DETAILED ACTION
This is a Non-Final Office Action in response to the amendment filed 06/08/2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the application and have been examined.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 06/08/2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 101:
Applicant submits that amended claim 1 contains patentable subject matter as it presents limitation that recite a practical application of any purported abstract idea by improving the functioning of a computer. Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that according to the eligibility analysis if a claim limitation covers observations or evaluations then it falls within the “mental process” grouping of abstract ideas.The present claims do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application in a matter that imposes meaningful limit to the judicial exception. Lastly , the Examiner notes that because the specification describes the additional elements in general terms without describing the particulars, the claim limitations may be broadly but reasonably construed as reciting conventional computer components and techniques, particularly in light of Applicant’s’ specification, as cited in the instant office action. See Berkheimer Memo. The claim does not provide an inventive concept because the claim, in essence, merely recites various computer-based elements along with no more than mere instructions to implement the identified abstract idea using the computer-based elements.
Regarding Applicant arguments that the claims recite limitations that could not practically be performed within a human mind, As the Federal Circuit has explained, "Courts have examined claims that required the use of a computer and still found that the underlying, patent-ineligible invention could be performed via pen and paper or in a person’s mind." Versata Dev. Group v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1335, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1702 (Fed. Cir. 2015). See also Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1318, 120 USPQ2d 1353, 1360 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (‘‘[W]ith the exception of generic computer-implemented steps, there is nothing in the claims themselves that foreclose them from being performed by a human, mentally or with pen and paper.’’); Mortgage Grader, Inc. v. First Choice Loan Servs. Inc., 811 F.3d 1314, 1324, 117 USPQ2d 1693, 1699 (Fed. Cir. 2016). See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-patentable subject matter. The claims are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
With respect to claims 1-20, the independent claims (claims 1, 16 and 19) are directed, in part, to a method, a system and a non-transitory computer-readable medium for generating custom links and custom content. Step 1 – First pursuant to step 1 in the eligibility analysis, claims 1-15 are directed to a method comprising a series of steps which falls under the statutory category of a process, claims 16-18 are directed to a system which falls under the statutory category of a machine and claims 19-20 are directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium, which falls under the statutory category of an article of manufacture. However, these claim elements are considered to be abstract ideas because they are directed to a mental process which includes observations or evaluations.
As per Step 2A - Prong 1 of the subject matter eligibility analysis, the claims are directed, in part, to receiving… a request to generate a custom link associated with generating a customized content item player for playing a content item; receiving… settings associated with the custom link, the settings controlling how the customized content item player will play the content item when the custom link is activated, wherein the customized content item player is configured to analyze engagement metrics during a viewing session, the engagement metrics indicate different engagement levels for respective viewing segments; generating, for sharing with additional client devices, the custom link, wherein the custom link corresponds to the content item and to the settings controlling how the customized content item player will play the content item; receiving… a request to access the custom link; in response to the request to access the custom link, providing the content item and the customized content item player based on the settings in a first session of the second client device, wherein the customized content item player analyzes the engagement metrics to calculate engagement scores for the second client device associated with respective viewing segments and causing to generate a graphical display for display on the first client device that updates to reflect changes in the engagement levels for the second client device for the respective viewing segments. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation covers an observation or evaluation, then it falls under the “mental process” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
As per Step 2A - Prong 2 of the subject matter eligibility analysis, this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites additional elements: custom link, item player, graphical display, system, processor, memory, non-transitory computer-readable storage medium. These additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic device performing a generic computer function of receiving and storing data) such that these elements amount no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Examiner looks to Applicant’s specification in at least figure 1 and 11 and related text and [0148-0152] to understand that the invention may be implemented in a generic environment that “FIG. 11 shows an example of computing system 1100, which can be for example any computing device making up content management system 102 or client devices 134, or any component thereof in which the components of the system are in communication with each other using connection 1102. Connection 1102 can be a physical connection via a bus, or a direct connection into processor 1104, such as in a chipset architecture. Connection 1102 can also be a virtual connection, networked connection, or logical connection. In some embodiments, computing system 1100 is a distributed system in which the functions described in this disclosure can be distributed within a datacenter, multiple data centers, a peer network, etc. In some embodiments, one