Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this
application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action
has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on
02/03/2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2,7-9,14-17 and 20 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2,7-9,14-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HONG (US 2023/0199542 A1), in view of Hu (US 2023/0379743 A1).
Regarding claim 1, HONG teaches a method for information processing (FIG. 2), comprising: sending, by a terminal device ([0051] FIG. 2 UE), information on minimization of drive tests (MDT) configuration to a network device ([0080] sending the first signaling information indicating that the first camping information has been measured to the base station through the first radio resource control (RRC) signaling, [0081] it indicates to the base station through RRC signaling MDT information in the idle state);
wherein the information on MDT configuration indicates whether the terminal device has a first type of MDT configuration ([0052] the first camping information) ([0052] a Minimization of Drive Tests (MDT) configuration configure a measurement behavior in the idle state, so that when the UE is in the idle state, the corresponding camping information (that is, the first camping information) can be measured, [0082] the UE in the idle state indicates to the base station that it has the camping information in the idle state by adding the first RRC signaling);
wherein on condition that the information on MDT configuration indicates that the terminal device has the first type of MDT configuration ([0052] the first camping information including Minimization of Drive Tests (MDT) information; [0059]), ([0081] it indicates to the base station through first RRC signaling that it already has first camping information in the idle state (for example, MDT information in the idle state) during the process of re-establishing the connection with the base station and changing to the connected state),
the information on MDT configuration is used to instruct the network device not to regard the terminal device as a candidate terminal device for receiving and/or applying a second type of MDT configuration ([0084] the second camping information) ([0082] the UE in the idle state indicates that it has the camping information in the idle state by adding the first RRC signaling to the RRC connection complete signaling, [0084] after the second camping information is sent to the base station, the idle state camping configuration information configured by the base station based on the second camping information also be received).
However, HONG does not teach wherein the first type of MDT configuration is a signal-based MDT configuration specific to an individual terminal device, and the second type of MDT configuration is a management-based MDT configuration applicable to a plurality of terminal devices; and wherein when both the first type of MDT configuration and the second type of MDT configuration are applicable to the terminal device, the first type of MDT configuration instead of the second type of MDT configuration is applied to the terminal device.
In an analogous art, Hu teaches wherein the first type of MDT configuration is ([0142] One is to initiate signaling based MDT) a signal-based MDT configuration specific to an individual terminal device ([0142] The signaling based MDT refers to the MDT for a specific terminal device), and
the second type of MDT configuration ([0142] the other is management-based MDT) is a management-based MDT configuration applicable to a plurality of terminal devices ([0142] for a management-based MDT, selects a terminal device from terminal devices under the access network device); and
wherein when both the first type of MDT configuration and the second type of MDT configuration are applicable to the terminal device ([0303] a terminal device is configured with a management-based measurement configuration while the network provides a signaling-based measurement configuration that device, thereby showing that both configuration types may be applicable to the terminal device, [0448] the measurement type includes both management-based application layer measurement and signaling-based application layer measurement within the same framework),
the first type of MDT configuration instead of the second type of MDT configuration is applied to the terminal device ([0303] the signaling-based QoE measurement configuration has a higher priority than the management-based QoE measurement configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the measurement type as taught by Hu within the parameter HONG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce mutual impact on QoE measurement for an optimized network and improved quality of experience (Hu [0003]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of HONG and Hu, specifically HONG teaches storing, by the terminal device (FIG. 7 a memory 703), the information on the MDT configuration ([0053] After measuring the first camping information, the UE stores the measured first camping information, that is, save the measured camping information in the UE, [0059] the camping information includes Minimization of Drive Tests (MDT) information).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of HONG and Hu, specifically HONG teaches wherein the information on the MDT configuration is carried through radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0061] the UE receiving the idle state measurement configuration information through a third RRC signaling, and the third RRC signaling includes logged measurement configuration (LoggedMeasurementConfiguration) signaling).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of HONG and Hu, specifically HONG teaches wherein the RRC signaling comprises at least one of: RRCResumeComplete ([0083] the UE in the idle state indicates to the base station that it has the camping information in the idle state by adding the first RRC signaling in the RRC setup complete (RRCSetupComplete) signaling).
