DETAILED ACTION
This Final Office Action is in response to the Applicant Arguments/REMARKS correspondence submitted on 11/03/2025.
Claims 1-2, 4-14, & 16-22 is pending and rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 4-14, & 16-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 & 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bathula et al (US20190327016A1) in view of Mowbray et al (US6119263) in further view of Han, “Maranello: Practical Partial Packet Recovery for 802.11” (2010) (hereinafter “Han”).
Regarding claim 1, Bathula teaches a data transmission method, wherein the data transmission method comprises:
receiving, from at least one data source, original data and attribute information of the original data, wherein the attribute information comprises a quantity of quantization bits used by each of the at least one data source ([0019]-[0021], [0029]-[0031], [0064]-[0066], [0068]-[0070], [0098]-[0099], discloses receiving compressed data representing original signal samples together with associated attribute information, including exponent tokens and quantization profile information conveyed in a packet header, which specifies the quantity of quantization bits (n_exp/m_exp) used to encode the data from the transmitting data source);
But Bathula fails to teach calculating a respective check code for each of the plurality of data sections based on each of the plurality of data sections; sending a plurality of coded blocks, wherein each of the plurality of coded blocks corresponds to a respective one of the plurality of data sections, and each of the plurality of coded blocks comprises a respective data section and a check code corresponding to the respective data section.
However, Mowbray teaches calculating a respective check code for each of the plurality of data sections based on each of the plurality of data sections (col 3 lines 1-25 appending checksum to subpacket);
sending a plurality of coded blocks, wherein each of the plurality of coded blocks corresponds to a respective one of the plurality of data sections, and each of the plurality of coded blocks comprises a respective data section and a check code corresponding to the respective data section (col 3 lines 29-35, transferring of subpackets on physical link).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the block floating-point compression and quantization signaling techniques of Bathula with the multi-path packet transmission and per-path cyclic redundancy check (CRC) mechanisms of Mowbray, because both references address reliable and efficient transmission of large data packets over communication links. Bathula teaches receiving compressed data representing ordinal signal samples together with associated attribute information, such as exponent tokens and quantization profiles, which specify the number of quantization bits used to encode the data and enable correct decoding at the receiver. Mowbray teaches dividing data packets into sub-packets transmitted over multiple parallel paths, each path employing independent CRC error detection to improve robustness and reduce transmission latency. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to apply the quantization-bit attribute signaling of Bathula to the parallel, CRC-protected multi-path transmission system of Mowbray in order to efficiently transmit compressed data while preserving error detection and decoding correctness across multiple paths.
But Mowbray fails to teach segmenting the original data based on the attribute information to obtain a plurality of data sections; and
However, Han teaches segmenting the original data based on the quantity of quantization bits used by each of the at least one data source to obtain a plurality of data sections (pg. 1-5 Abstract, Section 1-2, Section 2.1, Section 3, discloses segmenting the original data into a plurality of data sections in the form of blocks, segmentation based on an attribute—block size and used to identify exactly which portions (blocks) of the corrupted packet should be retransmitted), based on predetermined block size attribute, which guides how the packet is divided into blocks for checksum and retransmission purposes); and
Mowbray discloses techniques for dividing a data packet into sub-packets for parallel transmission over multiple paths, where each subpacket is appended with a checksum for error detection. This teaches the concept of segmenting data and applying integrity codes at the sub-packet level. However, while Mowbray provides the general framework for splitting and protecting data, it does not address how segmentation may be applied more flexibly based on varying attributes of the data or system requirements. Han, on the other hand, teaches block-based recovery, in which received packets are segmented into block of consecutive bytes and checksums are computed per block, allowing corrupted blocks to be identifies and retransmitted. Han therefore provides a specific teaching of segmenting original data into blocks (i.e. data sections) based on a block size attribute, and performing per-block error detection.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the sub-packet error detection and transmission framework of Mowbray with the block-based recovery technique of Han in order to improve efficiency and reliability of data transmission. The motivation to combine arises from the well-known goal in the art of reducing retransmissions overhead and latency: by adopting Han’s block segmentation into the system of Mowbray, the combined system can isolate errors to smaller sections of data and retransmit only those erroneous sections, while still leveraging parallel path transmissions with CRC protection. Such a combination would have predictably yielded improved throughput and robustness in packet transmission systems.
Regarding claim 20, Bathula fails to teach wherein the check code comprises one of a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) code, parity code, or a Hamming code.
However, Mowbray teaches wherein the check code comprises one of a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) code, parity code, or a Hamming code (col 2 lines 36-48, use of CRC codes as check codes—data transfer on each path is checked for occurance of errors using cyclic redundancy checks, the cyclic redundancy check for each path being implemented using a respective and different cyclic redundancy check polynomial).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the block floating-point compression and quantization signaling techniques of Bathula with the multi-path packet transmission and per-path cyclic redundancy check (CRC) mechanisms of Mowbray, because both references address reliable and efficient transmission of large data packets over communication links. Bathula teaches receiving compressed data representing ordinal signal samples together with associated attribute information, such as exponent tokens and quantization profiles, which specify the number of quantization bits used to encode the data and enable correct decoding at the receiver. Mowbray teaches dividing data packets into sub-packets transmitted over multiple parallel paths, each path employing independent CRC error detection to improve robustness and reduce transmission latency. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to apply the quantization-bit attribute signaling of Bathula to the parallel, CRC-protected multi-path transmission system of Mowbray in order to efficiently transmit compressed data while preserving error detection and decoding correctness across multiple paths.
Claims 2, 8-12, & 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bathula in view of Mowbray et al (US6119263) in further view of Han, “Maranello: Practical Partial Packet Recovery for 802.11” (2010) (hereinafter “Han”), in further view of Jamieson, “PPR: Partial Packet Recovery for Wireless Networks” (2007) (hereinafter “Jamieson”).
Regarding claim 2, Mowbray and Han fail to teach the data transmission method wherein the segmenting the original data and the calculating the respective check code for each of the plurality of data sections are implemented at a physical layer in an access layer protocol stack of a wireless network.
However, Jamieson teaches the data transmission method wherein the segmenting the original data and the calculating the respective check code for each of the plurality of data sections are implemented at a physical layer in an access layer protocol stack of a wireless network (Abstract, Section 1-3, proposes expanding the PHY[Wingdings font/0xE0]MAC interface and using PHY-level confidence information (and partial recovery mechanisms that rely on PHY hints), the paper contemplates PHY involvement for partial recovery).
