DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant submitted amendments and remarks on December 19, 2025. Therein, Applicant submitted substantive arguments. Claims 1 and 4-5 have been amended. No claims were added or cancelled.
The submitted claims are considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Lenke, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11577742) in view of Kale, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11498388).
Regarding claim 1, Lenke, et al. teaches: A driving assistance apparatus, comprising: a memory that stores a program; (Col. 15, lines 27-37: "Computer-executable instructions implementing the techniques described herein (when implemented as one or more functional facilities or in any other manner) may, in some embodiments, be encoded on one or more computer-readable media such as storage (196) to provide functionality to the media. Computer-readable media include [stores a program] […] a persistent or non-persistent solid-state memory (e.g., Flash memory, Magnetic RAM, etc.) [memory]")
and a processor configured to execute the program, so as to: (Fig. 2, Col. 5, lines 43-48: "…FIG. 2 is an embodiment of a vehicle control system (190) which can include any combination of hardware and software configured to control the vehicle. This vehicle control system (190) can include a vehicle processing core (198) with one or more processors (192) [processor]")
execute a moving control to autonomously control a moving of a vehicle, (Col. 5, lines 33-37: "…information gathered by voice assistant (160) during interaction with the occupant may be provided to autonomous vehicle operation manager (120) for use in controlling operation of the vehicle, such as to complete an action or task specified via voice input [execute moving control to autonomously control moving of vehicle].")
(i) inform a driver of the vehicle of contents of a voice operation process planned to be executed for the moving control in accordance with utterance contents of the driver acquired by voice recognition and request the driver to perform an approval operation to approve the informed contents; (Col. 9, lines 15-20: "The voice control system (100) is then leveraged to use voice to inform the driver that autonomous vehicle operation is available (step (350)), and to provide information on one or more of the potential routes along which autonomous operation may be used [inform driver of vehicle of contents of voice operation process to be executed for moving control via voice recognition], so that the driver may select a particular one that best suits his/her needs [request driver to perform approval operation to approve informed contents].")
and (ii) execute the voice operation process when the approval operation is performed (Col. 9, lines 25-28: "The vehicle control system (190) can receive a voice command from the driver to transfer to autonomous operation along one of the potential routes (step (360)) and then switch the vehicle into autonomous mode (step (370)) [execute voice operation process after approval operation is performed].").
Lenke, et al. does not teach wherein the processor is configured to determine whether to request the driver to perform the approval operation, based on whether a state of the driver is a predetermined first state which needs the approval operation.
In a similar field of endeavor (intelligent control of autonomous vehicle controls), Kale, et al. teaches: wherein the processor is configured to determine whether to request the driver to perform the approval operation, based on whether a state of the driver is a predetermined first state which needs the approval operation (Col. 8, lines 18-28: "…the sensor data (121) collected via during the “normal” service time period of the vehicle (111) or a component can be classified via an unsupervised learning (175) into a number of clusters. Different clusters may correspond to different types of normal conditions [...] different mood of driving habits of the driver). When a subsequent sensor data (121) is classified outside of the “normal” clusters, an anomaly is detected [computer in autonomous vehicle learning about state of driver and abnormal behavior]." ; Col. 26, lines 48-57: "…For example, the computer system (131) can announce the proposed adjustments via synthesized speech and detect the user confirmation via voice within a predetermined time period for the user's response to the announcement. The user may confirm or reject the proposed adjustment via a voice command, or reject the proposed adjustment by not responding within the predetermined time period [can get voice approval from driver - procedure]." ; Col. 28, lines 21-25: "…some adjustment may have a potential safety concern; and other adjustments may not have a safety concern [...] When the adjustment does not have safety concern, the prompting for user approval can be skipped [option to determine whether driver is in predetermined first state which needs approval]").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lenke, et al. to include the teaching of Kale, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the process of providing voice control to an autonomous vehicle via the state of the driver (Kale, et al. Col. 26, lines 30-37).
Regarding claim 2, Lenke, et al. and Kale, et al. remain as applied to claim 1, and in a further embodiment, teach: The driving assistance apparatus as set forth in claim 1, "wherein when the processor is configured to determine whether to request the driver to perform the approval operation, based on whether the road environment is the predetermined second environment, the processor is configured to: (i) request the driver to perform the approval operation when the road environment is not the predetermined second environment and execute the voice operation process when the approval operation is performed; (Lenke, et al. Col. 3, lines 43-58: "For example, voice interaction can be used to either initiate a transfer of control or warn the occupants of a transfer of control. [voice operation process] [...] When circumstances and the vehicle's capabilities are permissible (e.g., when road conditions and the environment are within the scope of the vehicle's autonomous capabilities) a transfer of control can be initiated by […] the autonomous vehicle can alert the occupants of a transfer of control [predetermined first environment - vehicle/road conditions have proper capabilities].")
