DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claims 7-13, 17-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 11677501. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because patent 11677501 anticipates the limitations of the instant application as shown in the table below.
Claim 7 of instant application
Claim 1 of patent 11677501
A method for increasing radio frequency spectrum efficiency in a first wireless communication system, the method comprising: reducing periodicity of one or more control signals wirelessly transmitted from a first base station to user equipment devices; and
indicating, to the user equipment devices, a structure of wireless communication frames, with the reduced periodicity of the one or more control signals, transmitted by the first base station to the user equipment devices.
A method for increasing radio frequency spectrum efficiency in a wireless communication system, comprising: generating first frames for wirelessly transmitting data from a first base station of the wireless communication system to user equipment devices; and completely discontinuing transmission of Cell-Specific Reference Signals in the first frames to increase radio frequency spectrum efficiency, while transmitting user equipment (UE)-specific reference signals, in response to a reduction in a number of user equipment devices being served by the first base station.
Appropriate correction required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7-10, 13, 17, 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhu et al. “Zhu” US 2015/0049649.
Regarding claims 7 and 21, Zhu teaches a method and a wireless communication system, comprising:
a first base station and a network processing element (Figure 13) that is configured to:
control the first base station to reduce periodicity of one or more control signals wirelessly transmitted from the first base station to user equipment devices (the small cell eNB transmits the PSS or SSS at a larger (i.e. reduced) periodicity than sent when it is active; Paragraph 59), and
control the first base station to indicate, to the user equipment devices, a structure of wireless communication frames, with the reduced periodicity of the one or more control signals, transmitted by the first base station to the user equipment devices (Figure 3 shows the structure of the frame with respect to the larger periodicity when the eNB is in the off state (304). The signals are sent once every 20 subframes instead of every 5 subframes. This is the structure sent to the UE; Paragraph 59 and Figure 3).
Regarding claims 8 and 22, Zhu teaches a frame structure message with one or more subframes of a first frame wirelessly transmitted from the first base station to the user equipment devices, wherein the frame structure message indicates a location of the one or more control signals in at least the first frame wirelessly transmitted from the first base station to the user equipment devices (Figure 3 shows a frame structure message (304 or 302) transmitted from the base station which indicates where the control signals are in the subframes (see the shaded boxes); Paragraph 59).
Regarding claims 9 and 23, Zhu teaches the one or more control signals are synchronization signals (PSS/SSS; Paragraph 59).
Regarding claims 10 and 24, Zhu teaches the frame structure indicates a location of an empty subframe and non-transmitted subframes in the frame transmit from the base station to UE (Figure 3 shows the subframes that are empty, and subframes that carry the SSS/PSS; Paragraph 59).
Regarding claim 13, Zhu teaches eliminating transmission of control signals to increase spectrum efficiency (a small cell eNB does not transmit (i.e. eliminates) DL signals including the discovery signals; Paragraph 108. The increase in spectrum efficiency is merely a result of reducing signals being transmit).
Regarding claim 17, Zhu teaches the frame message indicates a location of a broadcast channel message (Paragraphs 93 and 132 disclose the messages can be broadcast messages).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11, 12, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Palanki et al. “Palanki” US 2011/0158164.
Regarding claim 11, While Zhu teaches TDOA, Zhu does not teach a UE, calculating a time of arrival difference between a first and second sync signal received from a first and second base station; and using the time of arrival difference to maintain synchronization while sync signals from the base station are suppressed; however, Palanki teaches a synchronization parameters which is a time difference of arrival between a plurality of base stations which is measured at the UE; Paragraph 89. The synchronization parameter is used to maintain synchronization; Figures 8 and 9 and paragraphs 66-68. Thus the TDOA determined/measured by the UE is used for sync, not the sync signals from the base station. Lastly, the cells can be macro or pico/femto cells; Paragraph 61).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Zhu to include a UE measuring TDOA for sync purposes as taught by Palanki.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that base stations can be properly synchronized in time/frequency as taught by Palanki; Paragraph 58.
Regarding claim 12, Zhu teaches the use of a macro and small cell eNB (Paragraph 62 and Figure 1 shows small cell and macro cells).
Regarding claim 18, Zhu teaches tuning the sync of the UE after base station signals are no longer suppressed (the base station can switch between active and off (See Figure 3), thus then the base station is active, the signals are not suppressed and the UE would be tuning the synchronization when the signals are no longer suppressed as claimed; Paragraphs 59, 99, and 103-110).
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Dural et al. “Dural” US 2015/0296397.
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Zhu does not disclose a second wireless system operates within range of the first system; and the first system and second system operate partially in a common radio frequency band wherein the second network is Wi-Fi. Dural teaches a first communication network being LTE and a second communication network being Wi-Fi; Paragraph 65. The network regions may overlap (i.e. common); Figure 2 and paragraph 35).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Zhu to include two networks one of which is Wi-Fi as taught by Dural.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that signals between different networks do not interfere as taught by Dural; Paragraph 65.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 7-13, 17-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/BRANDON M RENNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411