DETAILED ACTION
Claims 13 and 27-29 have been amended. Currently, claims 1-4 and 7-29 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/3/2026 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Regarding the Applicant's argument that Nielson fails to use the term "length" and thus teach relating the mathematical compensation to a length of the ultrasound measurement path or a length change, the Examiner respectfully disagrees (see Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment, filed 6/3/2026).
Specifically, as previously referenced, Nielson teaches that a strain gauge is used to compensate the ultrasonic flow measurements utilizing the formulas in para. [0084]-[0085]. Furthermore, the formulas describe that the change in resistance of the strain gauge depends on the thermal expansion coefficient of the of the flow tube and of the strain gauge, wherein the thermal expansion coefficients refer to the temperature dependence of material dimensions.
Thus, the Examiner maintains that upon viewing the teachings of Riess as modified by Wetzel and Nielson, Philips, Straub, and Hellevang, that one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been taught and motivated to make the inventions of claim 1 as previously presented and claims 27-29 as currently amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-13, 16-21, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riess et al. (DE 10 2017 005 207 A1, hereinafter Riess) in view of Wetzel (DE 10 2019 007 608 A1, hereinafter Wetzel) and Nielson et al. (US PGPUB 2017/0153137 A1, hereinafter Nielson).
Regarding claim 1, Riess teaches a method for ascertaining a fluid pressure in a fluid supply network for fluid (see translation Abstract and page 1, para. 3, device and method for determining fluid pressure in a fluid line network), the method comprising: providing a first ultrasound transducer (5a) and a second ultrasound transducer (5b); using at least one of the ultrasound transducers to emit at least one ultrasound signal, and measuring at least one ultrasound time of flight of the ultrasound signal in the fluid along an ultrasound measurement path (see Fig. 1, 2, and translation page 5, para. 3, transducers 5a/5b emit and measure time of flight along measurement path 7); determining a flow velocity or a quantity proportional to the flow velocity or a throughput from the at least one measured ultrasound time of flight (see translation page 2, para. 6 through page 3, para. 4, flow rate determined by the ultrasound time of flights as described); determining the fluid pressure from the at least one measured ultrasound time of flight aided by a mathematical compensation (see translation page 5, para. 7 through page 6, para. 3, fluid pressure determined based on the time of flight and aided by a mathematical compensation based on the mean phase-frequency offset PMO(M)).
Riess fails to specifically teach measuring or determining and using a temperature or a temperature change or a temperature change of the temperature from a reference temperature, for the mathematical compensation.
Wetzel teaches a method and device for measuring fluid pressure via ultrasonic transducers (see Fig. 1 and Abstract), wherein the fluid pressure is determined using compensation from a temperature or a temperature change of the fluid or a temperature change of the temperature from a reference temperature of the fluid, for the mathematical compensation (see translation page 4, para. 1, pressure measurements compensated for temperature fluctuations as described).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Riess with the temperature compensation methods of Wetzel. This is because the speed of sound is temperature dependent and thus time of flight measurements benefit from temperature fluctuation compensation as suggested by Wetzel (see translation page 4, para. 1).
Furthermore, Riess as modified by Wetzel fails to teach relating the mathematical compensation to at least one influence selected from a following group of influences: a length of the ultrasound measurement path or a length change of the ultrasound measurement path caused by thermal expansion.
Nielson teaches a method of compensating an ultrasonic flow measurements due to the influence of a length of the ultrasound measurement path or a length change of the ultrasound measurement path caused by thermal expansion (see Fig. 2; see also Abstract; see also [0037] and [0084]-[0085], discussion of compensation of ultrasonic transit signals due to thermal expansion).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Riess as modified by Wetzel such that thermal expansion effects are compensated for as suggested by Nielson. This allows for the compensation of transit time measurements due to changes in the dimensions of the flow tube due to thermal effects as suggested by Nielson (see [0040]), and thereby increasing the accuracy of measurements taken.
