DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responded to the amendment filed on 07/01/2025.
According to the amendment filed on 07/01/2025:
Claims 1-12, 16-17, have been amended.
Claims 13-15, and 18-20 are as previously presented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues regarding claims 1, 8 and 15, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Wedig (US 20180102572) is used as one example for newly cited limitation below.
Regarding claim 2 applicant argues, “Wang724 mentions navigating a vehicle away from a structure, but it is neither pressure-based nor involves any define threat evaluation or autonomous navigation logic.” Therefore, Wang724 (B. Wang) fails to disclose the limitation “in response determining that the event is a pressure event of the battery that meets a define criterion associated with a potential of a loss of a life outside of the vehicle, autonomously drives the vehicle to a designated safe location.” Applicant’s argument is respectfully traversed.
Wang 724 (B. Wang) discloses in response determining that the event is a pressure event of the battery that meets a define criterion associated with a potential of a loss of a life outside of the vehicle, autonomously drives the vehicle to a designated safe location. (When detecting a thermal even present the BMS or other controllers may consider the likelihood of moving the vehicle and using the camera or other imaging input to decide if an area is clear of the other vehicles and pedestrians – see include but are not limited to paragraph 0032-0034).
Regarding claim 10, applicant argues the references does not disclose “prior to autonomously driving the vehicle to a designated safe location, autonomously controls a garage door of a garage the vehicle is located within to open the garage.” Applicant’s argument is respectfully traversed.
B. Wang disclose prior to autonomously driving the vehicle to a designated safe location, autonomously controls a garage door of a garage the vehicle is located within to open the garage (upon detecting a thermal event the vehicle may open the garage door – see include but are not limited to paragraph 0035).
For the reasons, rejection of claims 1-20 are discussed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6-7, 11-12, 14-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Wang et al. (US 20210111443) in view of Wedig et al. (US 20180102572).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a system, located on a vehicle, comprising: a memory that stores computer executable components (memory – see paragraph 0055); and a processor that executes at least one of computer executable components stored in the memory, wherein the computer executable components comprise (processor – see paragraph 0055): measure, using at least one pressure sensor of the vehicle, operating pressures of a battery located on the vehicle, during a time period that the vehicle is in a powered off mode of operation and high voltage battery module is powered down in sleep mode(an air pressure sensor monitor the operating pressure of a battery on the vehicle when the vehicle and the battery management unit is in sleep state – see includes but are not limited to paragraphs 0004, 0010, 0034);
based on a group of operating pressure measurements of the battery during a first time window of the time period in the sleep mode (Measure pressure of the battery during sleep state – see include but are not limited to paragraphs 0010, 0034).
detect occurrence of an event at the battery (detect a battery thermal runaway- see include but are not limited to paragraph 0007); and in response to detection of the event at the battery, reinitiate operation of a high voltage battery module (when detecting a high level signal, the battery management unit will waken from sleeping state – see include but are not limited to paragraphs 0010, 0098).
However, Wang does not explicitly discloses determines a baseline operating pressure value of the battery; based on at least one operating pressure measurement of the battery during a second time window of the time period following the first time window, detects occurrence of an event comprising at least one battery pressure value in the second time window that exceeds the baseline operating pressure value of the battery by a defined threshold.
Wedig discloses determines a baseline operating value of the battery; based on at least one operating measurement of the battery during a second time window of the time period following the first time window, detects occurrence of an event in the second time window that exceeds the baseline (monitoring system is configured to receive a first measurement corresponding to a characteristic from at least one of the plurality of batteries, determine a baseline from the first measurement, receive a second measurement from the at least one of the plurality of batteries, and compare the second measurement with the baseline to identify an issue with the at least one of the plurality of batteries – see include but are not limited to paragraphs 0003, 0014, 0037).
Wang and Wedig are analogue art because they are from the same filed of endeavor and are reasonably pertinent to the problem addressed by the claimed invention- namely, detecting thermal event in battery. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Wang with the teaching of determines a baseline operating value of the battery; based on at least one operating measurement of the battery during a second time window of the time period following the first time window, detects occurrence of an event in the second time window that exceeds the baseline as taught by Wedig in order to yield predicable result of accurately identify thermal event [0002].
Regarding claim 3, Wang in view of Wedig discloses the system of claim 1, as discussed supra with respect to the same.
