DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is a response to communication submitted on 06/12/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
3. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-4 and 6-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(1) or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Martin et al. (US 20180170710 A1).
In regards to claims 1, 15 and 20, Martin shows (Figs. 1-5) and discloses an elevator system (101), the corresponding method and a computer program embodied on a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Fig. 2. pars. 40-42, 70), the computer program including instructions for causing a processor to implement a process for operating said elevator system comprising:
a hoistway (Fig. 1, i.e. 117, pars. 43, 45);
an elevator car (103/303) configured to travel in the hoistway (Fig. 1);
a landing (125/325) having a landing door (i.e. 324/424, Figs. 3-4);
a sensor assembly (i.e. 326/426) configured to monitor a field of view overlapping a door opening of the landing door (pars. 50-60, i.e. potential load change,” as used herein, includes persons, objects, cargo, things, etc. that may be loaded on to (e.g., enter) or unloaded from (e.g., exit) the elevator car 303);
wherein the sensor assembly (i.e. 326/426) is configured to perform at least one of (i) determine a number of objects in the elevator car, OR (ii) determine a load of objects in the elevator car (326 is configured to perform (i) and/or (ii); see pars. 48-60, i.e. potential load change,” as used herein, includes persons, objects, cargo, things, etc. that may be loaded on to (e.g., enter) or unloaded from (e.g., exit) the elevator car 303).
In regards to claims 2 and 16, Martin shows (Figs. 1-5) and discloses wherein the sensor assembly includes a sensor that measures distances to objects (see Figs. 3-4, pars. 45-50).
In regards to claims 3 and 17, Martin shows (Figs. 1-5) and discloses wherein the sensor (i.e. 326/426) includes at least one of a LIDAR sensor, a millimeter wave RADAR sensor and an RGBD camera (see Figs. 3-4, pars. 45-50).
In regards to claim 4, Martin shows (Figs. 1-5) and discloses wherein the sensor assembly (i.e. 326/426) is configured to perform at least two of (i) determine the number of objects in the elevator car, (ii) determine the load of objects in the elevator car (326 is configured to perform (i) and/or (ii); see pars. 50-60, i.e. potential load change,” as used herein, includes persons, objects, cargo, things, etc. that may be loaded on to (e.g., enter) or unloaded from (e.g., exit) the elevator car 303).
In regards to claim 6, Martin shows (Figs. 1-5) and discloses wherein the sensor assembly (i.e. 326/426) determines the number of objects in the elevator car by detecting objects entering and existing the elevator car (326 is configured to perform (i) and/or (ii); see pars. 36, 46, 48, 50-60, i.e. potential load change,” as used herein, includes persons, objects, cargo, things, etc. that may be loaded on to (e.g., enter) or unloaded from (e.g., exit) the elevator car 303).
In regards to claims 7 and 19, Martin shows (Figs. 1-5) and discloses wherein the sensor assembly (i.e. 326/426) is configured to communicate the number of objects in the elevator car to an elevator controller (115/322), (pars. 47-60).
In regards to claim 8, Martin shows (Figs. 1-5) and discloses wherein the elevator controller (115/322) is configured to control operation of the elevator system in response to the number of objects (i.e. load object changes and. via hover mode control system 322) in the elevator car (pars. 47-60).
In regards to claim 9, Martin shows (Figs. 1-5) and discloses shows and discloses wherein the sensor assembly (i.e. 326/426) determines the load of the objects in the elevator car by determining a type of each object in the elevator car (i.e. via hover mode control system 322), wherein each type of object is associated with a weight (i.e. estimated mass and/or estimate, and/or determine a weight of the detected person, pars. 50-60).
In regards to claim 10, shows and discloses wherein the sensor assembly (i.e. 326/426) determines the type of each object in the elevator car by comparing sensor data from a sensor to reference data in a memory (i.e. 202(implicit as the term “load change” as used herein includes persons, objects, cargo, things, etc. that may be loaded onto (e.g., enter) or unloaded from (e.g., exit) an elevator car. A positive load change is an increase in weight that is suspended by the load bearing members and a negative load change is a decrease in weight that is suspended by the load bearing members… The sensor(s) 326 of the hover mode control system 322 are configured to detect persons and/or cargo (e.g., a potential load change) located within the elevator car 303 and/or located on the landing 325. The term “potential load change,” as used herein, includes persons, objects, cargo, things, etc. that may be loaded on to (e.g., enter) or unloaded from (e.g., exit) the elevator car 303. The sensor(s) 326 are cameras or other similar detection devices, pars. 37-60).