or more of the described system components represents many such components each performing some or all of the function for which the component is described. In some embodiments, the components can be physical or virtual devices. Example computing system 1100 includes at least one processing unit (CPU or processor) 1104 and connection 1102 that couples various system components including system memory 11088, such as read-only memory (ROM) 1110 and random access memory (RAM) 1112 to processor 1104. Computing system 1100 can include a cache of high-speed memory 1108 connected directly with, in close proximity to, or integrated as part of processor 1104. Processor 1104 can include any general purpose processor and a hardware service or software service, such as services 1106, 1118, and 1120 stored in storage device 1114, configured to control processor 1104 as well as a special-purpose processor where software instructions are incorporated into the actual processor design. Processor 1104 may essentially be a completely self-contained computing system, containing multiple cores or processors, a bus, memory controller, cache, etc. A multi-core processor may be symmetric or asymmetric. To enable user interaction, computing system 1100 includes an input device 1126, which can represent any number of input mechanisms, such as a microphone for speech, a touch-sensitive screen for gesture or graphical input, keyboard, mouse, motion input, speech, etc. Computing system 1100 can also include output device 1122, which can be one or more of a number of output mechanisms known to those of skill in the art.” Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they are mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer.
As per Step 2B of the subject matter eligibility analysis, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are mere instructions to apply the abstract idea on a computer. When considered individually, these claim elements only contribute generic recitations of technical elements to the claims. It is readily apparent, for example, that the claim is not directed to any specific improvements of these elements and the invention is not directed to a technical improvement. When the claims are considered individually and as a whole, the additional elements noted above, appear to merely apply the abstract concept to a technical environment in a very general sense – i.e. a generic computer receives information from another generic computer, processes the information and then sends information back. In addition, when taken as an ordered combination, the ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present as when the elements are taken individually. Their collective functions merely provide generic computer implementation. Therefore, when viewed as a whole, these additional claim elements do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a practical application of the abstract idea or that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The most significant elements of the claims, that is the elements that really outline the inventive elements of the claims, are set forth in the elements identified as an abstract idea. The fact that the generic computing devices are facilitating the abstract concept is not enough to confer statutory subject matter eligibility.
The dependent claims further refine the abstract idea. These claims do not provide a meaningful linking to the judicial exception. Rather, these claims offer further descriptive limitations of elements found in the independent claims and addressed above – such as by describing the nature and content of the data that is received/sent. While these descriptive elements may provide further helpful context for the claimed invention these elements do not serve to confer subject matter eligibility to the invention since their individual and combined significance is still not significantly more than the abstract concepts at the core of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 12, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 2015/0379555 (hereinafter; Dua) in view of US Pub. No. 2024/0298063 (hereinafter; Cafiero).
Regarding claim 1, Dua discloses:
A computer-implemented method comprising: receiving, from a first client device, a request to generate a custom link associated with generating a customized content item player for playing a content item; (Dua [0039] discloses the social engagement generation module 212 includes a custom URL generator 213. The custom URL generator 213 configured to create custom links for one or more of the selected trackable social engagement objects.) receiving, from the first client device, settings associated with the custom link, the settings controlling how the customized content item player will play the content item when the custom link is activated, wherein the customized content item player is configured to analyze engagement metrics during a viewing session, the engagement metrics indicate different engagement levels for respective viewing segments; (Dua [0039] discloses The custom URL generator 213 configured to create custom links for one or more of the selected trackable social engagement objects. [0043] discloses the tracking engine 220 can be any combination of software agents and/or hardware components able to facilitate tracking of social engagement metrics in the referral based, node-driven advertising platform. In the example of FIG. 2, the tracking engine 220 includes a user identification module 222, a node generation module 226, and a social engagement monitor module 226.) generating, for sharing with additional client devices, the custom link, wherein the custom link corresponds to the content item and to the settings controlling how the customized content item player will play the content item; (Dua [0037-0038] discloses The display ad development engine 210 can be any combination of software agents and/or hardware components able to facilitate development of an interactive advertisement. In the example of FIG. 2, the display ad development engine 210 includes a display ad upload module 211; In some embodiments, the display ad upload module 211 is configured to facilitate drag and drop of a creative (e.g., image file) onto the development interface. The display ad upload module 211 may, alternatively or additionally, include the ability for a developer to provide a file path (e.g., local or remote to the user device) to the creative for upload to the development interface.)
