DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 11, 13, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Daimon (US2022/0302897, hereinafter Daimon).
Regarding claim 1, in Fig. 12, Daimon discloses a plate-mode resonator, comprising: a first piezoelectric layer (5) having a first crystal orientation specified by a first set of Euler angles α1, β1, and γ1; a dielectric layer (22) disposed on a top surface of the first piezoelectric layer (5); a second piezoelectric layer (6), disposed on a top surface of the dielectric layer, having a second crystal orientation specified by a second set of Euler angles α2, β2, and γ2, wherein α2 is approximately equal to α1, wherein a difference between β2 and β1 is approximately 180°, and wherein γ2 is approximately equal to γ1; and a metallization structure (7) disposed on a top surface of the second piezoelectric layer, the metallization structure comprising at least one interdigital transducer (paragraph [0026]). In paragraph [0029], Daimon discloses the angles (0°, 138°, 0°) for the first piezoelectric layer and (0°, -42°, 0°); therefore the requirement for the α, β, and γ angles is anticipated.
Regarding claim 2, inherently the first piezoelectric layer, the dielectric layer, and the second piezoelectric layer resonate in a symmetric plate mode.
Regarding claim 11, at least one of the first piezoelectric layer and the second piezoelectric layer comprises lithium tantalate (LiTaO3) (paragraph [0026]).
Regarding claim 13, Daimon implicitly discloses the method for fabricating a plate-mode resonator, the method comprising: providing, on a substrate, a first piezoelectric layer having a first crystal orientation specified by a first set of Euler angles α1, β1, and γ1; forming a dielectric layer on a top surface of the first piezoelectric layer; providing a second piezoelectric layer on a top surface of the dielectric layer, the second piezoelectric layer having a second crystal orientation specified by a second set of Euler angles α2, β2, and γ2, wherein α2 is approximately equal to α1, wherein a difference between β2 and β1 is approximately 180°, and wherein γ2 is approximately equal to γ1; and forming a metallization structure on a top surface of the second piezoelectric layer, the metallization structure comprising at least one interdigital transducer, as explained above.
Regarding claim 22, at least one of the first piezoelectric layer and the second piezoelectric layer comprises lithium tantalate (LiTaO3) (paragraph [0026]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 13-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwamoto (US2022/0407497, hereinafter Iwamoto).
Regarding claims 1 and 13, in Fig. 18, Iwamoto discloses a plate-mode resonator, comprising: a first piezoelectric layer (3B) having a first crystal orientation specified by a first set of Euler angles α1, β1, and γ1; a dielectric layer (silicon oxide, 3C) disposed on a top surface of the first piezoelectric layer (3B); a second piezoelectric layer (3A), disposed on a top surface of the dielectric layer, having a second crystal orientation specified by a second set of Euler angles α2, β2, and γ2, wherein α2 is approximately equal to α1, wherein a difference between β2 and β1 is approximately 180°, and wherein γ2 is approximately equal to γ1; and a metallization structure (6) disposed on a top surface of the second piezoelectric layer, the metallization structure comprising at least one interdigital transducer (paragraph [0042]). Regarding the specific angles and relationship between the Euler angles of the first layer and the Euler angles of the second layer, in Figs. 8C and 9A-9C and paragraphs [130] and [0134], Iwamoto discloses selecting a combination of Euler angles such that the electromechanical coupling coefficient is equal to or more than 4% to efficiently excite the desired waves. Fig. 8C shows solid lines where the electromechanical coupling coefficient has the desired values. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to determine the specific Euler angles such that the electromechanical coupling coefficient is equal to or more than 4% in order to efficiently excite the desired waves.
Regarding claim 2, inherently the first piezoelectric layer, the dielectric layer, and the second piezoelectric layer resonate in a symmetric plate mode.
Regarding claims 3-9 and 14-20, Iwamoto discloses selecting specific angles to drive the resonator efficiently, as explained above. Therefore, it is the examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to determine specific Euler angles in order to obtain at least one of the desired vibration characteristics, electromechanical coupling coefficient and improve the Q factor.
Regarding claims 10 and 21, the dielectric layer (3C) comprises silicon nitride or silicon oxide. See paragraph [0089].
Regarding claims 11 and 22, at least one of the first piezoelectric layer and the second piezoelectric layer comprises lithium tantalate (LiTaO3) and lithium niobate (abstract).
Claims 12 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwamoto or Daimon in view of Makkonen et al. (US10790801, hereinafter Makkonen).
Regarding claims 12 and 23, Daimon and Iwamoto disclose the invention as explained above, but fails to explicitly disclose the piezoelectric layer, the dielectric layer and the second piezoelectric layer suspend over a cavity. Makkonen discloses the equivalency of a solidly mounted resonator and a self-supported resonator. In Fig. 1A, the reflecting structure (130) serves to isolate the vibration of the piezoelectric from the substrate. In Fig. 1B, the reflecting structure is replaced by an air gap. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to provide the piezoelectric structure as a suspended structure over a cavity since Makkonen teaches the equivalency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Aigner discloses an acoustic resonator suspended over an air gap. Schiek discloses a piezoelectric resonator comprising two piezoelectric layers separated by intermediate layers. Morosin discloses a resonator comprising two piezoelectric layers separated by an intermediate layer or three piezoelectric layers.
/J. San Martin/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837