Regarding claim 2, Riess as modified by Wetzel and Nielson above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, Riess teaches emitting an ultrasound signal by the first ultrasound transducer, receiving the ultrasound signal by the second ultrasound transducer, and measuring the ultrasound time of flight (see Fig. 2 and translation page 5, para. 3, first transducer 5a emits ultrasound for detection by second transducer 5b for measuring time of flight in a forward direction); emitting an ultrasound signal by the second ultrasound transducer, receiving the ultrasound signal by the first ultrasound transducer, and measuring the ultrasound time of flight (see Fig. 2 and translation page 5, para. 3, second transducer 5b emits ultrasound for detection by first transducer 5a for measuring time of flight in a backward direction); determining the flow velocity or a quantity proportional to the flow velocity or the throughput from at least one of the measured ultrasound times of flight or a difference of the measured ultrasound times of flight or a difference of inverses of the measured ultrasound times of flight (see translation page 6, para. 5, difference in time of flights in forward and backward direction used to determine flow rate).
Regarding claim 3, Riess as modified by Wetzel and Nielson above teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 2.
Furthermore, Riess teaches ascertaining the fluid pressure aided by the mathematical compensation from at least one of: the measured ultrasound times of flight or time-of-flight difference of the measured ultrasound times of flight (see translation page 5, para. 4-5, time of flight data, including phase-frequency offsets, utilized to determined fluid pressure as described).
Regarding claim 4, Riess as modified by Wetzel and Nielson above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, Riess teaches deviating the ultrasound measurement path one or more times by using reflectors (see Fig. 1, use of reflectors 6a/6b to deviate the ultrasound measurement path).
Regarding claim 7, Riess as modified by Wetzel and Nielson above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Riess as modified by Wetzel and Nielson above fails to specifically teach providing at least one of: a connection housing having compartments for the ultrasound transducers, or a respective ultrasound transducer housing for each of the ultrasound transducers each having a respective wall with a thickness through which at least one ultrasound signal passes.
However, Riess does teach that the method includes utilizing a connection housing (see translation page 4, para. 2).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to utilize compartments or respective transducer housings in the method of Riess as modified by Wetzel and Nielson above. This is because placing the transducers within connection housing compartments allows for protecting the transducers from being damaged during installation.
Regarding claim 8, Riess as modified by Wetzel and Nielson above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, Riess teaches carrying out the mathematical compensation exclusively based on mathematical calculations (see Fig. 2 and translation page 5, para. 7 through page 6, para. 3, fluid pressure determined based on the time of flight and aided by a mathematical compensation based on the mean phase-frequency offset PMO(M) via mathematical calculations, wherein the mean phase-frequency offset is a component of the ultrasound measurement path lying in the fluid).
Regarding claim 9, Riess as modified by Wetzel and Nielson above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, Riess teaches providing the mathematical compensation with at least one input variable X1, X2, …XN and at least one output variable Y, the at least one output variable Y being calculated aided by a function f from the at least one input variable X1, X2, …XN according to Y = f (X1, X2, …XN) (see Fig. 2-3 and translation page 6, para. 1-3, output variable PFO(M) dependent on input variables PFO(V) and PFO(R) as functions of pressure P (the input variables).
Regarding claim 10, Riess as modified by Wetzel and Nielson above teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 9.
Furthermore, Riess teaches calculating the at least one output variable Y of the mathematical compensation independently of at least one of reference measurements or characteristic diagram determinations (see Fig. 2-3 and translation page 6, para. 1-4, output variable PFO(M) dependent on input variables PFO(V) and PFO(R) as functions of pressure P (the input variables); wherein the absolute pressure (based on calibration) or pressure change may be determined, considered by the Examiner as independent of any reference measurements).
Regarding claim 11, Riess as modified by Wetzel and Nielson above teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 9.
Furthermore, Riess teaches basing the at least one input variable X1, X2, …XN on at least one of a characteristic diagram or a characteristic curve or a measurement value or empirical data or a comparative measurement or a calibration (see Fig. 2-3 and translation page 6, para. 1-4, output variable PFO(M) dependent on input variables PFO(V) and PFO(R) as functions of pressure P (the input variables); wherein the absolute pressure may be determined based on characteristic curve of Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 12, Riess as modified by Wetzel and Nielson above teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 9.