receiving, from a second client device, a request to access the custom link; in response to the request to access the custom link, providing the content item and the customized content item player based on the settings in a first session of the second client device, wherein the customized content item player analyzes the engagement metrics to calculate engagement scores for the second client device associated with respective viewing segments; (Dua [0058] discloses In some embodiments, the advertising platform may require pre-registration and/or login credentials before the developer can access the system (or server). (i.e. request to access.))
Although Dua discloses generating custom links with customized content, Dua does not specifically disclose a graphical display of engagement data. However, Cafiero discloses the following limitations:
and causing to generate a graphical display for display on the first client device that updates to reflect changes in the engagement levels for the second client device for the respective viewing segments. (Cafiero [0091] discloses a graphical display of engagement metrics.) (Dua [0023] discloses The referral based, node-driven advertising platform can include a real-time bidding (RTB) tool or engine that uses the social engagement metrics to determine, for example, optimal target audience information for the interactive display ad. An initial media buy strategy is then modified based on the optimal target audience information and ad tags are updated to reflect any changes. [0054] discloses FIG. 3 depicts a diagram graphically illustrating example tracking operation 300, according to an embodiment.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the advertising platform of Dua with the interactive overlay on video system of Cafiero in order to ensure an engaging viewer experience (Cafiero abstract) because the references are analogous since they both fall within Applicant's field of endeavor and are reasonably pertinent to the problem with which Applicant is concerned.
Regarding claim 2, although Dua discloses generating custom links with customized content, Dua does not specifically disclose a graphical display of engagement data. However, Cafiero discloses the following limitations:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving engagement data associated with how a user is experiencing the content item at the customized content item player, wherein the engagement data distinguishes between segments associated with respective engagement levels. (Cafiero [0091] discloses a graphical display of engagement metrics.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the advertising platform of Dua with the interactive overlay on video system of Cafiero in order to ensure an engaging viewer experience (Cafiero abstract) because the references are analogous since they both fall within Applicant's field of endeavor and are reasonably pertinent to the problem with which Applicant is concerned.
Regarding claim 3, Dua discloses:
The computer-implemented method of claim 2, further comprising: receiving a rule associated with providing one or more customized calls to action in response to a change in the engagement data that results in a change of an engagement level, wherein the rule is set in association with the custom link; and enabling a respective call to action associated with the change of the engagement level based on the rule. (Dua [0051-0052] discloses The bid engine 240 can be any combination of software agents and/or hardware components able to use social engagement metrics to determine, for example, optimal target audience information for the interactive display ad. In the example of FIG. 2, the bid engine 240 includes a real-time bid optimizer module 242. Additional or fewer engines are possible. In some embodiments, the real-time bid optimizer module 242 determines a media buy strategy that is then modified based on the optimal target audience information and ad tags are updated to reflect any changes.)