Wang teaches, wherein the at least one of the computer executable component is further: determine a difference between a current pressure value measured at the battery measured by a pressure sensor and a baseline pressure value previously measured by the pressure sensor; and in response to the difference being greater than a threshold, identifying the event has occurred (determine the current pressure of the battery and previous threshold, identify battery thermal runaway if the difference is greater than a threshold – see include but are not limited to paragraphs 0012-0016, 0020-0022; ).
Regarding claim 6, Wang in view of Wedig discloses the system of claim 3, as discussed supra with respect to the same.
Wedig teaches, wherein the at least one of the computer executable components further using the high voltage battery module: identifies a first number of sensor signals present in a first set of measurements of a sensor of a group of sensors of the vehicle comprising the at least one pressure sensor and at least one sensor that is not a pressure sensor, where in the at least one sensor that is not a pressure sensor comprises at least one of a temperature sensor, a voltage sensor, a current sensor, or a gas particle sensor; (first set of sensor measurement is the measurement comprise of temperature sensor, voltage sensor, current sensor, etc.…– see include but are not limited to Wedig paragraph 0009, 0027-0028, 0120 ); identifies a second number of sensor signals present in a second set of measurements of the sensor (determine sensor of second measurement – see include but are not limited to paragraphs Wedig 0003-0004); determine whether the first number of sensor signals equals the second number of sensor signals (compare the measurements – see include but are not limited to paragraph 0003-0005); and in response to a determination of the first number of sensor signals does not equal the second number of sensor signals, identifies the sensor as a failed sensor (determine if the sensor number is not equal to the baseline to identifies failure – see include but are not limited to Wedig paragraphs 0003-0005).
Regarding claim 7, Wang discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one of the computer executable components further, using the high voltage battery module: prior to being powered down, captures, using a group of sensors of the vehicle compromising the at least one pressure sensor and at least one sensor that is not a pressure sensor, a first set of measurements regarding operating condition of the battery while high voltage battery module was being powered down (determine the first threshold when the vehicle is in a normal working state using pressure sensor and a temperature sensor – see Wang paragraph 0009-0010, 0120); wherein the at least one sensor that is not a pressure sensor comprises at least one of a temperature sensor, a voltage sensor, a current sensor, or a gas particle sensor (sensor include a temperature sensor – see include but are not limited to Wang paragraph 0120); upon operation of the high voltage battery module being reinitiated, capture, using a group of sensors, a second set of measurements regarding a current operating condition of the battery (determine the second threshold after waken from sleeping state- see Wang paragraph 0010); notification that the battery is in a condition of potential failure (notify failure in the battery – see Wang paragraph 0147).
However, Wang does not explicitly disclose compare the first set of measurements with the second set of measurements and in response to a defined discrepancy between the first set of measurements with the second set of measurements.
Wedig discloses compare the first set of measurements with the second set of measurements and in response to a defined discrepancy between the first set of measurements with the second set of measurements (compare the first set and second set of measurement to identifies failure – see include but are not limited to paragraph 0003-0005).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Wang with the teaching of identify a source of signal interference generated at the one or more systems as taught by Wedig in order to yield predicable result of accurately identify the cause of the thermal event.
Regarding claim 11, Wang discloses a computer-implemented method comprising: measuring, by a system comprising a processor located on a vehicle, using at least one pressure sensor of the vehicle, operating pressures of battery pack of the vehicle, during the time period that a high voltage battery module is powered down, wherein the high voltage battery module is configured to control operation of the battery pack (an air pressure sensor monitor the operating pressure of a battery on the vehicle when the vehicle and the battery management unit is in sleep state – see includes but are not limited to paragraphs 0004, 0010, 0034);
in the sleep mode, detecting by the system, existence of a pressure event at the battery pack (determine the current pressure of the battery and previous threshold, identify battery thermal runaway if the difference is greater than a threshold – see include but are not limited to paragraphs 0012-0016, 0020-0022);
and in response to identifying the existence of the pressure event, activating, by the system, operation of the high voltage battery module form the sleep mode to determine whether the pressure event is indicative of the battery pack is failing (when detecting a high level signal, the battery management unit will waken from sleeping state to determine if the battery is failing – see include but are not limited to paragraphs 0010, 0098).