Furthermore, Riess teaches basing the at least one output variable Y on at least one nonlinear relationship (see Fig. 2-3 and translation page 6, para. 1-4, output variable PFO(M) dependent on input variables PFO(V) and PFO(R) as functions of pressure P (the input variables); wherein the absolute pressure may be determined based on nonlinear characteristic curve of Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 13, Riess as modified by Wetzel and Nielson above teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 7.
Furthermore, Riess teaches relating the mathematical compensation to at least one effect selected from a following group of effects: an ultrasound speed of the fluid, or an ultrasound speed change of the fluid, or the flow velocity (see translation page 5, para. 7 through page 6, para. 3, fluid pressure determined based changes in the phrase-frequency offset due to changes in ultrasound speed of the fluid under different pressures).
Regarding claim 16, Riess as modified by Wetzel and Nielson above teaches all of the limitations of claims 1, 7, and 13.
Riess as modified by Wetzel and Nielson above fails to specifically teach determining at least one of the length of the ultrasound measurement path or the length change of the ultrasound measurement path or the angle or the angle change of the ultrasound measurement path based on at least one of a position or a position change or the angle or the angle change of one of the ultrasound transducers.
However, as described above, Wetzel teaches a method and device for measuring fluid pressure via ultrasonic transducers (see Fig. 1 and Abstract), including determining at least one of the length of the ultrasound measurement path or the length change of the ultrasound measurement path or the angle or the angle change of the ultrasound measurement path based on at least one of a position or a position change or the angle or the angle change of one of the ultrasound transducers (see Abstract).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Riess as modified by Wetzel and Nielson above with the methods of determining fluid pressure based on the position changing ultrasound transducers of Wetzel. This would provide a backup method of accurately determining fluid pressure without the need for additional sensors as described by Wetzel (see translation page 2, para. 2).
Regarding claim 17, Riess as modified by Wetzel and Nielson above teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 9.
Furthermore, Riess teaches ascertaining a fluid pressure from at least one of a look-up table or a characteristic diagram or a reference measurement or a calibration, and using the ascertained fluid pressure as the at least one input variable X1, X2, …XN for the determination of the fluid pressure (see Fig. 2-3 and translation page 6, para. 1-4 and page 3, para. 7, output variable PFO(M) dependent on input variables PFO(V) and PFO(R) as functions of pressure P (the input variables); wherein the absolute pressure may be determined based on nonlinear characteristic curve of Fig. 3 saved in a look-up table).
Regarding claim 18, Riess as modified by Wetzel and Nielson above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, Riess teaches an ultrasonic fluid meter for installation in a fluid supply network (see Fig. 1 and translation page 4, para. 2, ultrasonic fluid meter shown and described for fluid supply network), the ultrasonic fluid meter comprising: a connection housing with an inlet and an outlet (see Fig. 1, connection housing 2 with inlet and outlet shown); at least one ultrasound measurement path provided in said connection housing for measuring along said at least one ultrasound measurement path at least one ultrasound time of flight of an ultrasound signal propagating along said ultrasound measurement path in a fluid (see Fig. 1, ultrasound measurement path 7 for time of flight measurements); at least a first and a second ultrasound transducer, each of said first or second ultrasound transducers respectively receiving or emitting the ultrasound signal propagating along said ultrasound measurement path (see Fig. 1, 2, and translation page 5, para. 3, transducers 5a/5b emit and measure time of flight along measurement path 7); and a control and calculation unit configured to at least one of carry out the method for determining the fluid pressure according to claim 1 (see Fig. 1 and 2, control and calculation unit 9 carries out the method of claim 1 as described above).
Regarding claim 19, Riess as modified by Wetzel and Nielson above teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 18.
Furthermore, Riess teaches that said ultrasound measurement path is disposed at an angle or an acute angle relative to an axis of said connection housing (see Fig. 1, measurement path 7 includes portions prior to reflectors 6a/6b at a right angle to the axis of the connection housing 2).
Regarding claim 20, Riess as modified by Wetzel and Nielson above teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 18.
Riess as modified by Wetzel and Nielson above fails to specifically teach a temperature sensor for recording a temperature of the fluid.
