Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2,7-9,14-17 and 20 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2,7-9,14-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HONG (US 2023/0199542 A1), in view of VAN DER VELDE et al. (US 2024/0306219 A1; hereinafter “VAN”), and further in view of Hu (US 2023/0379743 A1).
Regarding claim 1, HONG teaches a method for information processing (FIG. 2), comprising:
sending, by a terminal device ([0051] FIG. 2 UE), information ([0052] the first camping information) on minimization of drive tests (MDT) configuration to a network device ([0080] the UE sends the first signaling information to the base station through the first RRC signaling, [0081] it indicates to the base station through RRC signaling MDT information in the idle state);
wherein on condition that the information indicates that the terminal device has the first type of MDT configuration ([0081] the UE indicates to the base station that it already has MDT information in the idle state, [0056] after receiving the first signaling information sent by the UE, the base station sends second signaling information, [0087] the base station determines the required type of camping information based on the first signaling information).
However, HONG does not teach information indicating whether the terminal device has a first type of minimization of drive tests (MDT) configuration; the information indicates that the network device is not to send a second type of MDT configuration the terminal device to prevent the second type of MDT configuration from overriding the first type of MDT configuration in the terminal device; wherein the first type of MDT configuration is a signal-based MDT configuration specific to an individual terminal device, and the second type of MDT configuration is a management-based MDT configuration applicable to a plurality of terminal devices; and wherein when both the first type of MDT configuration and the second type of MDT configuration are applicable to the terminal device, the first type of MDT configuration instead of the second type of MDT configuration is applied to the terminal device.
In an analogous art, VAN teaches information indicating whether the terminal device has a first type of minimization of drive tests (MDT) configuration ([0077] the source node indicates to the target node whether the UE is configured with signaling-based logged MDT); the information indicates that the network device is not to send a second type of MDT configuration the terminal device prevent the second type of MDT configuration from overriding the first type of MDT configuration in the terminal device ([0077] a signaling-based logged MDT configuration should not be overwritten following mobility to another RAT, a network-based mechanism is adopted to avoid such MDT configuration being overwritten, and the source node indicates to the target node whether the UE is configured with signaling-based logged MDT, [0099] overwriting avoidance applies to overwriting of a signaling-based logged MDT configuration by a measurement-based logged MDT configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the MDT configuration as taught by VAN within the system of HONG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to avoid overwriting of logged MDT configuration and discard of logged MDT results for improving wireless communication system (VAN [0034]).
However, the combination of HONG and VAN does not teach wherein the first type of MDT configuration is a signal-based MDT configuration specific to an individual terminal device, and the second type of MDT configuration is a management-based MDT configuration applicable to a plurality of terminal devices; and wherein when both the first type of MDT configuration and the second type of MDT configuration are applicable to the terminal device, the first type of MDT configuration instead of the second type of MDT configuration is applied to the terminal device.
In an analogous art, Hu teaches wherein the first type of MDT configuration is ([0142] One is to initiate signaling based MDT) a signal-based MDT configuration specific to an individual terminal device ([0142] The signaling based MDT refers to the MDT for a specific terminal device), and
the second type of MDT configuration ([0142] the other is management-based MDT) is a management-based MDT configuration applicable to a plurality of terminal devices ([0142] for a management-based MDT, selects a terminal device from terminal devices under the access network device); and
wherein when both the first type of MDT configuration and the second type of MDT configuration are applicable to the terminal device ([0303] a terminal device is configured with a management-based measurement configuration while the network provides a signaling-based measurement configuration that device, thereby showing that both configuration types may be applicable to the terminal device, [0448] the measurement type includes both management-based application layer measurement and signaling-based application layer measurement within the same framework),
the first type of MDT configuration instead of the second type of MDT configuration is applied to the terminal device ([0303] the signaling-based QoE measurement configuration has a higher priority than the management-based QoE measurement configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the measurement type as taught by Hu within the system of HONG and VAN. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce mutual impact on QoE measurement for an optimized network and improved quality of experience (Hu [0003]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of HONG, VAN and Hu, specifically HONG teaches storing, by the terminal device (FIG. 7 a memory 703), the information on the MDT configuration ([0053] After measuring the first camping information, the UE stores the measured first camping information, that is, save the measured camping information in the UE, [0059] the camping information includes Minimization of Drive Tests (MDT) information).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of HONG, VAN and Hu, specifically HONG teaches wherein the information on the MDT configuration is carried through radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0061] the UE receiving the idle state measurement configuration information through a third RRC signaling, and the third RRC signaling includes logged measurement configuration (LoggedMeasurementConfiguration) signaling).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of HONG, VAN and Hu, specifically HONG teaches wherein the RRC signaling comprises at least one of: RRCResumeComplete ([0083] the UE in the idle state indicates to the base station that it has the camping information in the idle state by adding the first RRC signaling in the RRC setup complete (RRCSetupComplete) signaling).