However, Wang does not explicitly discloses based on a group of operating pressure measurements of the battery pack during a first time window of the time period in the sleep mode, determining, by the system, a baseline operating pressure value of the battery pack for the sleep mode; based on at least one operating pressure measurement of the battery pack during a second time window of the time period in the sleep mode following the first time window. Wherein the pressure event comprises at least one battery pressure value in the second time window that exceeds the baseline operating pressure value of the battery pack in the sleep mode by a defined threshold
Wedig discloses based on a group of operating pressure measurements of the battery pack during a first time window of the time period, determining, by the system, a baseline operating pressure value of the battery pack; based on at least one operating pressure measurement of the battery pack during a second time window of the time period following the first time window. Wherein the pressure event comprises at least one battery pressure value in the second time window that exceeds the baseline operating pressure value of the battery pack by a defined threshold (monitoring system is configured to receive a first measurement corresponding to a characteristic from at least one of the plurality of batteries, determine a baseline from the first measurement, receive a second measurement from the at least one of the plurality of batteries, and compare the second measurement with the baseline to identify an issue with the at least one of the plurality of batteries – see include but are not limited to paragraphs 0003-0005, 0014, 0037).
Wang and Wedig are analogue art because they are from the same filed of endeavor and are reasonably pertinent to the problem addressed by the claimed invention- namely, detecting thermal event in battery. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Wang with the teaching of based on a group of operating pressure measurements of the battery pack during a first time window of the time period, determining, by the system, a baseline operating pressure value of the battery pack; based on at least one operating pressure measurement of the battery pack during a second time window of the time period following the first time window. Wherein the pressure event comprises at least one battery pressure value in the second time window that exceeds the baseline operating pressure value of the battery pack by a defined threshold as taught by Wedig in order to yield predicable result of accurately identify a thermal event.
Regarding claim 12, Wang disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 11, further comprising: during power down of the high voltage battery module, obtaining by the system, using a high voltage battery module and a group of sensors of the vehicle comprising at least one pressure sensor and at least one sensor that’s is not a pressure sensor, a set of prior operating conditions of the battery pack prior to the high voltage battery module the powering down (obtaining sensor data when the vehicle is in a sleeping state and when the vehicle is in normal state using pressure sensor and temperature sensor– see include but are not limited to paragraphs paragraph 0009-0010, 0034, 0120); wherein the at least one sensor that is not a pressure sensor comprises at least one of a temperature sensor, a voltage sensor, a current sensor, or a gas particle sensor (determine the sensor data when the vehicle is in a normal working state using pressure sensor and a temperature sensor – see paragraph 0009-0010, 0120); during activation of the high voltage battery module, obtaining by the system, using the high voltage battery module and the group of sensors, a set of current operating conditions of the battery pack (determine the sensor data after waken from sleeping state- see paragraph 0010); generating an alarm indicating the battery pack is failing (notify failure in the battery – see paragraph 0147).
However, Wang does not explicitly discloses comparing, by the system, using the high voltage module and the group of sensors, a set of current operating conditions with the set of prior operating conditions; determining, by the system, using the high voltage battery module, a variation in the set of current operating conditions versus the set of prior operating conditions; and based on determining that the variation is indicative of the battery pack failing,
Wedig discloses comparing, by the system, using the high voltage module and the group of sensors, a set of current operating conditions with the set of prior operating conditions; determining, by the system, using the high voltage battery module, a variation in the set of current operating conditions versus the set of prior operating conditions; and based on determining that the variation is indicative of the battery pack failing, (monitoring system is configured to receive a first measurement corresponding to a characteristic from at least one of the plurality of batteries, determine a baseline from the first measurement, receive a second measurement from the at least one of the plurality of batteries, and compare the second measurement with the baseline to identify an issue with the at least one of the plurality of batteries – see include but are not limited to paragraphs 0003-0005, 0014, 0037).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Wang with the teaching of based on a group of operating pressure measurements of the battery pack during a first time window of the time period, determining, by the system, a baseline operating pressure value of the battery pack; based on at least one operating pressure measurement of the battery pack during a second time window of the time period following the first time window. Wherein the pressure event comprises at least one battery pressure value in the second time window that exceeds the baseline operating pressure value of the battery pack by a defined threshold as taught by Wedig in order to yield predicable result of accurately identify a thermal event.