and (ii) not request the driver to perform the approval operation and not execute the voice operation process when the road environment is the predetermined second environment (Lenke, et al. Col. 9, lines 31-48: "…transfers of control which are initiated by the vehicle. In these instances, the use of speech as a communication medium between the driver and the vehicle allows for recognition errors (e.g., the driver's speech not being properly recognized, or detected). As such, some embodiments draw a distinction between transfers of control which must take place (i.e., the driver needs to assume manual operation of the vehicle, because autonomous operation is outside of the vehicle's capabilities) [driver is not requested to perform approval operation and voice operation process is not executed] [...] For example, if a highway is about to end (e.g., if autonomous operation is only available on highway travel), weather conditions deteriorate, or an accident is detected ahead [predetermined second environment - vehicle/road conditions do not have proper capabilities]").
Regarding claim 4, Lenke, et al. teaches: A driving assistance method of executing a moving control to autonomously control a moving of a vehicle, the driving assistance method comprising steps of: (i) informing a driver of the vehicle of contents of a voice operation process planned to be executed for the moving control in accordance with utterance contents of the driver acquired by voice recognition and requesting the driver to perform an approval operation to approve the informed contents; (Step (350), Fig. 4, Col. 9, lines 15-20: "The voice control system (100) is then leveraged to use voice to inform the driver that autonomous vehicle operation is available (step (350)), and to provide information on one or more of the potential routes along which autonomous operation may be used [inform driver of vehicle of contents of voice operation process to be executed for moving control via voice recognition], so that the driver may select a particular one that best suits his/her needs [request driver to perform approval operation to approve informed contents].")
and (ii) executing the voice operation process when the approval operation is performed (Steps (360-370), Fig. 4, Col. 9, lines 25-28: "The vehicle control system (190) can receive a voice command from the driver to transfer to autonomous operation along one of the potential routes (step (360)) and then switch the vehicle into autonomous mode (step (370)) [execute voice operation process after approval operation is performed].").
Lenke, et al. does not teach wherein the driving assistance method comprises a step of determining whether to request the driver to perform the approval operation, based on whether a state of the driver is a predetermined first state which needs the approval operation.
In a similar field of endeavor (intelligent control of autonomous vehicle controls), Kale, et al. teaches: wherein the driving assistance method comprises a step of determining whether to request the driver to perform the approval operation, based on whether a state of the driver is a predetermined first state which needs the approval operation (Col. 8, lines 18-28: "…the sensor data (121) collected via during the “normal” service time period of the vehicle (111) or a component can be classified via an unsupervised learning (175) into a number of clusters. Different clusters may correspond to different types of normal conditions [...] different mood of driving habits of the driver). When a subsequent sensor data (121) is classified outside of the “normal” clusters, an anomaly is detected [computer in autonomous vehicle learning about state of driver and abnormal behavior]." ; Col. 26, lines 48-57: "…For example, the computer system (131) can announce the proposed adjustments via synthesized speech and detect the user confirmation via voice within a predetermined time period for the user's response to the announcement. The user may confirm or reject the proposed adjustment via a voice command, or reject the proposed adjustment by not responding within the predetermined time period [can get voice approval from driver - procedure]." ; Col. 28, lines 21-25: "…some adjustment may have a potential safety concern; and other adjustments may not have a safety concern [...] When the adjustment does not have safety concern, the prompting for user approval can be skipped [option to determine whether driver is in predetermined first state which needs approval]").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lenke, et al. to include the teaching of Kale, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the process of providing voice control to an autonomous vehicle via the state of the driver (Kale, et al. Col. 26, lines 30-37).
Regarding claim 5, Lenke, et al. teaches: A computer-readable storage medium storing a driving assistance program which executes a moving control to autonomously control a moving of a vehicle, the driving assistance program being configured to: (Col. 5, lines 33-37: "…information gathered by voice assistant (160) during interaction with the occupant may be provided to autonomous vehicle operation manager (120) for use in controlling operation of the vehicle, such as to complete an action or task specified via voice input [execute moving control to autonomously control moving of vehicle]." ; Col. 5, lines 43-56: "…This vehicle control system (190) can include a vehicle processing core (198) with one or more processors (192), one or more network adapters (194) and storage (196). The one or more processors can be used to execute instructions or software [driving assistance program] that perform aspects of the methods and systems described herein. In some instances, these executable instructions or software can be stored in storage (196) [computer-readable storage medium]. For example, the voice control system (100) can be executed and controlled by the vehicle processing core (198) using sensor (112) input and input from the vehicle operations manager (120) [computer readable storage medium linked to autonomous control of vehicle].")