However, as described above, Wetzel teaches a method and device for measuring fluid pressure via ultrasonic transducers (see Fig. 1 and Abstract), wherein the fluid pressure is determined using compensation from a temperature or a temperature change of the fluid or a temperature change of the temperature from a reference temperature of the fluid, for the mathematical compensation (see translation page 4, para. 1, pressure measurements compensated for temperature fluctuations as described).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Riess as modified by Wetzel and Nielson above with the temperature sensor of Wetzel. This is because the speed of sound is temperature dependent and thus time of flight measurements benefit from temperature fluctuation compensation as suggested by Wetzel (see translation page 4, para. 1).
Regarding claim 21, Riess as modified by Wetzel and Nielson above teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 18.
Riess as modified by Wetzel and Nielson above fails to specifically teach that said ultrasound transducers are mounted in compartments in said connection housing.
However, Riess does teach that the device includes a connection housing (see translation page 4, para. 2).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to utilize compartments or respective transducer housings in the device of Riess as modified by Wetzel and Nielson above. This is because placing the transducers within connection housing compartments allows for protecting the transducers from being damaged during installation.
Regarding claim 26, Riess as modified by Wetzel and Nielson above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, Riess teaches relating the mathematical compensation to an ultrasound time-of-flight component within the ultrasound measurement path lying in the fluid or a change of the ultrasound time-of-flight component within the ultrasound measurement path lying in the fluid (see Fig. 2 and translation page 5, para. 7 through page 6, para. 3, fluid pressure determined based on the time of flight and aided by a mathematical compensation based on the mean phase-frequency offset PMO(M), wherein the mean phase-frequency offset is a component of the ultrasound measurement path lying in the fluid).
Claims 14, 15, and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riess in view of Wetzel and Nielson as applied to claims 1 and 18 above, and further in view of Straub (US PGPUB 2012/0204620 A1, hereinafter Straub).
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Riess as modified by Wetzel and Nielson above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Riess as modified by Wetzel and Nielson above fails to teach compensating the latency of the signal processing or a change of the latency of the signal processing by taking a difference of at least one measured ultrasound time of flight and at least one latency component; and determining the at least one latency component from at least one of a time offset between the at least one transmission signal and the at least one transmitted ultrasound signal or a time offset between the at least one reception signal and the at least one received ultrasound signal.
Straub teaches a method for an ultrasonic flow meter (see Abstract; see also Fig. 3; see also claims 1 and 5, method of calibrating an ultrasonic flow meter described), including compensating the latency of the signal processing or a change of the latency of the signal processing by taking a difference of at least one measured ultrasound time of flight and at least one latency component (see claim 1 and 5); and determining the at least one latency component from at least one of a time offset between the at least one transmission signal and the at least one transmitted ultrasound signal or a time offset between the at least one reception signal and the at least one received ultrasound signal (see claims 1 and 5; see also [0045], discussion of latency compensation due to latency components in the system described).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Riess as modified by Wetzel and Nielson above with the latency compensation methods of Straub. This is because in order to accurately determine fluid flow velocity, signal transit times must be accurately determined as suggested by Straub (see [0003]).
Regarding claims 22 and 23, Riess as modified by Wetzel and Nielson above teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 18.
Riess as modified by Wetzel and Nielson above fails to specifically teach that said at least one ultrasound measurement path is one of a multiplicity of ultrasound measurement paths for determining at least one of a multiplicity of measured ultrasound times of flight; wherein said multiplicity of ultrasound measurement paths intersect each other and are disposed at an angle relative to a cross section of said connection housing.
Straub teaches an ultrasonic flowmeter (see Fig. 1C and [0018], ultrasonic flowmeter shown and described), wherein at least one ultrasound measurement path is one of a multiplicity of ultrasound measurement paths for determining at least one of a multiplicity of measured ultrasound times of flight (see Fig. 1C and [0018], ultrasound measurement path includes multiple paths shown); wherein said multiplicity of ultrasound measurement paths intersect each other and are disposed at an angle relative to a cross section of said connection housing (see Fig. 1C, multiple paths intersect and at an angle relative to a cross section of the connection housing 111).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Riess as modified by Wetzel and Nielson above with the multipath configuration of Straub. This allows for the determination of chordal flow velocities as described by Straub (see [0018]).