Regarding claim 14, Wang in view of Wedig disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 11, as discussed supra with respect to the same.
Wang teaches, wherein the pressure event is due to off-gassing at the battery pack (the pressure event is a thermal runaway – see Wang paragraphs 0003).
Regarding claim 15, Wang in view of Wedig disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 11, as discussed supra with respect to the same.
Wang teaches, wherein the pressure event is due to at least one of physical failure or chemical failure of at least one cell in the battery pack (the thermal runaway is caused by overcharge of the battery – see paragraph 0188).
Regarding claim 16, Wang discloses a computer program product comprising a non-transitory computer readable medium having program instructions embodied therewith, the program instructions executable by a processor of a system of a vehicle to cause the processor to (Computer system readable medium – paragraph 0200): measure, using at least one pressure sensor of the vehicle, operating pressures of battery pack of the vehicle, during the time period that a high voltage battery module is powered down, wherein the high voltage battery module is configured to control operation of the battery pack (an air pressure sensor monitor the operating pressure of a battery on the vehicle when the vehicle and the battery management unit is in sleep state – see includes but are not limited to paragraphs 0004, 0010, 0034);
in the sleep mode, detecting by the system, existence of a pressure event at the battery pack (determine the current pressure of the battery and previous threshold, identify battery thermal runaway if the difference is greater than a threshold – see include but are not limited to paragraphs 0012-0016, 0020-0022);
and in response to identifying the existence of the pressure event, activating, by the system, operation of the high voltage battery module form the sleep mode to determine whether the pressure event is indicative of the battery pack is failing (when detecting a high level signal, the battery management unit will waken from sleeping state to determine if the battery is failing – see include but are not limited to paragraphs 0010, 0098).
However, Wang does not explicitly discloses based on a group of operating pressure measurements of the battery pack during a first time window of the time period in the sleep mode, determining, by the system, a baseline operating pressure value of the battery pack for the sleep mode; based on at least one operating pressure measurement of the battery pack during a second time window of the time period in the sleep mode following the first time window. Wherein the pressure event comprises at least one battery pressure value in the second time window that exceeds the baseline operating pressure value of the battery pack in the sleep mode by a defined threshold
Wedig discloses based on a group of operating pressure measurements of the battery pack during a first time window of the time period, determining, by the system, a baseline operating pressure value of the battery pack; based on at least one operating pressure measurement of the battery pack during a second time window of the time period following the first time window. Wherein the pressure event comprises at least one battery pressure value in the second time window that exceeds the baseline operating pressure value of the battery pack by a defined threshold (monitoring system is configured to receive a first measurement corresponding to a characteristic from at least one of the plurality of batteries, determine a baseline from the first measurement, receive a second measurement from the at least one of the plurality of batteries, and compare the second measurement with the baseline to identify an issue with the at least one of the plurality of batteries – see include but are not limited to paragraphs 0003-0005, 0014, 0037).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Wang with the teaching of based on a group of operating pressure measurements of the battery pack during a first time window of the time period, determining, by the system, a baseline operating pressure value of the battery pack; based on at least one operating pressure measurement of the battery pack during a second time window of the time period following the first time window. Wherein the pressure event comprises at least one battery pressure value in the second time window that exceeds the baseline operating pressure value of the battery pack by a defined threshold as taught by Wedig in order to yield predicable result of accurately identify a thermal event.
Regarding claim 17, Wang disclose the computer program product of claim 16, wherein the program instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the processor to during power down of the high voltage battery module, obtaining by the system, using a high voltage battery module and a group of sensors of the vehicle comprising at least one pressure sensor and at least one sensor that’s is not a pressure sensor, a set of prior operating conditions of the battery pack prior to the high voltage battery module the powering down (obtaining sensor data when the vehicle is in a sleeping state and when the vehicle is in normal state using pressure sensor and temperature sensor– see include but are not limited to paragraphs paragraph 0009-0010, 0034, 0120); wherein the at least one sensor that is not a pressure sensor comprises at least one of a temperature sensor, a voltage sensor, a current sensor, or a gas particle sensor (determine the sensor data when the vehicle is in a normal working state using pressure sensor and a temperature sensor – see paragraph 0009-0010, 0120); during activation of the high voltage battery module, obtaining by the system, using the high voltage battery module and the group of sensors, a set of current operating conditions of the battery pack (determine the sensor data after waken from sleeping state- see paragraph 0010), generating an alarm indicating the battery pack is failing (notify failure in the battery – see paragraph 0147).
