DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The accompanying information disclosure statement (IDS) submission(s) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Loschak et al. (6/12/23 IDS NPL cite No 3, “Loschak, Paul M., et al. "A 4-DOF robot for positioning ultrasound imaging catheters." ASME 2015 International Design Engineering Technical Conferences and Computers and Information in Engineering Conference. American Society of Mechanical Engineers Digital Collection, 2015.”, and hereinafter Loschak).
For claim 1, Loschak discloses a method for robotically operating a catheter (Figs 1-11) (Pgs 3-7), the method comprising inter alia:
connecting a robot to a shaft of a catheter spaced from a handle of the catheter (Figs 6-11) Pages 3-5, especially sections 4.2-4.5);
translating, by the robot at a location of the connection, the catheter along a longitudinal axis of the shaft (via translational transmission actuators/drives) (Figs 6-11) (Pages 3-5, especially sections 4.2-4.5); and
rotating, by the robot at the location of the connection, the shaft about the longitudinal axis (via rotational transmission actuators/drives) (Figs 6-11) (Pages 3-5, especially sections 4.2-4.5).
For claim 2, Loschak discloses the method of claim 1 wherein translating comprises operating a worm drive (translational transmission actuators/drives) (Figs 6-11) (Pages 3-5, especially sections 4.2-4.5), a worm (helical drive portion of translational transmission actuators/drives) (Figs 6-11) (Pages 3-5, especially sections 4.2-4.5) of the worm drive connecting the robot to the shaft and a worm wheel (translational helical gear) (Figs 6-11) (Pages 3-5, especially sections 4.2-4.5) of the worm drive connected to a motor (translational actuator(s)) (Figs 6-11) (Pages 3-5, especially sections 4.2-4.5).
For claim 3, Loschak discloses the method of claim 2 wherein translating comprises driving the worm along the longitudinal axis with a threaded connection to the worm wheel (helical based translation actuator) (Figs 6-11) (Pages 3-5, especially sections 4.2-4.5).
For claim 4, Loschak discloses the method of claim 1 wherein rotating comprises operating a worm drive (rotational transmission actuators/drives) (Figs 6-11) (Pages 3-5, especially sections 4.2-4.5), a worm (helical drive portion of rotational transmission actuators/drives) (Figs 6-11) (Pages 3-5, especially sections 4.2-4.5) of the worm drive connecting the robot to the shaft and a worm wheel (rotational helical gears (Figs 6-11) (Pages 3-5, especially sections 4.2-4.5) of the worm drive connected to a motor (rotational actuator(s)) (Figs 6-11) (Pages 3-5, especially sections 4.2-4.5).
For claim 5, Loschak discloses the method of claim 4 wherein rotating comprises rotating the worm by rotation of the worm wheel, a tooth of the worm wheel positioned in a groove on the worm (rotation based translation actuator) (Figs 6-11) (Pages 3-5, especially sections 4.2-4.5).
For claim 6, Loschak discloses the method of claim 1 further comprising operating the catheter at the handle by the robot and wherein translating and rotating are additional operation of the catheter at the location (Figs 6-11) (Pages 3-5, especially sections 4.2-4.5).
For claim 7, Loschak discloses a system for robotic manipulation of a catheter, the system comprising inter alia:
a handle robot (robot manipulator portion for last DOF for rotating handle, Pg 4 robot design section) configured to hold a handle of the catheter, the handle robot having one or more first gears to operate controls of the handle of the catheter (Pg 4 robot design section);
an access point robot (robot manipulator portion for translation DOF, robot manipulator portion for bending DOF for L/R pitch, and robot manipulator portion for other bending DOF for P/A yaw, Pg 4 robot design section) configured to hold a shaft of the catheter away from the handle, the access point robot configured to translate the shaft along a longitudinal axis of the catheter and to rotate the shaft about the longitudinal axis Pg 4 robot design section); and
a controller (computer terminal GUI, Pg 3) configured to control operation of the first gears, the translation, and the rotation (Pgs 3-4).
For claim 8, Loschak discloses the system of claim 7 wherein the access point robot comprises
a worm drive (rotational and translational transmission actuators/drives) (Figs 6-11) (Pages 3-5, especially sections 4.2-4.5) having a worm (rotational and translational helical actuators/drives) (Figs 6-11) (Pages 3-5, especially sections 4.2-4.5) with threading (threads of rotational and translational helical actuators/drives) (Figs 6-11) (Pages 3-5, especially sections 4.2-4.5) and a notch (notches for rotational and translational of helical actuators/drives) (Figs 6-11) (Pages 3-5, especially sections 4.2-4.5),
a first worm wheel (translational helical gear) (Figs 6-11) (Pages 3-5, especially sections 4.2-4.5) having threading (threading of the translation translational helical gear) (Figs 6-11) (Pages 3-5, especially sections 4.2-4.5), and
a second worm wheel (rotational helical gears (Figs 6-11) (Pages 3-5, especially sections 4.2-4.5) having a tooth (tooth of the rotational helical gear) (Figs 6-11) (Pages 3-5, especially sections 4.2-4.5) matable with the notch for the rotation (tooth of the rotational helical gear) (Figs 6-11) (Pages 3-5, especially sections 4.2-4.5).
Conclusion
The cited prior art made of record on the accompanying PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, relating to means for configuring and methods for executing robotic catheter control.
Jeffrey G. Hoekstra
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/JEFFREY G. HOEKSTRA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791