Regarding claim 24, Riess as modified by Wetzel, Nielson, and Straub above teaches all of the limitations of claims 1, 18, and 23.
Furthermore, Riess teaches that said control and calculation unit is configured to carry out a centerweighted determination of at least one of the pressures or the flow velocities or the quantities proportional to the flow velocities or the throughputs (see translation page 5, para. 7 through page 6, para. 1, measured values averaged to determine the pressures (interpreted by the Examiner as centerweighted)).
Regarding claim 25, Riess as modified by Wetzel, Nielson, and Straub above teaches all of the limitations of claims 1, 18, and 22.
Riess as modified by Wetzel, Nielson, and Straub above fails to specifically teach that said control and calculation unit is configured to determine at least one of a weighted average value or equally weighted average value of the measured ultrasound times of flight or a weighted average value or equally weighted average value of the pressures or a weighted average value or equally weighted average value of the flow velocities or of the quantities proportional to the flow velocities or the throughputs.
However, as described above, Riess does teach that said control and calculation unit is configured to carry out a centerweighted (averaged) determination of at least one of the pressures or the flow velocities or the quantities proportional to the flow velocities or the throughputs (see translation page 5, para. 7 through page 6, para. 1, measured values averaged to determine the pressures (interpreted by the Examiner as centerweighted)).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to further modify the device of Riess as modified by Wetzel, Nielson, and Straub above such that additional weighted averages were utilized to determine the flow velocities. This is because one of ordinary skill in the art would have applied one of several known mathematical techniques in order to smooth, average, weight, etc. the data in order to provide an accurate reading of the fluid pressure.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riess in view of Wetzel, Phillips et al. (US PGPUB 2023/0273057 A1, hereinafter Phillips), and Nielson.
Regarding claim 27, Riess teaches a method for ascertaining a fluid pressure in a fluid supply network for fluid (see translation Abstract and page 1, para. 3, device and method for determining fluid pressure in a fluid line network), the method comprising: providing a first ultrasound transducer (5a) and a second ultrasound transducer (5b); using at least one of the ultrasound transducers to emit at least one ultrasound signal, and measuring at least one ultrasound time of flight of the ultrasound signal in the fluid along an ultrasound measurement path (see Fig. 1, 2, and translation page 5, para. 3, transducers 5a/5b emit and measure time of flight along measurement path 7); determining a flow velocity or a quantity proportional to the flow velocity or a throughput from the at least one measured ultrasound time of flight (see translation page 2, para. 6 through page 3, para. 4, flow rate determined by the ultrasound time of flights as described); determining the fluid pressure from the at least one measured ultrasound time of flight aided by a mathematical compensation (see translation page 5, para. 7 through page 6, para. 3, fluid pressure determined based on the time of flight and aided by a mathematical compensation based on the mean phase-frequency offset PMO(M)).
Riess fails to specifically teach measuring or determining and using a temperature or a temperature change or a temperature change of the temperature from a reference temperature, for the mathematical compensation.
Wetzel teaches a method and device for measuring fluid pressure via ultrasonic transducers (see Fig. 1 and Abstract), wherein the fluid pressure is determined using compensation from a temperature or a temperature change of the fluid or a temperature change of the temperature from a reference temperature of the fluid, for the mathematical compensation (see translation page 4, para. 1, pressure measurements compensated for temperature fluctuations as described).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Riess with the temperature compensation methods of Wetzel. This is because the speed of sound is temperature dependent and thus time of flight measurements benefit from temperature fluctuation compensation as suggested by Wetzel (see translation page 4, para. 1).
Furthermore, Riess as modified by Wetzel above fails to teach relating the mathematical compensation to an influence being at least one of a fastening or position of the ultrasound transducer relative to the ultrasound measurement path or a change of the at least one fastening or position of the ultrasound transducer relative to the ultrasound measurement path.
