DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 11 August 2025 has been considered and new rejections based on applicant’s amendment are recited below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 18-23 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 is the only independent claim and it recites a “router guide consisting of:”. The use of consisting of requires the router guide to have only the claimed structure. As these dependent claims add additional structure, they are improper and thus it is unclear what applicant is claiming. Accordingly, they are not being further examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 8 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 9,802,333 to Krohmer et al (Krohmer).
Concerning claim 1, Krohmer discloses, in the figure reproduced below, a router guide, consisting of:
a planar body (E1) having a first elongated opening (E2) and a second elongated opening (E3) therethrough;
wherein the first elongated opening (E2) perpendicularly intersects the second elongated opening (E3), such that a single T-shaped opening is formed; and
wherein the second elongated opening (E3) intersects the first elongated opening (E2) at a midpoint thereof.
Concerning claim 3, Krohmer discloses the first and second elongated openings (E2 and E3) are disposed centrally along the planar body (E1).
Concerning claim 8, Krohmer discloses the first elongated opening (E2) is disposed parallel to the upper edge of the planar body (E1).
Concerning claim 18, Krohmer discloses the planar body (E1) comprises a plurality of edges defined about a central portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krohmer.
Concerning claim 7, Krohmer does not disclose a length of the first elongated opening is double a length of the second elongated opening.
It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan at the time of the invention to construct the apparatus of Krohmer such that a length of the first elongated opening is double a length of the second elongated opening as such determination would result during routine engineering practices and experimentation. Further, Applicant has not positively recited any criticality to this exact sizing difference (¶7 of the filed specification). Accordingly, such a shape was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed shape was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). As applicant has not recited any criticality to this then such a shape is not significant.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Matthew Katcoff/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725
10/24/2025