(i) inform a driver of the vehicle of contents of a voice operation process planned to be executed for the moving control in accordance with utterance contents of the driver acquired by voice recognition and request the driver to perform an approval operation to approve the informed contents; (Col. 9, lines 15-20: "The voice control system (100) is then leveraged to use voice to inform the driver that autonomous vehicle operation is available (step (350)), and to provide information on one or more of the potential routes along which autonomous operation may be used [inform driver of vehicle of contents of voice operation process to be executed for moving control via voice recognition], so that the driver may select a particular one that best suits his/her needs [request driver to perform approval operation to approve informed contents].")
and (ii) execute the voice operation process when the approval operation is performed (Col. 9, lines 25-28: "The vehicle control system (190) can receive a voice command from the driver to transfer to autonomous operation along one of the potential routes (step (360)) and then switch the vehicle into autonomous mode (step (370)) [execute voice operation process after approval operation is performed].").
Lenke, et al. does not teach wherein the driving assistance program is configured to determine whether to request the driver to perform the approval operation, based on whether a state of the driver is a predetermined first state which needs the approval operation.
In a similar field of endeavor (intelligent control of autonomous vehicle controls), Kale, et al. teaches: wherein the driving assistance program is configured to determine whether to request the driver to perform the approval operation, based on whether a state of the driver is a predetermined first state which needs the approval operation (Col. 8, lines 18-28: "…the sensor data (121) collected via during the “normal” service time period of the vehicle (111) or a component can be classified via an unsupervised learning (175) into a number of clusters. Different clusters may correspond to different types of normal conditions [...] different mood of driving habits of the driver). When a subsequent sensor data (121) is classified outside of the “normal” clusters, an anomaly is detected [computer in autonomous vehicle learning about state of driver and abnormal behavior]." ; Col. 26, lines 48-57: "…For example, the computer system (131) can announce the proposed adjustments via synthesized speech and detect the user confirmation via voice within a predetermined time period for the user's response to the announcement. The user may confirm or reject the proposed adjustment via a voice command, or reject the proposed adjustment by not responding within the predetermined time period [can get voice approval from driver - procedure]." ; Col. 28, lines 21-25: "…some adjustment may have a potential safety concern; and other adjustments may not have a safety concern [...] When the adjustment does not have safety concern, the prompting for user approval can be skipped [option to determine whether driver is in predetermined first state which needs approval]").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lenke, et al. to include the teaching of Kale, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the process of providing voice control to an autonomous vehicle via the state of the driver (Kale, et al. Col. 26, lines 30-37).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 4-5 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant asserted that amended claims 1 and 4-5 were patentable over Lenke, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11577742) in view of Sekine (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20190047586) because the references did not meet the claim limitation “wherein the processor is configured to determine whether to request the driver to perform the approval operation, based on whether a state of the driver is a predetermined first state which needs the approval operation”. Please note that Kale, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 1498388) was cited in order to teach these features. In Kale, et al., the processor of the vehicle collects data about driving habits through the use of sensor data and identifies an anomaly when abnormal sensor data is detected (Col. 8, lines 18-28). This data is then used for the purposes of analyzing voice input data from the driver and using this data to determine whether to “…reject the proposed adjustment” (Col. 26, lines 48-57), or more specifically, the processor determines “…some adjustment may have a potential safety concern; and other adjustments may not have a safety concern [...] When the adjustment does not have safety concern, the prompting for user approval can be skipped” (Col. 28, lines 21-25). Subsequently, it would have been obvious to combine Kale, et al. with Lenke, et al. because Lenke, et al. teaches a driving assistance apparatus that informs a driver of a vehicle with respect to a voice operation process in conjunction with control of a vehicle using voice recognition and approval from the driver (Col. 9, lines 15-20) and executes the subsequent approved voice operation (Col. 9, lines 25-28).
Therefore, it can be concluded that since the combination of Lenke, et al. and Kale, et al. reads on the claim limitation “wherein the processor is configured to determine whether to request the driver to perform the approval operation, based on whether a state of the driver is a predetermined first state which needs the approval operation”, as stated in amended claims 1 and 4-5, the arguments presented by the Applicant are not persuasive, and the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Goto, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20190126942) teaches a vehicle assistance system which assists the execution of a driver action during automatic driving as a function of a given voice operation, response, and confirmation by a driver.
Oba, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20240280997) teaches a remote steering system which uses acquired information from various driver inputs (including voice inputs) in order to determine when remote steering should be performed on the vehicle.
Oh, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10598504) teaches a vehicle control device containing a voice input unit which analyzes the state of the driver and controls the vehicle in autonomous mode during a circumstance in which the health status of the driver is problematic.
Sekine (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20190047586) teaches a vehicle control technique for controlling an automated driving car via voice control with respect to a predetermined distance.
Applicant is considered to have implicit knowledge of the entire disclosure once a reference has been cited. Therefore, any previously cited figures, columns and lines should not be considered to limit the references in any way. The entire reference must be taken as a whole; accordingly, the Examiner contends that the art supports the rejection of the claims and the rejection is maintained.
/TORRENCE S MARUNDA II/ Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663