Mowbray discloses techniques for dividing a data packet into sub-packets for parallel transmission over multiple paths, where each subpacket is appended with a checksum for error detection. This teaches the concept of segmenting data and applying integrity codes at the sub-packet level. However, while Mowbray provides the general framework for splitting and protecting data, it does not address how segmentation may be applied more flexibly based on varying attributes of the data or system requirements. Han, on the other hand, teaches block-based recovery, in which received packets are segmented into block of consecutive bytes and checksums are computed per block, allowing corrupted blocks to be identifies and retransmitted. Han therefore provides a specific teaching of segmenting original data into blocks (i.e. data sections) based on a block size attribute, and performing per-block error detection.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the sub-packet error detection and transmission framework of Mowbray with the block-based recovery technique of Han in order to improve efficiency and reliability of data transmission. The motivation to combine arises from the well-known goal in the art of reducing retransmissions overhead and latency: by adopting Han’s block segmentation into the system of Mowbray, the combined system can isolate errors to smaller sections of data and retransmit only those erroneous sections, while still leveraging parallel path transmissions with CRC protection. Such a combination would have predictably yielded improved throughput and robustness in packet transmission systems.
Further, Jamieson teaches a partial packet recovery, where correctly received portions of a packet are preserved and used even if other portions are corrupted, thereby increasing throughput and reducing retransmissions. A skilled artisan would have recognized that integrating Jamieson’s selective acceptance of error-checked data sections with the segmentation and error coding methods of Mowbray yields predictable benefits such as allowing receivers to validate individual data sections with corresponding check codes and deliver only those that pass verification. This combination would have been a straightforward application of known error resilience and efficiency techniques to improve end-to-end data reliability while minimizing retransmission overhead, thereby arriving at the claimed data transmission method.
Regarding claim 8, Mowbray teaches a data transmission method, wherein the data transmission method comprises:
receiving a plurality of coded blocks, wherein each of the plurality of coded blocks comprises a respective data section of a plurality of data sections and a check code for the respective data section, the plurality of data sections are obtained by segmenting original data from at least one data source based on a quantity of quantization bits used by each of the at least one data source, and each check code is calculated based on a respective one of the plurality of data sections (Abstract, Fig 1, col 2-3 lines 65-67 & 1-25 respectively, explicitly describes dividing a data packet into sub-packets and adding CRC/checksum to each sub-packet before transmission (sub-packet + checksum concept);
But Mowbray fails to teach performing, by using check codes comprised in the plurality of coded blocks, a check on data sections comprised in the plurality of coded blocks;
However, Han teaches performing, by using check codes comprised in the plurality of coded blocks, a check on data sections comprised in the plurality of coded blocks ((pg. 1-5 Abstract, Section 1-2, Section 2.1 Block Checksum, Section 3, uses block/checksum approach so that receiver can identify corrupt blocks and recover only corrupted block rather than discarding entire packet (transmit and operate on block-level checksums)—directly teaches per-block checking and block transmission/processing);
Mowbray discloses techniques for dividing a data packet into sub-packets for parallel transmission over multiple paths, where each subpacket is appended with a checksum for error detection. This teaches the concept of segmenting data and applying integrity codes at the sub-packet level. However, while Mowbray provides the general framework for splitting and protecting data, it does not address how segmentation may be applied more flexibly based on varying attributes of the data or system requirements. Han, on the other hand, teaches block-based recovery, in which received packets are segmented into block of consecutive bytes and checksums are computed per block, allowing corrupted blocks to be identifies and retransmitted. Han therefore provides a specific teaching of segmenting original data into blocks (i.e. data sections) based on a block size attribute, and performing per-block error detection.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the sub-packet error detection and transmission framework of Mowbray with the block-based recovery technique of Han in order to improve efficiency and reliability of data transmission. The motivation to combine arises from the well-known goal in the art of reducing retransmissions overhead and latency: by adopting Han’s block segmentation into the system of Mowbray, the combined system can isolate errors to smaller sections of data and retransmit only those erroneous sections, while still leveraging parallel path transmissions with CRC protection. Such a combination would have predictably yielded improved throughput and robustness in packet transmission systems.
But Han fails to teach and providing at least a data section that is successful in the check for a user of the original data.
However, Jamieson teaches and providing at least a data section that is successful in the check for a user of the original data ((Abstract, Section 1-3, block based partial recovery; offers architecture/technique for identifying and recovering good sections of a packet).
Mowbray discloses techniques for dividing a data packet into sub-packets for parallel transmission over multiple paths, where each subpacket is appended with a checksum for error detection. This teaches the concept of segmenting data and applying integrity codes at the sub-packet level. However, while Mowbray provides the general framework for splitting and protecting data, it does not address how segmentation may be applied more flexibly based on varying attributes of the data or system requirements. Han, on the other hand, teaches block-based recovery, in which received packets are segmented into block of consecutive bytes and checksums are computed per block, allowing corrupted blocks to be identifies and retransmitted. Han therefore provides a specific teaching of segmenting original data into blocks (i.e. data sections) based on a block size attribute, and performing per-block error detection.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the sub-packet error detection and transmission framework of Mowbray with the block-based recovery technique of Han in order to improve efficiency and reliability of data transmission. The motivation to combine arises from the well-known goal in the art of reducing retransmissions overhead and latency: by adopting Han’s block segmentation into the system of Mowbray, the combined system can isolate errors to smaller sections of data and retransmit only those erroneous sections, while still leveraging parallel path transmissions with CRC protection. Such a combination would have predictably yielded improved throughput and robustness in packet transmission systems.
Further, Jamieson teaches a partial packet recovery, where correctly received portions of a packet are preserved and used even if other portions are corrupted, thereby increasing throughput and reducing retransmissions. A skilled artisan would have recognized that integrating Jamieson’s selective acceptance of error-checked data sections with the segmentation and error coding methods of Mowbray yields predictable benefits such as allowing receivers to validate individual data sections with corresponding check codes and deliver only those that pass verification. This combination would have been a straightforward application of known error resilience and efficiency techniques to improve end-to-end data reliability while minimizing retransmission overhead, thereby arriving at the claimed data transmission method.
Regarding claim 9, Bathula, Mowbray and Han fail to teach the data transmission method wherein the providing at least a data section that is successful in the check for a user of the original data comprises:
setting a data section that fails the check to a specified bit value; concatenating the data section that is successful in the check and the data section that has been set to the specified bit value to obtain concatenated data; and sending the concatenated data to the user.
However, Jamieson teaches the data transmission method wherein the providing at least a data section that is successful in the check for a user of the original data comprises:
setting a data section that fails the check to a specified bit value; concatenating the data section that is successful in the check and the data section that has been set to the specified bit value to obtain concatenated data; and sending the concatenated data to the user ((Abstract, Section 1-3, block based partial recovery; offers architecture/technique for identifying and recovering good sections of a packet).
Mowbray discloses techniques for dividing a data packet into sub-packets for parallel transmission over multiple paths, where each subpacket is appended with a checksum for error detection. This teaches the concept of segmenting data and applying integrity codes at the sub-packet level. However, while Mowbray provides the general framework for splitting and protecting data, it does not address how segmentation may be applied more flexibly based on varying attributes of the data or system requirements. Han, on the other hand, teaches block-based recovery, in which received packets are segmented into block of consecutive bytes and checksums are computed per block, allowing corrupted blocks to be identifies and retransmitted. Han therefore provides a specific teaching of segmenting original data into blocks (i.e. data sections) based on a block size attribute, and performing per-block error detection.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the sub-packet error detection and transmission framework of Mowbray with the block-based recovery technique of Han in order to improve efficiency and reliability of data transmission. The motivation to combine arises from the well-known goal in the art of reducing retransmissions overhead and latency: by adopting Han’s block segmentation into the system of Mowbray, the combined system can isolate errors to smaller sections of data and retransmit only those erroneous sections, while still leveraging parallel path transmissions with CRC protection. Such a combination would have predictably yielded improved throughput and robustness in packet transmission systems.