Phillips teaches a method of compensating an ultrasonic flow measurements due to the influence of the fastening or position of the ultrasound transducer relative to the ultrasound measurement path (see claim 27 and [0040], discussion of compensation of ultrasonic transit signals due to the position of the ultrasound transducer relative to the ultrasound measurement path within the pipeline).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Riess as modified by Wetzel above such that actual position of the ultrasound transducers are compensated for as suggested by Phillips. This allows for the compensation of transit time measurements due to the actual position of the ultrasound transducers as suggested by Phillips (see [0073]), and thereby increasing the accuracy of measurements taken.
Finally, Riess as modified by Wetzel and Phillips above fails to teach relating the mathematical compensation to a length of the ultrasound measurement path or a length change of the ultrasound measurement path caused by thermal expansion.
Nielson teaches a method of compensating an ultrasonic flow measurements due to the influence of a length of the ultrasound measurement path or a length change of the ultrasound measurement path caused by thermal expansion (see Fig. 2; see also Abstract; see also [0037] and [0084]-[0085], discussion of compensation of ultrasonic transit signals due to thermal expansion).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Riess as modified by Wetzel and Phillips above such that thermal expansion effects are compensated for as suggested by Nielson. This allows for the compensation of transit time measurements due to changes in the dimensions of the flow tube due to thermal effects as suggested by Nielson (see [0040]), and thereby increasing the accuracy of measurements taken.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riess in view of Wetzel, Straub, and Nielson.
Regarding claim 28, Riess teaches a method for ascertaining a fluid pressure in a fluid supply network for fluid (see translation Abstract and page 1, para. 3, device and method for determining fluid pressure in a fluid line network), the method comprising: providing a first ultrasound transducer (5a) and a second ultrasound transducer (5b); using at least one of the ultrasound transducers to emit at least one ultrasound signal, and measuring at least one ultrasound time of flight of the ultrasound signal in the fluid along an ultrasound measurement path (see Fig. 1, 2, and translation page 5, para. 3, transducers 5a/5b emit and measure time of flight along measurement path 7); determining a flow velocity or a quantity proportional to the flow velocity or a throughput from the at least one measured ultrasound time of flight (see translation page 2, para. 6 through page 3, para. 4, flow rate determined by the ultrasound time of flights as described); determining the fluid pressure from the at least one measured ultrasound time of flight aided by a mathematical compensation (see translation page 5, para. 7 through page 6, para. 3, fluid pressure determined based on the time of flight and aided by a mathematical compensation based on the mean phase-frequency offset PMO(M)).
Riess fails to specifically teach measuring or determining and using a temperature or a temperature change or a temperature change of the temperature from a reference temperature, for the mathematical compensation.
Wetzel teaches a method and device for measuring fluid pressure via ultrasonic transducers (see Fig. 1 and Abstract), wherein the fluid pressure is determined using compensation from a temperature or a temperature change of the fluid or a temperature change of the temperature from a reference temperature of the fluid, for the mathematical compensation (see translation page 4, para. 1, pressure measurements compensated for temperature fluctuations as described).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Riess with the temperature compensation methods of Wetzel. This is because the speed of sound is temperature dependent and thus time of flight measurements benefit from temperature fluctuation compensation as suggested by Wetzel (see translation page 4, para. 1).
Furthermore, Riess as modified by Wetzel fails to teach relating the mathematical compensation to an influence being a latency of signal processing or a change of the signal processing.
Straub teaches a method for an ultrasonic flow meter (see Abstract; see also Fig. 3; see also claims 1 and 5, method of calibrating an ultrasonic flow meter described), including compensating for the latency of the signal processing or a change of the latency of the signal processing by taking a difference of at least one measured ultrasound time of flight and at least one latency component (see claims 1 and 5; see also [0045], discussion of latency compensation due to latency components in the system described).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Riess as modified by Wetzel with the latency compensation methods of Straub. This is because in order to accurately determine fluid flow velocity, signal transit times must be accurately determined as suggested by Straub (see [0003]).
Finally, Riess as modified by Wetzel and Straub above fails to teach relating the mathematical compensation to a length of the ultrasound measurement path or a length change of the ultrasound measurement path caused by thermal expansion.