Regarding claim 9, HONG teaches a method for information processing (FIG. 2), comprising:
receiving, by a network device (FIG. 2 base station), information on a minimization of drive test (MDT) configuration sent by a terminal device ([0080] base station receives the first signaling information from the UE through the first RRC signaling, [0081] it indicates to the base station through RRC signaling MDT information in the idle state);
wherein the method further comprises: on condition that the information indicates that the terminal device has the first type of MDT configuration ([0081] the UE indicates to the base station that it already has MDT information in the idle state, [0056] after receiving the first signaling information sent by the UE, the base station sends second signaling information, [0087] the base station determines the required type of camping information based on the first signaling information),
However, HONG does not teach information indicating whether the terminal device has a first type of minimization of drive tests (MDT) configuration; skipping sending, by the network device, a second type of MDT configuration to the terminal device to prevent the second type of MDT configuration from overriding the first type of MDT configuration in the terminal device; wherein the first type of MDT configuration is a signal-based MDT configuration specific to an individual terminal device, and the second type of MDT configuration is a management-based MDT configuration applicable to a plurality of terminal devices; and wherein when both the first type of MDT configuration and the second type of MDT configuration are applicable to the terminal device, the first type of MDT configuration instead of the second type of MDT configuration is applied to the terminal device.
In an analogous art, VAN teaches information indicating whether the terminal device has a first type of minimization of drive tests (MDT) configuration ([0077] the source node indicates to the target node whether the UE is configured with signaling-based logged MDT); skipping sending, by the network device, a second type of MDT configuration to the terminal device to prevent the second type of MDT configuration from overriding the first type of MDT configuration in the terminal device ([0077] a signaling-based logged MDT configuration should not be overwritten following mobility to another RAT, a network-based mechanism is adopted to avoid such MDT configuration being overwritten, and the source node indicates to the target node whether the UE is configured with signaling-based logged MDT, [0099] overwriting avoidance applies to overwriting of a signaling-based logged MDT configuration by a measurement-based logged MDT configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the MDT configuration as taught by VAN within the system of HONG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to avoid overwriting of logged MDT configuration and discard of logged MDT results for improving wireless communication system (VAN [0034]).
However, the combination of HONG and VAN does not teach wherein the first type of MDT configuration is a signal-based MDT configuration specific to an individual terminal device, and the second type of MDT configuration is a management-based MDT configuration applicable to a plurality of terminal devices; and wherein when both the first type of MDT configuration and the second type of MDT configuration are applicable to the terminal device, the first type of MDT configuration instead of the second type of MDT configuration is applied to the terminal device.
In an analogous art, Hu teaches wherein the first type of MDT configuration is ([0142] One is to initiate signaling based MDT) a signal-based MDT configuration specific to an individual terminal device ([0142] The signaling based MDT refers to the MDT for a specific terminal device), and
the second type of MDT configuration ([0142] the other is management-based MDT) is a management-based MDT configuration applicable to a plurality of terminal devices ([0142] for a management-based MDT, selects a terminal device from terminal devices under the access network device); and
wherein when both the first type of MDT configuration and the second type of MDT configuration are applicable to the terminal device ([0303] a terminal device is configured with a management-based measurement configuration while the network provides a signaling-based measurement configuration that device, thereby showing that both configuration types may be applicable to the terminal device, [0448] the measurement type includes both management-based application layer measurement and signaling-based application layer measurement within the same framework),
the first type of MDT configuration instead of the second type of MDT configuration is applied to the terminal device ([0303] the signaling-based QoE measurement configuration has a higher priority than the management-based QoE measurement configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the measurement type as taught by Hu within the system of HONG and VAN. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce mutual impact on QoE measurement for an optimized network and improved quality of experience (Hu [0003]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of HONG, VAN and Hu, specifically HONG teaches wherein the information on the MDT configuration is carried through radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0061] the UE receiving the idle state measurement configuration information through a third RRC signaling, and the third RRC signaling includes logged measurement configuration (LoggedMeasurementConfiguration) signaling).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of HONG, VAN and Hu, specifically HONG teaches wherein the RRC signaling comprises at least one of: RRCSetupComplete ([0083] the UE in the idle state indicates to the base station that it has the camping information in the idle state by adding the first RRC signaling in the RRC setup complete (RRCSetupComplete) signaling).
Regarding claim 16, HONG teaches a terminal device (FIG. 7 the electronic device 700), comprising: a transceiver (FIG. 7 a transceiver 704); a processor (FIG. 7 a processor 701) coupled with the transceiver; and a memory (FIG. 7 a memory 703) storing a computer program which, when executed by the processor ([0154] The memory 703 is used for storing application program codes for executing the solutions of the present disclosure, and the execution is controlled by the processor 701), causes the terminal device to:
send information on a minimization of drive tests (MDT) configuration to a network device ([0080] sending the first signaling information indicating that the first camping information has been measured to the base station through the first radio resource control (RRC) signaling, [0081] it indicates to the base station through RRC signaling MDT information in the idle state);
wherein on condition that the information indicates that the terminal device has the first type of MDT configuration ([0081] the UE indicates to the base station that it already has MDT information in the idle state, [0056] after receiving the first signaling information sent by the UE, the base station sends second signaling information, [0087] the base station determines the required type of camping information based on the first signaling information).