Regarding claim 9, HONG teaches a method for information processing (FIG. 2), comprising: receiving, by a network device (FIG. 2 base station), information on a minimization of drive tests (MDT) configuration sent by a terminal device ([0080] sending the first signaling information indicating that the first camping information has been measured to the base station through the first radio resource control (RRC) signaling, [0081] it indicates to the base station through RRC signaling MDT information in the idle state);
wherein the information on the MDT configuration indicates whether the terminal device has a first type of MDT configuration ([0052] the first camping information) ([0052] a Minimization of Drive Tests (MDT) configuration configure a measurement behavior in the idle state, so that when the UE is in the idle state, the corresponding camping information (that is, the first camping information) can be measured, [0082] the UE in the idle state indicates to the base station that it has the camping information in the idle state by adding the first RRC signaling);
wherein the method further comprising: skipping regarding, by the network device, the terminal device as a candidate terminal device for receiving and/or applying a second type of MDT configuration ([0084] the second camping information) ([0082] the UE in the idle state indicates to the base station that it has the camping information by adding the first RRC signaling to the RRC connection complete signaling, [0052] when the base station stores a Minimization of Drive Tests (MDT) configuration for the UE in the connected state, it configures a measurement behavior in the idle state for the UE; see also [0084]),
on condition that the information on the MDT configuration indicates that the terminal device has the first type of MDT configuration ([0052] the first camping information including Minimization of Drive Tests (MDT) information; [0059]), ([0081] it indicates to the base station through first RRC signaling that it already has first camping information in the idle state (for example, MDT information in the idle state) during the process of re-establishing the connection with the base station and changing to the connected state).
However, HONG does not teach wherein the first type of MDT configuration is a signal-based MDT configuration specific to an individual terminal device, and the second type of MDT configuration is a management-based MDT configuration applicable to a plurality of terminal devices; and wherein when both the first type of MDT configuration and the second type of MDT configuration are applicable to the terminal device, the first type of MDT configuration instead of the second type of MDT configuration is applied to the terminal device.
In an analogous art, Hu teaches wherein the first type of MDT configuration is ([0142] One is to initiate signaling based MDT) a signal-based MDT configuration specific to an individual terminal device ([0142] The signaling based MDT refers to the MDT for a specific terminal device), and
the second type of MDT configuration ([0142] the other is management-based MDT) is a management-based MDT configuration applicable to a plurality of terminal devices ([0142] for a management-based MDT, selects a terminal device from terminal devices under the access network device); and
wherein when both the first type of MDT configuration and the second type of MDT configuration are applicable to the terminal device ([0303] a terminal device is configured with a management-based measurement configuration while the network provides a signaling-based measurement configuration that device, thereby showing that both configuration types may be applicable to the terminal device, [0448] the measurement type includes both management-based application layer measurement and signaling-based application layer measurement within the same framework),
the first type of MDT configuration instead of the second type of MDT configuration is applied to the terminal device ([0303] the signaling-based QoE measurement configuration has a higher priority than the management-based QoE measurement configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the measurement type as taught by Hu within the parameter HONG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce mutual impact on QoE measurement for an optimized network and improved quality of experience (Hu [0003]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of HONG and Hu, specifically HONG teaches wherein the information on the MDT configuration is carried through radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0061] the UE receiving the idle state measurement configuration information through a third RRC signaling, and the third RRC signaling includes logged measurement configuration (LoggedMeasurementConfiguration) signaling).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of HONG and Hu, specifically HONG teaches wherein the RRC signaling comprises at least one of: RRCSetupComplete ([0083] the UE in the idle state indicates to the base station that it has the camping information in the idle state by adding the first RRC signaling in the RRC setup complete (RRCSetupComplete) signaling).