In regards to claim 11, shows and discloses wherein the sensor assembly (i.e. 326/426) is configured to communicate the load of the objects in the elevator car to an elevator controller (115/322), (i.e. via hover mode control system 322, pars. 48-60).
In regards to claim 12, Martin shows (Figs. 1-5) and discloses wherein the elevator controller (115/322) is configured to perform sag compensation in response to the load of the objects in the elevator car (see pars. 48, 52, 67, i.e. During the entering and/or exiting, the load of the elevator car 303 will change, which can result in bounce, as described above. This can be compensated for (preemptively) through operation of the hover mode control system 322).
In regards to claim 13, Martin shows (Figs. 1-5) and discloses wherein the type of each object in the elevator car includes a person and a robot (implicit as a Robot is considered an object or a thing or non-person object, see pars. 50-53).
In regards to claims 14 and 18, Martin shows (Figs. 1-5) and discloses wherein determining the load of objects in the elevator car includes determining a load change of objects in the elevator car (pars. 42-62, i.e. change in load based on loading and unloading).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin et al. (US 20180170710 A1) in view of NODA et al. (EP 3730443 A1).
In regards to claim 5, Martin shows (Figs. 1-5) and discloses wherein the sensor assembly is configured to perform all of (i) determine the number of objects in the elevator car and (ii) determine the load of objects in the elevator car, but does not explicitly disclose to detect the door obstruction.
However, NODA discloses and shows (Figs. 1-15) an elevator user detection system includes a camera (12) disposed in a car and including a super-wide-angle lens, configured to capture at least an image of the entirety of the inside of the car. The system includes a detection area setting unit (22a) configured to set at least two detection areas on an image captured by the camera (12), and a detection processing unit (22b) configured to execute a detection process related to a drive operation of the car for each of the at least two detection areas set by the detection area setting unit (22a), NODA further shows and discloses to detect the door obstruction (i.e. The detection areas E2-1 and E2-2 are areas to predict a user getting caught by the door during the door opening operation, and are set in the inner side surfaces 41a-1 and 41b-1 of the front pillars 41a and 41b… a response process corresponding to a case where a user or an object is detected in the detection areas, see pars. 82-87).
Thus, given the teaching of NODA, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit/system of Martin to additionally detect a person or object obstruction within the elevator as to provide a secure door the door opening/closing control unit that performs a door opening/closing control to avoid a door accident (accident where someone is caught by the door, par. 21), consequently improving the system reliability and security.
Related Prior Arts
8. The following related prior arts made of record are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure to further show the general state of the art and may be applied alone or in combination for rejection of the claims.
KOURA (US 20040159500 A1) discloses an elevator door control device for use in an elevator apparatus of a type in which a doorway frame having a pair of vertical frames and an upper frame provided between the vertical frames is provided in each of a car doorway and a landing doorway, opening/closing operations of a car door for opening and closing the car doorway and opening/closing operations of a landing door for opening and closing the landing doorway being controlled by the elevator door control device, comprising: an obstruction sensor for detecting an obstruction in the vicinity of the vertical frame of at least one of the car doorway and the landing doorway to output an obstruction detection signal; an alarm device for issuing an alarm for a passenger; and a door control unit for controlling the opening/closing operations in accordance with the obstruction detection signal, wherein the door control unit, when it receives the obstruction detection signal prior to the start of the door opening operation, causes the alarm device to issue an alarm before starting the door opening operation.
NODA et al. (CN 110294391 A) discloses the user detection region E1 set to has a distance of L1 toward the landing direction and width with distance W1 width W0 of the car door 13 are approximately the same. the current opening degree of the car door 13 under the car door 13 of transverse width of more than half of the case, as shown in FIG. 4 (b) illustrate, without forming overlapped area, as shown in FIG. 5 (b), the user detection region E1 set to has a distance of L1 toward the landing direction and width with a distance W2 (W1) is substantially the same as the current 13 with the car door opening.
Conclusion
/JORGE L CARRASQUILLO/Primary Examiner Engineer, Art Unit 2846