DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application is a CON of application 16/067,867 (filed 3 July 2018) which is the national stage entry of PCT/US17/12173 filed 4 January 2017. Acknowledgement is made of the Applicant’s claim of domestic priority to provisional US application 62/274,711 (filed 4 January 2016).
Examiner's Note
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 3 June 2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. The Examiner has re-weighed all the evidence of record. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application. In the Applicant's response, filed 3 June 2026, it is noted that claim 16 has been amended and claims 117-118 newly added. No new matter has been added. Support can be found in the claims as originally filed.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 7, 10, 16, 27, 55, 58-59, 64-65, 82-83, 111, and 116-118 are pending.
Claims 58-59, 64-65, 82-83, 111, and 116 are withdrawn.
Claims 1, 7, 10, 16, 27, 55, and 117-118 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 10, 16, 27, 55, and 117-118 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shea et al. (US 10,201,596) in view of Murray (US 2002/0064533).
Shea teaches compositions comprising a biodegradable carrier particle attached to an antigenic peptide wherein the zeta potential of the particles is from about -100 mV to about 0 mV (col 2, lns 50-62; col 3, ln 59). The particles can have a diameter of from about 0.1-10 mm (col 3, lns 9-16). The antigen coupled to the carrier can comprise an autoimmune antigen, an antigen expressed on a tissue to be transplanted into a subject, or an allergen, all of which read on the antigenic epitopes of instant claim 27 (col 3, lns 17-19). The antigen can be encapsulated in the particle (col 3, lns 57-58). Shea teaches that multiple antigens can be used and that encapsulation removes the competition between various molecules that might occur if the agents were attached to the surface of the particle (col 17, ln 63-67). It is noted that the invention of Shea can be used to treat hepatitis B virus (HBV) infections as well as various other viral infections (col 34, lns 37-45).
Shea does not teach wherein the antigens are separated by a linker in a fusion protein.
Murray teaches HBV core antigen particles comprising epitopes used as delivery systems (Abstract). Mixtures of more than one immunogen may be crosslinked to the same HBV core particle [0014] wherein the immunogens include any molecule containing one or more antigenic epitopes [0018]. The linkage of the immunogens to the HBV core may comprise peptide bonds [0067]. The HBV core may comprise a fusion protein [0031-0034].
It would have been prima facie obvious to incorporate the fusion protein of Murray, which comprises multiple antigenic epitopes linked by cleavable peptide bonds, as the encapsulated antigens of Shea. It is well known that protease enzymes cleave peptide (amide) bonds. It would have been obvious to modify Shea to include the antigen cores of Murray since they are taught as being useful in treating HBV and the particle of Shea is also useful for treating HBV. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to substitute one equivalent component or process for another, each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose (see MPEP 2144.06). The resulting particle, useful for treating HBV, is a biodegradable particle comprising fusion proteins comprising multiple antigenic epitopes linked by cleavable peptide bonds in a core, wherein the zeta potential ranges from about -100 mV to about 0 mV and the diameter ranges from about 0.1-10 mm. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). MPEP 2144.05 (I). Since proteases are known for breaking peptide bonds, the composition of Shea in view of Murray would have necessarily been susceptible to cleavage by an intracellular protease such as cathepsin protease and furin protease and thus renders obvious instant claims 1, 7, 10, 16, 27, 55, and 117-118.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues, on pages 5-6 of their remarks, that Shea does not teach or suggest linked epitopes in a fusion polypeptide and that Murray does not teach a biodegradable particle comprising the fusion proteins. Applicant argues it would not have been obvious to substitute the antigen of Murray in the invention of Shea.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). It would have been obvious to incorporate the fusion protein of Murray, which comprises multiple antigenic epitopes linked by cleavable peptide bonds, as the encapsulated antigens of Shea since the protein of Murray is taught as being useful in treating HBV and the particle of Shea is also useful for treating HBV. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to substitute one equivalent component or process for another, each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose (see MPEP 2144.06). The Applicant has provided no evidence or data to show that combination of Murray and Shea would not have resulted in the claimed invention or would not have been possible.
The Applicant argues, on page 7 of their remarks, that it was not known until the present disclosure that a fusion protein would still induce tolerance in the model like the regular peptide does.
In response, the Applicant has not provided any data to support this assertion. The Applicant points to Examples 4-7 in the specification however these examples are unclear as to what is unexpected. Moreover, these examples are not commensurate in scope with the claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 7, 10, 16, 27, 55, and 117-118 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 5-6, and 8-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,502,436.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘436 claims do not recite the limitations of the instant application together in one claim. The ‘436 claims recite a particle comprising one or more antigens (i.e. a fusion protein) encapsulated within said particle wherein the antigens are covalently attached (i.e. linked) to the particle surface. ‘436 further recites wherein the zeta potential is from about -100 mV to about -15 mV and the diameter is from about 0.3 mm to about 5 mm. The antigens can comprise epitopes associated with an autoimmune disease. Thus, the claims of ‘436 encompass the subject matter of instant claims 1, 7, 10, 16, 27, 55, and 117-118.
Claims 1, 7, 10, 16, 27, 55, and 117-118 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, and 5-9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,510,996.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘996 claims do not recite the limitations of the instant application together in one claim. The ‘996 claims recite a particle comprising one or more antigens (i.e. a fusion protein) encapsulated within said particle wherein the antigens are covalently attached (i.e. linked) to the particle surface. ‘136 further recites wherein the zeta potential is from about -80 mV to about -30 mV and the diameter is from about 0.3 mm to about 5 mm. The antigens can comprise epitopes associated with an autoimmune disease. Thus, the claims of ‘996 encompass the subject matter of instant claims 1, 7, 10, 16, 27, 55, and 117-118.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues, on pages 7-8 of their remarks, that the related issued patents do not teach wherein the fusion proteins comprise intracellularly cleavable linkers.
In response, the related patents teach “covalently attached” antigens. While this broad term is not further limited within the claims, the specification further defines it as including peptide bonds, which are known to be cleaved by proteases (see 12,502,436 specification col 3, lns 32-40).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW S ROSENTHAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613