (i.e.: the initiators I1 and I2 of Choi et al) that together provide for the identification of the primary probe (relevant to claim 76 and 77) (e.g.: Supplementary Material S5). Choi et al teaches detection of the primary probe by hybridization with metastable fluorescently-labeled hairpins (e.g.: the HCR amplifier sequences Supplementary Material S6) to generate labeled hybridization chain reaction amplicons that are detected by their labels (e.g.: Figure 1) (relevant to claims 75), including in situ detection of targets (e.g.: Figure 7) (relevant to claim 90).
Choi et al does not exemplify methods in which a least a portion of a first HCT amplicon coupled to a primary probe is removed form the primary probe. However, the sequential analysis of bound probes, including the removal of a first bound probe prior to the hybridization and detection of a second bound probe, was known in the prior art and is taught by Cai et al.
Relevant to the limitations of the instantly rejected claims, Cai et al teaches methods for the detection of mRNA analytes using a plurality of fluorescently labeled probes. Cai et al exemplifies the hybridization and detection of a first fluorescently labeled probe, followed by the removal of the probe using enzymatic digestion and photobleaching, and subsequent hybridization and detection of a second spectrally distinct fluorescently labeled probe (e.g.: Figure 2, Figure 3; paras 0210-0229) to identify target nucleic acids (relevant to the limitations of claims 71, 73, 74, 77, 78 and 82).
It would have been prima facie obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the rejected claims to performed the sequential hybridization techniques of Cai et al using the primary probes with multiple linker domains as taught by Choi et al. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to use the particular structures of Choi et al because the skilled artisan would recognize that having multiple targets for metastable fluorescently-labeled hairpins would expand the ability of the barcoding detection of Cai et al by providing more labeled-probe binding sites. The skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success because Cai et al teaches the use of hybridization chain reaction probes (e.g.: Figs 21-23; para 0106; para 0148). With regard to the limitations of claim 79, where Choi et al exemplifies the use of primary probes with two linker domains on each probe, and Cai et al exemplifies the detection of a target by barcoding with a plurality of spectrally distinct labels, the adding of additional linker domains to the primary probes of Choi et al for use in the methods rendered obvious by Choi et al in view of Cai et al would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. The skilled artisan would recognize that where the primary probe:HCR probe interaction of Choi et al is based on the complementary sequences of the primary probe:HCR probe (e.g.: Supplementary Material of Choi et al), the detection of multiple different labels (as exemplified by Cai et al) could be augmented by the use of primary probes each with more linker domains that are the target of HCR probe hybridization.
Further relevant to instantly rejected claim 87, Cai et al teaches the sequential analysis of a differently labeled probes to probe a barcoded identification of a target molecule, and Choi et al teaches the application of a plurality of probes directed to a target molecule. Where the prior art thus suggests the use of a plurality of sets of probes that are detected and identified with spectrally distinguishable labels in an HCR analysis to sequence barcodes the methods rendered obvious by the cited prior art provide for the detection of labels in a sequencing by hybridization method.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chen et al (2015), including the Supplementary Material, teaches methods comprising the detection of mRNA targets in situ using primary probes each with a a 5’ and 3’ linker domain and a photobleaching of a first labeled probe prior to hybridization and detection of a second labeled probe (e.g.: Fig 1).
Stephen Kapushoc
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1683
/STEPHEN T KAPUSHOC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1683