Nielson teaches a method of compensating an ultrasonic flow measurements due to the influence of a length of the ultrasound measurement path or a length change of the ultrasound measurement path caused by thermal expansion (see Fig. 2; see also Abstract; see also [0037] and [0084]-[0085], discussion of compensation of ultrasonic transit signals due to thermal expansion).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Riess as modified by Wetzel and Straub above such that thermal expansion effects are compensated for as suggested by Nielson. This allows for the compensation of transit time measurements due to changes in the dimensions of the flow tube due to thermal effects as suggested by Nielson (see [0040]), and thereby increasing the accuracy of measurements taken.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riess in view of Wetzel, Hellevang et al. (US PGPUB 2016/0320219 A1, hereinafter Hellevang), and Nielson.
Regarding claim 28, Riess teaches a method for ascertaining a fluid pressure in a fluid supply network for fluid (see translation Abstract and page 1, para. 3, device and method for determining fluid pressure in a fluid line network), the method comprising: providing a first ultrasound transducer (5a) and a second ultrasound transducer (5b); using at least one of the ultrasound transducers to emit at least one ultrasound signal, and measuring at least one ultrasound time of flight of the ultrasound signal in the fluid along an ultrasound measurement path (see Fig. 1, 2, and translation page 5, para. 3, transducers 5a/5b emit and measure time of flight along measurement path 7); determining a flow velocity or a quantity proportional to the flow velocity or a throughput from the at least one measured ultrasound time of flight (see translation page 2, para. 6 through page 3, para. 4, flow rate determined by the ultrasound time of flights as described); determining the fluid pressure from the at least one measured ultrasound time of flight aided by a mathematical compensation (see translation page 5, para. 7 through page 6, para. 3, fluid pressure determined based on the time of flight and aided by a mathematical compensation based on the mean phase-frequency offset PMO(M)).
Riess fails to specifically teach measuring or determining and using a temperature or a temperature change or a temperature change of the temperature from a reference temperature, for the mathematical compensation.
Wetzel teaches a method and device for measuring fluid pressure via ultrasonic transducers (see Fig. 1 and Abstract), wherein the fluid pressure is determined using compensation from a temperature or a temperature change of the fluid or a temperature change of the temperature from a reference temperature of the fluid, for the mathematical compensation (see translation page 4, para. 1, pressure measurements compensated for temperature fluctuations as described).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Riess with the temperature compensation methods of Wetzel. This is because the speed of sound is temperature dependent and thus time of flight measurements benefit from temperature fluctuation compensation as suggested by Wetzel (see translation page 4, para. 1).
Furthermore, Riess as modified by Wetzel fails to teach relating the mathematical compensation to an influence being the throughput or a change of the throughput.
Hellevang teaches a method of compensating an ultrasonic flow measurements due to the influence of the throughput or a change in throughput (see [0154]-[0162], discussion of compensation of ultrasonic transit signals due to the influence of the throughput or a change in throughput as a result of deposits or corrosion).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Riess as modified by Wetzel such that ultrasonic measurements were compensated for changes in throughput as suggested by Hellevang. This would allow for both the determination of deposits/corrosion, but also would ensure accurate measure of fluid flow and fluid pressure due to an increase in measurement accuracy for the time-of-flight measurements.
Finally, Riess as modified by Wetzel and Hellevang above fails to teach relating the mathematical compensation to a length of the ultrasound measurement path or a length change of the ultrasound measurement path caused by thermal expansion.
Nielson teaches a method of compensating an ultrasonic flow measurements due to the influence of a length of the ultrasound measurement path or a length change of the ultrasound measurement path caused by thermal expansion (see Fig. 2; see also Abstract; see also [0037] and [0084]-[0085], discussion of compensation of ultrasonic transit signals due to thermal expansion).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Riess as modified by Wetzel and Hellevang above such that thermal expansion effects are compensated for as suggested by Nielson. This allows for the compensation of transit time measurements due to changes in the dimensions of the flow tube due to thermal effects as suggested by Nielson (see [0040]), and thereby increasing the accuracy of measurements taken.
Conclusion
/NATHANIEL T WOODWARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855