Further, Jamieson teaches a partial packet recovery, where correctly received portions of a packet are preserved and used even if other portions are corrupted, thereby increasing throughput and reducing retransmissions. A skilled artisan would have recognized that integrating Jamieson’s selective acceptance of error-checked data sections with the segmentation and error coding methods of Mowbray yields predictable benefits such as allowing receivers to validate individual data sections with corresponding check codes and deliver only those that pass verification. This combination would have been a straightforward application of known error resilience and efficiency techniques to improve end-to-end data reliability while minimizing retransmission overhead, thereby arriving at the claimed data transmission method.
Regarding claim 10, Bathula, Mowbray fails to teach the data transmission method, wherein the providing at least a data section that is successful in the check for a user of the original data comprises: sending the data section that is successful in the check and first indication information to the user, wherein the first indication information indicates a corresponding sequence, in the original data, of the data section that fails the check.
However, Han teaches the data transmission method, wherein the providing at least a data section that is successful in the check for a user of the original data comprises:
sending the data section that is successful in the check and first indication information to the user, wherein the first indication information indicates a corresponding sequence, in the original data, of the data section that fails the check ((pg. 1-5 Abstract, Section 1-2, Section 2.1 Block Checksum, Section 3, uses block/checksum approach so that receiver can identify corrupt blocks and recover only corrupted block rather than discarding entire packet (transmit and operate on block-level checksums)—directly teaches per-block checking and block transmission/processing).
Mowbray discloses techniques for dividing a data packet into sub-packets for parallel transmission over multiple paths, where each subpacket is appended with a checksum for error detection. This teaches the concept of segmenting data and applying integrity codes at the sub-packet level. However, while Mowbray provides the general framework for splitting and protecting data, it does not address how segmentation may be applied more flexibly based on varying attributes of the data or system requirements. Han, on the other hand, teaches block-based recovery, in which received packets are segmented into block of consecutive bytes and checksums are computed per block, allowing corrupted blocks to be identifies and retransmitted. Han therefore provides a specific teaching of segmenting original data into blocks (i.e. data sections) based on a block size attribute, and performing per-block error detection.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the sub-packet error detection and transmission framework of Mowbray with the block-based recovery technique of Han in order to improve efficiency and reliability of data transmission. The motivation to combine arises from the well-known goal in the art of reducing retransmissions overhead and latency: by adopting Han’s block segmentation into the system of Mowbray, the combined system can isolate errors to smaller sections of data and retransmit only those erroneous sections, while still leveraging parallel path transmissions with CRC protection. Such a combination would have predictably yielded improved throughput and robustness in packet transmission systems.
Further, Jamieson teaches a partial packet recovery, where correctly received portions of a packet are preserved and used even if other portions are corrupted, thereby increasing throughput and reducing retransmissions. A skilled artisan would have recognized that integrating Jamieson’s selective acceptance of error-checked data sections with the segmentation and error coding methods of Mowbray yields predictable benefits such as allowing receivers to validate individual data sections with corresponding check codes and deliver only those that pass verification. This combination would have been a straightforward application of known error resilience and efficiency techniques to improve end-to-end data reliability while minimizing retransmission overhead, thereby arriving at the claimed data transmission method.
Regarding claim 11, Bathula and Mowbray fails to teach the data transmission method wherein the providing at least a data section that is successful in the check for a user of the original data comprises: sending the data section that is successful in the check and second indication information to the user, wherein the second indication information indicates whether a data section that fails the check exists.
However, Han teaches the data transmission method wherein the providing at least a data section that is successful in the check for a user of the original data comprises: sending the data section that is successful in the check and second indication information to the user, wherein the second indication information indicates whether a data section that fails the check exists ((pg. 1-5 Abstract, Section 1-2, Section 2.1 Block Checksum, Section 3, uses block/checksum approach so that receiver can identify corrupt blocks and recover only corrupted block rather than discarding entire packet (transmit and operate on block-level checksums)—directly teaches per-block checking and block transmission/processing).
Mowbray discloses techniques for dividing a data packet into sub-packets for parallel transmission over multiple paths, where each subpacket is appended with a checksum for error detection. This teaches the concept of segmenting data and applying integrity codes at the sub-packet level. However, while Mowbray provides the general framework for splitting and protecting data, it does not address how segmentation may be applied more flexibly based on varying attributes of the data or system requirements. Han, on the other hand, teaches block-based recovery, in which received packets are segmented into block of consecutive bytes and checksums are computed per block, allowing corrupted blocks to be identifies and retransmitted. Han therefore provides a specific teaching of segmenting original data into blocks (i.e. data sections) based on a block size attribute, and performing per-block error detection.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the sub-packet error detection and transmission framework of Mowbray with the block-based recovery technique of Han in order to improve efficiency and reliability of data transmission. The motivation to combine arises from the well-known goal in the art of reducing retransmissions overhead and latency: by adopting Han’s block segmentation into the system of Mowbray, the combined system can isolate errors to smaller sections of data and retransmit only those erroneous sections, while still leveraging parallel path transmissions with CRC protection. Such a combination would have predictably yielded improved throughput and robustness in packet transmission systems.
Further, Jamieson teaches a partial packet recovery, where correctly received portions of a packet are preserved and used even if other portions are corrupted, thereby increasing throughput and reducing retransmissions. A skilled artisan would have recognized that integrating Jamieson’s selective acceptance of error-checked data sections with the segmentation and error coding methods of Mowbray yields predictable benefits such as allowing receivers to validate individual data sections with corresponding check codes and deliver only those that pass verification. This combination would have been a straightforward application of known error resilience and efficiency techniques to improve end-to-end data reliability while minimizing retransmission overhead, thereby arriving at the claimed data transmission method.
Regarding claim 12, Bathula and Mowbray fails to teach the data transmission method wherein the performing a check on data sections comprised in the plurality of coded blocks and the providing at least a data section that is successful in the check for a user of the original data are implemented at a physical layer in an access layer protocol stack of a wireless network.
However, Han teaches the data transmission method wherein the performing a check on data sections comprised in the plurality of coded blocks and the providing at least a data section that is successful in the check for a user of the original data are implemented at a physical layer in an access layer protocol stack of a wireless network ((pg. 1-5 Abstract, Section 1-2, Section 2.1 Block Checksum, Section 3, uses block/checksum approach so that receiver can identify corrupt blocks and recover only corrupted block rather than discarding entire packet (transmit and operate on block-level checksums)—directly teaches per-block checking and block transmission/processing).