Regarding claim 4, although Dua discloses generating custom links with customized content, Dua does not specifically disclose recommendations. However, Cafiero discloses the following limitations:
The computer-implemented method of claim 2, further comprising: providing a recommendation in response to the engagement data, wherein the recommendation includes a revised content item revised based on the engagement data. (Cafiero [0111] discloses By leveraging advanced data analytics, the system may offer personalized recommendations and incentives, further enriching the user experience and fostering a deeper engagement with the digital content over time.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the advertising platform of Dua with the interactive overlay on video system of Cafiero in order to ensure an engaging viewer experience (Cafiero abstract) because the references are analogous since they both fall within Applicant's field of endeavor and are reasonably pertinent to the problem with which Applicant is concerned.
Regarding claim 5, although Dua discloses generating custom links with customized content, Dua does not specifically disclose a graphical display of engagement data. However, Cafiero discloses the following limitations:
The computer-implemented method of claim 2, further comprising: causing to generate a graphical display of a summary of the engagement data of experiencing the content item through the customized content item player, wherein the graphical display includes a graph that distinguishes a number of views per different lengths of total playback time. (Cafiero [0091] discloses a graphical display of engagement metrics.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the advertising platform of Dua with the interactive overlay on video system of Cafiero in order to ensure an engaging viewer experience (Cafiero abstract) because the references are analogous since they both fall within Applicant's field of endeavor and are reasonably pertinent to the problem with which Applicant is concerned.
Regarding claim 6, although Dua discloses generating custom links with customized content, Dua does not specifically disclose a graphical display of engagement data. However, Cafiero discloses the following limitations:
The computer-implemented method of claim 2 further comprising: analyzing the engagement data to generate engagement analytics; and causing to generate a graphical display of the engagement analytics of experiencing the content item through the customized content item player, wherein the graphical display of the engagement data includes the segments associated with respective engagement levels. (Cafiero [0091] discloses a graphical display of engagement metrics.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the advertising platform of Dua with the interactive overlay on video system of Cafiero in order to ensure an engaging viewer experience (Cafiero abstract) because the references are analogous since they both fall within Applicant's field of endeavor and are reasonably pertinent to the problem with which Applicant is concerned.
Regarding claim 7, Dua discloses:
The computer-implemented method of claim 6, wherein the graphical display includes engagement analytics associated with a second session of experiencing the content item through the customized content item player, or a third session of experiencing the content item through another customized content item player associated with another custom link. (Dua [0079] discloses multiple links according to more clicks and transactions.)
Regarding claim 8, although Dua discloses generating custom links with customized content, Dua does not specifically disclose real-time updates. However, Cafiero discloses the following limitations:
The computer-implemented method of claim 6, further comprising: causing to present real-time updates to the graphical display that dynamically creates a new baseline segment in response to a start of playing of the content item or a new sub-segment in response to a change in engagement level from a neighboring sub- segment. (Cafiero [0100] discloses real-time viewer tracking.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the advertising platform of Dua with the interactive overlay on video system of Cafiero in order to ensure an engaging viewer experience (Cafiero abstract) because the references are analogous since they both fall within Applicant's field of endeavor and are reasonably pertinent to the problem with which Applicant is concerned.
Regarding claim 12, although Dua discloses generating custom links with customized content, Dua does not specifically disclose how content is experienced. However, Cafiero discloses the following limitations:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: determining that the content item has started to play in the customized content item player at a first time; in response to the determination, generating a range event with a start time and an end time, wherein the start time includes the first time that the content item has started to play in the customized content item player and the end time is null; determining that the content item is paused or no longer playing in a same manner at a second time; and updating the end time of the range event with the second time, wherein the range event is associated with a baseline segment with a first engagement level. (Cafiero [0084] discloses the system can ensure continuous or periodic tracking of the video viewing, with the appearance of animated images being contingent on uninterrupted watching. This feature ensures that if a viewer skips forward or revisits a previously watched segment, the overlaid animated images are temporarily suspended until the viewer resumes watching the video sequentially.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the advertising platform of Dua with the interactive overlay on video system of Cafiero in order to ensure an engaging viewer experience (Cafiero abstract) because the references are analogous since they both fall within Applicant's field of endeavor and are reasonably pertinent to the problem with which Applicant is concerned.