Regarding claim 16, HONG teaches a terminal device (FIG. 7 the electronic device 700), comprising: a transceiver (FIG. 7 a transceiver 704); a processor (FIG. 7 a processor 701) coupled with the transceiver; and a memory (FIG. 7 a memory 703) storing a computer program which, when executed by the processor ([0154] The memory 703 is used for storing application program codes for executing the solutions of the present disclosure, and the execution is controlled by the processor 701), causes the terminal device to:
send information on a minimization of drive tests (MDT) configuration to a network device ([0080] sending the first signaling information indicating that the first camping information has been measured to the base station through the first radio resource control (RRC) signaling, [0081] it indicates to the base station through RRC signaling MDT information in the idle state);
wherein the information on the MDT configuration indicates whether the terminal device has a first type of MDT configuration ([0052] the first camping information) ([0052] a Minimization of Drive Tests (MDT) configuration configure a measurement behavior in the idle state, so that when the UE is in the idle state, the corresponding camping information (that is, the first camping information) can be measured, [0082] the UE in the idle state indicates to the base station that it has the camping information in the idle state by adding the first RRC signaling);
wherein on condition that the information on the MDT configuration indicates that the terminal device has the first type of MDT configuration ([0052] the first camping information including Minimization of Drive Tests (MDT) information; [0059]), ([0081] it indicates to the base station through first RRC signaling that it already has first camping information in the idle state (for example, MDT information in the idle state) during the process of re-establishing the connection with the base station and changing to the connected state), the information on the MDT configuration is used to instruct the network device not to regard the terminal device as a candidate terminal device for receiving and/or applying a second type of MDT configuration ([0084] the second camping information) ([0082] the UE in the idle state indicates that it has the camping information in the idle state by adding the first RRC signaling to the RRC connection complete signaling, [0084] after the second camping information is sent to the base station, the idle state camping configuration information configured by the base station based on the second camping information also be received).
However, HONG does not teach wherein the first type of MDT configuration is a signal-based MDT configuration specific to an individual terminal device, and the second type of MDT configuration is a management-based MDT configuration applicable to a plurality of terminal devices; and wherein when both the first type of MDT configuration and the second type of MDT configuration are applicable to the terminal device, the first type of MDT configuration instead of the second type of MDT configuration is applied to the terminal device.
In an analogous art, Hu teaches wherein the first type of MDT configuration is ([0142] One is to initiate signaling based MDT) a signal-based MDT configuration specific to an individual terminal device ([0142] The signaling based MDT refers to the MDT for a specific terminal device), and
the second type of MDT configuration ([0142] the other is management-based MDT) is a management-based MDT configuration applicable to a plurality of terminal devices ([0142] for a management-based MDT, selects a terminal device from terminal devices under the access network device); and
wherein when both the first type of MDT configuration and the second type of MDT configuration are applicable to the terminal device ([0303] a terminal device is configured with a management-based measurement configuration while the network provides a signaling-based measurement configuration that device, thereby showing that both configuration types may be applicable to the terminal device, [0448] the measurement type includes both management-based application layer measurement and signaling-based application layer measurement within the same framework),
the first type of MDT configuration instead of the second type of MDT configuration is applied to the terminal device ([0303] the signaling-based QoE measurement configuration has a higher priority than the management-based QoE measurement configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the measurement type as taught by Hu within the parameter HONG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce mutual impact on QoE measurement for an optimized network and improved quality of experience (Hu [0003]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of HONG and Hu, specifically HONG teaches wherein the computer program is further executed by the processor to cause the terminal device to ([0154] The memory 703 is used for storing application program codes for executing the solutions of the present disclosure, and the execution is controlled by the processor 701):
store the information on the MDT configuration ([0053] After measuring the first camping information, the UE stores the measured first camping information, that is, save the measured camping information in the UE, [0059] the camping information includes Minimization of Drive Tests (MDT) information).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of HONG and Hu, specifically HONG teaches a network device ([0154] FIG. 7 700 implement the actions of the base station device), comprising:
a transceiver (FIG. 7 a transceiver 704); a processor (FIG. 7 a processor 701) coupled with the transceiver; and
a memory storing a computer program which, when executed by the processor ([0154] The memory 703 is used for storing application program codes for executing the solutions of the present disclosure, and the execution is controlled by the processor 701), causes the network device to perform the method of claim 9.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2017/0347279 A1 (Bejerano et al.) discloses dynamic monitoring and management capabilities for use in wireless communication systems.
US 2022/0030454 A1 (WANG et al.) discloses a reporting method of minimization of drive tests (MDT) measurement and an access network device.
US 2025/0133620 A1 (LIU et al.) discloses minimization of drive test (MDT) for multi radio access technology (RAT) dual connectivity.
/T.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413