Mowbray discloses techniques for dividing a data packet into sub-packets for parallel transmission over multiple paths, where each subpacket is appended with a checksum for error detection. This teaches the concept of segmenting data and applying integrity codes at the sub-packet level. However, while Mowbray provides the general framework for splitting and protecting data, it does not address how segmentation may be applied more flexibly based on varying attributes of the data or system requirements. Han, on the other hand, teaches block-based recovery, in which received packets are segmented into block of consecutive bytes and checksums are computed per block, allowing corrupted blocks to be identifies and retransmitted. Han therefore provides a specific teaching of segmenting original data into blocks (i.e. data sections) based on a block size attribute, and performing per-block error detection.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the sub-packet error detection and transmission framework of Mowbray with the block-based recovery technique of Han in order to improve efficiency and reliability of data transmission. The motivation to combine arises from the well-known goal in the art of reducing retransmissions overhead and latency: by adopting Han’s block segmentation into the system of Mowbray, the combined system can isolate errors to smaller sections of data and retransmit only those erroneous sections, while still leveraging parallel path transmissions with CRC protection. Such a combination would have predictably yielded improved throughput and robustness in packet transmission systems.
Further, Jamieson teaches a partial packet recovery, where correctly received portions of a packet are preserved and used even if other portions are corrupted, thereby increasing throughput and reducing retransmissions. A skilled artisan would have recognized that integrating Jamieson’s selective acceptance of error-checked data sections with the segmentation and error coding methods of Mowbray yields predictable benefits such as allowing receivers to validate individual data sections with corresponding check codes and deliver only those that pass verification. This combination would have been a straightforward application of known error resilience and efficiency techniques to improve end-to-end data reliability while minimizing retransmission overhead, thereby arriving at the claimed data transmission method.
Regarding claim 21, Bathula fails to teach wherein the check code comprises one of a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) code, parity code, or a Hamming code.
However, Mowbray teaches wherein the check code comprises one of a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) code, parity code, or a Hamming code (col 2 lines 36-48, use of CRC codes as check codes—data transfer on each path is checked for occurance of errors using cyclic redundancy checks, the cyclic redundancy check for each path being implemented using a respective and different cyclic redundancy check polynomial).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the block floating-point compression and quantization signaling techniques of Bathula with the multi-path packet transmission and per-path cyclic redundancy check (CRC) mechanisms of Mowbray, because both references address reliable and efficient transmission of large data packets over communication links. Bathula teaches receiving compressed data representing ordinal signal samples together with associated attribute information, such as exponent tokens and quantization profiles, which specify the number of quantization bits used to encode the data and enable correct decoding at the receiver. Mowbray teaches dividing data packets into sub-packets transmitted over multiple parallel paths, each path employing independent CRC error detection to improve robustness and reduce transmission latency. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to apply the quantization-bit attribute signaling of Bathula to the parallel, CRC-protected multi-path transmission system of Mowbray in order to efficiently transmit compressed data while preserving error detection and decoding correctness across multiple paths. Han, on the other hand, teaches block-based recovery, in which received packets are segmented into block of consecutive bytes and checksums are computed per block, allowing corrupted blocks to be identifies and retransmitted. Han therefore provides a specific teaching of segmenting original data into blocks (i.e. data sections) based on a block size attribute, and performing per-block error detection. Further, Jamieson teaches a partial packet recovery, where correctly received portions of a packet are preserved and used even if other portions are corrupted, thereby increasing throughput and reducing retransmissions. A skilled artisan would have recognized that integrating Jamieson’s selective acceptance of error-checked data sections with the segmentation and error coding methods of Mowbray yields predictable benefits such as allowing receivers to validate individual data sections with corresponding check codes and deliver only those that pass verification. This combination would have been a straightforward application of known error resilience and efficiency techniques to improve end-to-end data reliability while minimizing retransmission overhead, thereby arriving at the claimed data transmission method.
Claims 3-6, & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bathula in view of Mowbray, in further view of Han, in further view of Jamieson as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cevher et al (US8379485B2).
Regarding claim 3, Bathula, Mowbray, Han and Jamieson fail to teach the data transmission method wherein the attribute information comprises a quantity of quantization bits used by each of the at least one data source.
However, Cevher teaches the data transmission method wherein the attribute information comprises a quantity of quantization bits used by each of the at least one data source (Abstract, Fig 5a, col 10 lines 9-15, describes microphone arrays sending digitized audio streams, sampling rates, quantization bit depths, and metadata/parameters needed for processing (the concept of sending attributes/metadata that describe sample rate and bit depth is standard in transmission).
Mowbray discloses techniques for dividing a data packet into sub-packets for parallel transmission over multiple paths, where each subpacket is appended with a checksum for error detection. This teaches the concept of segmenting data and applying integrity codes at the sub-packet level. However, while Mowbray provides the general framework for splitting and protecting data, it does not address how segmentation may be applied more flexibly based on varying attributes of the data or system requirements. Han, on the other hand, teaches block-based recovery, in which received packets are segmented into block of consecutive bytes and checksums are computed per block, allowing corrupted blocks to be identifies and retransmitted. Han therefore provides a specific teaching of segmenting original data into blocks (i.e. data sections) based on a block size attribute, and performing per-block error detection.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the sub-packet error detection and transmission framework of Mowbray with the block-based recovery technique of Han in order to improve efficiency and reliability of data transmission. The motivation to combine arises from the well-known goal in the art of reducing retransmissions overhead and latency: by adopting Han’s block segmentation into the system of Mowbray, the combined system can isolate errors to smaller sections of data and retransmit only those erroneous sections, while still leveraging parallel path transmissions with CRC protection. Such a combination would have predictably yielded improved throughput and robustness in packet transmission systems. Furthermore, Cevher incorporates the teaching of attribute items (sampling rate, quantization bits, sources of explicit segment count).
Further, Jamieson teaches a partial packet recovery, where correctly received portions of a packet are preserved and used even if other portions are corrupted, thereby increasing throughput and reducing retransmissions. A skilled artisan would have recognized that integrating Jamieson’s selective acceptance of error-checked data sections with the segmentation and error coding methods of Mowbray yields predictable benefits such as allowing receivers to validate individual data sections with corresponding check codes and deliver only those that pass verification. This combination would have been a straightforward application of known error resilience and efficiency techniques to improve end-to-end data reliability while minimizing retransmission overhead, thereby arriving at the claimed data transmission method.
Regarding claim 4, Bathula, Mowbray, Han and Jamieson fail to teach the data transmission method wherein the attribute information further comprises a sampling rate.
However, Cevher teaches the data transmission method wherein the attribute information further comprises a sampling rate (Abstract, Fig 5a, col 10 lines 9-15, describes microphone arrays sending digitized audio streams, sampling rates, quantization bit depths, and metadata/parameters needed for processing (the concept of sending attributes/metadata that describe sample rate and bit depth is standard in transmission).