However, HONG does not teach information indicating whether the terminal device has a first type of minimization of drive tests (MDT) configuration; the information indicates that the network device is not to send a second type of MDT configuration to the terminal device to prevent the second type of MDT configuration from overriding the first type of MDT configuration in the terminal device; wherein the first type of MDT configuration is a signal-based MDT configuration specific to an individual terminal device, and the second type of MDT configuration is a management-based MDT configuration applicable to a plurality of terminal devices; and wherein when both the first type of MDT configuration and the second type of MDT configuration are applicable to the terminal device, the first type of MDT configuration instead of the second type of MDT configuration is applied to the terminal device.
In an analogous art, VAN teaches information indicating whether the terminal device has a first type of minimization of drive tests (MDT) configuration ([0077] the source node indicates to the target node whether the UE is configured with signaling-based logged MDT); the information indicates that the network device is not to send a second type of MDT configuration to the terminal device prevent the second type of MDT configuration from overriding the first type of MDT configuration in the terminal device ([0077] a signaling-based logged MDT configuration should not be overwritten following mobility to another RAT, a network-based mechanism is adopted to avoid such MDT configuration being overwritten, and the source node indicates to the target node whether the UE is configured with signaling-based logged MDT, [0099] overwriting avoidance applies to overwriting of a signaling-based logged MDT configuration by a measurement-based logged MDT configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the MDT configuration as taught by VAN within the system of HONG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to avoid overwriting of logged MDT configuration and discard of logged MDT results for improving wireless communication system (VAN [0034]).
However, the combination of HONG and VAN does not teach wherein the first type of MDT configuration is a signal-based MDT configuration specific to an individual terminal device, and the second type of MDT configuration is a management-based MDT configuration applicable to a plurality of terminal devices; and wherein when both the first type of MDT configuration and the second type of MDT configuration are applicable to the terminal device, the first type of MDT configuration instead of the second type of MDT configuration is applied to the terminal device.
In an analogous art, Hu teaches wherein the first type of MDT configuration is ([0142] One is to initiate signaling based MDT) a signal-based MDT configuration specific to an individual terminal device ([0142] The signaling based MDT refers to the MDT for a specific terminal device), and
the second type of MDT configuration ([0142] the other is management-based MDT) is a management-based MDT configuration applicable to a plurality of terminal devices ([0142] for a management-based MDT, selects a terminal device from terminal devices under the access network device); and
wherein when both the first type of MDT configuration and the second type of MDT configuration are applicable to the terminal device ([0303] a terminal device is configured with a management-based measurement configuration while the network provides a signaling-based measurement configuration that device, thereby showing that both configuration types may be applicable to the terminal device, [0448] the measurement type includes both management-based application layer measurement and signaling-based application layer measurement within the same framework),
the first type of MDT configuration instead of the second type of MDT configuration is applied to the terminal device ([0303] the signaling-based QoE measurement configuration has a higher priority than the management-based QoE measurement configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the measurement type as taught by Hu within the system of HONG and VAN. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce mutual impact on QoE measurement for an optimized network and improved quality of experience (Hu [0003]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of HONG, VAN and Hu, specifically HONG teaches wherein the computer program is further executed by the processor to cause the terminal device to ([0154] The memory 703 is used for storing application program codes for executing the solutions of the present disclosure, and the execution is controlled by the processor 701):
store the information on the MDT configuration ([0053] After measuring the first camping information, the UE stores the measured first camping information, that is, save the measured camping information in the UE, [0059] the camping information includes Minimization of Drive Tests (MDT) information).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of HONG, VAN and Hu, specifically HONG teaches a network device ([0154] FIG. 7 700 implement the actions of the base station device), comprising:
a transceiver (FIG. 7 a transceiver 704); a processor (FIG. 7 a processor 701) coupled with the transceiver; and
a memory storing a computer program which, when executed by the processor ([0154] The memory 703 is used for storing application program codes for executing the solutions of the present disclosure, and the execution is controlled by the processor 701), causes the network device to perform the method of claim 9.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2013/0223233 A1 (ZHAO et al.) discloses a method for minimization of drive tests, a method for collecting terminal information, a terminal, and a network element.
US 2023/0319598 A1 (YANG et al.) discloses methods for negotiating minimization of drive test (MDT) parameters for network (NW) optimization.
US 2023/0328574 A1 (LIU et al.) discloses methods for information processing, a terminal device, and a network device.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413