However, Wang does not explicitly discloses comparing, by the system, using the high voltage module and the group of sensors, a set of current operating conditions with the set of prior operating conditions; determining, by the system, using the high voltage battery module, a variation in the set of current operating conditions versus the set of prior operating conditions; and based on determining that the variation is indicative of the battery pack failing,
Wedig discloses comparing, by the system, using the high voltage module and the group of sensors, a set of current operating conditions with the set of prior operating conditions; determining, by the system, using the high voltage battery module, a variation in the set of current operating conditions versus the set of prior operating conditions; and based on determining that the variation is indicative of the battery pack failing, (monitoring system is configured to receive a first measurement corresponding to a characteristic from at least one of the plurality of batteries, determine a baseline from the first measurement, receive a second measurement from the at least one of the plurality of batteries, and compare the second measurement with the baseline to identify an issue with the at least one of the plurality of batteries – see include but are not limited to paragraphs 0003-0005, 0014, 0037).
Wang and Wedig are analogue art because they are from the same filed of endeavor and are reasonably pertinent to the problem addressed by the claimed invention- namely, detecting thermal event in battery. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Wang with the teaching of based on a group of operating pressure measurements of the battery pack during a first time window of the time period, determining, by the system, a baseline operating pressure value of the battery pack; based on at least one operating pressure measurement of the battery pack during a second time window of the time period following the first time window. Wherein the pressure event comprises at least one battery pressure value in the second time window that exceeds the baseline operating pressure value of the battery pack by a defined threshold as taught by Wedig in order to yield predicable result of accurately identify a thermal event.
Regarding claim 19, Wang in view of Wedig discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 16, as discussed supra with respect to the same.
Wang teaches wherein the pressure event is due to off-gassing at the battery pack (the pressure event is a thermal runaway – see Wang paragraphs 0003).
Regarding claim 20, Wang in view of Wedig disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 16, as discussed supra with respect to the same.
Wang teaches, wherein the pressure event is due to at least one of physical failure or chemical failure of at least one cell in the battery pack (the thermal runaway is caused by overcharge of the battery – see Wang paragraph 0188).
Claims 2, 4-5, 8-10, 13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Wang et al. (US 20210111443) in view of Wedig et al. (US 20180102572) and in further view of Woodington et al. (US 20080001809), Gilbert et al. (US 20230398872) and Wang et al. (20230166724) (from now on will be mentioned as B. Wang).
Regarding claim 2, Wang in view of Wedig disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one of the computer executable components further configured to: determining that the event is a pressure event of the battery.
However, Wang in view of Wedig does not explicitly disclose event of the battery that meets a defined criterion associated with a potential loss of a life outside the vehicle, automatically drives the vehicle to a designated safe location.
Wang724 (B. Wang) discloses in response determining that the event is a pressure event of the battery that meets a define criterion associated with a potential of a loss of a life outside of the vehicle, autonomously drives the vehicle to a designated safe location. (When detecting a thermal even present the BMS or other controllers may consider the likelihood of moving the vehicle and using the camera or other imaging input to decide if an area is clear of the other vehicles and pedestrians – see include but are not limited to paragraph 0032-0034).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Wang in view of Wedig with the teaching of event of the battery that meets a define criterion associated with a potential of a loss of a life outside of the vehicle, autonomously drives the vehicle to a designated safe location as taught by Wang724 in order to yield predicable result of minimize the damage cause in case of a thermal event [0013].
Regarding claim 4, Wang in view of Wedig discloses the system of claim 3, wherein the at least one of the computer executable components is further, using a high voltage battery module: analyze signals from one or more systems to identify the difference between the current pressure value and the baseline operating pressure value measured by the pressure sensor (analyze signal from obtained from the air pressure sensor and compare it with the baseline pressure – see include but are not limited to Wedig paragraphs 0003-0005).
However, Wang in view of Wedig does not explicitly disclose identify a source of signal interference generated at the one or more systems.