Mowbray discloses techniques for dividing a data packet into sub-packets for parallel transmission over multiple paths, where each subpacket is appended with a checksum for error detection. This teaches the concept of segmenting data and applying integrity codes at the sub-packet level. However, while Mowbray provides the general framework for splitting and protecting data, it does not address how segmentation may be applied more flexibly based on varying attributes of the data or system requirements. Han, on the other hand, teaches block-based recovery, in which received packets are segmented into block of consecutive bytes and checksums are computed per block, allowing corrupted blocks to be identifies and retransmitted. Han therefore provides a specific teaching of segmenting original data into blocks (i.e. data sections) based on a block size attribute, and performing per-block error detection.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the sub-packet error detection and transmission framework of Mowbray with the block-based recovery technique of Han in order to improve efficiency and reliability of data transmission. The motivation to combine arises from the well-known goal in the art of reducing retransmissions overhead and latency: by adopting Han’s block segmentation into the system of Mowbray, the combined system can isolate errors to smaller sections of data and retransmit only those erroneous sections, while still leveraging parallel path transmissions with CRC protection. Such a combination would have predictably yielded improved throughput and robustness in packet transmission systems. Furthermore, Cevher incorporates the teaching of attribute items (sampling rate, quantization bits, sources of explicit segment count).
Further, Jamieson teaches a partial packet recovery, where correctly received portions of a packet are preserved and used even if other portions are corrupted, thereby increasing throughput and reducing retransmissions. A skilled artisan would have recognized that integrating Jamieson’s selective acceptance of error-checked data sections with the segmentation and error coding methods of Mowbray yields predictable benefits such as allowing receivers to validate individual data sections with corresponding check codes and deliver only those that pass verification. This combination would have been a straightforward application of known error resilience and efficiency techniques to improve end-to-end data reliability while minimizing retransmission overhead, thereby arriving at the claimed data transmission method.
Regarding claim 5, Bathula, Mowbray, Han and Jamieson fail to teach the data transmission method wherein the attribute information further comprises a quantity of the at least one data source.
However, Cevher teaches the data transmission method wherein the attribute information further comprises a quantity of the at least one data source (Abstract, Fig 5a, col 10 lines 9-15, describes microphone arrays sending digitized audio streams, sampling rates, quantization bit depths, and metadata/parameters needed for processing (the concept of sending attributes/metadata that describe sample rate and bit depth is standard in transmission).
Mowbray discloses techniques for dividing a data packet into sub-packets for parallel transmission over multiple paths, where each subpacket is appended with a checksum for error detection. This teaches the concept of segmenting data and applying integrity codes at the sub-packet level. However, while Mowbray provides the general framework for splitting and protecting data, it does not address how segmentation may be applied more flexibly based on varying attributes of the data or system requirements. Han, on the other hand, teaches block-based recovery, in which received packets are segmented into block of consecutive bytes and checksums are computed per block, allowing corrupted blocks to be identifies and retransmitted. Han therefore provides a specific teaching of segmenting original data into blocks (i.e. data sections) based on a block size attribute, and performing per-block error detection.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the sub-packet error detection and transmission framework of Mowbray with the block-based recovery technique of Han in order to improve efficiency and reliability of data transmission. The motivation to combine arises from the well-known goal in the art of reducing retransmissions overhead and latency: by adopting Han’s block segmentation into the system of Mowbray, the combined system can isolate errors to smaller sections of data and retransmit only those erroneous sections, while still leveraging parallel path transmissions with CRC protection. Such a combination would have predictably yielded improved throughput and robustness in packet transmission systems. Furthermore, Cevher incorporates the teaching of attribute items (sampling rate, quantization bits, sources of explicit segment count).
Further, Jamieson teaches a partial packet recovery, where correctly received portions of a packet are preserved and used even if other portions are corrupted, thereby increasing throughput and reducing retransmissions. A skilled artisan would have recognized that integrating Jamieson’s selective acceptance of error-checked data sections with the segmentation and error coding methods of Mowbray yields predictable benefits such as allowing receivers to validate individual data sections with corresponding check codes and deliver only those that pass verification. This combination would have been a straightforward application of known error resilience and efficiency techniques to improve end-to-end data reliability while minimizing retransmission overhead, thereby arriving at the claimed data transmission method.
Regarding claim 6, Bathula, Mowbray, Han and Jamieson fail to teach the data transmission method wherein the attribute information further comprises quantity information of the plurality of data sections obtained by segmenting the original data.
However, Cevher teaches the data transmission method wherein the attribute information further comprises quantity information of the plurality of data sections obtained by segmenting the original data (Abstract, Fig 5a, col 10 lines 9-15, describes microphone arrays sending digitized audio streams, sampling rates, quantization bit depths, and metadata/parameters needed for processing (the concept of sending attributes/metadata that describe sample rate and bit depth is standard in transmission).
Mowbray discloses techniques for dividing a data packet into sub-packets for parallel transmission over multiple paths, where each subpacket is appended with a checksum for error detection. This teaches the concept of segmenting data and applying integrity codes at the sub-packet level. However, while Mowbray provides the general framework for splitting and protecting data, it does not address how segmentation may be applied more flexibly based on varying attributes of the data or system requirements. Han, on the other hand, teaches block-based recovery, in which received packets are segmented into block of consecutive bytes and checksums are computed per block, allowing corrupted blocks to be identifies and retransmitted. Han therefore provides a specific teaching of segmenting original data into blocks (i.e. data sections) based on a block size attribute, and performing per-block error detection.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the sub-packet error detection and transmission framework of Mowbray with the block-based recovery technique of Han in order to improve efficiency and reliability of data transmission. The motivation to combine arises from the well-known goal in the art of reducing retransmissions overhead and latency: by adopting Han’s block segmentation into the system of Mowbray, the combined system can isolate errors to smaller sections of data and retransmit only those erroneous sections, while still leveraging parallel path transmissions with CRC protection. Such a combination would have predictably yielded improved throughput and robustness in packet transmission systems. Furthermore, Cevher incorporates the teaching of attribute items (sampling rate, quantization bits, sources of explicit segment count).
Further, Jamieson teaches a partial packet recovery, where correctly received portions of a packet are preserved and used even if other portions are corrupted, thereby increasing throughput and reducing retransmissions. A skilled artisan would have recognized that integrating Jamieson’s selective acceptance of error-checked data sections with the segmentation and error coding methods of Mowbray yields predictable benefits such as allowing receivers to validate individual data sections with corresponding check codes and deliver only those that pass verification. This combination would have been a straightforward application of known error resilience and efficiency techniques to improve end-to-end data reliability while minimizing retransmission overhead, thereby arriving at the claimed data transmission method.
Regarding claim 19, Bathula, Mowbray, Han and Jamieson fail to teach the data transmission device wherein the at least one data source is a microphone array element in an in-vehicle microphone array; and
the original data is noise data collected by the microphone array element.
However, Cevher teaches the data transmission device wherein the at least one data source is a microphone array element in an in-vehicle microphone array (Abstract, Fig 5a, col 10 lines 9-15, describes microphone arrays sending digitized audio streams, sampling rates, quantization bit depths, and metadata/parameters needed for processing (the concept of sending attributes/metadata that describe sample rate and bit depth is standard in transmission); and
the original data is noise data collected by the microphone array element.