Regarding claim 15, although Dua discloses generating custom links with customized content, Dua does not specifically disclose how content is experienced. However, Cafiero discloses the following limitations:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1 wherein generating the custom link comprises: configuring the custom link with settings data associated with the settings, wherein the settings include one or more of an access setting, a viewing experience setting, a presentation setting, or an operation setting; and storing the settings data within a database as flags that, in response to client device interactions with the custom link, applies the settings to the customized content item player. (Cafiero [0083-0084] disclose different viewing options.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the advertising platform of Dua with the interactive overlay on video system of Cafiero in order to ensure an engaging viewer experience (Cafiero abstract) because the references are analogous since they both fall within Applicant's field of endeavor and are reasonably pertinent to the problem with which Applicant is concerned.
Claim(s) 9-11, 13-14, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dua in view of Cafiero, further in view of US Pub. No. 2014/0012619 (hereinafter; Natarajan).
Regarding claim 9, although Dua discloses generating custom links with customized content, Dua does not specifically disclose scores or levels of engagement. However, Natarajan discloses the following limitations:
The computer-implemented method of The computer-implemented method of wherein analyzing the engagement data further comprising: calculating a score for a period of time during which the content item is played at the customized content item player based on the engagement data and weights associated with respective engagement data; determining that the calculated score falls within a first range associated with a distracted engagement level or a second range associated with an attentive engagement level; assigning the period of time to the distracted engagement level or the attentive engagement level that based on the determination, wherein the graphical display includes a segment for the period of time that indicates a respective engagement level of viewing the content item at the customized content item player based on the assigned engagement level; and providing a first set of display characteristics for segments associated with the distracted engagement level and a second set of display characteristics for segments associated with the attentive engagement level. (Natarajan discloses metric engagement and level of engagement in at least [0085]; [0094].)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the advertising platform of Dua with the interactive overlay on video system for customizing content feeds of Natarajan in order to measure engagement strength (Natarajan abstract) because the references are analogous since they both fall within Applicant's field of endeavor and are reasonably pertinent to the problem with which Applicant is concerned.
Regarding claim 10, although Dua discloses generating custom links with customized content, Dua does not specifically disclose how content is experienced. However, Cafiero discloses the following limitations:
The computer-implemented method of claim 9, wherein the engagement data includes whether the content item is viewed in full screen, whether the content item is muted, whether the content item is played with volume, whether the content item is in focus, or whether the content item is viewed at a particular speed. (Cafiero [0083] discloses full screen mode options.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the advertising platform of Dua with the interactive overlay on video system of Cafiero in order to ensure an engaging viewer experience (Cafiero abstract) because the references are analogous since they both fall within Applicant's field of endeavor and are reasonably pertinent to the problem with which Applicant is concerned.
Regarding claim 11, although Dua discloses generating custom links with customized content, Dua does not specifically disclose how content is experienced. However, Cafiero discloses the following limitations:
The computer-implemented method of claim 9, further comprising: receiving a selection of the segment; and causing to display a detail associated with how the content item is was experienced or a preview of the content item at a respective time. (Cafiero [0084] discloses the system can ensure continuous or periodic tracking of the video viewing, with the appearance of animated images being contingent on uninterrupted watching. This feature ensures that if a viewer skips forward or revisits a previously watched segment, the overlaid animated images are temporarily suspended until the viewer resumes watching the video sequentially.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the advertising platform of Dua with the interactive overlay on video system of Cafiero in order to ensure an engaging viewer experience (Cafiero abstract) because the references are analogous since they both fall within Applicant's field of endeavor and are reasonably pertinent to the problem with which Applicant is concerned.