Woodington discloses identify a source of signal interference generated at the one or more systems (detect interference signal in vehicle system – see includes but are not limited to paragraph 0014)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Wang in view of Wedig with the teaching of identify a source of signal interference generated at the one or more systems as taught by Woodington in order to yield predicable result of accurately identify the cause of the thermal event.
Regarding claim 5, Wang in view of Wedig, Woodington, Gilbert and B. Wang discloses the system of claim 4, wherein the one or more systems comprise a at least one of motor system, a climate control system, a velocity system, or a navigation system (the interference signal may be caused by a battery, an alternator, and a transformer and so forth – see include but are not limited to Woodington paragraph 0014).
Regarding claim 8, Wang in view of Wedig discloses the system of claim 7, the at least one of the computer executable components further, using the high voltage battery module: determines, based on the comparison between the first set of measurements and the second set of measurements, whether the event was an off-gassing event at the battery (determine the pressure event is a thermal runaway by comparing measured with baseline value – see Wedig paragraphs 0003-0005).
However, Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein the battery is a lithium-ion battery
Gilbert discloses wherein the battery is a lithium-ion battery ( the battery is lithium-ion -see include but are not limited to paragraph 0029)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Wang with the teaching of wherein the battery is a lithium-ion battery as taught by Gilbert in order to yield predicable result of increasing the energy density, lifespan, and faster charging of the vehicle’s battery.
Regarding claim 9, Wang in view of Wedig disclose the system of claim 7, wherein the at least one of the computer executable component further generate a warning notification indicating the battery is in a potential failure condition; and transmit the warning notification to a remotely located user device (receive failure warning, generate warning indicating battery is in a potential of thermal runaway and communicate with one or more user device – see include but are not limited to paragraph 0202).
However, Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein the warning notification includes an instruction to evacuate a building in which the vehicle is located.
Wang724 (B. Wang) discloses wherein the warning notification includes an instruction to evacuate a building in which the vehicle is located ( send an alarm to user device by automated phone call, short message, activate hazard light or visual cues, to help user move away from the location of the vehicle – see include but are not limited to paragraph 0032).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Wang with the teaching of wherein the warning notification includes an instruction to evacuate a building in which the vehicle is located as taught by Wang724 (B. Wang) in order to yield predicable result of increase the safety of the user when detecting a thermal event.
Regarding claim 10, Wang in view of Wedig disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one of the computer executable components further: detect a thermal event.
However, Wang in view of Wedig does not explicitly discloses prior to autonomously driving the vehicle to a designated safe location, autonomously controls a garage door of a garage the vehicle is located within to open the garage door.
Wang724 (B. Wang) discloses prior to autonomously driving the vehicle to a designated safe location, autonomously controls a garage door of a garage the vehicle is located within to open the garage (upon detecting a thermal event the vehicle may open the garage door – see include but are not limited to paragraph 0035).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Wang in view of Wedig with the teaching of prior to autonomously driving the vehicle to a designated safe location, autonomously controls a garage door of a garage the vehicle is located within to open the garage as taught by Wang724 (B. Wang) in order to yield predicable result of clearing obstruction in the case of a thermal event [0034].
Regarding claim 13, Wang in view of Wedig discloses the system of claim 11, include a battery pack.
However, Wang does not explicitly disclose battery pack comprises at least one lithium-ion battery cell.
Gilbert discloses battery pack comprises at least one lithium-ion battery cell (the battery is lithium-ion -see include but are not limited to paragraph 0029)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Wang with the teaching of battery pack comprises at least one lithium-ion battery cell as taught by Gilbert in order to yield predicable result of increasing the energy density, lifespan, and faster charging of the vehicle’s battery.
Regarding claim 18, Wang in view of Wedig discloses the system of claim 16, include a battery pack.
However, Wang does not explicitly disclose battery pack comprises at least one lithium-ion battery cell.
Gilbert discloses battery pack comprises at least one lithium-ion battery cell (the battery is lithium-ion -see include but are not limited to paragraph 0029)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Wang with the teaching of battery pack comprises at least one lithium-ion battery cell as taught by Gilbert in order to yield predicable result of increasing the energy density, lifespan, and faster charging of the vehicle’s battery.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Bhambri et al. (US 20240209690) discloses send evacuation notification when a thermal runaway event is detected.
/A.K.T./
Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/CHRISTIAN CHACE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665