(Abstract, Fig 5a, col 10 lines 9-15, describes microphone arrays sending digitized audio streams, sampling rates, quantization bit depths, and metadata/parameters needed for processing (the concept of sending attributes/metadata that describe sample rate and bit depth is standard in transmission).
Mowbray discloses techniques for dividing a data packet into sub-packets for parallel transmission over multiple paths, where each subpacket is appended with a checksum for error detection. This teaches the concept of segmenting data and applying integrity codes at the sub-packet level. However, while Mowbray provides the general framework for splitting and protecting data, it does not address how segmentation may be applied more flexibly based on varying attributes of the data or system requirements. Han, on the other hand, teaches block-based recovery, in which received packets are segmented into block of consecutive bytes and checksums are computed per block, allowing corrupted blocks to be identifies and retransmitted. Han therefore provides a specific teaching of segmenting original data into blocks (i.e. data sections) based on a block size attribute, and performing per-block error detection.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the sub-packet error detection and transmission framework of Mowbray with the block-based recovery technique of Han in order to improve efficiency and reliability of data transmission. The motivation to combine arises from the well-known goal in the art of reducing retransmissions overhead and latency: by adopting Han’s block segmentation into the system of Mowbray, the combined system can isolate errors to smaller sections of data and retransmit only those erroneous sections, while still leveraging parallel path transmissions with CRC protection. Such a combination would have predictably yielded improved throughput and robustness in packet transmission systems. Furthermore, Cevher incorporates the teaching of attribute items (sampling rate, quantization bits, sources of explicit segment count).
Further, Jamieson teaches a partial packet recovery, where correctly received portions of a packet are preserved and used even if other portions are corrupted, thereby increasing throughput and reducing retransmissions. A skilled artisan would have recognized that integrating Jamieson’s selective acceptance of error-checked data sections with the segmentation and error coding methods of Mowbray yields predictable benefits such as allowing receivers to validate individual data sections with corresponding check codes and deliver only those that pass verification. This combination would have been a straightforward application of known error resilience and efficiency techniques to improve end-to-end data reliability while minimizing retransmission overhead, thereby arriving at the claimed data transmission method.
Claims 7 & 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bathula in view of Mowbray in further view of Han, in further view of Jamieson as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cevher in further view of Dunn et al (EP1691534A1).
Regarding claim 7, Bathula, Mowbray, Han, Jamieson and Cevher fail to teach the data transmission method wherein the at least one data source is a microphone array element in an in-vehicle microphone array; and
the original data is noise data collected by the microphone array element.
However, Dunn teaches the data transmission method wherein the at least one data source is a microphone array element in an in-vehicle microphone array; and
the original data is noise data collected by the microphone array element (Abstract, [0003]-[0004], [0076]-[0080], vehicle microphone array and in-vehicle audio transmission systems; discloses microphone array elements in vehicles and transmission of sampled audio (noise) to vehicle controllers for processing (e.g. for noise cancellation); microphone array transmission for vehicle use (CDC or equivalent).
Mowbray discloses techniques for dividing a data packet into sub-packets for parallel transmission over multiple paths, where each subpacket is appended with a checksum for error detection. This teaches the concept of segmenting data and applying integrity codes at the sub-packet level. However, while Mowbray provides the general framework for splitting and protecting data, it does not address how segmentation may be applied more flexibly based on varying attributes of the data or system requirements. Han, on the other hand, teaches block-based recovery, in which received packets are segmented into block of consecutive bytes and checksums are computed per block, allowing corrupted blocks to be identifies and retransmitted. Han therefore provides a specific teaching of segmenting original data into blocks (i.e. data sections) based on a block size attribute, and performing per-block error detection.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the sub-packet error detection and transmission framework of Mowbray with the block-based recovery technique of Han in order to improve efficiency and reliability of data transmission. The motivation to combine arises from the well-known goal in the art of reducing retransmissions overhead and latency: by adopting Han’s block segmentation into the system of Mowbray, the combined system can isolate errors to smaller sections of data and retransmit only those erroneous sections, while still leveraging parallel path transmissions with CRC protection. Such a combination would have predictably yielded improved throughput and robustness in packet transmission systems. Furthermore, Cevher incorporates the teaching of attribute items (sampling rate, quantization bits, sources of explicit segment count). Lastly, Dunn teaches the microphone array transmission for in-vehicle use, specifically the data source is a microphone array element and original data is equivalent to noise data.
Further, Jamieson teaches a partial packet recovery, where correctly received portions of a packet are preserved and used even if other portions are corrupted, thereby increasing throughput and reducing retransmissions. A skilled artisan would have recognized that integrating Jamieson’s selective acceptance of error-checked data sections with the segmentation and error coding methods of Mowbray yields predictable benefits such as allowing receivers to validate individual data sections with corresponding check codes and deliver only those that pass verification. This combination would have been a straightforward application of known error resilience and efficiency techniques to improve end-to-end data reliability while minimizing retransmission overhead, thereby arriving at the claimed data transmission method.
Regarding claim 13, Bathula, Mowbray, Han, Jamieson and Cevher fail to teach the data transmission method wherein the at least one data source is a microphone array element in an in-vehicle microphone array; and the original data is noise data collected by the microphone array element.
However, Dunn teaches the at least one data source is a microphone array element in an in-vehicle microphone array; and the original data is noise data collected by the microphone array element (Abstract, [0003]-[0004], [0076]-[0080], vehicle microphone array and in-vehicle audio transmission systems; discloses microphone array elements in vehicles and transmission of sampled audio (noise) to vehicle controllers for processing (e.g. for noise cancellation); microphone array transmission for vehicle use (CDC or equivalent).
Mowbray discloses techniques for dividing a data packet into sub-packets for parallel transmission over multiple paths, where each subpacket is appended with a checksum for error detection. This teaches the concept of segmenting data and applying integrity codes at the sub-packet level. However, while Mowbray provides the general framework for splitting and protecting data, it does not address how segmentation may be applied more flexibly based on varying attributes of the data or system requirements. Han, on the other hand, teaches block-based recovery, in which received packets are segmented into block of consecutive bytes and checksums are computed per block, allowing corrupted blocks to be identifies and retransmitted. Han therefore provides a specific teaching of segmenting original data into blocks (i.e. data sections) based on a block size attribute, and performing per-block error detection.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the sub-packet error detection and transmission framework of Mowbray with the block-based recovery technique of Han in order to improve efficiency and reliability of data transmission. The motivation to combine arises from the well-known goal in the art of reducing retransmissions overhead and latency: by adopting Han’s block segmentation into the system of Mowbray, the combined system can isolate errors to smaller sections of data and retransmit only those erroneous sections, while still leveraging parallel path transmissions with CRC protection. Such a combination would have predictably yielded improved throughput and robustness in packet transmission systems. Furthermore, Cevher incorporates the teaching of attribute items (sampling rate, quantization bits, sources of explicit segment count). Lastly, Dunn teaches the microphone array transmission for in-vehicle use, specifically the data source is a microphone array element and original data is equivalent to noise data.