Regarding claim 13, although Dua discloses generating custom links with customized content, Dua does not specifically disclose scores or levels of engagement. However, Natarajan discloses the following limitations:
The computer-implemented method of claim 12, further comprising: storing a plurality of engagement events each associated with the content item at the customized content item player, wherein the baseline segment is associated with a set of engagement data; querying for whether an engagement event occurred between the start time and the end time of the baseline segment; and generating a sub-segment based on the engagement event that results in a change from the first engagement level to a second engagement level. (Natarajan discloses metric engagement and level of engagement in at least [0085]; [0094].)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the advertising platform of Dua with the interactive overlay on video system for customizing content feeds of Natarajan in order to measure engagement strength (Natarajan abstract) because the references are analogous since they both fall within Applicant's field of endeavor and are reasonably pertinent to the problem with which Applicant is concerned.
Regarding claim 14, although Dua discloses generating custom links with customized content, Dua does not specifically disclose scores or levels of engagement. However, Natarajan discloses the following limitations:
The computer-implemented method of claim 13, further comprising: causing to display the baseline segment and the sub-segment expanding in real-time as the content item is being experienced in the customized content item player; and causing to display, in real-time, a new sub-segment with a different display characteristic in real-time as the content item is being experienced in the customized content item player when engagement changes from the second engagement level to a third engagement level. (Natarajan discloses metric engagement and level of engagement in at least [0085]; [0094].)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the advertising platform of Dua with the interactive overlay on video system for customizing content feeds of Natarajan in order to measure engagement strength (Natarajan abstract) because the references are analogous since they both fall within Applicant's field of endeavor and are reasonably pertinent to the problem with which Applicant is concerned.
Regarding claim 16, Dua discloses:
A system comprising: at least one processor; and a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, configure the system to: receive, from a first client device, a request to generate a custom link associated with generating a customized content item player for playing a content item; (Dua [0039] discloses the social engagement generation module 212 includes a custom URL generator 213. The custom URL generator 213 configured to create custom links for one or more of the selected trackable social engagement objects.) receive, from the first client device, settings associated with the custom link, the settings controlling how the customized content item player will play the content item when the custom link is activated; (Dua [0039] discloses The custom URL generator 213 configured to create custom links for one or more of the selected trackable social engagement objects. [0043] discloses the tracking engine 220 can be any combination of software agents and/or hardware components able to facilitate tracking of social engagement metrics in the referral based, node-driven advertising platform. In the example of FIG. 2, the tracking engine 220 includes a user identification module 222, a node generation module 226, and a social engagement monitor module 226.) generate, for sharing with additional client devices, the custom link, wherein the custom link corresponds to the content item and to the settings controlling how the customized content item player will play the content item; (Dua [0037-0038] discloses The display ad development engine 210 can be any combination of software agents and/or hardware components able to facilitate development of an interactive advertisement. In the example of FIG. 2, the display ad development engine 210 includes a display ad upload module 211; In some embodiments, the display ad upload module 211 is configured to facilitate drag and drop of a creative (e.g., image file) onto the development interface. The display ad upload module 211 may, alternatively or additionally, include the ability for a developer to provide a file path (e.g., local or remote to the user device) to the creative for upload to the development interface.) receive, from a second client device, a request to access the custom link; in response to the request to access the custom link, provide the content item and the customized content item player based on the settings in a first session of the second client device, wherein the customized content item player analyzes engagement data to calculate engagement scores for the second client device associated with viewing segments, (Dua [0058] discloses In some embodiments, the advertising platform may require pre-registration and/or login credentials before the developer can access the system (or server). (i.e. request to access.))