Further, Jamieson teaches a partial packet recovery, where correctly received portions of a packet are preserved and used even if other portions are corrupted, thereby increasing throughput and reducing retransmissions. A skilled artisan would have recognized that integrating Jamieson’s selective acceptance of error-checked data sections with the segmentation and error coding methods of Mowbray yields predictable benefits such as allowing receivers to validate individual data sections with corresponding check codes and deliver only those that pass verification. This combination would have been a straightforward application of known error resilience and efficiency techniques to improve end-to-end data reliability while minimizing retransmission overhead, thereby arriving at the claimed data transmission method.
Claims 14 & 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bathula et al (US20190327016A1) in view of Mowbray in further view of Han, and further in view of Dunn.
Regarding claim 14, Bathula teaches a data transmission device, comprising:
receive, from at least one data source, original data and attribute information of the original data (([0019]-[0021], [0029]-[0031], [0064]-[0066], [0068]-[0070], [0098]-[0099], discloses receiving compressed data representing original signal samples together with associated attribute information, including exponent tokens and quantization profile information conveyed in a packet header, which specifies the quantity of quantization bits (n_exp/m_exp) used to encode the data from the transmitting data source);
But Bathula fails to teach calculate a respective check code for each of the plurality of data sections based on each of the plurality of data sections; send a plurality of coded blocks, wherein each of the plurality of coded blocks corresponds to a respective one of the plurality of data sections, and each of the plurality of coded blocks comprises a respective data section and a check code corresponding to the respective data section.
However, Mowbray teaches—
calculate a respective check code for each of the plurality of data sections based on each of the plurality of data sections (col 3 lines 1-25 appending checksum to subpacket);
send a plurality of coded blocks, wherein each of the plurality of coded blocks corresponds to a respective one of the plurality of data sections, and each of the plurality of coded blocks comprises a respective data section and a check code corresponding to the respective data section (col 3 lines 29-35, transferring of subpackets on physical link).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the block floating-point compression and quantization signaling techniques of Bathula with the multi-path packet transmission and per-path cyclic redundancy check (CRC) mechanisms of Mowbray, because both references address reliable and efficient transmission of large data packets over communication links. Bathula teaches receiving compressed data representing ordinal signal samples together with associated attribute information, such as exponent tokens and quantization profiles, which specify the number of quantization bits used to encode the data and enable correct decoding at the receiver. Mowbray teaches dividing data packets into sub-packets transmitted over multiple parallel paths, each path employing independent CRC error detection to improve robustness and reduce transmission latency. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to apply the quantization-bit attribute signaling of Bathula to the parallel, CRC-protected multi-path transmission system of Mowbray in order to efficiently transmit compressed data while preserving error detection and decoding correctness across multiple paths.
But Mowbray fails to teach segment the original data based on the quantity of quantization bits used by each of the at least one data source to obtain a plurality of data sections.
However, Han teaches segment the original data based on the quantity of quantization bits used by each of the at least one data source to obtain a plurality of data sections ((pg. 1-5 Abstract, Section 1-2, Section 2.1, Section 3, discloses segmenting the original data into a plurality of data sections in the form of blocks, segmentation based on an attribute—block size and used to identify exactly which portions (blocks) of the corrupted packet should be retransmitted), based on predetermined block size attribute, which guides how the packet is divided into blocks for checksum and retransmission purposes).
Mowbray discloses techniques for dividing a data packet into sub-packets for parallel transmission over multiple paths, where each subpacket is appended with a checksum for error detection. This teaches the concept of segmenting data and applying integrity codes at the sub-packet level. However, while Mowbray provides the general framework for splitting and protecting data, it does not address how segmentation may be applied more flexibly based on varying attributes of the data or system requirements. Han, on the other hand, teaches block-based recovery, in which received packets are segmented into block of consecutive bytes and checksums are computed per block, allowing corrupted blocks to be identifies and retransmitted. Han therefore provides a specific teaching of segmenting original data into blocks (i.e. data sections) based on a block size attribute, and performing per-block error detection.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the sub-packet error detection and transmission framework of Mowbray with the block-based recovery technique of Han in order to improve efficiency and reliability of data transmission. The motivation to combine arises from the well-known goal in the art of reducing retransmissions overhead and latency: by adopting Han’s block segmentation into the system of Mowbray, the combined system can isolate errors to smaller sections of data and retransmit only those erroneous sections, while still leveraging parallel path transmissions with CRC protection. Such a combination would have predictably yielded improved throughput and robustness in packet transmission systems.
But Mowbray and Han fails to teach one or more processors, and one or more memories in communication with the one or more processors, wherein the one or more memories store program instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the data transmission device to
However, Dunn teaches one or more processors, and one or more memories in communication with the one or more processors, wherein the one or more memories store program instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the data transmission device to ([0082]-[0083], modules, processors, performing segmentation/check calculation).
Mowbray discloses techniques for dividing a data packet into sub-packets for parallel transmission over multiple paths, where each subpacket is appended with a checksum for error detection. This teaches the concept of segmenting data and applying integrity codes at the sub-packet level. However, while Mowbray provides the general framework for splitting and protecting data, it does not address how segmentation may be applied more flexibly based on varying attributes of the data or system requirements. Han, on the other hand, teaches block-based recovery, in which received packets are segmented into block of consecutive bytes and checksums are computed per block, allowing corrupted blocks to be identifies and retransmitted. Han therefore provides a specific teaching of segmenting original data into blocks (i.e. data sections) based on a block size attribute, and performing per-block error detection. Lastly, Dunn teaches the microphone array transmission for in-vehicle use, specifically the data source is a microphone array element and original data is equivalent to noise data.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the sub-packet error detection and transmission framework of Mowbray with the block-based recovery technique of Han in order to improve efficiency and reliability of data transmission. The motivation to combine arises from the well-known goal in the art of reducing retransmissions overhead and latency: by adopting Han’s block segmentation into the system of Mowbray, the combined system can isolate errors to smaller sections of data and retransmit only those erroneous sections, while still leveraging parallel path transmissions with CRC protection. Such a combination would have predictably yielded improved throughput and robustness in packet transmission systems.
Regarding claim 21, Bathula fails to teach wherein the check code comprises one of a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) code, parity code, or a Hamming code.
However, Mowbray teaches wherein the check code comprises one of a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) code, parity code, or a Hamming code (col 2 lines 36-48, use of CRC codes as check codes—data transfer on each path is checked for occurance of errors using cyclic redundancy checks, the cyclic redundancy check for each path being implemented using a respective and different cyclic redundancy check polynomial).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the block floating-point compression and quantization signaling techniques of Bathula with the multi-path packet transmission and per-path cyclic redundancy check (CRC) mechanisms of Mowbray, because both references address reliable and efficient transmission of large data packets over communication links. Bathula teaches receiving compressed data representing ordinal signal samples together with associated attribute information, such as exponent tokens and quantization profiles, which specify the number of quantization bits used to encode the data and enable correct decoding at the receiver. Mowbray teaches dividing data packets into sub-packets transmitted over multiple parallel paths, each path employing independent CRC error detection to improve robustness and reduce transmission latency. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to apply the quantization-bit attribute signaling of Bathula to the parallel, CRC-protected multi-path transmission system of Mowbray in order to efficiently transmit compressed data while preserving error detection and decoding correctness across multiple paths. Han, on the other hand, teaches block-based recovery, in which received packets are segmented into block of consecutive bytes and checksums are computed per block, allowing corrupted blocks to be identifies and retransmitted. Han therefore provides a specific teaching of segmenting original data into blocks (i.e. data sections) based on a block size attribute, and performing per-block error detection. Lastly, Dunn teaches the microphone array transmission for in-vehicle use, specifically the data source is a microphone array element and original data is equivalent to noise data. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine the references in order to efficiently transmit compressed data while preserving error detection and decoding correctness across multiple paths.
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bathula in view Mowbray in further view of Han, in further view of Dunn as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Cevher.
Regarding claim 16, Bathula, Mowbray, Han, and Dunn fail to teach the data transmission device wherein the attribute information comprises a sampling rate and a quantity of quantization bits used by each of the at least one data source.
However, Cevher teaches the data transmission device wherein the attribute information further comprises a sampling rate (Abstract, Fig 5a, col 10 lines 9-15, describes microphone arrays sending digitized audio streams, sampling rates, quantization bit depths, and metadata/parameters needed for processing (the concept of sending attributes/metadata that describe sample rate and bit depth is standard in transmission).
Mowbray discloses techniques for dividing a data packet into sub-packets for parallel transmission over multiple paths, where each subpacket is appended with a checksum for error detection. This teaches the concept of segmenting data and applying integrity codes at the sub-packet level. However, while Mowbray provides the general framework for splitting and protecting data, it does not address how segmentation may be applied more flexibly based on varying attributes of the data or system requirements. Han, on the other hand, teaches block-based recovery, in which received packets are segmented into block of consecutive bytes and checksums are computed per block, allowing corrupted blocks to be identifies and retransmitted. Han therefore provides a specific teaching of segmenting original data into blocks (i.e. data sections) based on a block size attribute, and performing per-block error detection. Furthermore, Cevher incorporates the teaching of attribute items (sampling rate, quantization bits, sources of explicit segment count). Lastly, Dunn teaches the microphone array transmission for in-vehicle use, specifically the data source is a microphone array element and original data is equivalent to noise data.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the sub-packet error detection and transmission framework of Mowbray with the block-based recovery technique of Han in order to improve efficiency and reliability of data transmission. The motivation to combine arises from the well-known goal in the art of reducing retransmissions overhead and latency: by adopting Han’s block segmentation into the system of Mowbray, the combined system can isolate errors to smaller sections of data and retransmit only those erroneous sections, while still leveraging parallel path transmissions with CRC protection. Such a combination would have predictably yielded improved throughput and robustness in packet transmission systems.
Regarding claim 17, Bathula, Mowbray, Han, and Dunn fail to teach the data transmission device wherein the attribute information further comprises a quantity of the at least one data source.
However, Cevher teaches the data transmission device wherein the attribute information further comprises a quantity of the at least one data source (Abstract, Fig 5a, col 10 lines 9-15, describes microphone arrays sending digitized audio streams, sampling rates, quantization bit depths, and metadata/parameters needed for processing (the concept of sending attributes/metadata that describe sample rate and bit depth is standard in transmission).
Mowbray discloses techniques for dividing a data packet into sub-packets for parallel transmission over multiple paths, where each subpacket is appended with a checksum for error detection. This teaches the concept of segmenting data and applying integrity codes at the sub-packet level. However, while Mowbray provides the general framework for splitting and protecting data, it does not address how segmentation may be applied more flexibly based on varying attributes of the data or system requirements. Han, on the other hand, teaches block-based recovery, in which received packets are segmented into block of consecutive bytes and checksums are computed per block, allowing corrupted blocks to be identifies and retransmitted. Han therefore provides a specific teaching of segmenting original data into blocks (i.e. data sections) based on a block size attribute, and performing per-block error detection. Furthermore, Cevher incorporates the teaching of attribute items (sampling rate, quantization bits, sources of explicit segment count). Lastly, Dunn teaches the microphone array transmission for in-vehicle use, specifically the data source is a microphone array element and original data is equivalent to noise data.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the sub-packet error detection and transmission framework of Mowbray with the block-based recovery technique of Han in order to improve efficiency and reliability of data transmission. The motivation to combine arises from the well-known goal in the art of reducing retransmissions overhead and latency: by adopting Han’s block segmentation into the system of Mowbray, the combined system can isolate errors to smaller sections of data and retransmit only those erroneous sections, while still leveraging parallel path transmissions with CRC protection. Such a combination would have predictably yielded improved throughput and robustness in packet transmission systems.
Regarding claim 18, Bathula, Mowbray, Han, and Dunn fail to teach the data transmission device wherein the attribute information further comprises quantity information of the plurality of data sections obtained by segmenting the original data.
However, Cevher teaches teach the data transmission device wherein the attribute information further comprises quantity information of the plurality of data sections obtained by segmenting the original data (Abstract, Fig 5a, col 10 lines 9-15, describes microphone arrays sending digitized audio streams, sampling rates, quantization bit depths, and metadata/parameters needed for processing (the concept of sending attributes/metadata that describe sample rate and bit depth is standard in transmission).
Mowbray discloses techniques for dividing a data packet into sub-packets for parallel transmission over multiple paths, where each subpacket is appended with a checksum for error detection. This teaches the concept of segmenting data and applying integrity codes at the sub-packet level. However, while Mowbray provides the general framework for splitting and protecting data, it does not address how segmentation may be applied more flexibly based on varying attributes of the data or system requirements. Han, on the other hand, teaches block-based recovery, in which received packets are segmented into block of consecutive bytes and checksums are computed per block, allowing corrupted blocks to be identifies and retransmitted. Han therefore provides a specific teaching of segmenting original data into blocks (i.e. data sections) based on a block size attribute, and performing per-block error detection. Furthermore, Cevher incorporates the teaching of attribute items (sampling rate, quantization bits, sources of explicit segment count). Lastly, Dunn teaches the microphone array transmission for in-vehicle use, specifically the data source is a microphone array element and original data is equivalent to noise data.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the sub-packet error detection and transmission framework of Mowbray with the block-based recovery technique of Han in order to improve efficiency and reliability of data transmission. The motivation to combine arises from the well-known goal in the art of reducing retransmissions overhead and latency: by adopting Han’s block segmentation into the system of Mowbray, the combined system can isolate errors to smaller sections of data and retransmit only those erroneous sections, while still leveraging parallel path transmissions with CRC protection. Such a combination would have predictably yielded improved throughput and robustness in packet transmission systems.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL WILLIAM ABBATINE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419