Although Dua discloses generating custom links with customized content, Dua does not specifically disclose scores or levels of engagement. However, Natarajan discloses the following limitations:
and assigns the segments to lower or higher engagement levels based on score ranges; (Natarajan [0085] discloses comparative engagement metric scores.)
and analyze the engagement data to generate engagement analytics, wherein the engagement analytics distinguishes between segments associated with a period of time with respective engagement levels. (Natarajan [0085] discloses Based on the number of points obtained by the user, a cumulative score can be generated periodically. This cumulative score can be used in an entity metric to make comparative engagement-based analysis between multiple users.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the advertising platform of Dua with the interactive overlay on video system for customizing content feeds of Natarajan in order to measure engagement strength (Natarajan abstract) because the references are analogous since they both fall within Applicant's field of endeavor and are reasonably pertinent to the problem with which Applicant is concerned.
Although Dua discloses generating custom links with customized content, Dua does not specifically disclose a graphical display of engagement data or how content is experienced. However, Cafiero discloses the following limitations:
causing to generate a graphical display for display on the first client device that updates to reflect changes in the engagement levels for the second client device for the respective viewing segments; (Cafiero [0091] discloses a graphical display of engagement metrics.)
receive the engagement data associated with how a user associated with the second client device is experiencing the content item at the customized content item player during a viewing session; (Cafiero [0084] discloses the system can ensure continuous or periodic tracking of the video viewing, with the appearance of animated images being contingent on uninterrupted watching. This feature ensures that if a viewer skips forward or revisits a previously watched segment, the overlaid animated images are temporarily suspended until the viewer resumes watching the video sequentially.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the advertising platform of Dua with the interactive overlay on video system of Cafiero in order to ensure an engaging viewer experience (Cafiero abstract) because the references are analogous since they both fall within Applicant's field of endeavor and are reasonably pertinent to the problem with which Applicant is concerned.
Regarding claim 17, although Dua discloses generating custom links with customized content, Dua does not specifically disclose a graphical display of engagement data. However, Cafiero discloses the following limitations:
The system of claim 16, wherein the instructions further configure the system to: cause to generate a graphical display of the engagement analytics of viewing the content item through the customized content item player; and cause to present real-time updates to the graphical display that dynamically creates a new segment in response to a start of playing of the content item or a new sub-segment in response to a change in engagement level from a neighboring segment. (Cafiero [0091] discloses a graphical display of engagement metrics.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the advertising platform of Dua with the interactive overlay on video system of Cafiero in order to ensure an engaging viewer experience (Cafiero abstract) because the references are analogous since they both fall within Applicant's field of endeavor and are reasonably pertinent to the problem with which Applicant is concerned.
Regarding claim 18, although Dua discloses generating custom links with customized content, Dua does not specifically disclose scores or levels of engagement. However, Natarajan discloses the following limitations:
The system of claim 16, wherein the instructions further configure the system to: calculate a score for a period of time during which the content item is played at the customized content item player based on the engagement data and weights associated with respective engagement data; determine that the calculated score falls within a first range associated with a distracted engagement level or a second range associated with an attentive engagement level; assign the period of time to the distracted engagement level or the attentive engagement level that based on the determination; and cause to generate a graphical display including a segment for the period of time that indicates a respective engagement level of viewing the content item at the customized content item player based on the assigned engagement level. (Natarajan [0085] discloses Based on the number of points obtained by the user, a cumulative score can be generated periodically. This cumulative score can be used in an entity metric to make comparative engagement-based analysis between multiple users.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the advertising platform of Dua with the interactive overlay on video system for customizing content feeds of Natarajan in order to measure engagement strength (Natarajan abstract) because the references are analogous since they both fall within Applicant's field of endeavor and are reasonably pertinent to the problem with which Applicant is concerned.
Regarding claim 19, Dua discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium including instructions that when executed by a computer, cause the computer to: receive, from a first client device, settings associated with generating a custom link, the settings controlling how a customized content item player will play a content item when the custom link is activated; (Dua [0039] discloses The custom URL generator 213 configured to create custom links for one or more of the selected trackable social engagement objects. [0043] discloses the tracking engine 220 can be any combination of software agents and/or hardware components able to facilitate tracking of social engagement metrics in the referral based, node-driven advertising platform. In the example of FIG. 2, the tracking engine 220 includes a user identification module 222, a node generation module 226, and a social engagement monitor module 226. generate, for sharing with additional client devices, the custom link, wherein the custom link corresponds to the content item and to the settings controlling how the customized content item player will play the content item; (Dua [0037-0038] discloses The display ad development engine 210 can be any combination of software agents and/or hardware components able to facilitate development of an interactive advertisement. In the example of FIG. 2, the display ad development engine 210 includes a display ad upload module 211; In some embodiments, the display ad upload module 211 is configured to facilitate drag and drop of a creative (e.g., image file) onto the development interface. The display ad upload module 211 may, alternatively or additionally, include the ability for a developer to provide a file path (e.g., local or remote to the user device) to the creative for upload to the development interface.) receive, from a second client device, a request to access the custom link; in response to the request to access the custom link, provide the content item and the customized content item player based on the settings in a first session of the second client device, wherein the customized content item player is configured to analyze engagement data during a viewing session, the engagement data indicates different engagement levels for the second client device associated with respective viewing segments; (Dua [0058] discloses In some embodiments, the advertising platform may require pre-registration and/or login credentials before the developer can access the system (or server). (i.e. request to access.))
Although Dua discloses generating custom links with customized content, Dua does not specifically disclose scores or levels of engagement. However, Natarajan discloses the following limitations:
receive the engagement data revealing how a user associated with the second client device is experiencing the content item at the customized content item player over a period of time; (Natarajan [0085] discloses Based on the number of points obtained by the user, a cumulative score can be generated periodically. This cumulative score can be used in an entity metric to make comparative engagement-based analysis between multiple users.)
calculate a score for the period of time based on the engagement data and weights associated with respective engagement data; determine that the calculated score falls within a first range associated with a distracted engagement level or a second range associated with an attentive engagement level; assign the period of time to the distracted engagement level or the attentive engagement level that based on the determination; (Natarajan [0085] discloses comparative engagement metric scores.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the advertising platform of Dua with the interactive overlay on video system for customizing content feeds of Natarajan in order to measure engagement strength (Natarajan abstract) because the references are analogous since they both fall within Applicant's field of endeavor and are reasonably pertinent to the problem with which Applicant is concerned.
Although Dua discloses generating custom links with customized content, Dua does not specifically disclose a graphical display of engagement data or how content is experienced. However, Cafiero discloses the following limitations:
and cause to generate a graphical display for display on the first client device including a segment for the period of time that indicates a respective engagement level of the second client device viewing the content item at the customized content item player based on the assigned engagement level. (Cafiero [0084] discloses the system can ensure continuous or periodic tracking of the video viewing, with the appearance of animated images being contingent on uninterrupted watching. This feature ensures that if a viewer skips forward or revisits a previously watched segment, the overlaid animated images are temporarily suspended until the viewer resumes watching the video sequentially.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the advertising platform of Dua with the interactive overlay on video system of Cafiero in order to ensure an engaging viewer experience (Cafiero abstract) because the references are analogous since they both fall within Applicant's field of endeavor and are reasonably pertinent to the problem with which Applicant is concerned.
Regarding claim 20, although Dua discloses generating custom links with customized content, Dua does not specifically disclose real-time updates. However, Cafiero discloses the following limitations:
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 19, wherein the instructions further cause the computer to: cause to present real-time updates to the graphical display that dynamically creates a new segment in response to a start of playing of the content item or a new sub-segment in response to a change in engagement level from the respective engagement level of the segment. (Cafiero [0100] discloses real-time viewer tracking.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the advertising platform of Dua with the interactive overlay on video system of Cafiero in order to ensure an engaging viewer experience (Cafiero abstract) because the references are analogous since they both fall within Applicant's field of endeavor and are reasonably pertinent to the problem with which Applicant is concerned.
Conclusion
/FRANCIS Z. SANTIAGO MERCED/Examiner, Art Unit 3625